• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2006
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 168 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 168

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JOeH.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    I cannot believe all the homophobic comments! I mean, the gay thing makes me want to watch it more! Especially the kissing!
  2. IridaS.
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    It a amazing show,I like it very much and I'm happy that it's being transmitted also in Italy.I hope they can renew it for a lot of seasons.
  3. WallaceG
    Oct 9, 2006
    10
    I think this is a great show. It really draws out emotions that Im sure most of our society deals with on a daily basis. Its nice to finally have a show that people can truly relate on a real level. And for Valerie C...the song that ended the eposide on 10-1-06 was "Heart of the Matter" by India Arie
  4. Melody
    Apr 2, 2007
    10
    The homophobic comments by various other writers on this site are appalling. Terrific adult show with complex characters and relationships.
  5. Andy
    Oct 10, 2006
    9
    Valerie, the song last Sunday was "The Heart of the Matter" by india.arie. It is a cover of a Don Henley song.
  6. humbertov
    Oct 1, 2006
    9
    Great TV show!, I wonder why is it aired on ABC and not in HBO...
  7. LynnJ
    Dec 1, 2006
    10
    This show is right up there with my few top favorite shows. I appreciate the respect that is given to each characters points of view.
  8. cheryld
    Oct 2, 2006
    9
    I really enjoyed the first show., but the second one was great and very unexpected. I think people will eventually pick up on the exciting drama. it was a good replacement for grey.s anatomy (in which i am a big fan of.
  9. JeffreyS
    Oct 2, 2006
    10
    This show will bring back the idea of not having enough big names to a show.
  10. danielk
    Oct 2, 2006
    10
    Very good show, most characters have alot of potential. Sally Field is outstanding. Hopefully ABC will let it grow in it's proven timeslot and not start moving it around like it did with Alias. Speaking of Alias I keep waiting for Ron Rifkin to go into a private room and hatch some evil plot.
  11. roba
    Oct 6, 2006
    7
    Enough character-variety that almost anyone can find someone to identify with, except perhaps a serial-killer or jihadist.
  12. BradN
    Sep 24, 2006
    7
    thought it was a bit predictable, but I like how there are signs of actual current events. the infuse of political differences in a family is a nice twist.
  13. JanetH
    Sep 25, 2006
    8
    I loved Calista being back and can't wait to see the next episode as there are a lot of interesting paths to explore. Sure beats the NFL hands down.
  14. ChadW
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    My favorite show on tv. Watching one show midseason hooked me. I went back and watched all the others. Sally Field is captivating. Finally a show with real characters and a lack of gimmicks. It is the best thing I've seen in years.
  15. FrankA
    Feb 10, 2007
    10
    The best new show on TV (along with UGLY BETTY!)
  16. BelindaS
    Feb 22, 2007
    10
    Compelling family series. Hope they won't copy Ally McBeal's love stories. It's brothers' and sisters' show after all.
  17. SeanD
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    This show speaks very true to many families in America, it is both very thoughtful and funny. Each episode will bring a laugh, tear, and an overall good message And to the southern cornhole homophones that can't join the real America (ei: East Coast, Midwest, and West Coast), believe it or not, there are gay people in America, in hundreds of thousands of families! *SHOCK*! Get with This show speaks very true to many families in America, it is both very thoughtful and funny. Each episode will bring a laugh, tear, and an overall good message And to the southern cornhole homophones that can't join the real America (ei: East Coast, Midwest, and West Coast), believe it or not, there are gay people in America, in hundreds of thousands of families! *SHOCK*! Get with the program and educate yourself, this isn't softcore porn. Expand
  18. carola
    Feb 8, 2007
    10
    This show is funny, cleaver, and it really holds my attention. I am hoping that it will be continued for another season as it has been my favorite show this season. The acting and the writing have been outstanding. I an particularly glad that it can be watched in streaming videoon the computer.
  19. et
    Mar 8, 2007
    10
    Brilliantly written! Unless you're homophobic this is ensemble at its best.
  20. veeb.
    May 18, 2007
    9
    well done dysfunctional family drama. nice cast.
  21. Sahil
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    Incredibly Addictive, Very smart, Extremely good acting, Culturally relevant...in short, the Best show on TV. Any review that finds the interactions unnatural has either far too functional of a family, or far too dysfunctional, because the awkward and tense but loving dynamics are pulled off flawlessly. I'm so impressed!
  22. RacheliG.
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    An amazing drama, from the kind we don't have any more on TV. A great acting from all the cast and well scripted show. I cant wait for the next episode, especially now that Justin and Rebbecca are together.
  23. Jane
    Mar 12, 2008
    10
    One of the best TV show, remind us how important family is and how it should be. Regardless how we are, who we are.... good quality show and wonderful casts
  24. SusanL.
    Mar 1, 2008
    8
    An upper middle-class family warts and all. Good stuff.
  25. GL
    May 14, 2008
    10
    Love the show!! Rob Lowe should stay on permanently!! Chemistry between him and Calista is amazing!
  26. JR
    Oct 17, 2006
    7
    I was drawn in by the cast, especially Rachel Griffiths, of the late and much lamented SFU. The production is slick, the characters are all beautiful, and yet there is potential for depth. The writing needs to smarten up, though. People rarely say the right things at the right moments, and yet this is happening all the time in this show. If it would stop going for an emotional jugular in I was drawn in by the cast, especially Rachel Griffiths, of the late and much lamented SFU. The production is slick, the characters are all beautiful, and yet there is potential for depth. The writing needs to smarten up, though. People rarely say the right things at the right moments, and yet this is happening all the time in this show. If it would stop going for an emotional jugular in every scene, and let the chemistry develop among its amazing cast, it could really be something. I will keep watching with hopeful expectation . . . Expand
  27. RogerP
    Nov 7, 2006
    10
    One of the best shows on television in a decade. Brilliant writing, masterful acting, and remarkable directing make this show enjoyable and a great way to end or start the week.
  28. SarahF
    Oct 2, 2006
    10
    This show is excellent! Sally Field's acting is phenomenal!! This show is very relatable and believable. I am excited to see where the story line will take us!
  29. MichaelV
    Oct 2, 2006
    8
    This needs time to get grounded before it can be more risky and/or eccentric. Sally Field is just about flawless in anything so she is a bright spot.
  30. BradC
    Oct 2, 2006
    10
    Great show
  31. KadeK
    Oct 5, 2006
    9
    Excellent show and thoroughly enjoyable. I think it'll work out the kinks that others might find to be negatives as time goes on. It is about time a show with real problems came on. Brothers and Sisters is a great addition to the TV airwaves, as opposed to all of these pseudo-reality shows.
  32. ValerieC
    Oct 5, 2006
    10
    I love this show, it's so real to everyday family life. I am looking for the name of the song that ended the show on 10-01-06 (last Sunday)
  33. JenniE
    Oct 6, 2006
    9
    I love the choices in casting. Story is good and I have a feeling it will get even better.
  34. robertk
    Sep 24, 2006
    8
    This has potential. But how old is Sally supposed to be?
  35. KatherineC
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    I really enjoyed the premeire although it is a soap. I though it had great production values and a terrific cast. I'm looking forward to the next episode.
  36. MiguelC
    Sep 25, 2006
    8
    i see myself addicted to this family... just love the way they interact with each other...great chemistry, great cast, story with potential...
  37. RickK
    Sep 25, 2006
    8
    It coule use some humor and sex appeal, but this looks like a good family drama
  38. KenH
    Sep 26, 2006
    9
    The first show had a lot of exposition, which is necessary with a big cast/multi-storied undertaking. I'm very hopeful that the seasoned professionals on this show will make this appointment viewing.
  39. KevinL.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    Brothers and Sisters is a brilliantly crafted drama that brings such a diverse amount of plots to it. The drama resembles so closely to the many different problems that may face us sometime and the show genuinely creates an atmosphere where you are able to connect with the characters. The pilot is somewhat uninteresting, but the season moves along in such a manner that makes it more Brothers and Sisters is a brilliantly crafted drama that brings such a diverse amount of plots to it. The drama resembles so closely to the many different problems that may face us sometime and the show genuinely creates an atmosphere where you are able to connect with the characters. The pilot is somewhat uninteresting, but the season moves along in such a manner that makes it more compelling. With an amazing cast that brings out the best and worst in the characters that we see, Brothers and Sisters is easily a favorite. Expand
  40. KimberlyT
    Nov 7, 2007
    9
    Anyone who knows anything about family relationships has to love this show. it's dramatic, funny, and best of all, the characters are real. its the only show i think is worth watching nowadays.
  41. NicoleS
    Jan 22, 2007
    10
    Real life with real family matters of "today" - makes me see that my family is "normal" and I love it!
  42. AmberB
    Jan 23, 2007
    10
    I laugh and cry with the Walker family each week. I love this show.
  43. RamonG
    Jan 29, 2007
    10
    I can't get enough
  44. ChrisN
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    I agree with Amber B.... This is definately the best show on television to this date (next to the dearly departed Buffy) The acting is amazing, and the characters are so real)
  45. krisj
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    Ok, first off I cant believe they allowed R TYLER to post such an ignorant thought... Anyways, This is one of the best shows to come around for A VERY long time...
  46. DevonS
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    Think of how high the average would be if STUPID homophobes would stop posting on here.. Well, heres my thought on you homophobes, dont watch the show, oh and by the way THE BIBLE says not to judge, but it is all you people EVER do.. This show is a great show, and definitely the best family drama EVER...
  47. GaryY
    Jan 9, 2007
    10
    I love this show. The cast is wonderful.
  48. WillS
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    Wonderful show, a compelling family drama with great characters all around.
  49. TimS
    May 11, 2007
    10
    The best show on TV. So smart and brilliantly acted. Please please please keep this show around.
  50. Laura
    May 22, 2007
    10
    I am absolutely in love with this show. The Walker family is one to watch, see how they grow and love each other through everything. Witty, emotional, and real.
  51. BruceT.
    May 23, 2007
    10
    The highlight of my TV year. Sally Field is absolutely brilliant!
  52. veronical.
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    brilliant show -- just wanted to say that jeff w's homophobic review is so sad. i not only admire but also enjoy the gay storylines on the show, and i hope that one day folks like jeff realise how normal homesexuality is, and get over their prejudice.
  53. GuyD
    Jul 19, 2007
    10
    Who are all these sad old fashioned out-of-touch pitiful homophobic people...? why are they so scared?? It's a good show, well acted, and incredibly entertaining.
  54. AnneN
    Mar 25, 2008
    10
    Loved it! Absolutely great cast. Didn't think I could ever watch Rob Lowe again after his sex debacle with the 15 year old, but i get past it. Sally Fields carries it, I think. She is just so wonderful to watch perform. And, Glover, ain't bad.
  55. RobinF
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    Simply the best new TV family drama since "Family." Enough said.
  56. rosas
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    awesome show
  57. MattH
    Nov 20, 2006
    9
    Gets better each week - I think the writing is clever, fun, and touching. An excellent exploration into family dynamics.
  58. johnb
    Oct 12, 2006
    10
    i love sally field in this show. it was very emotional and well written. i hope it stays on a long time.
  59. ShawnV
    Nov 6, 2006
    10
    I think this is the greatest show thats been on TV in a long time!!! Every week I watch it gets better!!
  60. KathyW
    Nov 6, 2006
    9
    Great casting....love this show. Awesome storylines.
  61. jennifer
    Nov 7, 2006
    9
    I love this show. Finally there is a decent drama on television. It is almost like a glimpse into the daily lives of this family instead of some fluffed up silly comedy drama. It is a much needed change of pace.
  62. belled
    Oct 22, 2006
    10
    WHAT A GREAT SHOW ...love it, and the characters..Awesome show that i hope is around for a long long time !!
  63. LaurieW
    Dec 22, 2006
    9
    This is going to end up being one of my favorite shows. I would have rated it a 10 except that Callista gets on my nerves a little too much in some of her scenes. Sally Field is great in this. I hope that this one stays in the line-up.
  64. JaneL
    Dec 28, 2006
    9
    I have only a few programs I watch regularly, and Brothers and Sisters is one of them. It's not too heavy, entertaining, and very real.
  65. LindaL
    Sep 25, 2006
    7
    I thought the actors in this family drama were appealing -- nice to see Flockhart, Griffiths, Field and Wettig, all in the same show! Perhaps it could be streamlined by lopping a couple of branches off the family tree. Five siblings are too many, and did Sally have that whole passel of kids at 9-month intervals? Anyhow, hope this one gets a chance.
  66. markp
    Sep 29, 2006
    10
    Really love this - Calista and Sally are a great casting choice. I can't wait to see where it goes.
  67. EVeDI
    Jan 15, 2007
    9
    One of the best shows for this season!
  68. NicoleW
    Jan 26, 2007
    10
    True to life family dysfunction - LOVE IT! Flockhart and Lowe smoke it up!
  69. Mitchell
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    A WONDERFUL family drama! And to the homophobic remark: WAKE UP. ITS THE YEAR 2007.
  70. RussellM
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    This feels like a real family and is great to watch...I hope this stays on TV for a very long run!!
  71. BHNG
    Nov 14, 2006
    8
    It's a heartwarming show with fantastic acting. My only two complaints - Let us see more of Ron Rifkin, a fine actor and let us see less of "Justine" or change his tired, boring and predictable story lines. The "war" angle is lamely played to a great yawn here.
  72. jamig
    Nov 22, 2006
    8
    I really enjoy "Brothers and Sisters." It's not breathtaking in its creativity. It doesn't spin something that's already been done into something new. It's not bitterly ironic or a clever commentary on society as a whole. It's just a good presentation of a family consisting of people with differing personal points of view and various challenges. To me, this I really enjoy "Brothers and Sisters." It's not breathtaking in its creativity. It doesn't spin something that's already been done into something new. It's not bitterly ironic or a clever commentary on society as a whole. It's just a good presentation of a family consisting of people with differing personal points of view and various challenges. To me, this straightforward presentation is a welcome change from the constant "surprises" of Grey's Anatomy, House, and other primetime fodder. I hope ABC has the good sense to keep it on the schedule, because it gets better every week. Expand
  73. ChristaL
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    I love this show and anxiously wait for it all week. I love Sally Field and watching her is like visiting with a good friend. Please keep this show on for many seasons.
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 27
  2. Negative: 7 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    60
    On the glossy surface, it’s an earnestly predictable but impeccably produced soap opera. [13 Sep 2006]
  2. The pilot was reshot, and it shows--the timing lurches and scenes grind into each other. [22 Sep 2006, p.90]
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    30
    The show seems as if it desperately yearns to be a worthy companion to "Housewives" but lacks the requisite bite, despite political references meant to feel edgy that prove mostly banal.