• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 25, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Ben & Kate Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Irresponsible Ben Fox (Nat Faxon) moves in with his very responsible sister Kate (Dakota Johnson) and her five-year-old daughter.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 19, 2012
    90
    Not only is the pilot a wonderful mix of hilarious moments (pretty much any time Faxon is in the picture) and subtle sentiment, but it's one of those shows where the acumen of the off-camera talent (Fox) is impressive and clear, which gives hope for long-term success.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Sep 25, 2012
    80
    [A] cleverly written show.
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Sep 25, 2012
    75
    It's another welcome helping of "New Girl" adorkability.
  4. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 24, 2012
    70
    It's the kind of show that could well settle into a nice groove once it gets a few episodes in, especially given that all the performances are top notch, including those from Lucy Punch and Echo Kellum as friends of the title duo.
  5. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Sep 25, 2012
    70
    What the pilot does have is simple charm, and enough laughs to give me a gut feeling that this show can build on the setup of a brother-sister pair who, between the two of them, make approximately one functional adult.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 25, 2012
    67
    While the premise is slight, smart casting gives Ben and Kate a comedic edge.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Ben and Kate is sometimes shrill, sometimes belligerent and sometimes (well, a lot of times) merely stupid. It is never funny.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Oct 24, 2012
    10
    The cast is wonderful and the characters brilliantly written. Echo Kellum and Lucy Punch seriously bring it as the supporting best friends. The leads, the little girl and the few guest stars they've had have all been extremely memorable. I wish it was a bigger success- it is better than the big bang theory, 2 broke girls and two and a half men combined. Collapse
  2. JBM
    Oct 15, 2012
    9
    This is a very likeable show. It has a solid home base and the comedy comes often. Unlike watching many sitcoms, I actually laughed while watching this show. I took an instant liking to the little girl and the two central characters. They employed that magic combo of quirky fun with heartwarming relatinoships that has made Modern Family a hit. Nice to see something new on TV that I actually want to see again. Expand
  3. Sep 26, 2012
    8
    wonderfully cast, ben and kate is filled with the right balnce of comedy and charm witout being to over the top. the actors and writers never have to reach far for the laughs. There is just something naturally funny about watching a brother and sister try to have a grown up relationship with in the confines of disfuntionality. I truly believed that Faxon and Johnson were a brother and sister. The girl playing the daughter is well cast and are the supporting characters playing ben and kates friends. we the audience can only hope that this comedy by fox doesnt fizzle out after such a great start or it doesn't fall victim to the fox juggling act that causes so many of that net works shows to be canceled. Expand
  4. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    The brother-sister dynamic is new, and the acting is uniformly excellent. I'm surprised that they were able to find such a group of deadpan-savvy actors - including the girl from We Bought a Zoo - to tie the show together. Great stuff. Expand
  5. Sep 27, 2012
    5
    Pretty decent. Kind of like a Dumb and Dumber for grown ups. The writing seemed better than the acting. Half-way honest, and less formulated than most ... but a little too hokey. Expand
  6. Oct 28, 2012
    5
    The show feels fresh and has a likable cast. Maybe Dakota Johnson as Kate is a bit too nice, but Lucy Punch gives the show enough bite. The episodes usually start out with an idea that's funny, having the potential for good comedy. Sadly, the stories sometimes loose momentum and start stalling towards the end because the good setup isn't followed by a plot that's leading to a climactic finale. I these cases I missed some kind of punchline at the end, leaving me with a "meh" feeling. Furthermore, while the dialogues can be quite funny, the discussions between Ben and Kate about "serious" issues feel so phony, they bring a scene to a standstill. Usually Kate tries to explain why she can't or must do something because she's a mother. It's supposed to sound serious and earnest, but it's usually silly, because even mothers go to parties and have fun and they don't exercise emergency drills at home.

    Ben & Kate is a decent show and has it's share of fun, but it has some weaknesses, which can be fixed and I hope they do.
    I, for one, will watch the upcoming episodes because I have hope for this show and Lucy Punch is giving us some really funny stuff.
    And to the writers: Having Ben crying loudly in front of a bathroom mirror at the end might be funny to some people, others will call it plain weird and a little creepy.
    Expand