Betrayal : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 29, 2013
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 18
  2. Negative: 10 out of 18

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 26, 2013
    60
    With law, politics, forbidden romance and the sordid doings of awful rich people all on the table, the raw material is certainly available for Betrayal to become a solid guilty pleasure.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 27, 2013
    58
    The fatal attraction story line is a long windup to a punchline you already know, and promos have revealed it as well. The mystery element is plopped down in the middle of that particular story like a lead MacGuffin.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 27, 2013
    50
    Adapted from the Dutch series Overspel (adultery), Betrayal is consistently overwrought.
  4. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Sep 27, 2013
    40
    Presumably, all sorts of twists and machinations lie ahead, but the premiere doesn’t make much of a case for sticking around to see what they are. It would help if Mr. Townsend and Ms. Ware had chemistry, but they’re basically generic-looking actors playing out an unsurprising dynamic.
  5. Reviewed by: Rick Porter
    Sep 30, 2013
    40
    You might feel bad for the wine, and maybe for the hour you could have spent doing other things. You probably won't feel bad for Sara or Jack.
  6. Reviewed by: Lily Moayeri
    Sep 29, 2013
    45
    The acting lacks conviction, but with a script this predictably sudsy, acting chops aren't at the top of the required list.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    I like Betrayal and hope they bring it back for another season. Can't wait for the next one. ABC always cancels the good shows.Hope they don'tI like Betrayal and hope they bring it back for another season. Can't wait for the next one. ABC always cancels the good shows.Hope they don't cancel it like Red Widow. Full Review »
  2. Dec 1, 2013
    10
    Me personally, I LOVE this show! I hope they come out with another season, and another after that. Can't wait to see what happens as thisMe personally, I LOVE this show! I hope they come out with another season, and another after that. Can't wait to see what happens as this first season finishes out! Love the chemistry and suspense that comes with it! Full Review »
  3. Feb 20, 2015
    3
    "Betrayal: Season 1" is wholly predictable and badly acted, but what really makes this show so unlikable is the lackluster scriptwriting and"Betrayal: Season 1" is wholly predictable and badly acted, but what really makes this show so unlikable is the lackluster scriptwriting and relationships. Hannah Ware is hot though... Full Review »