Breaking In : Season 1

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 6, 2011
Season #: 1, 2
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    Apr 6, 2011
    75
    The pace is so fast that, like a good party, you might forget everything that's happened even before it's over. That's the sign of top-notch disposable entertainment.
  2. Reviewed by: Amy Amatangelo
    Apr 6, 2011
    75
    The show runs rampant with rapid-fire dialogue and sly pop-culture references. The cast is strong.
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Apr 5, 2011
    75
    While there are somewhat foreseeable plot developments (Cameron's falling for Melanie, but she's hooked on Dutch), the series does have an agreeable cast and clever writing, and perhaps enough of both qualities to go the distance.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Apr 5, 2011
    63
    The show's attempt to turn Oz's "I'll allow it" into a catchphrase is a bit tiresome, but otherwise, the characters and the plot twists combine to make the time pass painlessly.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Apr 5, 2011
    70
    The pilot works a little hard--not one but two characters get catchphrases, which happily evaporate by the second episode--but plenty of good things come out in the effort, and better things seem likely to come.
  6. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Apr 5, 2011
    70
    It's a happy mix, a breezy, playful half-hour that has the potential to open up into something special. Only time will tell if Breaking In can break out.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Apr 5, 2011
    70
    Breaking In isn't memorable in any way, but it's fast-paced and easy to watch, with some amusing secondary characters.
  8. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Apr 5, 2011
    83
    With its debonair, jump-cut editing, Breaking In is a vigorously original, joke-packed bit of fun that could develop into something special. I'm serious, my Wookiee.
  9. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Apr 5, 2011
    67
    Sad thing is, I'm a geek girl myself, who'd be happy to love this mad mix of technology, action and "humor" if it were, you know, actually funny more often than just cheaply offensive. Less pander, more wit, please.
  10. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 25, 2011
    63
    This sitcom has the high-tech antics of Chuck and the misfit camaraderie of Community-not bad, but no breakthrough. [2 May 2011, p.38]
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    From my point of view this episode is awesome and it's pretty original,i mean i didn't see any serial like this before and i believe the itFrom my point of view this episode is awesome and it's pretty original,i mean i didn't see any serial like this before and i believe the it will be a success.The pilot episode and 2nd were very entertaining.I hope they will have more than one season.I saw those episodes on http://breakinginfan.com/ Full Review »
  2. Apr 7, 2011
    8
    Promising show, chemistry between characters (BOOM! goes the dynamite!) is good and i am glad to see Christian Slater back on TV. I hope thisPromising show, chemistry between characters (BOOM! goes the dynamite!) is good and i am glad to see Christian Slater back on TV. I hope this one is to stay Full Review »
  3. Jul 5, 2011
    7
    You know what, I liked this show. I'm a fan of Bret Harrison's from "Reaper", I'm a huge fan of Odette Yustman's from "October Road", andYou know what, I liked this show. I'm a fan of Bret Harrison's from "Reaper", I'm a huge fan of Odette Yustman's from "October Road", and Christian Slater? Come on. His character Oz is almost the same as his character from "Kuffs"! Fox cancelled this show just like they have so many other great shows...too soon. Full Review »