Big Love : Season 1

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 12, 2006
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 120
  2. Negative: 30 out of 120

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    just an amazing show! and an amazing last season. Big love has ever been a great series, and i'll regret it because big love talked about family, lobe, anger. Big love doesn't nly focus on polygamous, it focus on life.
  2. RMorehead
    Apr 20, 2006
    10
    I love this show. The characters are great and the story line is great.
  3. [Anonymous]
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    i think this show is interesting and entertaining i will watch evey episode
  4. SheilaB
    May 6, 2006
    10
    Wondeful show,Love it !!!!!!!!
  5. matta
    Mar 22, 2007
    7
    I think this score is pretty fair. They say that you write what you know about, and, as much time as the creators and lead writers for this show claim they spent researching Salt lake City and polygamists, they still got a lot of stuff wrong. I know because I love in Salt Lake. As far as Roman's camp goes, that is pretty spot on. There are some creepy groups in the southern part of I think this score is pretty fair. They say that you write what you know about, and, as much time as the creators and lead writers for this show claim they spent researching Salt lake City and polygamists, they still got a lot of stuff wrong. I know because I love in Salt Lake. As far as Roman's camp goes, that is pretty spot on. There are some creepy groups in the southern part of the state that are definitely similar to their group. However, I have never met (and I have met some polygamists and gone to school with their kids), or heard of a situation like Bill Henrickson's and his families. The families that actually lived in "suburbia" among the rest of us didn't have the money, or the overall normalness to their lives that Bill's does. The kids that I went to school with were seriously screwed up and total outcasts-not necessarily because they were polygamists, but because they were just messed up from their family situation. I think what the creators have done is fused what is in their minds the ideal LDS or Mormon family with a polygamist family. They don't exist, which damages the realism of the show, but I still like it because it is entertaining. I just think this is something everyone should consider while watching the show...... Expand
  6. EvanM
    Mar 4, 2009
    10
    Everything you need to know about Mormonism you will learn from this show. Unfuckingbelievable.
  7. TicoTico
    Nov 29, 2006
    10
    The Bible does not condemn poligamy as a sin. The Lord himself uses a poligamous marriage as a comparison of the Kingdom of God, in Mathew 25:1-13. And God compares Himself to a polygamous husband in Ezekiel 23. Many great men of God were polygamous, including the man who had a heart like God's, King David. He was never called an adulterer for having more than one wife, but he did The Bible does not condemn poligamy as a sin. The Lord himself uses a poligamous marriage as a comparison of the Kingdom of God, in Mathew 25:1-13. And God compares Himself to a polygamous husband in Ezekiel 23. Many great men of God were polygamous, including the man who had a heart like God's, King David. He was never called an adulterer for having more than one wife, but he did commit adultery when he took his neighbor's wife, the one who later gave birth to King Salomon. Polygamy may not be for everyone, like monogamy may not be for everyone. But it is not fair to say that there is something intrinsically immoral in polygamy, and many cultures still recognize polygamy legally, which in reality offers more protection to women and children. In countries where polygamy is prohibited, it takes place anyways, but in a way that is irresponsible many times, and dishonest. Many divorces and much pain to children could be avoided if we learned the truth about polygamy. Expand
  8. CarlW
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    This programme is brilliant, the best US drama to hit the Uk in years
  9. ToddW
    Mar 27, 2006
    9
    interesting - dont know how long it could last, but there are some very human and interesting personal/emotional issues to be explored.
  10. Grace
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    Realistic reflection of the ideals of Joseph Smith brought forward to the present had not the US government passed laws against polygamy. Smith and Young are Utah heroes and they were polygamists. The book, Under the Banner of Heaven : A Story of Violent Faith, by Jon Krakauer provides more insight into Mormon polygamists today.
  11. Lola
    Apr 30, 2006
    10
    Unique and Fascinating.
  12. StephB
    May 12, 2006
    10
    I just adore the series! All of the characters fit like a puzzle pieces and they are all definately different pieces!
  13. PamK
    May 22, 2006
    10
    Great show--always fun to watch. Can't wait for the next show each week!
  14. Met
    May 7, 2006
    10
    Absolutely fascinating, unique. I love it Very interesting to see into the lives of people you wont normally see.
  15. DavidW
    Jul 14, 2006
    10
    I do believe this series has nothing to do with LDS or polygamy or what ever it seems to be. Why? Well This series shows a group of people hiding their lifestyle for the sake of survival. Haven't we allready seen that? I think the same plot could be used in WWII Europe to show the life of a Jewish family scared to be found by the Germans. I can very good imagine a gay couple in say I do believe this series has nothing to do with LDS or polygamy or what ever it seems to be. Why? Well This series shows a group of people hiding their lifestyle for the sake of survival. Haven't we allready seen that? I think the same plot could be used in WWII Europe to show the life of a Jewish family scared to be found by the Germans. I can very good imagine a gay couple in say the 50's to live the same fear and problems. The list could go on... Why are you people do not see under the hood? It's not about God and his many churches and beliefs. It's about us humans and our intolerance for any strange behaviour. Polygamists are maybe the last US-american minority on which we can study this act of misunderstanding. For the record i was raised catholic but i can not livemy life with or in the church, any church. Expand
  16. BrianH
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    love it!
  17. DanielB.
    May 18, 2007
    10
    A menage-a-quatre becomes a lens to focus the virtues and foibles of family life to white-hot intensity. Contrary to expectations, the female characters are strong and full of surprises. Head of household Bill's family was shattered by the wicked prophet Roman. Shakespearean conflict rears its fearful head as the story progresses. Dialog economical and impeccable. Situations quirky, A menage-a-quatre becomes a lens to focus the virtues and foibles of family life to white-hot intensity. Contrary to expectations, the female characters are strong and full of surprises. Head of household Bill's family was shattered by the wicked prophet Roman. Shakespearean conflict rears its fearful head as the story progresses. Dialog economical and impeccable. Situations quirky, humorous, and agonizing. Music superb. Watch with your significant other and you will find the occasion for hours of stimulating conversation. You will also learn much about each other. And what IS Bill's tragic flaw? Expand
  18. reginal
    Jul 30, 2007
    10
    I love the show it keeps me on the edge of my seat. There is always something new happening at the Hendrickson's. I hope to see more of this show next season. Don't be a hater be a fan.
  19. AlyA.
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    I love this show! I think that Heidi B. who gave it a zero is wrong. It isn't necessarily meant to be perfect in every way and isn't truly based on one family but many that may live that lifestyle. It's a lifestyle that could be interpreted many ways. How about shows that are supposed to be based on certain places that don't say things right. If a show is based in I love this show! I think that Heidi B. who gave it a zero is wrong. It isn't necessarily meant to be perfect in every way and isn't truly based on one family but many that may live that lifestyle. It's a lifestyle that could be interpreted many ways. How about shows that are supposed to be based on certain places that don't say things right. If a show is based in Seattle then the characters should say the town names correctly (i.e. Frasier and Lake Chelan among others). Only the cold hard facts should be taken into consideration when judging shows and this show is not based on cold hard facts but many many different facts and aspects put together. Maybe some shows should learn the city their based in and the surrounding cities' and places' names before they worry about whether they are truly depicting a family that most likely doesn't truly exist but many people put together. It is very intriguing and interesting to look into a type of life that I don't really know about or see and the trails they face even if it is not based one hundred percent on facts. Expand
  20. shannons
    Nov 1, 2006
    10
    I love this show. I just stopped one night not even planning on watching it. I got hooked the first night. My husband now loves it too.
  21. Jared
    Mar 13, 2006
    7
    I appreciate the world seeing polgamy in a "real life" sense, but I did get a little bored. I hope it gets interesting. I love the cast. This drama doesn't represent my experience in Utah living polygamy.
  22. CooperG
    Mar 13, 2006
    10
    Great Television
  23. xxxxxxxxxxxxx
    Mar 15, 2006
    10
    This show tastefully shows the audience a different point of view on family. A lot like Desperate Housewives except all these lovers are married- very well written show!
  24. ClintM.
    Mar 21, 2006
    9
    A wonderfully written and well acted new show! I tuned in to this rather than my usual Grey's Anatomy, and fell in love already. The characters are really rich and the story line completely original. A+ to Chloe Sevigny for being the newest character we love to hate!!
  25. KathyG
    Mar 20, 2006
    10
    Loved it and am totally hooked.
  26. GailB
    Apr 16, 2006
    8
    Although parts of this series border on the ridiculous, I find it quite interesting. As a former Mormon whose great grandfather had three wives and 21 children, it resonates for me as a peek into my ancesters. The concept is very original and, once again, HBO has struck it rich with expert casting. I am curious to know how accurate the portrayal of the commune is. I enjoy it and hate to Although parts of this series border on the ridiculous, I find it quite interesting. As a former Mormon whose great grandfather had three wives and 21 children, it resonates for me as a peek into my ancesters. The concept is very original and, once again, HBO has struck it rich with expert casting. I am curious to know how accurate the portrayal of the commune is. I enjoy it and hate to miss an episode. Expand
  27. nettier
    Apr 17, 2006
    10
    I love this show. In fact , my husband and co-workers love it too. It is different and keeps one thinking about what's going to happen next. You develop little sub plots about what could happen.
  28. NancyF
    Apr 20, 2006
    10
    I love this show!
  29. CoriniusH
    Apr 28, 2006
    10
    Excellent show, original and interesting. I love the settlings all the locations have a legit feel to them. The idea that "The Sopranos" is the show which all other HBO shows must measure up to is wrong. If tired Italian stereotypes and wanton violence is your thing then this show isnt for you, but if your looking for an original and interesting show look no further
  30. EileenS
    Aug 23, 2006
    10
    I love Big Love, it's the freshest idea on Television in years, the cast is great and the stories are so well written and acted, I miss it and can't wait for the second season, only reason I get HBO
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 80
    Big Love... is in no hurry to unfurl its plotlines or push its charms. Give it a couple of episodes, though, and you'll be snared.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    83
    The casting is so good and the production design so sophisticated that the series' pull toward baroque psychosexual doings is, so far, pleasurable. [7 Apr 2006, p.51]
  3. 90
    There are elements of this new series that have a quirkiness that might seem deliberate or overly clever against a different backdrop, but that feels natural in its own gracefully odd environment.