• Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 13, 2007
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 262 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 262

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 28, 2011
    1
    Why did D.Duchovny do this awful show? The shows entire purpose is to desensitize people to smut and portray scumbags as everyday people. It's messed up.16 year olds hitting on and sleeping with an older men, cursing for no good reason, women throwing themselves on him (who look like porn stars by the way). The unrealistic premises are laughable and border on ridiculous. Every character is pretentious, and annoying. The sex scenes get old after seeing them 10 times an episode. No wonder Duchovny became a sex addict and threw away his marriage while making this show. If I wanted to watch people f**k I'd rent a porno, oh that's right I just did! Expand
  2. Jan 6, 2013
    2
    Californication is the kind of show that promotes itself as cool when it really isn't. It vulgar for vulgarity's sake, with a false sense of provocation (some will always be offended by sex
  3. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    Duchovny's best performance in years happens to take place at a tropical hell where writers seek fame and fortune even if their work is turned into a horrible movie in order to acquire the needs to survive. Despite as stressful as the show can come off to be, Californication is one of the funniest shows currently on TV with its witty writing and impressive characters.
  4. Apr 5, 2011
    9
    This review encompasses Seasons 1 through 4.

    Duchovny's character, Hank Moody, from the get-go is a tragically-flawed anti-hero. Immature, childish, hedonistic, to say the least but endearing. As his circle of friends are introduced, love interests, family, and so forth layers of his character shine through.

    A slick and polished production from start to finish and Duchovny's best work
    to date, and there are some similarities, in terms of self-satire, to Jay Mohr's Action.

    In a nutshell, its "Sex and the City" if it were written for (and by) guys. Not for the feint of heart.
    Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    This show is pointless and that's what's good about it. If you've ever felt like you don't know where you're going in life; if you've ever made dumb decisions, if you've ever had friends who stand by you despite those dumb decisions, then male or female you can identify with the shows protaganist, Hank Moody. With a hedonistic bent this series is hilarious and at times just a tad too over the top.
  6. Jan 27, 2011
    5
    The TV show Californication, starred by the actor David Duchovny, who, by the way, also played in the X-files, plays the protagonist Hank Moody. Almost more than half of the time for each episode the Tv-Show is centered around Hank Moody, and from the critical aesthetic point of view this actually parallels with Hank's apparent narcissism...ok....maybe I went a little too far with that, because Hank really isn't much of a narcissist but a father who cares for his child named Becka. Now, I am not one of those conservative traditionalists who underrate this film because it goes against "family values" or "christian values", because to be quite honest, I like this tv show. I like Hank Moody, his friends, and his family (well, I kind of have difficulty liking Becka), but the problem is that while Hank Moody's irresponsible, immature, uncouth, promiscuous, arrogant, mischievous, humorous, outspoken and charming behaviors makes him the most interesting character among all others, the amusement eventually wears out. He is a successful novelist whose having a writer's block, for almost 4 seasons, and never managed to write a single book that marked his accomplishment. Well, I must admit that he did write the book which the sociopath stoled from him, so I'll make an exception here, but other than that he's very ADHD-ish, is very distracted by the external sensuous desires around him, rendering him into the most hilarious yet redundant hedonist. It's redundant because while after he worked very hard to get back with his wife and daughter, since after the divorce, he still cheats on her by sleeping around with other attractive women. He practically does the same thing over and over again: gets drunk, gets high, womanizing, and insulting people. Now I have no problems with these behaviors in TV in general, but I do have a problem when that's that's all there is to show. Hank Moody may seem creative verbally, but his lifestyle only shows the lack of it. There's something about this T.V. show that's really missing...what is it again? Aha! It's purpose! That's Right! I almost forgot! House, Monk, Pickard, Angel, Buffy, Jack O'Niel, and other characters from other popular T.V. shows always have some kind of purpose, they always end up accomplishing something, and they resolve many problems. But Hank, on the other hand, is the complete opposite. Very distracted (other characters are focused), very irresponsible (other characters feel responsible). There's just no purpose to this show anymore, it's simply a sheer hedonist sticking his thing where sometimes it doesn't belong. He keeps getting into trouble, making mistakes, and making a fool out of himself. Maybe that's the whole point of the T.V. show, to subvert the norms of Television shows, and to some extent I admire that and I understand that, it's kind of rebellious and individualistic, but the amusement runs out fast. Occasionally, Moody should be shown to be successful character, to express his ingenious side with writing, but somehow rarely any of that happens. I don't hate the character Hank Moody, I kind of like his personality, but I don't like how his character plays the primary role to shape the story such that it renders the story nonsensical and meaningless. There should be other characters to balance him out, there should be a greater tension, but nonetheless Hank continues to make the story less interesting by his repetitive behavior in different circumstances. I want to conclude that despite the fact that Californiacation is a unique tv series, since it seems to deviate from the norms of television, in that the character seems to be some-what of an anti-hero, who behaves nonsensically, I give it credit for that. I give Californication credit for being unique in its own right, but for me this isn't enough to make it a great T.V. show. The character House may seem relaxed, easy going, arrogant, and occasionally irresponsible, but he is also a great achiever in many things. Hank, on the other hand, is simply a novelist experiencing a permanent writer's block, and never resolves this problem but only let himself become distracted by amusing yet repetitive behavior. Expand
  7. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    I don't understand how can you guys don't like? This show is really amazing its fun and sad ay the same time. Its not only about sex, sex and sex again it shows us life of a great writer who cant find his place in this life. Its dirty , it contains bad words, drugs etc. But if u don't like it you can just turn the TV off or watch something else, there's no need to write "its bad for children" or something like that. People who don't like him are just jealous cuz they cant "be" with so big count of women. This is it. I said all I wanted to say. Hope this show will be shown for many years :D Expand
  8. Mar 12, 2011
    7
    I only have one critique: half of the program is a sex-scene. Which obviously reduces the time to tell a story. Especially the latest episodes don't seem to have enough story to keep my interest and attention. Nevertheless, it's a always fun to watch.
  9. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    Best show on TV (although I don't have cable so I am a couple of seasons behind and watching on Netflicks...) Brilliant writing, flawed but compelling characters, surprising, and strangely touching.
  10. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Awesome show. I feel like I'm watching the life I wish I had the balls to live. A flawed character who is taking life a day at a time. However, it does take a bit of an open mind to watch. As some parts could be offensive for your grandparents.
  11. Apr 4, 2012
    8
    Witty, exciting and sometimes emotional. David Duchovny does a great job playing Hank Moody, and the music used for the series is great. Certainly not for everybody, and let's just say that male viewers may enjoy it most.
  12. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    Californication is one of those rare shows that exploit that flaws that we have to face. Duchovny portrays that character in a way that no one else would, plus he has always been more successful on television than film. Hank Moody is the antagonist that can be the protagonist. A terrific show!
  13. Oct 9, 2013
    5
    I watched this show for almost a whole season before it dawned on me Why am I watching this show? It's about a moderately successful writer played by the aging David Duchovny, who sleeps with every woman he sees. Women of all ages 16+, all of whom are extremely attractive, and will never sleep with you. After a while, I got so jealous I just couldn't take it anymore. The show doesn't really have any other purpose other than David getting laid. It's not a horrible show, it's got a lot of breasts and attractive women, but it's pretty offensive and pointless so, not for me. Expand
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. 100
    Californication--the best new TV show in a year.
  2. Californication can be unabashedly self-centered, judgmental and off-putting, but it is redeemed by occasional hilarious moments, an appealing father-daughter relationship and Duchovny's skillful creation of a charismatic boor.
  3. Dark comedy suits insouciant Duchovny.... Here he delivers a tousled sort of aw-shucks Huck Finn, lighting out for erotic territories. McElhone, à la Rene Russo, manages to convey the notion of adult womanhood without being either drippy or schoolmarmish about it.