Californication : Season 2

  • Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 13, 2007
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 101
  2. Negative: 4 out of 101

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Oct 28, 2014
    6
    As a drama series Californication, despite a few affecting scenes, simply goes around in circles too much to ever be truly satisfying. Fortunately however it is pretty funny in places (although this second season wasn't as funny as the first) which helps to keep things entertaining during most episodes. Thus far Californication isn't amongst my favourite TV shows but it generally makes forAs a drama series Californication, despite a few affecting scenes, simply goes around in circles too much to ever be truly satisfying. Fortunately however it is pretty funny in places (although this second season wasn't as funny as the first) which helps to keep things entertaining during most episodes. Thus far Californication isn't amongst my favourite TV shows but it generally makes for a decent watch. Expand
  2. ViktorT
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    No matter what critics say this series is genial! I recommend it to everyone who likes to watch R-N-R lifestyle combined with emotional suffering!
  3. AlessandraS
    Jan 17, 2010
    6
    First season was much better in my opinion. It was strange how they just suddenly ended many of the good plot lines of the first season. Wasnt a fan of the whole Ashby story line. Not enough substance in season 2, i started to get fed up of the vulgar and drugs. The show needs more balance!!
  4. MikeB
    Nov 3, 2009
    4
    What a piece of garbage. One chuckle every three episodes is just not enough. Killing off Ashby was just another in a long line of plot mistakes - A temporary distraction from all the cheese dialogue though. Also, why do they let that high voiced kid sing?
  5. [Anonymous]
    May 9, 2009
    8
    Always thoroughly entertaining and never fails to deliver those "laugh out loud" moments. Clever script.
  6. CalebH.
    Nov 12, 2008
    10
    The second season seemed to rely more on raunchy and vulgar content to keep viewers attached to Hanks life. However, at around episode 3 that all began to change. The daughter of Hank and Karen is starting to take a bigger role and she is really adding to the episodes. Watching her parent her parents is both funny and heartbreaking. Never have I seen a show so versatile in its use of The second season seemed to rely more on raunchy and vulgar content to keep viewers attached to Hanks life. However, at around episode 3 that all began to change. The daughter of Hank and Karen is starting to take a bigger role and she is really adding to the episodes. Watching her parent her parents is both funny and heartbreaking. Never have I seen a show so versatile in its use of imagery. I don't watch it for the sex; I watch it for the great relationships that are formed. Through all the sex and deceit, there is always a glimmer of hope and love that shines bright throughout Californication. One of the best shows I have ever seen. Expand
  7. OscarB.
    Oct 11, 2008
    6
    The first shows this season were average, but it'll pick up.
  8. MiloC.
    Oct 5, 2008
    0
    A horrendous ending of an episode to a promising second season.
  9. MiloB.
    Sep 29, 2008
    6
    It was going good, and then the ending of the first episode was like bam, wtf? It seems like this show is moving too fast, it needs to slow down, or they will run out of stuff to write.
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. 80
    Worth the price of admission? Absolutely.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    80
    Year two is actually more compelling and fun, morphing from the twin themes of bachelorhood and longing into tackling the challenges of monogamy--especially when one partner's lurid past keeps colliding with the present.
  3. 70
    His repetitive fights with his ex-girlfriend, Karen (Natascha McElhone), with whom he reunited at the end of last season, are by far the most tiresome part of the show. Much more fun is the easy camaraderie Hank has with his growing entourage, all of whom share his cynical and saucy outlook on life.