Californication : Season 1

  • Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 13, 2007
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 323 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 323

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    I don't understand how can you guys don't like? This show is really amazing its fun and sad ay the same time. Its not only about sex, sex and sex again it shows us life of a great writer who cant find his place in this life. Its dirty , it contains bad words, drugs etc. But if u don't like it you can just turn the TV off or watch something else, there's no need to write "its bad forI don't understand how can you guys don't like? This show is really amazing its fun and sad ay the same time. Its not only about sex, sex and sex again it shows us life of a great writer who cant find his place in this life. Its dirty , it contains bad words, drugs etc. But if u don't like it you can just turn the TV off or watch something else, there's no need to write "its bad for children" or something like that. People who don't like him are just jealous cuz they cant "be" with so big count of women. This is it. I said all I wanted to say. Hope this show will be shown for many years :D Expand
  2. SallyP.
    Sep 8, 2007
    9
    Moments where you can't help but laugh out loud. This show is, no doubt, different than anything else on television. The way the Deadwood was during its (too) brief airing. I am interested to see more, and that's saying something. If you have a brain...if you have some form of intellect... if you like nonsensical, blatant, touching and occasionally smutty ("smutty" the way we Moments where you can't help but laugh out loud. This show is, no doubt, different than anything else on television. The way the Deadwood was during its (too) brief airing. I am interested to see more, and that's saying something. If you have a brain...if you have some form of intellect... if you like nonsensical, blatant, touching and occasionally smutty ("smutty" the way we normal people act out our own strange, personal "smut"), you will like this show. I was surprised at how much I did. Expand
  3. JimM.
    Oct 1, 2007
    9
    I've never been a fan of Duchovny - until now. Plays the weary nihilist to the hilt, except in those moments when his character realizes that while sex is an occasionally fun diversion, love is what he's missing. If only he could get out of his own way. I agree with a previous reviewer that for the series to run longer it will need more characters. Hope they're added.
  4. MickelsM.
    Sep 5, 2007
    10
    The best current show right now--until Curb comes. But a nice, light funny show with a good sense of humor, which is good for a change and breaks up the monotony.
  5. MarkH.
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    Never been a huge fan of Duchovny. But I think he's found his muse. He instantly takes to the character like it's his second skin. The writing is far above today's standards. It's like a deep, sarcastic, honest indie movie with legs poised for marathon greatness. Might even be ahead of it's time, but the time we get to spend in that half hour, I truly relish!
  6. Mar 12, 2011
    7
    I only have one critique: half of the program is a sex-scene. Which obviously reduces the time to tell a story. Especially the latest episodes don't seem to have enough story to keep my interest and attention. Nevertheless, it's a always fun to watch.
  7. C.O.
    Sep 20, 2007
    8
    Noticing how well the show depicts Venice Beach, the city where the show is set, I found it hard to believe that the two worst criticisms of the show came from major Los Angeles publications. And listen to some of these negative criticism of the show. It compares it with Sex and the City and soft core porn (which is essentially the same thing, right?). And by doing it so, it completely Noticing how well the show depicts Venice Beach, the city where the show is set, I found it hard to believe that the two worst criticisms of the show came from major Los Angeles publications. And listen to some of these negative criticism of the show. It compares it with Sex and the City and soft core porn (which is essentially the same thing, right?). And by doing it so, it completely misses the point of the show. For young guys (which I presume is the target audience of the show) to see this low-life one hit wonder score women left and right is simply painful, even if it's good pain. The show brings out a mixed sense of voyeurism and excitement, all laced in some sinful envy for all the sexual conquests of the protagonist. Go ahead and deny it but Hank is everything everyone with morals and responsibility isn't. But wouldn't we all at some point during our week, even if for 25 minutes, love to misbehave like that? Expand
  8. JoeT.
    Sep 4, 2007
    9
    Surprisingly witty in it's humour. The squimish and your grandma won't get it though.
  9. CarlH.
    Sep 7, 2007
    9
    I like this show. To me, this show is on the upswing.
  10. GeoffP.
    Sep 7, 2007
    10
    Best new show on television today.
  11. Niels
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    This is, by far, one of the best tv series of all time !
  12. ChadD.
    Aug 7, 2008
    10
    This show is great! Hank always has something witty and funny to say. The acting is good, the characters are believable and they make you like/hate them. I'm glad this is coming back for a second season!
  13. VictorP
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    All in all, the most refreshing, innovative, and addicting show out in TV right now. I have watched many a series, and even tho we are in the 3rd season, it does not get old, as the writers seem to throw in new ideas and twists that give the show a whole new feel. I hope this show does NOT get canceled any time soon.
  14. JeffK.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    One of the funniest shows I have seen in a very long time, great plot, and David Duchovny is hilarious.
  15. RogerT.
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    Best new comedy/drama in years. Superb writing, casting, and chemistry of lead characters is irresistible.
  16. FirstL.
    Aug 14, 2007
    10
    Brilliant first episode. Hope there are many more like this.
  17. JakeJ.
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    Terrific acting by Duchovny. However, this show is only meant for adults with a sexual sense of humor. If you are 60+, or under 18, this show is probably not for you. Middle aged, middle class men...eat your hearts out.
  18. ChrisB.
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    I love this show. The cast, writing, directing - all fabulous. I can totally relate to Hank. Hope this show runs for a long freakin' time.
  19. veronicag.
    Aug 24, 2007
    8
    i give it an 8 just b/c im not going to give it a 10 yet, i have to watch the whole season, but so far from what ive watched i loved! i look foward to watching it every monday. it's just something fun and new to watch.
  20. C.B.
    Sep 10, 2007
    9
    Great, great writing. Duchovny is BACK!
  21. groundfisher
    Sep 29, 2007
    8
    So far, Californication has been good. However, to have genuine longevity the show needs more characters because episodes are already beginning to resemble each other. Otherwise, the show has real potential. It will be interesting to see the direction the show will take after having established its major themes and the dilemmas of its characters. Incidently, I'm not at all aroused by So far, Californication has been good. However, to have genuine longevity the show needs more characters because episodes are already beginning to resemble each other. Otherwise, the show has real potential. It will be interesting to see the direction the show will take after having established its major themes and the dilemmas of its characters. Incidently, I'm not at all aroused by the nudity in Californication, so I don't consider it pornographic. I'm pleased that the most pretentious reviewers of this show are those who are dismissing this show as pretentious. Expand
  22. SalimN.
    Sep 5, 2007
    10
    Way better than season 3 of Weeds. Plus Hank's a cool character.
  23. DonK.
    Sep 5, 2007
    10
    Witty, but most of all, enjoyable, funny, and not too serious. Overall, a great show, and not a self-absorbed mess like the OC or John from Cincinnati.
  24. FarhanJC
    Dec 6, 2008
    10
    David Dochovony and Tom Kapinos, delivers and writes respectively, best ever "on your face" dialogues. Greatest show on earth right now at this moment.
  25. ThomasC.
    Jan 27, 2008
    9
    Just watched the entire season in three sittings over the course of 24 hours, and upon the conclusion of episode 12, I found myself clapping. Clapping!! Go figure... never done that before, but this show deserved it. I laugh more at Weeds, enjoy Weeds more, but this is good.... an updated, modern soap that is so very cool. What more to say?
  26. JonD
    Sep 29, 2008
    8
    At the beginning of this series I was really worried how the crew was going to keep this going beyond a season... because I ended up liking the pilot--- but I couldn't figure out a way to end the story without being predictable. And predictable it is... predictable but enjoyable. If Duchovny doesn't act like that in true life (it's believable) it's pretty good acting. At the beginning of this series I was really worried how the crew was going to keep this going beyond a season... because I ended up liking the pilot--- but I couldn't figure out a way to end the story without being predictable. And predictable it is... predictable but enjoyable. If Duchovny doesn't act like that in true life (it's believable) it's pretty good acting. It's the perfect role for him. Expand
  27. nikolar.
    Feb 12, 2009
    9
    It's different then anything else out there on tv. Duchovny surprised everybody, he holds it all together.
  28. TorjeW.
    Mar 5, 2009
    9
    Though hidden as TV serie based on normal life, it contains elements of the unnatural. Don't take it the wrong way, it has nothing to with sci-fi, just hilarious settings and plot developments that just hard to belive. In my opinion then that's not a bad thing, I don't watch TV to see how other people live their lives. I want to be entertained with humour, nakedness and Though hidden as TV serie based on normal life, it contains elements of the unnatural. Don't take it the wrong way, it has nothing to with sci-fi, just hilarious settings and plot developments that just hard to belive. In my opinion then that's not a bad thing, I don't watch TV to see how other people live their lives. I want to be entertained with humour, nakedness and depressing scenes. And that's exactly what you are getting when you watch "Californication". This is truly one of the best series I've seen in years. Some people might find the nakedness excessive, but how do you have sex with clothes on? Sure they could have left those parts out, but why would they do that? It's about life and sex is a big part of life, just ask your parents how you came to be. Expand
  29. AH
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    Unbelievable script writing! Solid character building! This show is what everyone is thinking and wondering in their minds. The writers make you feel empathetic towards a depressed, self loathing, crass and obnoxious man who is going through a mid life crisis. Unfortunately this show is not for everyone as its hard to be open minded about hidden prejudices that we all have and he natural Unbelievable script writing! Solid character building! This show is what everyone is thinking and wondering in their minds. The writers make you feel empathetic towards a depressed, self loathing, crass and obnoxious man who is going through a mid life crisis. Unfortunately this show is not for everyone as its hard to be open minded about hidden prejudices that we all have and he natural animal instinct of mankind. Expand
  30. JohnC.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    Amazing show. If u don't like it, fine. But I do and others do 2. Keep up the good work.
  31. vickys.
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    Brilliant. Dialoge natural full of Ca wit. Characters drawn from reality making them identifiable to the audience and hysterical. I dated him, she was a crazy roommate, I worked with her, or married him. Unbelievable writing!!! Finally something I can't predict.
  32. PeterJ.
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    Great dialog and good acting.
  33. TrishM.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    Love it like it was my own gold fish!
  34. MarlonW.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Great Tv series!
  35. MariaS.
    Aug 14, 2007
    10
    Good dialogues!
  36. EmmaG.
    Aug 14, 2007
    10
    Great pilot, can't wait till next Monday!!!
  37. SueB.
    Aug 16, 2007
    10
    David Duchovny is great! He's very funny and touching when he needs to be. I'll be watching this just because of him so I hope the rest of the series lives up to the pilot.
  38. ivetteU.
    Aug 17, 2007
    10
    I love this show since day one...It's real and tackles many life issues...i can relate in many ways...
  39. MourL.
    Aug 18, 2007
    10
    Brilliant opening Episode . Duchovny delivers , humor and inner drama with finesse of sarcasm. Finally ( along with WEEDS) ShowTime got something to match HBO. I have high hopes for Californication.
  40. DeeS.
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    Californication is smart, funny, brilliant and ballsy and David Duchovny proves he is equally adept at comedy as drama. Showtime has a terrific show, an adult comedy for adults, and I can't wait to see more.
  41. KarrenoC.
    Sep 12, 2007
    10
    I gotta give it a solid 10. For one thing it touches various subjects that many would be afraid to even think about. The show illustrates a powerful portrayal of today's reality of the City of Angels. The writing is absolutely powerful, touching subjects of parenthood, sex, drugs, addictions, and the reality. I would definitely recommend this film to audience of every kind, (adults I gotta give it a solid 10. For one thing it touches various subjects that many would be afraid to even think about. The show illustrates a powerful portrayal of today's reality of the City of Angels. The writing is absolutely powerful, touching subjects of parenthood, sex, drugs, addictions, and the reality. I would definitely recommend this film to audience of every kind, (adults of course) because everyone can learn from this . Expand
  42. graccok
    Jan 16, 2008
    10
    Californication and Duchovny rule! The best show ever!
  43. ClintT.
    Jan 20, 2008
    9
    Indescribably brilliant. Apparently all the sex put some people off but I reckon it adds rather than detracts from the shows blackly comic satire on modern Hollywood. Best show of 2007.
  44. MatteoP.
    Jul 27, 2008
    8
    Something new even if uncompleted.
  45. JackH.
    Aug 30, 2008
    10
    This show is, if not anything else, pretty enjoyable. Please do not read further if you have a 'thing' against spoilers. As I am not a professional writer, 'thing' works quite well to describe several feelings. For what I wanted to express >> Having watched the first season of Californication just recently, I was pretty awed by the way the character has been developed. This show is, if not anything else, pretty enjoyable. Please do not read further if you have a 'thing' against spoilers. As I am not a professional writer, 'thing' works quite well to describe several feelings. For what I wanted to express >> Having watched the first season of Californication just recently, I was pretty awed by the way the character has been developed. He has a laid-back approach, true, but nearing the middle to end of the season, shows that not only is he still in love with his long-term girlfriend, but is also attempting to insinuate himself back into her life. As the protagonist has been shown to have a decent outlook towards morality, excluding the unfortunate mishap involving his love's fiance's daughter, he is pretty limited in how he tries to get 'Karen' back. That however, does not stop him trying. Although the explicit scenes may come across as excessive to some, it is the underlying satire and raunchiness that intrigue the audience. Few shows manage to get the right reactions from their viewers. Californication can thankfully be counted amongst them. However, the entire show is not just about 'Hank' attempting to bring his life under a finer control. The rest of the cast plays a significant role too. Subplots of intricate details have been developed, one of the most involving being the sexual frustration expressed by 'Marcy', wife of Hank's agent 'Charlie'. The season finale was pretty exciting. Rarely have stranger things occured on a wedding set, be it in reality, or theater. I await with hushed breath for the second season. This series has impressed me beyond all bounds. Expand
  46. carries
    Feb 25, 2009
    10
    I never thought i'd have any interest in this - love david duchovny but have No Need for the sex, drugs... but i thought i should just see what they did... and ended up watching the entire disc of episodes back to back to back on repeat for 2 days until the 2nd disc arrived in the mail 2 days later from netflix - there is so much to recommend this show - but the father-daughter I never thought i'd have any interest in this - love david duchovny but have No Need for the sex, drugs... but i thought i should just see what they did... and ended up watching the entire disc of episodes back to back to back on repeat for 2 days until the 2nd disc arrived in the mail 2 days later from netflix - there is so much to recommend this show - but the father-daughter relationship is probably my favorite part - given that a modern parent-child relationship is normally portrayed so stupidly in any tv show or film - i hope they can take the sex and drugs and swearing out and sell it to TBS - and i hope we can get a show like this sometime that is PG-13. Expand
  47. Averyc
    Aug 16, 2009
    8
    I do enjoy all the sex and drugs; however, this show is best when dealing with romantic longing, relationships, and parenting. the emotion that passes between Hank and Karen during the first season is genuine, sweet, and electric. Furthermore, some of my favorite one-liners from the past several years of television are from Season One of this show. The writing is often very good, the I do enjoy all the sex and drugs; however, this show is best when dealing with romantic longing, relationships, and parenting. the emotion that passes between Hank and Karen during the first season is genuine, sweet, and electric. Furthermore, some of my favorite one-liners from the past several years of television are from Season One of this show. The writing is often very good, the acting is very good, the casting (esp. for the secondary and tertiary cast) deserves an award. The show only casts good looking, charismatic actors, and is smart enough to rely on the charisma of its main cast. This is Duchovny's show. Period. If you like him, as I do, you'll really, really enjoy 'Californication'. The show is intelligent for a few reasons, not the least of which is Duchovny's intelligence. Expand
  48. R.Lopez
    Jan 22, 2010
    10
    An amazing show, Duchovny got the humor, the style and the charm to pull off an outrageous and truly comedic show like this. Californication soars.
  49. AndrewP.
    Dec 12, 2007
    10
    Best show on tv in years. Funny, honest, witty, and irreverent.
  50. JohnB
    Dec 28, 2007
    10
    One of the funniest, sentimental, runchy shows I ever enjoyed. How can anyone try to comare it with 2-D Sex and the City? Apart from all the brilliant main characters Pamela Adlon (Marcy) and Dani California really made it for me. And I feel sure the two Medeleines have brilliant futures as well. Thank You! I can't wait for the next series being filmed in April.
  51. Christineb.
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    Great acting, directing.
  52. RW.
    Aug 19, 2007
    10
    This show is so funny it makes me forget David was a cross dresser in Twin Peaks! Oh and for my two cents, funnier than "weeds". Keep it coming!
  53. Mosez
    Aug 21, 2007
    10
    Hilarious, love the laid back style. Beats Weeds season 3 if you ask me. Go watch TNT if you you're offended by nudity (in case you forgot: you were born naked) or better yet: turn of the TV entirely and mow the lawn or something.
  54. susang.
    Aug 21, 2007
    10
    fabulous... hits all the emotional buttons, the acting is superb, really wacky!!!
  55. MaryH
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    I haven't laughed so hard in ages; this to me is "true" Duchovny, much more like him than Fox Mulder ever was. Oh yeah, it's coarse and profane ... but sometimes adult TV is just fine.
  56. MarleneS.
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    Californication is a wonderful new show. Duchovny is a riot. It's must see TV for me
  57. TizzomC.
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    Instant classic!
  58. alar
    Aug 25, 2007
    10
    Excellent blend of drama, comedy and raunch. David duchovny reveals a whole new side to his acting prowess. And it is GOOD!
  59. JoanneM.
    Aug 27, 2007
    10
    I absolutely love this show! It's fun and exciting and it's got David Duchovny NAKED. What more need be said? The supporting actors are excellent and did I mention Duchovny was NAKED? Essential viewing!
  60. SteveG
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    In response to the woman who said it was "Sarcastic, raunchy and annoying" ... that's what makes is great. "L-O-f--king L" Duchovny shows he's one of the best actors alive with his diversification. To those who don't like it, you're in the very small minority. This show will be nominated for an Emmy and has a good chance at winning.
  61. JamesM.
    Sep 15, 2007
    9
    I can't believe that Showtime has actually something on worth watching. Finally, Duchovny is back and better than ever. Californication is a hit.
  62. ArtemG
    Jan 15, 2008
    10
    Brilliant!
  63. RobertS.
    Jan 16, 2008
    10
    One of the best show I´ve watched in years. The dialogue is awesome. The acting is superb. David Duchovny is perfect, as always. Ah the musics are marvelous! I love seeing Hank Moody, Karen and Becca together.
  64. Andrew
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    I wasn't really sure whether I'd like it most of the time and I started skipping the agent parts of the story, but Hank's arc is very fresh and far better than outside reviews of the show would have led me to believe. Caveats: it takes a little while to get going though and I'm not sure the second season will be any good.
  65. IvanS
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    Brilliant. Brilliant. Brilliant. I was raving about it so much, my wife felt compelled to watch a couple episodes - it's now her favourite show.
  66. SnogB.
    Feb 13, 2008
    10
    Didn't know Hollywood produced dark humour. They did this and did it brilliantly! Seen the first season and I'm hoping they can keep Hank in the gutter for another 12 episodes cause that's when he's at his best.
  67. JustinR.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    It might be said that this is the greatest casting for any tv show in history. The writing is phenomenal, and everyone is so balanced. People all act realistically irrationally sometimes, and hank is just quick and witty enough to be believably. Duchovny's acting is top notch, and you will find yourself relating to many aspects of this show. Easily a 10 out of 10.
  68. OthoS.
    Jul 29, 2008
    8
    I find it interesting that the most negative reviews of Californication come from L.A. and New York critics, while the Chicago critics love it. When a program makes the commercial stage and film capitals of the country fidgety with its portrayal of writers, that's a sure sign that said portrayal is dead on. In Chicago, we take our theatre seriously, and anyone who decides not to I find it interesting that the most negative reviews of Californication come from L.A. and New York critics, while the Chicago critics love it. When a program makes the commercial stage and film capitals of the country fidgety with its portrayal of writers, that's a sure sign that said portrayal is dead on. In Chicago, we take our theatre seriously, and anyone who decides not to whore himself by selling out to Broadway or Hollywood no doubt delights in Duchovny's skewering of the shallow solipsism of the coasts. Expand
  69. jeanneh.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    best show after weeds on showtime or hbo luv it
  70. DebbieG.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    Clever, amusing, and oddly principled.
  71. Apr 5, 2011
    9
    This review encompasses Seasons 1 through 4.

    Duchovny's character, Hank Moody, from the get-go is a tragically-flawed anti-hero. Immature, childish, hedonistic, to say the least but endearing. As his circle of friends are introduced, love interests, family, and so forth layers of his character shine through. A slick and polished production from start to finish and Duchovny's best work
    This review encompasses Seasons 1 through 4.

    Duchovny's character, Hank Moody, from the get-go is a tragically-flawed anti-hero. Immature, childish, hedonistic, to say the least but endearing. As his circle of friends are introduced, love interests, family, and so forth layers of his character shine through.

    A slick and polished production from start to finish and Duchovny's best work to date, and there are some similarities, in terms of self-satire, to Jay Mohr's Action.

    In a nutshell, its "Sex and the City" if it were written for (and by) guys. Not for the feint of heart.
    Expand
  72. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    This show is pointless and that's what's good about it. If you've ever felt like you don't know where you're going in life; if you've ever made dumb decisions, if you've ever had friends who stand by you despite those dumb decisions, then male or female you can identify with the shows protaganist, Hank Moody. With a hedonistic bent this series is hilarious and at times just a tad too over the top.
  73. Jan 19, 2015
    7
    Entertainment in the form of pure filth. Main character "Hank" (Duchovny) spends his time doing drugs and having sex with any skanky chick who will get into bed with him. All the while he talks about getting his crap together and fixing the relationship with his ex so that his daughter can have her family together. Of course for the first half of the season none of that actually happens.Entertainment in the form of pure filth. Main character "Hank" (Duchovny) spends his time doing drugs and having sex with any skanky chick who will get into bed with him. All the while he talks about getting his crap together and fixing the relationship with his ex so that his daughter can have her family together. Of course for the first half of the season none of that actually happens.

    He continues to talk about changing while not actually doing it. Instead going from bimbo to bimbo and feeling sorry for himself. The show fixes itself eventually when situations arise that force Hank to grow up. However two questions remain throughout; why should we care about Hank Moody and why do these women keep jumping into bed with him? The show's biggest issue is that it treats women as nothing more than sluts who will jump at the chance to sleep with someone even the least bit decent looking.

    Is Moody good looking? Yes. Is he even remotely likable? No. Yet despite that it's hard to not enjoy the show. Watching this scumbag character reach new lows is disturbingly entertaining. It can be quite humorous at times and I stayed invested with the hopes that he would change for the sake of his daughter.

    It's almost sickening how enjoyable this sleazy show can be. All of it's characters are morally bankrupt people who want to and will have sex with anything that will drop it's pants, and the show tells us it's okay because it's just sex. Even worse is that none of them get any sort of punishment for their reprehensible actions. The whole thing tells viewers that it's okay to be a scumbag because in the end you are somehow charming and will get a happy ending. I can't say that it's not a realistic portrayal of everyday life. A disturbingly entertaining portrayal.

    The show did keep me invested in the sleazy antics of it's anti-hero and often laughing throughout. It's content means that it's not for those who can't put up with watching dark and dirty content, but those who can are sure to find something they can relish in. As far as I go I found this first season to be entertaining, but not entertaining enough to come back for season 2. I'd rather not fill my mind with anymore of it's trash no matter how enjoyable it can be at times.
    Expand
  74. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    Best show on TV (although I don't have cable so I am a couple of seasons behind and watching on Netflicks...) Brilliant writing, flawed but compelling characters, surprising, and strangely touching.
  75. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Awesome show. I feel like I'm watching the life I wish I had the balls to live. A flawed character who is taking life a day at a time. However, it does take a bit of an open mind to watch. As some parts could be offensive for your grandparents.
  76. Apr 4, 2012
    8
    Witty, exciting and sometimes emotional. David Duchovny does a great job playing Hank Moody, and the music used for the series is great. Certainly not for everybody, and let's just say that male viewers may enjoy it most.
  77. Mar 12, 2015
    10
    The series finale in my opinion was a bit too "deep" and not out there like I like it. I would have been great if they actually went through with the pairing of couples, the marriage, the rekindling between two lovers, etc instead of implying that it would happen in the near future. Very repetitive in some aspects but in many episodes it was a very deep message that gave the viewerThe series finale in my opinion was a bit too "deep" and not out there like I like it. I would have been great if they actually went through with the pairing of couples, the marriage, the rekindling between two lovers, etc instead of implying that it would happen in the near future. Very repetitive in some aspects but in many episodes it was a very deep message that gave the viewer sympathy for Hank or moments where one could relate. Great writing just not played out amazing by many actors, but don't get me wrong David Duchovny was fantastic in conveying a nonchalant, loving father attitude. Expand
  78. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    Californication is one of those rare shows that exploit that flaws that we have to face. Duchovny portrays that character in a way that no one else would, plus he has always been more successful on television than film. Hank Moody is the antagonist that can be the protagonist. A terrific show!
  79. Jun 22, 2014
    10
    Californication is a great TV series is hilarious and i love his sense of humor. This TV series is my favorite and Hank Moody is my idol. I am completely hooked on this series
  80. Aug 17, 2014
    10
    It's incredible how we can get so immersed in a TV series. I have, avidly, watched all 7 series and find myself a little "vacant" that I won't be able to get my Californication fix again.
    The character, Hank, reminds me a bit of myself. I'm not quite the "cad" Hank is albeit I can so easily relate to this guy. Just like Hank, I spent my life in "self destruct" when it came to the true
    It's incredible how we can get so immersed in a TV series. I have, avidly, watched all 7 series and find myself a little "vacant" that I won't be able to get my Californication fix again.
    The character, Hank, reminds me a bit of myself. I'm not quite the "cad" Hank is albeit I can so easily relate to this guy. Just like Hank, I spent my life in "self destruct" when it came to the true love of my life.
    I just hope that my ending is as positive...perhaps?
    A brilliant piece of adult writing. I'm very sad it's over. I know all good things come to an end so thanks Tom for making the last 7 years amusing and thought provoking.
    Expand
  81. Oct 23, 2014
    9
    This show was extremely clever, well written and had some great acting by Agent Mulder. Very funny stuff, hot girls, good actors.... probably the best comedy on TV for a long portion of its run. If you are a SQUARE / PRUDE / NOT FUNNY / DOUCHEBAG/ IN AN OLD AGE RETIREMENT HOME you will not like this show like some reviews below.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. 100
    Californication--the best new TV show in a year.
  2. Californication can be unabashedly self-centered, judgmental and off-putting, but it is redeemed by occasional hilarious moments, an appealing father-daughter relationship and Duchovny's skillful creation of a charismatic boor.
  3. Dark comedy suits insouciant Duchovny.... Here he delivers a tousled sort of aw-shucks Huck Finn, lighting out for erotic territories. McElhone, à la Rene Russo, manages to convey the notion of adult womanhood without being either drippy or schoolmarmish about it.