Arrested Development : Season 2

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 236 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 236
  2. Negative: 8 out of 236

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. May 11, 2015
    9
    Solid stuff again from Hurwitz and co. Many classic episodes that go down in history as some of the funniest television ever produced. Props in particular to the young cast this season.
  2. May 14, 2014
    7
    A step up from the first season. The jokes are funnier and the characters are just as enjoyable as ever. I also have to give special praise to all of the great cameos throughout. There are a ton of great plot lines this season and I can't wait to see how they are expanded upon is season 3. The show still does hit some dull notes that made it hard for me to get involved in the first season,A step up from the first season. The jokes are funnier and the characters are just as enjoyable as ever. I also have to give special praise to all of the great cameos throughout. There are a ton of great plot lines this season and I can't wait to see how they are expanded upon is season 3. The show still does hit some dull notes that made it hard for me to get involved in the first season, for instance it's jokes don't always succeed at resonating, but for the most part it is an enjoyable show. It just has it's issues and might just be a touch overhyped. Still, it is a sitcom that does manage to consistently keep me invested, and because of that I love it. I give this second season a 7.7/10=Good. Expand
  3. Oct 14, 2013
    8
    Not as good as season 1. The jokes didn't land some of the time. The focus was too much on Michael. The more successful shows have expanded in later seasons to explore the hitherto secondary characters. Maybe I was hoping that would happen here too with Gob, Lindsay and Maeby, but it didn't. They would not feature in an episode more than a couple of minutes.
  4. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    It is SO well written. The foreshadowing is hilarious, you won't even get it until it just passes you. Full of wit and humor, season two of Arrested Development is an excellent follow up to the equally funny first season.
  5. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    This is my favourite and the best season of AD. It has some of my favourite episodes like Meat the Veals, Motherboy, Good Grief, and Sword of Destiny, as well as some of the greatest moments including the Loose Seal, Afternoon Delight karaoke, Tony Wonder, and... Her? Perfect.
  6. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    This season still manages to keep it's brilliance and especially the genius running gags. Maeby becoming a studio exec. was probably one of my most intriguing part of the season. This season is definitley one of the funniest seasons of Arrested Development. Mrs. Featherbottom, and The chicken dances were to die for. This season shows the brilliance that the writers had because it's stillThis season still manages to keep it's brilliance and especially the genius running gags. Maeby becoming a studio exec. was probably one of my most intriguing part of the season. This season is definitley one of the funniest seasons of Arrested Development. Mrs. Featherbottom, and The chicken dances were to die for. This season shows the brilliance that the writers had because it's still funny. 10/10 Amazing. Expand
  7. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    Pretty much a flawless season of the best comedy ever on TV. Highlights include Motherboy, "Has anyone in this family ever seen a chicken?," A loose seal, the Hot Cops, and Mrs. Phyllidia Featherbottom. Watch it now.
  8. Jun 14, 2012
    10
    Hands Down, Best Comedy TV show of all time (sorry FRIENDS). I remember watching a few episodes of the show back when it was on aired but i didn't realize the sheer greatness of it till a few months back when i finished watching the entire series, which unfortunately consists of just 3 seasons. The show has some great storylines and arcs, wonderfully created characters, subtle and utterlyHands Down, Best Comedy TV show of all time (sorry FRIENDS). I remember watching a few episodes of the show back when it was on aired but i didn't realize the sheer greatness of it till a few months back when i finished watching the entire series, which unfortunately consists of just 3 seasons. The show has some great storylines and arcs, wonderfully created characters, subtle and utterly hilarious humor and on top of all one of the most perfectly constructed show i have ever seen. Packed with a stellar cast that equally gives brilliant performances, making it a great ensemble. Bateman, Tambor, Arrnet, Walters, Cross, Cera i mean literally everyone just epic performances. Collapse
  9. j30
    Jan 24, 2012
    10
    Hands down one of the funniest TV shows ever. Just watch it!
  10. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    It may be the callbacks, foreshadowing and continuity or it may be where this show really gets back into its swing but this season of Arrested Development is without doubt the funniest. With hilarious plotlines and excellent performances from Bateman and hale really makes this the stand out season imo
  11. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    A show of such wit, charm and genius the likes of which we probably won't see again. What makes AD the brilliant show that it is is how well-rounded and thought-out events are. A seemingly unimportant side plot can end up being hugely important and while each episode is a complete whole, each is expertly linked to those preceding and exceeding it. The in-jokes, fourth wall breaking andA show of such wit, charm and genius the likes of which we probably won't see again. What makes AD the brilliant show that it is is how well-rounded and thought-out events are. A seemingly unimportant side plot can end up being hugely important and while each episode is a complete whole, each is expertly linked to those preceding and exceeding it. The in-jokes, fourth wall breaking and blink-and-you'll-miss-em jokes only enhance the shows ability to make you laugh and make you think about the joke. This season in particular encapsulated all these elements most effectively. p.s somebody posted a negative score? C'mon! Expand
  12. Jan 21, 2011
    10
    The best season of Arrested Development. Here's where all the foreshadowing, callbacks and in-jokes start to really, really pay off, and oh man, it's just flat out hilarious. Many episodes of this season had my sides hurting because of how funny it is. So many great moment: the Blue Man Group arch, "come on!", the funeral dance, Buster joining "army", "Her?", Maeby as a film studioThe best season of Arrested Development. Here's where all the foreshadowing, callbacks and in-jokes start to really, really pay off, and oh man, it's just flat out hilarious. Many episodes of this season had my sides hurting because of how funny it is. So many great moment: the Blue Man Group arch, "come on!", the funeral dance, Buster joining "army", "Her?", Maeby as a film studio executive, etc. This is the funniest sitcom ever made. Expand
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jul 1, 2013
    100
    In looks and structure, Arrested Development is like a 30-min. drama, just a hilarious one. In most network sitcoms nowadays, the wisecracking characters are aware that they're being funny. The oblivious Bluths are funny despite themselves.
  2. Reviewed by: Gillian Flynn
    Jun 18, 2013
    100
    Smart, unruly, and very fast, Arrested is the ultimate TV series for our TiVo age.
  3. New York Daily News
    Reviewed by: David Bianculli
    May 26, 2013
    60
    Even if you're confused when tuning in as a first-timer, it's a lot better than not tuning in at all. [4 Nov 2004, p.103]