• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 9, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
Castle Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 1 Critic Awaiting 3 more reviews What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 55 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Beckett's mother's murder is still a priority for Kate, even as she and Castle move their relationship forward.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 21, 2012
    80
    While this focus [ on Kate and the shadowy lethal forces] at times approaches a "perils of Pauline" level of melodrama, with a showdown that pushes the credibility envelope, it's fun to watch.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    This is the Best season of Castle and is only started. The excellence of the work on the writing, the acting and all the production results on a pleasant time of entertainment. Expand
  2. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    This show has gotten better over the past five years. The last two part show was very well done. The addition of Mr. Brolin as the father was a very good touch and made a great deal of show seem to come together Expand
  3. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    Season 5 is my personal favorite of Castle, though I might admit season 3 has been the pinnacle of the show thus far. The inevitable romance between Castle and Beckett finally sees some real progression (which you would anticipate from the close of season 4). This show has undeniable charm and humor that always gets me to chuckle or feel for its main characters episode after episode. And, as always, the season 5 ending holds two great hooks that will have you clamoring for season 6 episodes however you might find them. I've been playing catchup, binge-watching season 1-5 in roughly 2 months. I'm sad to know that I'm only a half season behind now, but I sincerely hope Castle has at least a couple more solid seasons before the show's creators consider wrapping things up. Few shows hook me like Castle does. If I had to pick out one flaw for season 5, it's probably the less-serious tone. I love the earlier series feel that relied more on humor and zany experiences, but the balance of drama and comedy has been dynamite for Castle. Fans will be happy to know that Castle has actually increased in popularity, going from a TV rank of 41st (10.19 million viewers) during its first season to 19th in season 5 (12.26 million viewers). The increase in viewer base bodes well for continuation of the series, as long as they can maintain the higher quality entertainment the show has so beautifully provided since its launch in 2009. Expand
  4. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    Season 5 of Castle is what we've all been waiting for. Romance in the workplace between two inseparable characters that have grown together since the beginning of the show. Many shows often neglect this aspect and seem to just throw in romance to please the viewers. Though, not this time around. Castle Season 5, makes it believable, and will even at times have you jumping up from your seat with a big giant grin smiling because of the happiness of both you, and what the characters are going through. This season isn't over, and it's going to be interesting to see where it leads us. Expand
  5. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    This new season delivers what fans have been waiting for 5 years to see, Beckett and Castle romance although they try to keep it a secret few glances and "handshakes" always tell us what is really going on in their minds Expand
  6. Aug 28, 2013
    6
    If you remove the comedy aspect that has been at Castle’s core since the very first episode you are basically left with another police procedural, a genre that has never held my interest for very long. Unfortunately the quality of writing in this regard has seen a steady, yet undeniable, decline since the shows peak in season three and the show is just not as snappy as it once was. One the other hand when it does try to be dramatic or emotional, as it did all too often this season, it never really hits home as you know that none of the main characters are in any real danger and there is no way any of them are going to killed off.

    As a result I have found that I increasingly watch the show for the performances of Stana Katic and Nathan Fillion rather than for anything the show itself does. Although it has become increasingly melodramatic over the years the duos on-screen chemistry has always been integral to the show and, as its fifth season comes to a close, it really is one of the few things keeping me watching.
    Collapse