Battlestar Galactica (2003) : Season 3

  • Network: Syfy
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 8, 2003
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 302 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 302

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Clint
    Jan 15, 2007
    0
    Man this show is total crap. They use human cyclons cheep, They use 9mm, they drive humvees and world war 2 6 wheelers come on get real. Then they biker and fight so much i don
  2. MonoApeApe
    Jan 18, 2008
    2
    Hmmm. Seems like I may be in a minority here. Rather than write a waffling review, I'll simply suggest some alternative titles for the show: 1. Battlestar Cliche (the writers use every tired soap opera, science fiction mechanism invented) 2. Battlestar LongHardStare (as practiced by all the chracters at each other every 8 minutes, or so - hey, it's cheaper than special effects Hmmm. Seems like I may be in a minority here. Rather than write a waffling review, I'll simply suggest some alternative titles for the show: 1. Battlestar Cliche (the writers use every tired soap opera, science fiction mechanism invented) 2. Battlestar LongHardStare (as practiced by all the chracters at each other every 8 minutes, or so - hey, it's cheaper than special effects and compelling storyline) 3. Battlestar GodNonsense (I was expecting to see Ted Haggard in the script writer credits) 4. Battlestar HammyActing ("ooh, it's my turn for the camera - watch me ACT!") 5. Battlestar WhoopinAndHollerin ("Any time there's a celebration amongst the pilot jocks I half expect them to start chanting "USA! USA! USA!") 6. Battlestar GenderEquality (It's amazing how often women beat up much larger men I could go on, but you get the idea. Expand
  3. [Anonymous]
    Apr 6, 2008
    3
    Tedious, ponderous, and way too self important. The original BSG was definitely a joke, but I would still rather watch it compared to this. I just have a great deal of difficulty dutifully accepting all this nonsense about the humanoid cylons as i feel the show's producers would like me to. It is, quite simply, a plot device that is way too convoluted (I've read Kafka novels Tedious, ponderous, and way too self important. The original BSG was definitely a joke, but I would still rather watch it compared to this. I just have a great deal of difficulty dutifully accepting all this nonsense about the humanoid cylons as i feel the show's producers would like me to. It is, quite simply, a plot device that is way too convoluted (I've read Kafka novels that make more sense!). I appreciate that the notion of 'sleeper cells' mirrors our own society's current events nicely, but i feel that the ambiguous, to say the least, nature of the cylons - are they or aren't they? do they know themselves? can they choose to disobey their programming? - effectively ends any similarities with the terrorism we deal with in the real world. I see this less as a clever allegory and more as a rather pathetically manipulative ploy by the shows producers to string the audience along for 'just one more episode, 'when all questions will be answered'. don't bet on it. Also, if Cylons look like humans, act like humans, may or may not BE humans, then aren't they really just humans? Just because the show's producers tell you they are cylons is no reason for you to believe it. Give me the old scanning, red eye and the "By your command" any day over this manipulative drivel. Expand
  4. OganK.
    Mar 24, 2009
    3
    I totally agree with MonoApe Ape. I loved the ship designs and technology elements in the series, and some philosophical references, but machines having FAITH !?! that is far from SCI-FI machines built to compute and rely on reference logic can never have such pointless faith and stuff. And whats up with all that god mumbo-jumbo. There were too many cliches and the uniforms the space I totally agree with MonoApe Ape. I loved the ship designs and technology elements in the series, and some philosophical references, but machines having FAITH !?! that is far from SCI-FI machines built to compute and rely on reference logic can never have such pointless faith and stuff. And whats up with all that god mumbo-jumbo. There were too many cliches and the uniforms the space marines are wearing are too much alike SWAT teams, the weapons they used are also not compatible with the general texture of the series. I MEAN come on if you are making a sci-fi and if its about a people that has nothing to do with us humans PLEASE give some time to design ORIGINAL uniforms etc at least ! These are very crucial in a sci-fi, the watcher must lose contact with todays human society in order to enter into the atmosphere of what they are watching. In general I couldnt connect to the whole battlestar galactica concept I general found myself bored (except for the first season) watching. This series is a light sci-fi movie directed at general crowd who doesn't pay attention to detail and has little idea about sci-fi and philosophy. Big disappointment for me in general. Look at the real sci-fi works such as star wars and ghost in the shell, that is how sci-fi is made. IMAGINE DEEP. (cylons with ak-47's and 15000 yrs ago yeah right) - its like Scientology. Expand
  5. Tomas
    Apr 12, 2009
    3
    Lack of logic, gaping mistakes and spec effects. Fleet is commanded by an admiral who has no tactical and strategical knowledge, AI for stupid reasons create ORGANIC fighters (when the rest of their technologies are purely cybernetic) that is bred to be fighting mashines BUT include oxygen, space for passenger(which is not supposed to be there) AND the means to control it when it is Lack of logic, gaping mistakes and spec effects. Fleet is commanded by an admiral who has no tactical and strategical knowledge, AI for stupid reasons create ORGANIC fighters (when the rest of their technologies are purely cybernetic) that is bred to be fighting mashines BUT include oxygen, space for passenger(which is not supposed to be there) AND the means to control it when it is SUPPOSED to be stand alone unmanned fighter, parashutes in a SPACEFIGHTER. If you think this is ok and it should be like this - watch it, if not - do not even bother. You will save valuable time indeed. Expand
  6. MrShark
    Apr 12, 2009
    1
    I am grateful I'm not the only one here that thinks this show deserves way less than a 5. I'll try to make this review short; This show has too much sex scenes to cover up the boring plot and cheap twists in it. Every plot line looks like the writer's were saying something like "Hmm, this character doesn't have enough drama, let's make her/him act dumbly to creat I am grateful I'm not the only one here that thinks this show deserves way less than a 5. I'll try to make this review short; This show has too much sex scenes to cover up the boring plot and cheap twists in it. Every plot line looks like the writer's were saying something like "Hmm, this character doesn't have enough drama, let's make her/him act dumbly to creat cheap drama!" And yes, the drama is so cheap it would barely fit into a soap opera. The characters are unlikeable, unrealistic, full of cliché and as deep as a puddle of pee. They're the main thing why the whole series fall apart. They're not fleshed out, they don't have any actual character (other than "the manly chick" and "the strict captain" etc) because this kind of show needs characters that are easily made into something else. That they can be used as many times as needed and in as many different situations as needed. Everything surrounding the Cylons made me bored to death. The unlikeable blonde (that was trying to appeal to people by wanting ~love~) was I think, the worst character in the series. She appeared way too much, she didn't have any character at all, they basically tried to make her "mysterious" by making her reactions, character, thoughts and ways of thinking completely random and all over the place. The cylons were trapped between "ooh, we're scary machines!" and "boohoo, we just want to be loved"-drama and never really got out of it. I would've given this show a zero if it didn't have it's good sides though. I like the designs of the ships, but they lack actual details and depth. The only detail there is, is that nothing is rectangular. I think that was a cheap way to make things different from ours and I really don't consider it a "detailed environment". I also like the problems they face, for example the lack of water and food and how they cope with that. But the overall Crappiness vs. Good is 10-1 so for me, this show is not worth watching. The whole show lacks depth, interesting plot and characters. I would not call this show a "Sci-Fi Drama" but more like "Sci-Fi-ish Soap Opera". (Also AI that believes in a god? Give me a break.) Expand
  7. hohum
    Oct 9, 2006
    1
    I am a sci-fi fan and I have tried to get into this show. I just cannot keep from falling asleep when I watch this. If I want drama I will tivo soaps. As far as a sci-fi fix I will continue looking.
  8. MingOnMongo
    Mar 3, 2007
    2
    Sorry, but the new Battlestar Galactica series just seems way too overwrought and tedious to me. Sort of like watching Edward James Olmos doing "Days of Our Lives - in Outer Space". Or maybe like the 'soaps', the over-acting is the whole attraction. But hey, it's just TV and if it floats your boat, fine. What I'm curious about is why this series seems to attract the Sorry, but the new Battlestar Galactica series just seems way too overwrought and tedious to me. Sort of like watching Edward James Olmos doing "Days of Our Lives - in Outer Space". Or maybe like the 'soaps', the over-acting is the whole attraction. But hey, it's just TV and if it floats your boat, fine. What I'm curious about is why this series seems to attract the kind of fans who have such a spooky, almost religious fervor, and seem especially touchy about any kind of criticism from "unbelievers"? Or perhaps it's simply what happens when you watch too much over-dramatized, forced paranoia every week. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Any show that can accommodate decadent cruelty, tragic bravery, and political divisiveness is one you ought to be watching, frakkin' spaceships or not.
  2. 100
    One of TV’s boldest and best dramas.
  3. 90
    [The] third season... provides a[n] unpredictable, fascinating take on events dominating real-world headlines.