American Horror Story : Season 1

  • Network: FX
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 5, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 924 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 924

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    This is a fantastic show and I hope that there is a second season!!! Can't wait to see the last episode. Writers have outdone themself with this one Brilliant Highest score possible 10.
  2. Dec 27, 2011
    8
    It sort of fizzled out towards the end of the season, as it seemingly got lost in what it really wanted to achieve. It is, without a doubt, one of the best new shows on television right now and has already established itself as one of my new favorites, but I can't help but feel let down by the slow, awkward pacing of the last few episodes. The brilliant cast coupled with the sheerIt sort of fizzled out towards the end of the season, as it seemingly got lost in what it really wanted to achieve. It is, without a doubt, one of the best new shows on television right now and has already established itself as one of my new favorites, but I can't help but feel let down by the slow, awkward pacing of the last few episodes. The brilliant cast coupled with the sheer originality of the plot-line keep this show from falling under the category of mediocrity. American Horror Story shines on so many levels and only time will tell if future seasons continue on that path. Expand
  3. Jan 27, 2012
    8
    Two things will most likely apply to American Horror Story (AHS): One, is the fact that people are going to eiither love this show or hate it. The second fact is that whether you love it or hate it, AHS is a show that is definitely none like you will ever see. For me, it was at first shocking and then compelling, to the point where I put this show at the top of my watch list. Whether youTwo things will most likely apply to American Horror Story (AHS): One, is the fact that people are going to eiither love this show or hate it. The second fact is that whether you love it or hate it, AHS is a show that is definitely none like you will ever see. For me, it was at first shocking and then compelling, to the point where I put this show at the top of my watch list. Whether you like it or not, AHS has a lot going for it. Just about all of its production values are top-notch, cinema quality. The production design is dazzling, the cinematography is more movie-like than TV-like, and the acting is superb, whether it's Jessica Lange as the weirdo neighbor next door, Connie Britton as one of the two main leads, or Dylan McDermott as the other main lead. They all show some of their best work here, along with the entire cast. Ultimately, AHS is for horror fans, especially those fed up with plain Jane slasher movies and routine haunted house films. There is some real depth to the story here and there is much going on, both thematically and in the narrative. The genius of this series is that, according to producers, the story will begin anew with every season--new characters, new storylinme and new house--an element that allows AHS to re-invent itself over and over, hopefully with the same shock and awe that we have seen here. Expand
  4. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    When trying to stay surprised or scared out of your mind, AMERICAN HORROR STORY is one to keep in mind. While trying to follow the already set story line and maintain its scary image, this show really did please me. After watching the first season, I can conclude that anything can happen in this show.
  5. Jan 28, 2013
    8
    The polar opposite of its second season, American Horror Story: Murder House starts off weak and finishes incredibly strong. Jessica Lange and Connie Britton are the hilights of this freaky first season.
  6. Dec 12, 2012
    9
    The first season of American Horror Story is something television desperately needs; variation. Excellent acting performances throughout (special mention to Jessica Lange and Zachary Quinto) complete with intertwining stories that leave you guessing at every moment. Even when you think you have something figured out, you often find out just how wrong your assumptions were.
  7. Oct 21, 2012
    8
    If 'American Horror Story' is dismissed for anything, it should be for its utter ridiculousness and messy, scattered first few episodes. It also, on the whole, rarely delivers any scares (this is coming from a certified **** All that being said, the show is basically a huge bet that pays off massively for viewers willing to stick around for the latter episodes, where the plot begins toIf 'American Horror Story' is dismissed for anything, it should be for its utter ridiculousness and messy, scattered first few episodes. It also, on the whole, rarely delivers any scares (this is coming from a certified **** All that being said, the show is basically a huge bet that pays off massively for viewers willing to stick around for the latter episodes, where the plot begins to become coherent and involving. The acting all across the board is top notch, but, of course, top honors have to go to Jessica Lange. She's just plain amazing here and we have needed her back for quite some time. Another thing I must note: I love it when a major network will take a chance on a crazy idea that might not necessarily work (and sometimes doesn't). It proves that they still care about things other than viewership and value creativeness and originality. FX is a great example of my ideal network (you've got Louie, Justified, Archer, Sons of Anarchy, and It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia, among others). Overall, 'American Horror Story' might not be all that scary and is frequently a giant mess, but the show is consistently enveloping and engaging for fans. Can't wait to start watching 'Asylum'. Expand
  8. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    American Horror Story embodies the realities of modern life (depression, birth issues, infidelity) and mixes them into a deep horror mythos that makes the flawed characters the focus rather than unnecessary special effects, too much blood or insane violence that has recently become what makes up the so-called horror genre. In focusing on the characters and their everyday lives within theAmerican Horror Story embodies the realities of modern life (depression, birth issues, infidelity) and mixes them into a deep horror mythos that makes the flawed characters the focus rather than unnecessary special effects, too much blood or insane violence that has recently become what makes up the so-called horror genre. In focusing on the characters and their everyday lives within the construct of the Expand
  9. Mar 13, 2014
    7
    A decent enough show and far more entertaining than I had first thought it would be.

    I really did like the whole psychological horror angle with a touch of the supernatural. Not relying on CG and effect and focusing more on clever writing. However, it perhaps under plays this a bit too much fir the first half of the season and to be honest, I found it very boring at first. But from the
    A decent enough show and far more entertaining than I had first thought it would be.

    I really did like the whole psychological horror angle with a touch of the supernatural. Not relying on CG and effect and focusing more on clever writing. However, it perhaps under plays this a bit too much fir the first half of the season and to be honest, I found it very boring at first. But from the second half onwards the show seemed to find its rhythm.

    Decent enough performances from most of the cast, especially from Evan Peters and Jessica Lang who really steal the show.

    Overall:
    While I wasn't completely blown away by the first season, I will continue to watch the show hoping they improve.

    Side Note:
    If they are going to make a horror story around ghosts, they shouldn't be afraid to make them act a bit more ghost like. (The last few episodes, they seemed to get it, but for most of the earlier part of the show it felt a little cheap.) There isn't any harm in a little CG, if used sparingly and at the right moments.
    Expand
  10. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Not a subscriber to TV for the lack of any quality, intelligent or original programming, I found this New show on Streaming. It was absolutely the BEST series I have ever seen and it opened a new door that I hope other Shows and Movies will aspire to. The Best Part is Jessica Lange who steals the show with her intelligent and powerful presence. I loved most of the characters. PiggyNot a subscriber to TV for the lack of any quality, intelligent or original programming, I found this New show on Streaming. It was absolutely the BEST series I have ever seen and it opened a new door that I hope other Shows and Movies will aspire to. The Best Part is Jessica Lange who steals the show with her intelligent and powerful presence. I loved most of the characters. Piggy Piggy was the worst of the shows, honestly how some people gain any fame is beyond me. Perhaps the continuity was a little off but it didn't matter since the entertainment and suspense made up for it. Again, I hope that it sets a new standard for the Dreck that comes out of hollywood these days. I have watched this season over and over which again is something I never do but I just found myself addicted and drawn to the unusual and dark theme and the actors are absolutely superb. I will become a true fan of this new series. Expand
  11. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    Excelente! una grandiosa seria de horror psicológico, su historia con sus giros inesperados es lo que lo hace genial! mezclando lo paranormal con la locura es lo que hace a American horror story una excelente serie.
  12. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    American Horror Story is different than the usual horror genre, which is great, I like this series because of its difference, it is not your typical horror genre (haunted house) it is way scarier and much complicated and the second thing that made me love this series is the acting, which is great and phenomenal. In some parts of the series it falls apart and it runs very slow whichAmerican Horror Story is different than the usual horror genre, which is great, I like this series because of its difference, it is not your typical horror genre (haunted house) it is way scarier and much complicated and the second thing that made me love this series is the acting, which is great and phenomenal. In some parts of the series it falls apart and it runs very slow which disappoints, but it picks up very quickly with one crazy scene that will make you go WTF. Expand
  13. Oct 9, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There are a few things that come to mind when one finishes the first season of American Horror Story.
    Some might include: Why is this show so messy? Why is this so cheesy at times? Most of all the question that haunts is Why can't I stop watching this?
    Believe of not, for the most part, all of those questions have a positive answer. The structure and character development of the series is incredibly messy, sometimes clearly unintended. However, it is also one of the most compelling elements about the series. It corners viewers and makes them sit tight as the story progresses while the viewer tries to tolerate the curiosity. The show is full of cheesy revelations and outcomes that could have been so much better by introduction of new characters or crazier twists. Rather than cheesy, one could use the term non-shocking. For example, when the audience discovers Tate is the Rubber Man. It can be a great disappointment for people whose high expectations, for what presents itself as a show with no limits on its madness, shows the Rubber Man as a tormented teenager who is in a limbo between good/evil. These are all minor flaws, however. The most important question about this show, and most important answer, is that the audience can't quit this show because of the raw transparency of human nature the characters present. Whether a viewer relates to the adulterer Ben Harmon, the tormented VIvien Harmon, misunderstood Violet, lost Tate, Mischievous Moira, a horrible mother like Constance, or any other character, it is undeniable that these characters show the audience the reality about human nature. As the show progresses, the audience begins to set aside the horror elements to the story and view the flaws of a dysfunctional family/families.
    That right there, is what gives the show its ultimate strength. The audience doesn't start watching American Horror Story with any intention of learning how to be a better person. However, it is inevitable to watch a family whose misfortune as endless until their sad perish, and still see them laugh as they prevent families from going through the same events. It shows that one chooses how to look at situations, either escape them or deal and learn from them. It shows the audience that it is better to laugh than mourn. It also shows however, that many can make the same mistakes over and over again. As Constance finds her abducted child, who killed his baby sitter, and sits on a chair. The audience can set aside the fact that this is a demon baby, presumed the Anti Christ, and see that the fact is that Constance is a horrible mother. No matter how many times a horrible mother tries to have a different outcome using the same raising tactics, she shall fail. So if you are a viewer who is up to for a crazy 12 episode series of horror, philosophy and family lessons, you will enjoy every step of this ride.
    Expand
  14. Feb 2, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Love, Love this show it manges to capture a dark side of me the first season 7/10 the rest 10/10 the story lines are amazing and the quality of acting is great the current season 3 covers the true story off Mrs Delphine LaLaurie as cruel vile woman who is famous in New Orleans for her torture and cruelty towards slaves and the ancestors of her captives seeking revenge upon her the writer need to keep up the good work i learned a small piece of history watching this, the actors need to stay and continue the amazing job WATCH THIS NOW ! its booth entertaining and intriguing . Expand
  15. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    After 3 seasons, the writing countinues to impress me, it's amazing how the same actors can create a new atmosphere and make me forget about the old stories. The series is plot twist after plot twist, I love everything about it.
  16. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    I was initially hesitant to even just take a first look at the pilot, but reviews were saying it's good so I gave it a try. And while it didn't start really well, I feel like the show gets better episode after episode. The finale is definitely one of the most satisfying conclusion to any show I've ever seen. The twist was not too predictable which makes it very enjoyable to discover.I was initially hesitant to even just take a first look at the pilot, but reviews were saying it's good so I gave it a try. And while it didn't start really well, I feel like the show gets better episode after episode. The finale is definitely one of the most satisfying conclusion to any show I've ever seen. The twist was not too predictable which makes it very enjoyable to discover. Didn't think Murphy or Falchuk has it in them! Expand
  17. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    A house that has been cursed with the death of almost every previous resident, The Harmons move in to "The Murderhouse". I was shocked when i realized this show was created by the same people behind Glee. The Characters are some of the best in this series. This is a show that makes you think, all the way to the end. A great show that should not be passed up.
  18. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    Finally a show worth a darn to watch on tv.
    I just started watching this show two days ago.
    I couldn't stop watching. I've finished season 1 and I'm half way through season 2 . Scary, freaky, gory, and sexy. Lots of sex and pretty people even some fetish was brought into the show. It's a mind fuc* for sure. Those that are saying it's like Walking Dead are crazy. This show blows
    Finally a show worth a darn to watch on tv.
    I just started watching this show two days ago.
    I couldn't stop watching. I've finished season 1 and I'm half way through season 2 .
    Scary, freaky, gory, and sexy. Lots of sex and pretty people even some fetish was brought into the show.
    It's a mind fuc* for sure.
    Those that are saying it's like Walking Dead are crazy. This show blows Walking Dead out of the water!
    Expand
  19. Jan 21, 2014
    7
    Just finished watching S1 on Netflix.

    The show started out strong but by episode 3 I had begun to lose interest. The show relies on scaring you more than telling you a good story, which is a shame because the cast, especially Jessica Lange, is highly talented. As the season progressed, the writing became sort of lame and in turn made the show very predictable. (I am speaking
    Just finished watching S1 on Netflix.

    The show started out strong but by episode 3 I had begun to lose interest.

    The show relies on scaring you more than telling you a good story, which is a shame because the cast, especially Jessica Lange, is highly talented. As the season progressed, the writing became sort of lame and in turn made the show very predictable. (I am speaking specifically about the final episode, which could not decide when it should end.)

    There were a few good twists in the season, but at times it was hard to keep up with every backstory of the characters involved.

    The main question I walked away with after watching the show, was how some of the spirits in the house age over time but others do not. For example, Tate Langston should have been nearly 40 years old but was still a teenager, while Moira the maid had aged normally.

    Overall, the acting is great, which is what kept me watching because the story itself I felt left much to be desired. I'm gonna give this one a seven based mostly on the acting.
    Expand
  20. Jan 27, 2015
    5
    I couldn't watch this, like i really tried. Editinf was so awful it really put me off and the plot seemed so convoluted to try be a "crazy" story that it just seems boring and stupid. Props for tryingg to make an actual scary tv show, but i find this show kinda lazy. Never got past season 1 but may try season 2 soon if i can. It seems in a way more like girly horror than actual genuineI couldn't watch this, like i really tried. Editinf was so awful it really put me off and the plot seemed so convoluted to try be a "crazy" story that it just seems boring and stupid. Props for tryingg to make an actual scary tv show, but i find this show kinda lazy. Never got past season 1 but may try season 2 soon if i can. It seems in a way more like girly horror than actual genuine horror. The Babadook is genuine horror. Everyone knows almost every teenage female likes horrors and so this is a good medium for them to chat about them. I will probably get feministic hate for that comment but thw matter of fact is, it's true. Expand
  21. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    I am addict of this show.It's so interesting.I can't go away from a show.This is show for like amity ville,the others and so on.I rely like Jessica Lange because she is cool actor and a singer.
  22. Oct 13, 2015
    9
    I first watched the pilot around 11:30am on 12th October 2015. Fourteen hours later, I watched the last scene of AMERICAN HORROR STORY'S first season. This show may be the single most addictive thing I've ever watched. It pulls you in with an intriguing pilot and from there comes a fantastic tale of a "MURDER HOUSE"... This is brilliantly acted, made, written - even if I was disappointedI first watched the pilot around 11:30am on 12th October 2015. Fourteen hours later, I watched the last scene of AMERICAN HORROR STORY'S first season. This show may be the single most addictive thing I've ever watched. It pulls you in with an intriguing pilot and from there comes a fantastic tale of a "MURDER HOUSE"... This is brilliantly acted, made, written - even if I was disappointed with the ending. Alas, I will be watching Asylum. It angers me how little the critics cared for this. Expand
  23. Sep 30, 2014
    7
    Первый сезон - настоящая находка для любителей ужасов. Мрачная атмосфера, пугающая заставка, интересный сюжет - все тут есть... Но на высокую оценку он все же не тянет.
  24. Nov 21, 2014
    8
    American horror story is a good show for the action the plot.The visual horror is not so present in this one.They are more focusing in the psychological horror and the thriller.The acting is good,the scenario too and the realisation.
  25. Feb 24, 2016
    5
    I am consolidating all 5 seasons into 1 review.

    Let me 1st say that seasons 1 and 2 deserve a solid 8/10 and 7/10 respectively. They were very good and I enjoyed them very much. Then things started to go downhill... The 1st season was full of suspense and the acting was great. The second season continues the high quality even though it had more cliches than the 1st. Still it was a good
    I am consolidating all 5 seasons into 1 review.

    Let me 1st say that seasons 1 and 2 deserve a solid 8/10 and 7/10 respectively. They were very good and I enjoyed them very much. Then things started to go downhill... The 1st season was full of suspense and the acting was great. The second season continues the high quality even though it had more cliches than the 1st. Still it was a good from start to end.

    The witches in season 3 were okay but I felt like the season dragged on for too long with almost nothing happening for several episodes.

    The 4th season was just plain bad. It was filled with cliches, the characters were not interesting in any way, the acting felt forced and it was soooooo slow. I couldnt watch the last 5 episodes and ended up fast forwarding through them just to get to the ending only to realize that I just didnt care.

    Then came season 5 and I had to put a fork in it. I couldnt get past episode 5 before laying this series to rest. The Hotel season is not just boring, but it felt like I was watching the same episode 5 times. Nothing happens in any of them and the scenes all look similar. Sex, blood, and murder and that its. The season feels very cheap going for boring shock value over plot and characterization.

    Give it a shot, if for only the first 3 seasons. You can try the last 2 seasons but they were really bad.
    Expand
  26. Jun 4, 2014
    10
    I first started watching AMERICAN HORROR STORY when the first season came on TV. No one believed me that it was so interesting and captivating. There is a thick plot and you really have to pay attention to detail. It is hands-down my favorite TV show of all. Season one was unbeatable, then season two was also very good with an unpredictable story, then we have season three. season threeI first started watching AMERICAN HORROR STORY when the first season came on TV. No one believed me that it was so interesting and captivating. There is a thick plot and you really have to pay attention to detail. It is hands-down my favorite TV show of all. Season one was unbeatable, then season two was also very good with an unpredictable story, then we have season three. season three was horrible they could have taken coven like a baton in a relay race and ran with it, but sadly they did'nt. Coven was not your typical American Horror Story season. It was not what the typical AMHS fan would have hoped for. other than that I really love American Horror Story and hope that season four is better. Expand
  27. Oct 10, 2014
    9
    I find clowns scary as hell. Can't wait for more! What about the David Bowie musical number? This is classic horror, mind blowing. I don't see how anyone can find it cliche and a waste of time.
  28. Jan 11, 2016
    8
    Murder House starts one of the greatest horror shows on television right now with lots of sex, gore and awesome scares. The many characters and plot lines make the first season a little difficult to follow, but the final few episodes tie them all together well.
  29. May 29, 2015
    5
    This is the worst season of AHS. I just hate haunted house stories, its just dumb and not scary. Still this season could be ok but after 6-7 episodes the ammount of ghosts in this house was just ridiculous, and the plot got weaker every episode.
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. 80
    The show may be ridiculous, but the humiliation and panic feel real. And there's something to be said for surprise.
  2. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Oct 5, 2011
    50
    American Horror Story, from Ryan Murphy and Brad Falchuk of "Glee" and "Nip/Tuck," is a very standard creep-fest, an aggressively stylized mash-up of familiar haunted-house movies including "The Amityville Horror," "The Haunting," and "The Shining."
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 5, 2011
    91
    I loved the pilot, mostly because I could never predict where the story was going, a rarity in prime-time TV.