Bob's Burgers : Season 1

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 9, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 20
  2. Negative: 4 out of 20

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Mar 30, 2011
    60
    On average, the viewer must wait through two tossed-off fart jokes in order to savor one lovingly crafted one. Bob's Burgers is done medium well.
  2. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jan 7, 2011
    60
    It's almost a non-premise sitcom, whose main attraction is how well the vocal actors bounce its digressive dialogue off each other. I did laugh at the pilot, if not as much as I wanted to, so I'll put this one on probation, and hope.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jan 6, 2011
    60
    Some viewers won't find much of anything in Bob's Burgers funny, but in fairness it's at least partly a question of style--of whether you respond to the show's minimalist, conversational, antijoke aesthetic.
  4. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jan 10, 2011
    50
    When Bob's Burgers gets rolling and hints at the smarts that made Home Movies and Dr. Katz so good, it only makes you long for a distancing on the inane, easy-joke riffs that try to be "edgy."
  5. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 9, 2011
    50
    Bob's Burgers arrives cold, with a touch of E. coli. Beware.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 9, 2011
    42
    The deadpan deliveries of its principal characters can be very moderately amusing at times. But in the end, you probably won't want fries with this one.
  7. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Jan 6, 2011
    42
    Bob's Burgers might be meatier if it gave us some reason to watch these characters. The title isn't the only thing that feels generic.
  8. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 7, 2011
    40
    Being tasteless doesn't mean Bob's Burgers is completely devoid of flavor, but the show too often falls on the wrong side of that "entertaining"/"annoying" divide.
  9. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jan 6, 2011
    40
    What Bob's Burgers doesn't quite have yet is a rhythm and flow of its own. It's got the ingredients to get there, though.
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 188 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 73
  2. Negative: 22 out of 73
  1. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    Its funny how all the negative reviews on this show are from people that think family guy is funny. Family Guy , after its original run, hasIts funny how all the negative reviews on this show are from people that think family guy is funny. Family Guy , after its original run, has been one of the worst shows on television but gets off by making a bunch of 14 year olds laugh at gay and fart jokes. Bob's Burger's was absolutely hilarious, its strongest point being the voice actors. I can see why Family Guy fans hate the show so much though, because no ones getting hit in the face or falling down stairs and you actually have to have some intelligence to understand the jokes, its not just some fat guy rattling off obnoxious dribble and slapstick humor. And don't think I'm just a Family Guy hater, the show was hilarious and one of my favorites during its original run. Then Seth Mcfarlane stopped actually writing for the show to work on American Dad(good) and The Cleveland Show(absolute garbage) and it went completely downhill. Bob's Burger's is Fox's funniest show since Futurama, let's just hope it doesn't end up with the same fate. On the other hand...it could probably be even better if Comedy Central picked it up. Full Review »
  2. Jan 10, 2011
    5
    Well upon viewing of the show, it certainly has potential and had its moments just I don't know if it will be enough for the core audience ofWell upon viewing of the show, it certainly has potential and had its moments just I don't know if it will be enough for the core audience of sunday night fox viewers, that is to say family guy fans, who need it to be easy and formulaic. The show has to great comedians in H Jon Benjamin and Kristin Schaal, but Eugene Mirman is just one comic I want to destroy!!! I ask you readers give this show a few more chances otherwise it will end up on Adult Swim or FX where it would certainly be a hit...wait that's not so bad! Full Review »
  3. Jan 10, 2011
    10
    Completely original and hilarious. The Characters are fully developed and this show is way better than family guy which has been horrible forCompletely original and hilarious. The Characters are fully developed and this show is way better than family guy which has been horrible for the past seasons. Full Review »