• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 12, 2006
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 111 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 111
  2. Negative: 21 out of 111

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. David
    Mar 10, 2009
    0
    This could have been interesting and good, and has had its moments. Instead it is gradually stooping to gutter levels lower than most soap operas, and tries to make up for its lack of quality by dragging the Mormon Church through the mud for ratings. This is becoming more like something that Jerry Springer would do. Tom Hanks should be embarrassed.
  2. Madeleine
    Mar 13, 2006
    4
    Polygamy ain't great; neither is this show. Although there seemed to be some reasonably good acting, it is hard to see why one would take the time to develop an "acquired taste" for a show based on lives that are so excruciatingly mundane, as if mundane X 3 might make it all the more compelling. Additionally, the token shots of Salt Lake City and vicinity in this first episode lacked Polygamy ain't great; neither is this show. Although there seemed to be some reasonably good acting, it is hard to see why one would take the time to develop an "acquired taste" for a show based on lives that are so excruciatingly mundane, as if mundane X 3 might make it all the more compelling. Additionally, the token shots of Salt Lake City and vicinity in this first episode lacked geographic continuity. Expand
  3. RMorehead
    Apr 20, 2006
    10
    I love this show. The characters are great and the story line is great.
  4. [Anonymous]
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    i think this show is interesting and entertaining i will watch evey episode
  5. SheilaB
    May 6, 2006
    10
    Wondeful show,Love it !!!!!!!!
  6. matta
    Mar 22, 2007
    7
    I think this score is pretty fair. They say that you write what you know about, and, as much time as the creators and lead writers for this show claim they spent researching Salt lake City and polygamists, they still got a lot of stuff wrong. I know because I love in Salt Lake. As far as Roman's camp goes, that is pretty spot on. There are some creepy groups in the southern part of I think this score is pretty fair. They say that you write what you know about, and, as much time as the creators and lead writers for this show claim they spent researching Salt lake City and polygamists, they still got a lot of stuff wrong. I know because I love in Salt Lake. As far as Roman's camp goes, that is pretty spot on. There are some creepy groups in the southern part of the state that are definitely similar to their group. However, I have never met (and I have met some polygamists and gone to school with their kids), or heard of a situation like Bill Henrickson's and his families. The families that actually lived in "suburbia" among the rest of us didn't have the money, or the overall normalness to their lives that Bill's does. The kids that I went to school with were seriously screwed up and total outcasts-not necessarily because they were polygamists, but because they were just messed up from their family situation. I think what the creators have done is fused what is in their minds the ideal LDS or Mormon family with a polygamist family. They don't exist, which damages the realism of the show, but I still like it because it is entertaining. I just think this is something everyone should consider while watching the show...... Expand
  7. EvanM
    Mar 4, 2009
    10
    Everything you need to know about Mormonism you will learn from this show. Unfuckingbelievable.
  8. TicoTico
    Nov 29, 2006
    10
    The Bible does not condemn poligamy as a sin. The Lord himself uses a poligamous marriage as a comparison of the Kingdom of God, in Mathew 25:1-13. And God compares Himself to a polygamous husband in Ezekiel 23. Many great men of God were polygamous, including the man who had a heart like God's, King David. He was never called an adulterer for having more than one wife, but he did The Bible does not condemn poligamy as a sin. The Lord himself uses a poligamous marriage as a comparison of the Kingdom of God, in Mathew 25:1-13. And God compares Himself to a polygamous husband in Ezekiel 23. Many great men of God were polygamous, including the man who had a heart like God's, King David. He was never called an adulterer for having more than one wife, but he did commit adultery when he took his neighbor's wife, the one who later gave birth to King Salomon. Polygamy may not be for everyone, like monogamy may not be for everyone. But it is not fair to say that there is something intrinsically immoral in polygamy, and many cultures still recognize polygamy legally, which in reality offers more protection to women and children. In countries where polygamy is prohibited, it takes place anyways, but in a way that is irresponsible many times, and dishonest. Many divorces and much pain to children could be avoided if we learned the truth about polygamy. Expand
  9. CarlW
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    This programme is brilliant, the best US drama to hit the Uk in years
  10. ToddW
    Mar 27, 2006
    9
    interesting - dont know how long it could last, but there are some very human and interesting personal/emotional issues to be explored.
  11. Grace
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    Realistic reflection of the ideals of Joseph Smith brought forward to the present had not the US government passed laws against polygamy. Smith and Young are Utah heroes and they were polygamists. The book, Under the Banner of Heaven : A Story of Violent Faith, by Jon Krakauer provides more insight into Mormon polygamists today.
  12. OliverW
    Mar 31, 2006
    1
    Simply stated... this is not a good show. Very weak effort. I cannot wait for Huff to reconvene this week, which by the way is average at best. We need shows with real pain on Sundays. Where for art thou Deadwood, alas Six Feet Under is six feet under.
  13. GeneS
    Apr 17, 2006
    1
    What a waste of good actors. I've watched six episodes (only because it's on after Sopranos) & don't understand the good reviews. Except for the scenes that involve Bruce Dern & Harry Dean Stanton, it's nothing but an insipid soap. Borrring! i'm not watching it anymore, & if I want to find out what happens to the characters, I can always read the episode summary What a waste of good actors. I've watched six episodes (only because it's on after Sopranos) & don't understand the good reviews. Except for the scenes that involve Bruce Dern & Harry Dean Stanton, it's nothing but an insipid soap. Borrring! i'm not watching it anymore, & if I want to find out what happens to the characters, I can always read the episode summary on HBO's website, which will save me wasting my time! Expand
  14. Lola
    Apr 30, 2006
    10
    Unique and Fascinating.
  15. victorr
    Apr 5, 2006
    0
    I am offended that you would produce the series Big Love. It demeans and distorts sacred beliefs of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. By setting the show in Salt Lake City, it blurs the line between the Church and the long renounced practice of . Please cancel the show immediately
  16. StephB
    May 12, 2006
    10
    I just adore the series! All of the characters fit like a puzzle pieces and they are all definately different pieces!
  17. PamK
    May 22, 2006
    10
    Great show--always fun to watch. Can't wait for the next show each week!
  18. Met
    May 7, 2006
    10
    Absolutely fascinating, unique. I love it Very interesting to see into the lives of people you wont normally see.
  19. Jeff
    Jun 18, 2006
    1
    Haven
  20. DavidW
    Jul 14, 2006
    10
    I do believe this series has nothing to do with LDS or polygamy or what ever it seems to be. Why? Well This series shows a group of people hiding their lifestyle for the sake of survival. Haven't we allready seen that? I think the same plot could be used in WWII Europe to show the life of a Jewish family scared to be found by the Germans. I can very good imagine a gay couple in say I do believe this series has nothing to do with LDS or polygamy or what ever it seems to be. Why? Well This series shows a group of people hiding their lifestyle for the sake of survival. Haven't we allready seen that? I think the same plot could be used in WWII Europe to show the life of a Jewish family scared to be found by the Germans. I can very good imagine a gay couple in say the 50's to live the same fear and problems. The list could go on... Why are you people do not see under the hood? It's not about God and his many churches and beliefs. It's about us humans and our intolerance for any strange behaviour. Polygamists are maybe the last US-american minority on which we can study this act of misunderstanding. For the record i was raised catholic but i can not livemy life with or in the church, any church. Expand
  21. BrianH
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    love it!
  22. DanielB.
    May 18, 2007
    10
    A menage-a-quatre becomes a lens to focus the virtues and foibles of family life to white-hot intensity. Contrary to expectations, the female characters are strong and full of surprises. Head of household Bill's family was shattered by the wicked prophet Roman. Shakespearean conflict rears its fearful head as the story progresses. Dialog economical and impeccable. Situations quirky, A menage-a-quatre becomes a lens to focus the virtues and foibles of family life to white-hot intensity. Contrary to expectations, the female characters are strong and full of surprises. Head of household Bill's family was shattered by the wicked prophet Roman. Shakespearean conflict rears its fearful head as the story progresses. Dialog economical and impeccable. Situations quirky, humorous, and agonizing. Music superb. Watch with your significant other and you will find the occasion for hours of stimulating conversation. You will also learn much about each other. And what IS Bill's tragic flaw? Expand
  23. reginal
    Jul 30, 2007
    10
    I love the show it keeps me on the edge of my seat. There is always something new happening at the Hendrickson's. I hope to see more of this show next season. Don't be a hater be a fan.
  24. AlyA.
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    I love this show! I think that Heidi B. who gave it a zero is wrong. It isn't necessarily meant to be perfect in every way and isn't truly based on one family but many that may live that lifestyle. It's a lifestyle that could be interpreted many ways. How about shows that are supposed to be based on certain places that don't say things right. If a show is based in I love this show! I think that Heidi B. who gave it a zero is wrong. It isn't necessarily meant to be perfect in every way and isn't truly based on one family but many that may live that lifestyle. It's a lifestyle that could be interpreted many ways. How about shows that are supposed to be based on certain places that don't say things right. If a show is based in Seattle then the characters should say the town names correctly (i.e. Frasier and Lake Chelan among others). Only the cold hard facts should be taken into consideration when judging shows and this show is not based on cold hard facts but many many different facts and aspects put together. Maybe some shows should learn the city their based in and the surrounding cities' and places' names before they worry about whether they are truly depicting a family that most likely doesn't truly exist but many people put together. It is very intriguing and interesting to look into a type of life that I don't really know about or see and the trails they face even if it is not based one hundred percent on facts. Expand
  25. HeidiB.
    Aug 3, 2007
    0
    I have to say that I've been addicted to this show. But I'm done. After such offensive scenes as in the last episode I can't go on watching with a clear conscious. I can't let 3X material into my home. Disappointed that a show with potential has to stoop to that level. Also the LDS research was not done very thoroughly. They say things that are so distorted and so I have to say that I've been addicted to this show. But I'm done. After such offensive scenes as in the last episode I can't go on watching with a clear conscious. I can't let 3X material into my home. Disappointed that a show with potential has to stoop to that level. Also the LDS research was not done very thoroughly. They say things that are so distorted and so just- wrong! Do more research. Get it right or move on. Expand
  26. SusanL.
    Mar 1, 2008
    3
    Nope. I don't get it.
  27. shannons
    Nov 1, 2006
    10
    I love this show. I just stopped one night not even planning on watching it. I got hooked the first night. My husband now loves it too.
  28. Jared
    Mar 13, 2006
    7
    I appreciate the world seeing polgamy in a "real life" sense, but I did get a little bored. I hope it gets interesting. I love the cast. This drama doesn't represent my experience in Utah living polygamy.
  29. CooperG
    Mar 13, 2006
    10
    Great Television
  30. xxxxxxxxxxxxx
    Mar 15, 2006
    10
    This show tastefully shows the audience a different point of view on family. A lot like Desperate Housewives except all these lovers are married- very well written show!
  31. ClintM.
    Mar 21, 2006
    9
    A wonderfully written and well acted new show! I tuned in to this rather than my usual Grey's Anatomy, and fell in love already. The characters are really rich and the story line completely original. A+ to Chloe Sevigny for being the newest character we love to hate!!
  32. KathyG
    Mar 20, 2006
    10
    Loved it and am totally hooked.
  33. RyanS
    Mar 22, 2006
    3
    It's just not the type of show that i should be following the Sopranos, not with it's slow meandering pace and real lack of direction. I don't care about any of the characters except for maybe Tripplehorn and the daughter. I already think i know everything i want to about this family.
  34. HeidiM
    Mar 29, 2006
    0
    This show is, and should be considered offensive to anyone who is a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. It does not matter that you have a disclaimer at the end of the first show. The damage is already done, as proof by the comment by Julian M!! The fact that you have it set in Utah, immediately implicates our church, not to mention the fact that it is about a This show is, and should be considered offensive to anyone who is a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. It does not matter that you have a disclaimer at the end of the first show. The damage is already done, as proof by the comment by Julian M!! The fact that you have it set in Utah, immediately implicates our church, not to mention the fact that it is about a practice that most people believe we practise! WE DO NOT BELIEVE IN POLIGAMY!! And by producing this show and making references to specific beliefs that we as member of this church hold sacred it is an outrage! If you wish to produce a show about poligamy that is fine! But set is someone other than Utah, and leave out the references to beliefs in our church that we find sacred! I hope the show is cancelled! But even if it does get cancelled the damage to is already done. There are enough misconceptions out there about our relgion without this TV show adding to them! Expand
  35. DerekT
    Apr 15, 2006
    4
    Bill Paxton, like Kevin Costner, is only a decent actor when not speaking. The petty squabbles on this show are impossible to sit through, and the young wife (Maggie?) is like a little child. The ancillary characters are all simple caricatures. It's all just ridiculous, but not in a way that makes me look forward to it. "The Sopranos" as a lead-in is the only thing keeping this show Bill Paxton, like Kevin Costner, is only a decent actor when not speaking. The petty squabbles on this show are impossible to sit through, and the young wife (Maggie?) is like a little child. The ancillary characters are all simple caricatures. It's all just ridiculous, but not in a way that makes me look forward to it. "The Sopranos" as a lead-in is the only thing keeping this show on the air. Expand
  36. GailB
    Apr 16, 2006
    8
    Although parts of this series border on the ridiculous, I find it quite interesting. As a former Mormon whose great grandfather had three wives and 21 children, it resonates for me as a peek into my ancesters. The concept is very original and, once again, HBO has struck it rich with expert casting. I am curious to know how accurate the portrayal of the commune is. I enjoy it and hate to Although parts of this series border on the ridiculous, I find it quite interesting. As a former Mormon whose great grandfather had three wives and 21 children, it resonates for me as a peek into my ancesters. The concept is very original and, once again, HBO has struck it rich with expert casting. I am curious to know how accurate the portrayal of the commune is. I enjoy it and hate to miss an episode. Expand
  37. nettier
    Apr 17, 2006
    10
    I love this show. In fact , my husband and co-workers love it too. It is different and keeps one thinking about what's going to happen next. You develop little sub plots about what could happen.
  38. NancyF
    Apr 20, 2006
    10
    I love this show!
  39. CoriniusH
    Apr 28, 2006
    10
    Excellent show, original and interesting. I love the settlings all the locations have a legit feel to them. The idea that "The Sopranos" is the show which all other HBO shows must measure up to is wrong. If tired Italian stereotypes and wanton violence is your thing then this show isnt for you, but if your looking for an original and interesting show look no further
  40. victorr
    Apr 5, 2006
    0
    I am offended that you would produce the series Big Love. It demeans and distorts sacred beliefs of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. By setting the show in Salt Lake City, it blurs the line between the Church and the long renounced practice of . Please cancel the show immediately
  41. Alexandra
    Jul 26, 2006
    4
    I did not like the show very much. All the characters seemed pretty crazy to me. People in their right mind would not act like that. It's very "different" in a way that makes me sick. I will just watch my Desperate Houseviwes, a much better show to waste your life with.
  42. EileenS
    Aug 23, 2006
    10
    I love Big Love, it's the freshest idea on Television in years, the cast is great and the stories are so well written and acted, I miss it and can't wait for the second season, only reason I get HBO
  43. susanc
    Sep 4, 2006
    10
    Excellent series.It had me hooked after the first episode.
  44. BrianH
    Sep 4, 2006
    10
    love it!
  45. SusanC
    Nov 9, 2007
    5
    HBO has a track record for making good shows about things that the American public has a delicious, shameful curiosity about (the mafia, funeral parlors) and polygamy should be no exception. But there comes a point where, no matter how compelling the curiosity, you have to actually *like* the characters for the show to work. Despite the fantastic acting, most of the characters feel a HBO has a track record for making good shows about things that the American public has a delicious, shameful curiosity about (the mafia, funeral parlors) and polygamy should be no exception. But there comes a point where, no matter how compelling the curiosity, you have to actually *like* the characters for the show to work. Despite the fantastic acting, most of the characters feel a little flat to me. Ho-hum, lots of petty in fighting. Once I got used to everybody, the show's appeal waned and I turned to "Mad Men". Expand
  46. brendal
    Feb 4, 2007
    9
    I love the show though it does drag on every once in awhile and for those of you that stated that salt lake city doesnt have any polygamy. Just check out a deseret industries on a Saturday.
  47. barekah
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    its one of the most well written shows. the premise of the show is original and what i like the most is that its not only about the 3 wives.
  48. maryw
    Aug 14, 2007
    10
    I LOVE Big Love. I lived in Nevada some time ago and knew many types of Mormons. This is ingenious, right on, and cutting edge. I saw one episode and couldn't wait for more. I see the show as a cross between The Soprano's and Twin Peaks. It hits the pulse of "cult" and is a real eye opener. I love the writing, directing, acting, and styling. The "look" is SO right on!
  49. ritaf
    Jan 5, 2009
    8
    I was a huge fan of "True Blood" but I never watched "Big Love". Last night they were having a bit of a marathon and I decided to see what the fuss was with this show and I must admit I watched it. Than I went to HBO on Demand and watched the next episode. The verdict is stil out BUT I am going home tonight and watch a couple more episodes. I am watching last season. I am a fan of Bruce I was a huge fan of "True Blood" but I never watched "Big Love". Last night they were having a bit of a marathon and I decided to see what the fuss was with this show and I must admit I watched it. Than I went to HBO on Demand and watched the next episode. The verdict is stil out BUT I am going home tonight and watch a couple more episodes. I am watching last season. I am a fan of Bruce Dern and Grace Zabriske. I have always liked Harry Dean Stanton even though he is so creepy in this. I have this feeling I am going to be hooked, something about each episode drew me further into these families.. I will be back with my verdict. Expand
  50. JessiB
    Mar 10, 2009
    5
    It's an interesting idea. I was fascinated to see what polygamy looked like in our society, but as it turned out, the wonder wore off quickly and I was left watching a random family drama that really didn't bring much excitement to my tv watching life. I think I'll sit this next season out.
  51. StevenL
    Mar 8, 2009
    2
    Just don't get the fascination.
  52. MaryBethS
    May 31, 2009
    10
    Interesting insights into an intriguing lifestyle. We are a monogamous household hooked on "Big Love."
  53. AndyN
    Sep 10, 2009
    0
    I really wanted to give this a higher rating - like others I think Bill Paxtons acting is spot on. The trouble I have with giving any rating to this show is it is not based on truth. As we all know good comedy and good drama etc.needs that. What you have here is the functional equivalent noteably simular to when bad sci-fi becomes just silly bad sci-fantasy- not based on anything I really wanted to give this a higher rating - like others I think Bill Paxtons acting is spot on. The trouble I have with giving any rating to this show is it is not based on truth. As we all know good comedy and good drama etc.needs that. What you have here is the functional equivalent noteably simular to when bad sci-fi becomes just silly bad sci-fantasy- not based on anything scienticfic whatsoever. Honest history is ignored, facts are completely obliterated for want of $-greater-$ sensationalism. Used to be comedy was the only place where nothing was sacred, now we have decended below even a hint of respect for Americas most successful Christian Church worldwide. Tom Hanks proved to me that he hated the Catholic Church with his involvement with The Da Vince Code, etc. Now he's bent on castigating The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, through this flagrant misuse of their sacred ordinance etc.. Everyone involved in the production of this pulped up fluff should take note of the possible kind of persecution this may cull up in the most ignorant and hatemonkering of our society. HBO shame on you! Expand
  54. ChristinaN
    Dec 13, 2006
    9
    I watched the first episode one night so keep from being bored and I must say...I totally frown upon polygamy and this show makes it not look so dark. I know it is a bad subject, but the Henrickson family reminds it's viewers they can be normal human beings like the rest of the country.
  55. JasonP
    Mar 13, 2006
    10
    This is a refreshing look at a way of life viewed to be completely unacceptable by modern society. What guy out there hasn't had the notion at one point in time to have more than one wife. This show takes the idea and portrays the true reality of how difficult it can be to run one household, let alone three. I enjoyed the first episode and look forward to watching the characters grow This is a refreshing look at a way of life viewed to be completely unacceptable by modern society. What guy out there hasn't had the notion at one point in time to have more than one wife. This show takes the idea and portrays the true reality of how difficult it can be to run one household, let alone three. I enjoyed the first episode and look forward to watching the characters grow and continue their manipulation and family destruction towards eachother. Good job HBO. Expand
  56. StephenW
    Mar 13, 2006
    9
    Nicely done that leads one to want see more....the lead wife is outstanding in the part! A-
  57. JamieE
    Mar 13, 2006
    7
    I am not sure what I expected-- but I have hope that I will get more into this show later into the season. Enough to keep watching anyway. . .
  58. SeanB
    Mar 13, 2006
    10
    The signs are already there--this will become a true classic. And easily one of the greatest casts ever assembled on TV.
  59. JohannH
    Mar 18, 2006
    5
    I was pretty interested when I heard about the show's theme the first time and so I had high expectations on it. But after 30 minutes watching it I got so bored that I turned it off... This show won't become a classic, this show needs a STORYLINE.
  60. Josh
    Mar 18, 2006
    6
    The show has adequate acting, but the strain of the polygamy plot is made worse by including the main character's mother and father living in a cult. Credibility was immediately lost, and I don't feel the need to tune in next week after the Sopranos. Too bad Deadwood didn't come back instead.
  61. InaW
    Mar 19, 2006
    10
    The first episode has got me hooked, because I am already loving the different characters and their travails.
  62. JulianM
    Mar 27, 2006
    3
    I can't get into this 3 families fighting and conniving. Why should I watch that, say instead of an educational program? I think the Church of Mormon is based on craziness and polygamy is one proof of that. The wives are unvbelievable - sophisticated women would not put themselves in such a trap.
  63. wendys
    Mar 27, 2006
    8
    Excellent show. Compelling, interesting will keep watching it.
  64. EB
    Mar 27, 2006
    0
    Absolute trash on television. The people who watch this are not looking for the higher things in life. It misrepresents life in Salt Lake City. Nobody there is a polygamist. Its setting should have been somewhere else. I hope HBO cancels this show soon before people get the wrong idea.
  65. chrisb
    Apr 19, 2006
    10
    Hilarious, intriguing and keeps you on the edge of your seat to see what's gonna happen next week!
  66. BrianH
    Aug 24, 2006
    10
    love it!
  67. JohnM
    Jan 13, 2007
    10
    Excellent series and asks the viwer the right questions on a difficult topic. Superb cast especially Bill Paxman and this is up to the quality of previous HBO shows. Can't wait for Season 2 with more episodes hopefully!
  68. LaurenS
    Feb 22, 2007
    10
    Fabulous show! Very entertaining and I can't wait for the next season to start!
  69. ShariD.
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    I'm completely hooked! I now crush on Bill Paxton and sympathize with each wife. I'm going through withdrawals in anticipation of season 2.
  70. jenl
    Mar 31, 2007
    9
    Great new show. I wasn't sure at first, but the acting is well done. It is a comedy, drama, and romance all in one. The plot is slow, but for some reason it draws me back each week. It is like a guilty pleasure.
  71. LoisR.
    Jul 17, 2007
    10
    Great ensemble acting, super great caste, story lines that actually pick up all the threads...Polygamist Sopranos without the hype.
  72. KevinL.
    Sep 24, 2007
    6
    Brilliant Show. It isn't the best show on television but it has the strong base that holds itself up on its feet by the end. Don't be fooled when you don't like the beginning of the series but after you really start to see its outstanding performances, writing and acting throughout. Its ideas are well executed with such a captivating tone.
  73. NessyD.
    Mar 11, 2009
    10
    I have heard about the show when it was starting up but had no real interest in watching it. I decided not to change the channel one day while a rerun was on and got curious and watched the entire previous seasons on demand, back-to-back. To my satisfaction it was not a waste of time. The cast is very talented and shares great chemistry. The storyline is interesting, keeps one asking for I have heard about the show when it was starting up but had no real interest in watching it. I decided not to change the channel one day while a rerun was on and got curious and watched the entire previous seasons on demand, back-to-back. To my satisfaction it was not a waste of time. The cast is very talented and shares great chemistry. The storyline is interesting, keeps one asking for more. I hope to see more seasons to come: Long Live "Big Love"!! Expand
  74. Nov 16, 2010
    0
    I just started watching this series. I hate it. I watched the first episode and hated it, but figured I would watch a couple more to see if it could change my mind. Needless to say I haven't changed my mind. This program makes me feel sick to my stomach watching it. I am not religious so I don't care how that concept is presented in this series. What I care about is the genderI just started watching this series. I hate it. I watched the first episode and hated it, but figured I would watch a couple more to see if it could change my mind. Needless to say I haven't changed my mind. This program makes me feel sick to my stomach watching it. I am not religious so I don't care how that concept is presented in this series. What I care about is the gender inequality. How anyone can watch this and enjoy it is beyond me. Women have lived too long under the thumb of men. Why is it that it would be nearly impossible for a woman to entertain the notion of having more than one husband, while men are still able to get away with having more than one wife? Expand
  75. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    just an amazing show! and an amazing last season. Big love has ever been a great series, and i'll regret it because big love talked about family, lobe, anger. Big love doesn't nly focus on polygamous, it focus on life.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 80
    Big Love... is in no hurry to unfurl its plotlines or push its charms. Give it a couple of episodes, though, and you'll be snared.
  2. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    83
    The casting is so good and the production design so sophisticated that the series' pull toward baroque psychosexual doings is, so far, pleasurable. [7 Apr 2006, p.51]
  3. 90
    There are elements of this new series that have a quirkiness that might seem deliberate or overly clever against a different backdrop, but that feels natural in its own gracefully odd environment.