• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 72
  2. Negative: 5 out of 72

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 25, 2010
    2
    This review contains spoilers. Blue blood, season 1, omg where do i start, tom selleck should be playing the country cop who uses a baseball bat to combat crime,

    donny wolberrg is believable enough in the cop role as usual, his character does not seem to stay much, which is a shame for his acting ability, but this tv series is like a remake of an ole show
    gone bad, come on.... the whole family is running the show, one is being investigated by the DA sure
    enough the next kid will be as well, and that puts the assisant DA in the middle when suddenly tom's
    role will be investigating his daughter the assiatant DA, right? One by one each family member will be part of an investigation, and there will always be some tension about the son who died in uniform,
    tsk tsk, writers are hired too young these days and forgot what we have already seen on the tube or in the movies,

    the best part of this episode is frank sinatra or harry connick jr singing New York New york, i can never tell the difference between the two,

    sorry ole chap but i cant give you any kudo;'s for this role, it is just not believable enuf, your family is getting in our face, and i think we deserve more than that, i can only rate this new series a 2.
    Collapse
  2. Nov 25, 2010
    4
    The only thing good about this show is that you quickly feel for the characters right from the start. But is that enough to keep the show afloat? I don't think so. The premise is borderline ridiculous - a single NY family consisting of the NY police commissioner, a former NY police commissioner, a DA attorney, a detective, and a beat cop. Oh and they're Irish. Let's be real ok? Every episode is stand-alone. The stories don't require more than one episode to start and finish. Apart from the weak ongoing Blue Templar theme, which in my opinion just doesn't grab the viewer enough to maintain interest in the show. If they don't pick up the pace with the writing, I doubt that the great ensemble of characters and their stellar performances will be enough to keep this show afloat for another season. I'm quickly losing interest. Expand
  3. Sep 24, 2010
    4
    The cast is more than competent, but the stereotypes are heavy enough to flatten the most fawning Selleck groupies. A family of Irish cops (named Reagan, for the love of heaven) who predictably say grace before the Sunday dinner clan gathering. Selleck just naturally has to be a widower so he can be both fatherly and sexy - a younger and hot looking woman is hovering in the wings. Then there's the crusty, lovable grandfather (didn't we do all this last year on NCIS?) and the intense son who must be forgiven his willingness to bash suspects' heads into toilet bowls because - of course - he's an Iraq vet. I was hopeful about this show because of its writers, but really it could have been written by a team of bright high schoolers. One cliche' after another. Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2014
    0
    I've always admired Tom Selleck for the kind of characters he's represented throughout his career. Whether it was Sgt. Jack R. Ramsay in 'Runaway' ,Thomas Magnum in 'Magnum P.I.' or Matthew Quigley in 'Quigley Down Under', Mr. Selleck has always portrayed upstanding individuals with high moral standards and had continued that portrayal in the 'Blue Bloods' series. That is, until the end of the episode that aired last night, January 17, 2014. Danny Reagan (Donnie Wahlberg) watches as an Army veteran, John Russell (Chad Michael Collinswith) commits suicide by throwing himself off a building. Apparently Mr. Russell is suffering from PTSD due to his two stints in Afghanistan. When asked by his father, Police Commissioner Frank Reagan (Tom Selleck) why he called the suicide an 'accident' in his report, Danny tells the Commissioner that he didn't want Russell's son to know the truth about his father's suicide and Commissioner Reagan concurs. Apparently, the writer of the episode, co-executive producer Siobhan Byrne O'Connor, has decided that it was about time to show the world that even police detectives and commissioners can't be trusted to tell the truth. Very disappointing. Expand
  5. Oct 28, 2014
    3
    Ok, I'm not sure who owed who a favor when doing this show, or maybe Mark Wahlberg tried to get his bro Jonny Drama into TV series but I haven't seen that bad of an acting since I think... hmm let me see, Cop Rock ! How come every single sentence written for those guys sounds fake and has nothing to do with reality? Watch The Shield or Chicago P.D. or Law and Order for god sake before doing the show next time, pleaaase Expand
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. The solid acting performances and the family dynamics contained in Blue Bloods make for an absorbing hour of television.
  2. Reviewed by: Ginia Bellafante
    Oct 20, 2010
    70
    Blue Bloods has an old-fashioned appeal both as drama in the vein of a workingman's "Dynasty" and as splashy procedural.
  3. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Oct 20, 2010
    50
    There's perhaps the coppiest cop show of the century so far, the soppy and self-satirizing CBS melodrama Blue Bloods, about an entire family--"the Reagans" yet!--involved in the crime biz.