Avatar: The Legend of Korra : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 343 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 343

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 24, 2012
    3
    This show is so awful compared to ATLA I almost don't know where to begin. 1) Korra is a completely cliche static character-- headstrong, feminist and obnoxious. She never changes, never learns, and yet everything is handed to her throughout the show.
    2) No suspense-- the protagonists are captured dozens of times and they always escape. It's like watching a James Bond movie with idiotic
    This show is so awful compared to ATLA I almost don't know where to begin. 1) Korra is a completely cliche static character-- headstrong, feminist and obnoxious. She never changes, never learns, and yet everything is handed to her throughout the show.
    2) No suspense-- the protagonists are captured dozens of times and they always escape. It's like watching a James Bond movie with idiotic serial villains who never achieve anything.
    3) Character inconsistencies -- Amon's character is completely altered at the end of the season for a haphazard conclusion. This is just one of many.
    4) There are a great number of plot inconsistencies to the point that it becomes very jarring. I can't go into detail without spoiling anything. 5) The love triangle that persists throughout just stalls the story and never resolves or ties in.
    The visuals and voice acting were good, however. Not much of a bonus, nut the initial setting was very interesting and had a lot of potential.
    Collapse
  2. Jul 12, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sure The Legend of Korra looks nice, but from a storytelling perspective this show does everything wrong. This spinoff has shallow characters, terrible pacing, and wretched, god-awful dialog. Most importantly, the season finale is the worst conclusion to a story I've ever witnessed, in ANY storytelling medium. If you don't know what I'm taking about, here's how the chapter ends: After losing most of her bending powers, Korra is visited by her past lives, who, in the last MINUTE of the series, restore all of her powers. They also give her the power to give everyone else their bending back. How this is possible is never explained. In fact we're never given a clear explanation of how Amon was able to remove those abilities in the first place.

    It frustrates me that people are happy with this. Is this really all it takes to please a fanbase? Why should the writers even try to improve when their broken story is heralded as one of the greatest animations of all time? I don't care about what you think of the rest of the series, everyone has their own tastes. But the ending is nonsensical and cheap no matter how you look at it. It just doesn't work.

    The fact that this show is getting so much praise is proof that people don't expect enough from what they watch on tv. If this is a masterpiece in storytelling then I don't want any more stories.
    Expand
  3. Jun 9, 2013
    0
    This was terrible compared to ATLA. I think Nickelodeon made another installment because they think this would be as amazing as ATLA. Think again. It was rushed, and very cliche. Nothing was really good except for the animation, that was it.
  4. Jun 20, 2017
    0
    I am a fan of ATLAB, so I wanted to see the same magic from that show in a sequel. Unfortunately this show is what we got. This was a missed opportunity to have a comedic series about the adventures of prince Zuko as he develops into the new fire lord and searches for his mother with the help of Aang and friends. This show is dark and not the light hearted romp that the ATLAB was and, asI am a fan of ATLAB, so I wanted to see the same magic from that show in a sequel. Unfortunately this show is what we got. This was a missed opportunity to have a comedic series about the adventures of prince Zuko as he develops into the new fire lord and searches for his mother with the help of Aang and friends. This show is dark and not the light hearted romp that the ATLAB was and, as the series progresses, Korra comes off as an incompetent Avatar. Expand
  5. Jan 3, 2015
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ive watch every episode of ATLAB and TLOK. The last air bender was an amazing show full of adventure, mystery, romance, comedy, intrigue, spirituality, and life lessons. The legend of Korra is full of Hate, ignorance, annoying ugly spirit hybrid animals that are hard to look at and listen to, and some comedy. The first season was good, i liked it allot. Amon was terrifying villein, they should have made him the main villein in the series. All the show is about is over done comedy, useless fighting, barely any adventure. Ang kicked so much ass even though he was 12 he could fight very well and didn't really need the avatar state, Korra manages to get her ass kicked by dozens of people threw-out the series even in the avatar state which is very disappointing and doesn't make sense. The spirits that inhabit the world are very weird, annoying, looked like they came out of a canceled nick jr. show. Some characters are funny like Bolin but then i started to notice the show was getting desperate for more comedy so they threw in so much bs that wasn't even that funny. Verik i think his name is, was the funniest character of the show without a doubt and he deserves a spin-off cause he helped me get threw the series. INFO by season NO SPOILERS hmp...... Season one- Best season, awesome, Korra learns more about herself, awesome villein Amon, but the season was rushed. Season two- Dumb comedy, Bolin becoming an actor, Korra gets her ass handed to her, the Annoying spirits inhabit the earth again for some reason. Season 3- 4 cool villains that believe in there cause, Korra gets her ass handed to her and traumatizes her for years, thats it. Season 4- Korra barely shows up and when she does gets ass handed to her. Alot of metal bending, no adventure at all, back tracking, annoying spirits that are as hard to look at as they are to listen to, Bad ending, Iron giant made of platinum, that was hard to fight for some stupid reason. I mean knock the damn thing over and break the windows omg. And a very lesbianish ending kinda hot though. Seriously the show was rushed and thrown together, Watch it or not, its your call. To disappointing to recommend. Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2014
    1
    At this point you can really feel the narrative dilution within the plot of LOK, as a result of the initial limitations the show. It is like reading a shonen manga with all the tropes, except instead of physical power as the main source of character growth. You have these poorly written emotional sub plots.

    Another aspect of the show that is meh, is the overhanded approach to
    At this point you can really feel the narrative dilution within the plot of LOK, as a result of the initial limitations the show. It is like reading a shonen manga with all the tropes, except instead of physical power as the main source of character growth. You have these poorly written emotional sub plots.

    Another aspect of the show that is meh, is the overhanded approach to introducing moral problems. I think that the setting and the tone of the show as a whole, painted the narrative into these preordained corners. That or they are just grasping at straws trying to find away to make money by keeping the show alive.

    What meaningful character growth that was saw in the first season has been devalued by the repetition of this theme in different variations. If anything the show would have been better without the avatar, and focusing on the side characters development.

    Sadly, the only things that are keeping the show alive are the art style, strong voice acting, and action animations. So basically LOK feels like something akin to a shonen. If that is your fancy all the more too you, but if you are looking for the depth that was in ATLB look elsewhere.
    Expand
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 3 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    May 22, 2012
    80
    Visually, Korra is striking. It's full of little tricks and nuances that only true fans will notice and savor, but nothing prevents civilians from enjoying it as well. The same holds for the mythology.
  2. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    May 22, 2012
    75
    When her Airbender training is postponed, Korra travels to Republic City, where Aang's son Tenzin lives, so he can teach her. And that's when the fun begins.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    May 22, 2012
    70
    Mostly, the intrigue in the half-hour pilot proves a trifle head-scratching, but there's a fair amount of action and an impressive look.