• Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 10, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1074 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Dec 16, 2017
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First Season of Arrow is really good show, but i see why people can hate it too. I really love main villain of this season, Josh Barrowman did a really great job. Expand
  2. Dec 8, 2017
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Season 1 of Arrow was a fantastic first season of a fantastic show. Stephen Amell is a perfect casting choice for the vigilante known as "The Hood." The villain of the season, John Barrowman's Dark Archer, was also really great. The action scenes were directed really well and the season is filled with feel of suspense and a very climactic and emotional season finale. Expand
  3. Sep 27, 2017
    9
    Realistic vigilante against realistic enemies with dark gritty with down to earth plots. While a back story is told in mysterious flash backs that always seem to tease out something new and interesting.
  4. Jul 27, 2017
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great action show with compelling back story. The character Laurel is the most annoying, however. She keeps telling Oliver (lead) she wants nothing to do with him, but we see her in almost every scene. Telling him how it can't happen between them. Duh, we get it already. And for a hard working D A she spends a hell of a lot of time in clubs and partying. And she is an as st DA in an office where there are all this comely women u under the age of 30. Where the main topic of conversation is her dating life. Yeah right. Her father the cop ( of course cliche plot device) sets himself up at every turn to harass Oliver, because he blames him for his other daughters death. Is he the only cop in the city? Like his personal vendetta would not come to the attention of his superiors? Or the family would not use their influence to get this guy off. Their backs? The holes in this should be plugged up. The actress playing Laurel is as annoying as the character she plays. The guy comes back after 5 years of abscence believed to be dead and no one gives him any slack for what he might have went through. They just expect him to be the same guy who he was when he left. Always telling him how insensitive he is. I guess this is supposed to add to the angst of his character. His best friend is a throw away character with no real value, but I suppose I. Later episodes he will be into something sinister. Another worn plot device. The actor playing Oliver / Arrow brings a dimension to the character that makes the others look shallow and decisive. Too bad. Get rid of Laurel, the side kick and maybe the show will be more intriguing. Expand
  5. Apr 12, 2017
    9
    When you look at all the superhero shows that are out today they all had to come from some foundation and that was Arrow Season 1. The season showed all the tragedy that one man went through on an Island for 5 years in the North China Sea called Lian Yu. He eventually gets home with one goal to save his city.
  6. Apr 12, 2017
    2
    I usually do not like this type of series from Marvel or DC with Super Heroes and this one was not an exception. I gave it more than one opportunity but after the first good impression on the story i got dissapointed with it. Too many guys with arrows for me in a world with powerful guns. Every episode feel like the same and too predictable.
  7. Mar 21, 2017
    10
    This show is fantastic. Great character development, stunning action, just overall great. Even season 3 (potentially its worst season) was great, just very dark and one-dimensional. Every season has added characters, and kept me caring about their relationships with one another as they grow.
  8. Feb 16, 2017
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I liked this show initially, but after awhile they started getting to be more and more of a drama, until season 5 when they just flushed themselves down the toilet. This show is now to become blatant leftist propaganda, starting first with gun control promotion, sacrificing the story to promote a political agenda. Bad form. Expand
  9. Jan 9, 2017
    8
    Arrow bides it's time and it's worth it with a great cast brilliant development and heavy drama all while using awesome action arrow hits the bullseye in its first season
  10. Dec 25, 2016
    4
    This show started off great. The first two seasons were well written, directed and acted. Season 3 got a bit boring for me. Season 4 was second best to season 1. Sadly, season 5 so far is awful. I am so tired having a show where I like the actors and team then poof, they are mostly gone. Another thing that is annoying is the way shows portray relationships never working out and getThis show started off great. The first two seasons were well written, directed and acted. Season 3 got a bit boring for me. Season 4 was second best to season 1. Sadly, season 5 so far is awful. I am so tired having a show where I like the actors and team then poof, they are mostly gone. Another thing that is annoying is the way shows portray relationships never working out and get off all the whining. I'm not a prude but hey come on, so many shows write that the characters jump in and out of love more often than they shower. Ya know, some people still believe that when you say I love you it really means something but these writers only devalue the concept of love and truly binding relationships. On the other hand, I admit, this is the soap opera drama crap that so many people seem to soak up and think is how real relationships work. The other thing that is getting rather annoying in this show as well as others is the constant self recrimination bit. Come on, you make a choice, you commit and go for it. If it doesn't work out you learn and just move on. Stop all the self loathing, whining and BS. I will try one or two more episodes in hopes in improves. Expand
  11. Oct 18, 2016
    7
    The Arrow

    The Arrow focuses on a billionaire who was shipwrecked on an island. His boat is destroyed by a storm and a saboteur. While floating in a lifeboat hundreds of miles from civilization his father gives him a list of people that have destroyed Oliver’s home town. When he reaches the island he is the only still alive as his father killed everyone else including himself so he would
    The Arrow

    The Arrow focuses on a billionaire who was shipwrecked on an island. His boat is destroyed by a storm and a saboteur. While floating in a lifeboat hundreds of miles from civilization his father gives him a list of people that have destroyed Oliver’s home town. When he reaches the island he is the only still alive as his father killed everyone else including himself so he would have enough food. The Island holds many dangers and enemies, but it also contains a few friends that make this man into a survivor with many traits of a very highly trained soldier. His name was Oliver Queen, but now he best known as “The Vigilante.” When he gets rescued he takes the list his father gave him and he deals with those people through whatever means necessary. At first he easily kills or discourages these people but he eventually runs into complications that make the show more exciting. The Arrow is a very interesting and exciting show that uses unrealistic and impossible scenarios to envelope the viewer.
    This show is very similar to other superhero shows and movies where the hero is able to dodge bullets and catch arrows. Like in many other superhero movies, the Arrow in this case is unable to shoot straight when facing a super villain but is able to do fantastic things and never miss while facing against regular people. This show is very cheesy so you need to turn your brain off while watching it if you want to enjoy it. There are many plot holes and impossible scenarios in this show that you must ignore. In season three a main character who trained with Oliver reveals her identity but no one even glances at Oliver which is unbelievable because some main characters were already suspecting that he was the arrow. Many people would say that it is too unrealistic to enjoy but the action scenes make up for the unrealistic situation they are in.
    While it is as believable as a pig flying a plane, the show can be very exciting. Every episode has many action scenes and they constantly flash back to Oliver’s death defying time on the island. The flashbacks show him getting tortured, killing terrorists, becoming an assassin, and making some very dangerous enemies. I found myself enjoying the flashbacks much more thane events because the flashback is possible and believable, however unlikely, at least for the first two seasons. Many of the episodes are repetitive but the there are still many fantastic surprises.
    While the show still goes on, the writers seem to be struggling with more ideas to add. The show is becoming sporadic and using things that contradict information they give the viewer in a previous season as if they have simply forgot. In one season they have a criminal fight off hundreds of soldiers with only a sword and bow but later have the same criminal get knocked unconscious in a prison brawl. The viewers are left to wonder, will the writers find more inspiration or will the show fall apart?
    Expand
  12. May 18, 2016
    9
    With movie-like action sequences, amazing character development, and top-notch dialogue, Arrow succeeds as a great comic-book TV Show! The complex and interwoven motives and backstories of the characters make this show a must-watch for anyone interested in comic book action/adventure TV Shows.
  13. Mar 29, 2016
    10
    Rich white guy with daddy issues tries to save his city by fighting crime in a costume. No this isn't Batman. Based on DC's Green Arrow, CW has created a superhero show for a slightly more mature audience. If you don't like superheroes who kill, this season is not for you. Season one has a fantastic story arc and Stephen Amell, David Ramsey and Paul Blackthorne really standout among anRich white guy with daddy issues tries to save his city by fighting crime in a costume. No this isn't Batman. Based on DC's Green Arrow, CW has created a superhero show for a slightly more mature audience. If you don't like superheroes who kill, this season is not for you. Season one has a fantastic story arc and Stephen Amell, David Ramsey and Paul Blackthorne really standout among an overall solid cast. Expand
  14. Feb 6, 2016
    10
    The flash backs are wonderful, all the hints and easter eggs are so much fun, the cast is great, real life hero would make the comic arrow proud! I love all the spin offs, but this is my favorite of the shows. I love felicity, the constant introduction to loved comic characters, and the tone of the show. Added bonus of mocking "arrow cave" and "arrow mobile" when the comic got started, andThe flash backs are wonderful, all the hints and easter eggs are so much fun, the cast is great, real life hero would make the comic arrow proud! I love all the spin offs, but this is my favorite of the shows. I love felicity, the constant introduction to loved comic characters, and the tone of the show. Added bonus of mocking "arrow cave" and "arrow mobile" when the comic got started, and the shows roots similar to batmans. (: Expand
  15. Jan 29, 2016
    8
    I believe this show accomplishes what it was intended to do, appeal to a wide audience and have a balance of action, adventure, explosions, love stories, sex, drama, etc. This series is every bit as a soap opera as it is a super hero show. It executes it all in a satisfactory balance.
    For some it will be too dramatic and corny with all the emotions and soap operas. That person will have
    I believe this show accomplishes what it was intended to do, appeal to a wide audience and have a balance of action, adventure, explosions, love stories, sex, drama, etc. This series is every bit as a soap opera as it is a super hero show. It executes it all in a satisfactory balance.
    For some it will be too dramatic and corny with all the emotions and soap operas. That person will have to watch another show if emotion and human conflict bother them.
    An excellent show that has moments of being lame. As with life, this show becomes extremely better once you accept the BS and focus on what makes it worth it.
    Expand
  16. Jan 22, 2016
    7
    This show has good villains and actions. But I am really tired of their bullsh*t relationship problems. Characters are just so weak always complaining, whining about their life. Specially Laurel Lance.
  17. Dec 23, 2015
    4
    I used to like this show. I just couldn't get over how bad some scenes are. For example, specially in the first 2 seasons, the Arrow kept making unrealistic shots; Like when he shoot his enemies' weapons from the side while running behind them. Another example is from Season 4. Queen was in a car surrounded by armed soldiers who were shooting the car. He was taking cover in the back seatI used to like this show. I just couldn't get over how bad some scenes are. For example, specially in the first 2 seasons, the Arrow kept making unrealistic shots; Like when he shoot his enemies' weapons from the side while running behind them. Another example is from Season 4. Queen was in a car surrounded by armed soldiers who were shooting the car. He was taking cover in the back seat for a while before he slowly climbed from the back seat to the front, while being shot at from different directions by trained soldiers, and drove away. The only reason why I continued to watch the show is for the Flash tv series which is much better than this one. Expand
  18. Dec 6, 2015
    9
    Easily the show's best season, even if its finale does fall flat. Watching Oliver Queen dole out vigilante justice in a morally gray manner makes for great television. It has its weaknesses no doubt, but as a fun, if at times repetitive, action series, Arrow does a good job. Unlike the later seasons, this one gets the formula just about right, properly balancing the action and primaryEasily the show's best season, even if its finale does fall flat. Watching Oliver Queen dole out vigilante justice in a morally gray manner makes for great television. It has its weaknesses no doubt, but as a fun, if at times repetitive, action series, Arrow does a good job. Unlike the later seasons, this one gets the formula just about right, properly balancing the action and primary conflict with just the right measures of human subplot and moral debate. Expand
  19. Nov 20, 2015
    6
    Agree with most of the negative reviews but I still watch this (& enjoy it, lazily) just because it's easy to get sucked into the visual stylized darkness of the whole thing. A positive review said it's sort of a Grey's Anatomy (Shonda Rhimes type) in DC comic mode which is true. Also agree with another reviewer that they should drop all the island flashbacks. [ They are tedious (imv).]Agree with most of the negative reviews but I still watch this (& enjoy it, lazily) just because it's easy to get sucked into the visual stylized darkness of the whole thing. A positive review said it's sort of a Grey's Anatomy (Shonda Rhimes type) in DC comic mode which is true. Also agree with another reviewer that they should drop all the island flashbacks. [ They are tedious (imv).] The depiction of individual self-doubt and weakness is kind of refreshing, even if in such a contrived context Expand
  20. Nov 5, 2015
    10
    I love superheroes and Arrow is one of the best superheroes ever !!! The Story is exciting. There are cool characters and cool Villains and Stephen Ammel fits well to Arrow. Thanks WB for this awsome TV show.
  21. Nov 3, 2015
    1
    Arrow is the most severely overrated television show in recent years. Its popularity I find completely baffling. And the reason I make such a troll-like statement is do to all the damn crying. I mean this is a comic book adaption! Okay- yes, there should be drama. Action? Most definitely; but when every second, or third scene has someone crying... I mean just empty-their-purse-balling, itArrow is the most severely overrated television show in recent years. Its popularity I find completely baffling. And the reason I make such a troll-like statement is do to all the damn crying. I mean this is a comic book adaption! Okay- yes, there should be drama. Action? Most definitely; but when every second, or third scene has someone crying... I mean just empty-their-purse-balling, it comes nauseating. So to summarize, way too much crying and dialogue I presume was written in crayon make this show unbearable at best. Expand
  22. Oct 29, 2015
    4
    I made it to episode 9 or something. This was on the second attempt, after watching the first season of “The Flash” and feeling like the constant, forced attempts at crossover were a sign to try again. It’s still not good. Oh, sorry, *Spoiler Alert* “Arrow” is not a good show *End of Spoilers*. If that does not spoil it for you then: congratulations, in a way. You are better at bathing inI made it to episode 9 or something. This was on the second attempt, after watching the first season of “The Flash” and feeling like the constant, forced attempts at crossover were a sign to try again. It’s still not good. Oh, sorry, *Spoiler Alert* “Arrow” is not a good show *End of Spoilers*. If that does not spoil it for you then: congratulations, in a way. You are better at bathing in predictable and uninspired tubs of tepid water than I am. There are twenty-something episodes in a season. That is SO many hours. If “True Detective” is a dark, rich truffle, then “Arrow” is a Big Hunk bar, notable for its length and being difficult to swallow. Bonus complaint: the graceless cherry on top is the all of the pop music they shoehorn into the empty spaces between the actors. It really cinches that I-am-in-a-Dentist’s-waiting-room feel they seem to be going for here. I think if it came out of the soap opera closet I would be more comfortable with it. There are brief endearing moments that beckon you to care about its characters even though they speak to one another like they are all just pamphlets, similarly trapped in the aforementioned waiting room. Oliver’s flashbacks offer a glimpse into a show that might have been worth making but was not made because… there was nowhere to put all that pop music. I can almost go along with the attempted grittiness on the island, but the posturing that spills into Starling City is ridiculous and impossible to care about. The stakes feel so low, I started reading Wikipedia in parallel to amp things up. Now I just stick to Wikipedia. Expand
  23. Sep 18, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the better shows at character building, the flashback sequences are the gold here, showing the main character Oliver's progression into becoming what he is. This is proper character progression and development at its finest and worth the watch for that alone. Expand
  24. Sep 3, 2015
    2
    There are multiple cliches and plot holes.

    It feels like a mix of all of these: ~ person of interest (Tracking down people on a list) ~ Iron man ( imprisoned and escaped.... also random rich dude so he has the money to make a lab....) ~ Robbin hood (they make multiple references to robin hood in the movie aswell) Person of interest is way better.... It gets a little repetitive
    There are multiple cliches and plot holes.

    It feels like a mix of all of these:

    ~ person of interest (Tracking down people on a list)
    ~ Iron man ( imprisoned and escaped.... also random rich dude so he has the money to make a lab....)
    ~ Robbin hood (they make multiple references to robin hood in the movie aswell)

    Person of interest is way better.... It gets a little repetitive after the first season but.... i stopped watching Arrow after the first 5 episodes......
    Expand
  25. Jul 27, 2015
    9
    All Arrow seasons are at least great, this is a very good TV show and I recommend to every one who likes TV series and Heroes.
    This is the rating for each seasons to this point:
    season 1: 8
    season 2: 10
    season 3: 9
  26. Jun 16, 2015
    10
    An epic and gritty take on The Green Arrow, this show draws a lot of inspiration from The Dark Knight trilogy. Brining to life many of your iconic and favorite heroes and villains such as Deathstroke, Malcolm Merlyn, Count Vertigo, The Huntress, The Atom, Speedy, Deadshot, The Suicide Squad, and so many more. Filled with gripping action, suspense, mystery, some comedy, and plenty of DCAn epic and gritty take on The Green Arrow, this show draws a lot of inspiration from The Dark Knight trilogy. Brining to life many of your iconic and favorite heroes and villains such as Deathstroke, Malcolm Merlyn, Count Vertigo, The Huntress, The Atom, Speedy, Deadshot, The Suicide Squad, and so many more. Filled with gripping action, suspense, mystery, some comedy, and plenty of DC lore, this is a show recommended for DC fan boys! And don't forget to check out its little sister spin-off, The Flash! Expand
  27. May 28, 2015
    8
    The first season of Arrow was great. it offered interesting characters, with a very powerful story of a man who's experiences on an island change his life. The writing is really good, but it is re-hashed for most of the series. But the formula is good, so it works for the most part. Other than the killing, the character of the Green Arrow is very faithful. And he is very well acted. TheyThe first season of Arrow was great. it offered interesting characters, with a very powerful story of a man who's experiences on an island change his life. The writing is really good, but it is re-hashed for most of the series. But the formula is good, so it works for the most part. Other than the killing, the character of the Green Arrow is very faithful. And he is very well acted. They try to turn him into Batman, but there are enough new ideas here to keep it fresh. A very good start to the series. Expand
  28. May 24, 2015
    10
    After searching for an action packed TV series for a while, I cam across Arrow. I had my reservations to begin with as it did not sound like something I would normally watch. I'll tell you now, it's no Game of Thrones but it stands alone with its own entirety. Everyone says it, but there is never a dull moment. Berlanti, the writer of the series, combines violence and action neatly with aAfter searching for an action packed TV series for a while, I cam across Arrow. I had my reservations to begin with as it did not sound like something I would normally watch. I'll tell you now, it's no Game of Thrones but it stands alone with its own entirety. Everyone says it, but there is never a dull moment. Berlanti, the writer of the series, combines violence and action neatly with a unique story which intertwines with other series. The sign of a good action series is when it inspires you to tone your body to resemble to protagonist and since starting this series I have been intent on becoming like Oliver Queen! Expand
  29. May 15, 2015
    10
    Good show Good fight scenes and getting better each season.Can't wait for Season 4 as it should be a good one going by the why there getting better, each season brings its own bad guy.
  30. May 14, 2015
    9
    So, I thought I would laugh and point at the latest comic book TV series (not even a movie haha!) and I was totally rebuffed by the performance of Stephen Amell. He has completely made his careerr in this series. An amazing performance and cast.

    Felicity Smoak is a great character also, played by Emily Rickards and she does a great job with it. I'm giving it a 9/10 for the
    So, I thought I would laugh and point at the latest comic book TV series (not even a movie haha!) and I was totally rebuffed by the performance of Stephen Amell. He has completely made his careerr in this series. An amazing performance and cast.

    Felicity Smoak is a great character also, played by Emily Rickards and she does a great job with it.

    I'm giving it a 9/10 for the performances alone.
    Expand
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Nov 12, 2012
    88
    The CW's best show since Gossip Girl.... it has a forthright narrative seriousness, a respect for the gobbledy-gook that makes up any superhero's backstory--and a game cast performing with the correct degree of seriousness. [19 Nov 2012, p.35]
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Oct 23, 2012
    83
    Your interest in Arrow depends on how much you miss the troubled-in-love, conflicted-by-family heroics of Smallville--it mirrors that series' setup.
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Oct 10, 2012
    75
    This slick action-drama is based on the comic book superhero Green Arrow. Prepare to quiver.