• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 20, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
Metascore
99

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.7

Universal acclaim- based on 3435 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The final season for the award-winning drama begins it's first run of eight episodes, with the remaining eight episodes airing in summer 2013.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jul 12, 2012
    100
    A show that manages year after year to accomplish that rare blend of Hollywood darling and fan favorite.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jul 12, 2012
    100
    Series creator Vince Gilligan wrote the first two episodes of this eight-episode batch, and they crackle, as always, with intelligence and an ever-lingering sense of dread.
  3. Reviewed by: Emily Nussbaum
    Aug 22, 2012
    100
    Breaking Bad [is] a radical type of television, and also a very strange kind of must-watch: a show that you dread and crave at the same time.
  4. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jul 12, 2012
    100
    It wants to entertain you, to draw you in with exciting, exacting plotting, and precisely drawn characters.
  5. Reviewed by: Jesse Cataldo
    Jul 13, 2012
    100
    Breaking Bad continues at the same disciplined, regimented pace, fussing over small details and picking at new threads, even with the end looming.
  6. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jul 16, 2012
    100
    The arc of this character--series creator Vince Gilligan's invention of Walter White as a sick soul--is, it's clear now. one of the great narratives in Television histpory. [13 Jul 2012, p.62]
  7. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jul 14, 2012
    67
    After some demented inspiration from Jesse (Aaron Paul), Walt launches a caper so audacious, it's almost comical.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 335
  1. Jul 10, 2014
    10
    The Best TV Show EVER. We've been watching Breaking Bad along five seasons of this amazing story following the Walter's drama from teacher toThe Best TV Show EVER. We've been watching Breaking Bad along five seasons of this amazing story following the Walter's drama from teacher to become a meth cook/drug dealer. Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Through the many seasons of Breaking Bad there have been some heart pumping moments, also times when you thought something bad was about to happen. However in Season 5 all of these feelings and moments are repeated time and time again keeping the viewer constantly in excitement. There was a moment in the first part of season 5 when Walt and the gang succeed robbing a train. They are happy and laughing and the viewer starts to feel excited as well. Then a kid shows up and everything just stops, Todd then shoots the kid leaving the viewer in a sort of "oh god" sort of feel. However nothing else in Season 5 will compare to the episode To'hajiilee where the fate of Hank starts to come into play. At the end of the episode my Breathing was getting louder and my thoughts were all mixed up "Can they really do this? What is happening?" then the moment Hank is killed all of my feelings just died. I felt what Walt was feeling, he just lost a person so very close to him and it was all his fault. As for the finale which people seem to be mixed about, I personally was glad with the way the show ended. It had the perfect closure that also left speculation and interpretation open to the audience. Such as "I wonder what happened to Jessie" and people begin to have their own opinions as to what happened during and after the finale. I believe that Walt was going to just go in guns blazing against Jack and his gang, that was until he saw his old partner in a terrible state, Walt believed he needed another chance after all he wasn't the one making the meth because he wanted, he was being held captive, a prisoner to the brutal red-neck gang. So in his darkest hour Walt had a brief moment when the old chemistry teacher came back to save his old partner. The Character of Walt/Heisenberg in the season is great to watch as you see him have a new look towards meth making. He is on top, he is the king of meth, he is the great Heisenberg. This was my favourite season of the show and I thank Vince Gilligan for the best TV I have ever seen. Expand
  3. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    Now the summer is really beginning! I don't know how it does it but Breaking Bad gets better and better with every season.The acting staysNow the summer is really beginning! I don't know how it does it but Breaking Bad gets better and better with every season.The acting stays magnificent and the directing and writing gets darker.In the last two scenes of last night's premiere I was afraid of Walt more than I was afraid of Gus,I think that's because it's kind of frightening the way he changed.Heisenberg is the king now! It's going to be a wild ride! Expand
  4. Oct 3, 2013
    10
    Breaking Bad has surpassed all my expectations, I was begged to watch this show, and I took so long to get into. It has been such an amazingBreaking Bad has surpassed all my expectations, I was begged to watch this show, and I took so long to get into. It has been such an amazing ride, definitely the best tv show Ive ever watched, Game Of Thrones is up there, but BB has the edge simply because it wasnt inspired by any book or previews publication, also its based on our times, you will find very few if any fictional aspects in Breaking Bad. You owe it to yourself to watch atleast the first 3 episodes, after that you will want to know Walter White's full story Expand
  5. Sep 9, 2013
    10
    This is one of the few drama series I have followed on cable. It reminds me of the old Dallas series in the '80s, when you couldn't wait toThis is one of the few drama series I have followed on cable. It reminds me of the old Dallas series in the '80s, when you couldn't wait to see what would happen next week. Of course, this series is a lot darker and a much higher quality than Dallas ever was. I just hope there will be a spin-off as mentioned in the media. I need my BB fix every week! Expand
  6. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    The quality of writing in this show is incomparable. The technical aspect, from clothing to the photography, and the performances give us theThe quality of writing in this show is incomparable. The technical aspect, from clothing to the photography, and the performances give us the GREATEST show on TV ever. Vince Gilligan, Bryan Cranston, Aaron Paul, Bob Odenkirk, Michael Slovis, Michelle MacLaren, Peter Gould, you are GENIUS. Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't understand this series. I watch every season, always expecting a great "climax", but it never really happen. The 2 main characters are a joke. Expand

See all 335 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews

    2014 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews Image
    Published: August 25, 2014
    Find a list of this year's Emmy winners, see how accurate expert and user predictions turned out to be, and read reviews of the broadcast (including an assessment of Seth Meyers as host).
  2. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  3. Television Critics Announce 2014 TCA Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2014 TCA Award Winners Image
    Published: July 20, 2014
    Find a complete list of winners of the 2014 TCA Awards, handed out to the best in the year's television shows and actors by a group of over 200 TV critics and print journalists.
  4. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  5. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2013

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2013 Image
    Published: January 7, 2014
    The results are in! Find out which movies, TV shows, video games, albums, and songs were the favorites among Metacritic users in 2013.
  6. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).
  7. Episode Review: Breaking Bad Series Finale

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad Series Finale Image
    Published: September 29, 2013
    One of television's all-time greatest dramas concluded its five-season run on Sunday night with one final episode. Did Breaking Bad go out on a high note? Find out what critics thought of "Felina," and give us your take.
  8. Episode Review: Breaking Bad, "Granite State"

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad,
    Published: September 23, 2013
    What did TV critics think about Breaking Bad's penultimate episode? Find out inside.
  9. 2013 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews

    2013 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews Image
    Published: September 22, 2013
    Get a list of this year's Emmy winners, find out which experts made the most accurate predictions, and read reviews of host Neil Patrick Harris and the Emmy broadcast from a variety of TV critics.
  10. Episode Review: Breaking Bad, "Ozymandias"

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad,
    Published: September 15, 2013
    Does episode 514 live up to its advance billing as Breaking Bad's best episode yet? Find out what critics are saying about "Ozymandias" inside.
  11. Episode Review: Breaking Bad, "To'hajiilee"

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad,
    Published: September 8, 2013
    Find out what critics think of this week's ultra-intense episode of Breaking Bad's final season, and give us your rating of the episode.
  12. Episode Review: Breaking Bad, "Rabid Dog"

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad,
    Published: September 1, 2013
    Find out what critics think of the fourth episode of Breaking Bad's final half season, and give us your take as well.
  13. Episode Review: Breaking Bad, "Confessions"

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad,
    Published: August 26, 2013
    Find out what critics are saying about this week's episode of Breaking Bad, and give us your rating.
  14. Episode Review: Breaking Bad, "Buried"

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad,
    Published: August 18, 2013
    Find out what critics are saying about this week's episode of Breaking Bad, and rate the episode yourself.
  15. Episode Review: Breaking Bad, "Blood Money"

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad,
    Published: August 11, 2013
    Breaking Bad's final season has begun. Find out what critics thought of the season premiere, and add your own rating for the episode.
  16. Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 4, 2013
    Saturday night, TV critics and journalists announced the winners of their 29th annual awards. Inside, get a complete list of the shows and performers who won.
  17. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2012

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2012 Image
    Published: January 8, 2013
    After weeks of voting, we finally have the results of our annual poll. Find out which movies, games, TV shows, albums, and songs ranked among our users' favorites (as well as the most overrated) of 2012.
  18. 2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 12, 2012
    Track every year-end top-ten list published by major TV critics and publications, and view the overall composite standings for best TV show of 2012.
  19. Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners Image
    Published: July 29, 2012
    "Louie," "Game of Thrones," and "Homeland" were the big winners Saturday night when the Television Critics Association announced the recipients of the 28th Annual TCA Awards. Get the full list of winners inside.
  20. 2012 Emmy Nominations Announced

    2012 Emmy Nominations Announced Image
    Published: July 19, 2012
    This year's Emmy nominations are out; get a full list and analysis of the nominees(and snubs) in all of the major categories.
  21. Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: May 3, 2012
    Summer will bring some of TV's best shows (including "Breaking Bad" and "Louie," and--possibly--new shows like "The Newsroom"). Inside, we look at the 20 most noteworthy series, specials, and miniseries coming this summer. You'll also find a full calendar of premiere dates from now through August.
  22. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  23. 2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11]

    2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11] Image
    Published: December 13, 2011
    Throughout the coming weeks, we
  24. Episode Review: Breaking Bad Season 4 Finale

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad Season 4 Finale Image
    Published: October 10, 2011
    What do TV writers think of last night's explosive season finale of "Breaking Bad"? Find out inside, where we have collected reviews from over two dozen critics.
  25. Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer

    Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer Image
    Published: May 12, 2011
    Who says there's no good TV in the summer? Learn about the season's most interesting new and returning shows, from "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and "Louie" to "Falling Skies" and "Wilfred." We also have a full calendar of premiere dates for all summer shows.
  26. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  27. 2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 13, 2010
    Over the next month, we
  28. Television Critics Announce 2010 Awards

    Television Critics Announce 2010 Awards Image
    Published: August 1, 2010
    The Television Critics Association announced its 2010 award winners on Saturday night. We have the full list of winners, which includes multiple awards for the new series "Glee."
  29. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.
  30. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.