American Idol : Season 1

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 11, 2002
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 18, 2015
    0
    The biggest waist of time on television. I've never bought a single album or song from any of the vapid lounge singers that this show has produced. The fact that this show has given rise to Ryan Seacrest and Simon Cowell alone is reason enough to despise it. It's depressing to know that more people will vote on this show than voted in the last election. This show serves as a barometerThe biggest waist of time on television. I've never bought a single album or song from any of the vapid lounge singers that this show has produced. The fact that this show has given rise to Ryan Seacrest and Simon Cowell alone is reason enough to despise it. It's depressing to know that more people will vote on this show than voted in the last election. This show serves as a barometer to the state of our country. Expand
  2. Jun 13, 2014
    7
    This show actually used to be pretty good. The main problem with it now is that, all the good gudges have now left. I liked this show a lot better with Simon Cowell, Paula Abdul, and Randy Jackson. Now with these new judges it seems like the show has become very bad. If the old judges were to come back, I would have watched every minute, of every episode.
  3. May 18, 2013
    0
    They might as well end the show after Season 12 of AI.
    Nicki Minaj, the untalented and horrifying judge ruined this show.
    0 for me, your welcome producers, your show has turned to complete crap and racism.
  4. May 8, 2013
    10
    It's an spectacular show i love it, the live perfomnances, the judges, all in this is great, see you will not lose soo much every season upgrades all of the production and all
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jun 28, 2013
    70
    There you have the magic of Idol: British headmasterly discipline running smack into the preternatural sense of self-esteem--often inversely proportional to talent--that Americans have hardwired into them from the womb. You may wince at Cowell's barbs, but you also welcome them when Abdul or Jackson offers a wimpy "Good job" to a singer who has scraped the fingernails of her ambition down the chalkboard of her limited ability.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 27, 2013
    67
    As with all reality shows, the pleasure for viewers is the cruel one of rubbernecking a disaster.
  3. Orlando Sentinel
    Reviewed by: Hal Boedeker
    Jun 19, 2013
    60
    The Tuesday programs are involving for the musical numbers, but the Wednesday installments resort to the lamest tricks to drag out the announcement of who is gone. The contestants' awkward group performances add little to the process and play like the worst of Las Vegas. [4 Sep 2002]