Buffy the Vampire Slayer : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. USA Today
    Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Feb 25, 2013
    90
    The winsome Sarah Michelle Gellar is a huge improvement over bubblehead Kristy Swanson as the new Buffy, moving with her mom to the "one-Starbucks town" of Sunnydale, Calif. She's cute and pert but nobody's fool. [10 Mar 1997, p.3D]
  2. Newark Star-Ledger
    Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Feb 25, 2013
    90
    Whedon tries to blend comedy, horror and action, a very combustible mixture - as evidenced by the wildly uneven "Buffy" movie - but he seems close to perfecting the formula here. [10 Mar 1997, p.31]
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 26, 2013
    83
    All in all, this looks like one of the brightest new shows of the season.
  4. Los Angeles Times
    Reviewed by: Howard Rosenberg
    Feb 25, 2013
    90
    Deliciously funny satirical gore. [10 Mar 1997, p.F1]
  5. New York Daily News
    Reviewed by: David Bianculli
    Feb 25, 2013
    80
    For fans of youth shows, occult shows and action shows, this new, weekly Buffy the Vampire Slayer is the right program at the right time. [10 Mar 1997, p.70]
  6. Chicago Tribune
    Reviewed by: Steve Johnson
    Feb 25, 2013
    90
    The performances are generally strong, but the devilishly clever, culturally hyper-attuned dialogue (by executive producer Josh Whedon, who wrote the original and worked on "Speed" and "Toy Story") is what makes this stand out. [10 Mar 1997, p.C8]
  7. Seattle Post-Intelligencer
    Reviewed by: John Levesque
    Feb 25, 2013
    100
    Sarah Michelle Gellar plays Buffy to perfection in this witty, intelligent and thoroughly entertaining series based loosely on the 1992 film, and if she isn't the next closet-door poster queen - or the Internet-shrine equivalent - I'll be stunned. [10 Mar 1997, p.C1]
  8. San Jose Mercury News/Contra Costa Times
    Reviewed by: Ron Miller
    Feb 25, 2013
    75
    A pretty lively and entertaining show, maybe the fledgling WB network's first real shot at a breakaway hit. [10 Mar 1997, p.10E]
  9. The Hollywood Reporter
    Reviewed by: Michael Farkash
    Feb 25, 2013
    90
    This supernatural series has fast, raucous music, attractive heroes and heroines, and nifty morphing effects for the vampires.
  10. Dallas Morning News
    Reviewed by: David Okamoto
    Feb 25, 2013
    80
    Think of it as My So-Called Afterlife or Nancy Drew Blood: Despite some lapses into acute self-awareness, Buffy is a biting, stylish high-school drama masquerading as a vampire-movie spinoff and cleverly combining the dark humor of Heathers, the homeroom angst of Beverly Hills, 90210 and the goofy, mystery-solving camaraderie of Scooby Doo, Where Are You? [10 Mar 1997, p.15A]
  11. Chicago Sun-Times
    Reviewed by: Lon Grahnke
    Feb 25, 2013
    75
    With its stylized violence, pop-culture jokes and self-mocking attitude, Buffy deserves positive comparisons to Wes Craven's "Scream." [10 Mar 1997, p.33]
  12. Boston Globe
    Reviewed by: Frederic M. Biddle
    Feb 25, 2013
    80
    The only objection to this well-made comedy is overfamiliarity. [10 Mar 1997, p.C10]
  13. Boston Herald
    Reviewed by: Wendy J. Williams
    Feb 25, 2013
    80
    Unlike most movie-inspired TV series - in which the TV version is usually a soggier incarnation of its movie original - this Buffy, created by Joss Whedon, an Oscar nominee for his "Toy Story" script, fulfills some of the promise sorely lacking in the 1992 big-screen version. [10 Mar 1997, p.32]
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 270 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 16, 2014
    10
    I love you buffy maybe some day we can go on a patrol and go kissy wissy in the graveyard who knows maybe you can use my stake :) willow isI love you buffy maybe some day we can go on a patrol and go kissy wissy in the graveyard who knows maybe you can use my stake :) willow is welcome to join to if she likes but make sure she licks my ass Full Review »
  2. Jun 30, 2013
    7
    The first season of the show isn't quite up to the standard the show would set in the future but it is still very fun. It focuses on a ''highThe first season of the show isn't quite up to the standard the show would set in the future but it is still very fun. It focuses on a ''high school is hell'' theme and is very much a monster of the week series. However, the great cast, characters,dialogue and humour that would make the show so beloved are all there from the start and the episodes that do form an arc, such as Angel, Nightmares and Prophecy Girl all show the potential that the show had in the future. Full Review »
  3. Mar 17, 2013
    7
    Buffy the Vampire Slayer is my favorite show, and I've watched every episode of every season at least 10 times. So here are my thoughts toBuffy the Vampire Slayer is my favorite show, and I've watched every episode of every season at least 10 times. So here are my thoughts to Season 1: Season 1 acts as a decent start to the show doing a great job of introducing us to the main cast. The effects, for the most part, were a bit cheap at times but for the first season, and when it came out, this was forgivable. Sarah is highly believable as Buffy and I highly doubt anyone else could have played her as well (even though she looks nothing like Kristy Swanson from the movie that the series followed.) Alyson Hannigan does a great job with Willow, to the point that I actually had a huge crush on the character (not the actress.) She's incredibly sweet, but also has such great potential. Nicholas Brendon was initially perceived as the comic relief, but his character developed some real depth and there was allot more to him. Anthony Head just came across as a bit of a cliche and a little out of place in the first season, but seamed to settle into his role in later episodes. Overall: Not the best season, but a great start none the less. Full Review »