• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 8, 2014
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 4, 5
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 22
  2. Negative: 6 out of 22

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Jan 2, 2014
    38
    Unlike Law & Order, Chicago P.D. doesn't possess a crucial shagginess, a sense of experience and knowledge in these supposedly weary and seasoned characters that cuts through the hardened cynicism of the show's atmosphere.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 7, 2014
    33
    The oldest trope in the TV kingdom dies hard, and in fact dies not at all on Chicago PD, the latest from "Law & Order" creator Dick Wolf, who sleepwalks through this show, or at least doesn't bother to wake up long enough to rewrite any of the rules he's established over the past 30 years.
  3. 30
    It tries too hard to get down and dirty in the messy mire where crime happens. It just ends up messy, but without any real grit.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jan 8, 2014
    25
    Designed for people who want the legal clock turned back, not just to before the Constitution, but before the Magna Carta, Chicago P.D. is an insult to Chicago, police departments and viewers alike.
  5. 20
    Chicago PD is a bad show. The dialogue is predictable, the acting is marginal, and the plots are the swept-up leftovers from the Dick Wolf Idea Factory.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 8, 2014
    20
    Chicago PD, is the most arrogantly conceived display of bare-knuckled hooey since the mercifully short-lived Ironside reboot, which polluted the same Wednesday 10/9c time period last fall.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 74
  2. Negative: 11 out of 74
  1. Oct 13, 2015
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Last Wednesday (10/7) I did something I rarely do--turned a show off in the middle. When they took a suspect into the interrogation room and started beating on him I'd had enough. Yes, he was an alleged pedophile but that's no excuse for what they were doing. Police brutality is a serious problem in our society and it has no place on TV unless the brutal cop is the perp in the story. They roughed people up a lot last season and now I've had enough. I won't be watching anymore. Full Review »
  2. May 14, 2014
    9
    I love Chicago Fire and I love Chicago PD.
    Why ? Chicago PD is so different than other cop shows. It really nature, people here are not
    I love Chicago Fire and I love Chicago PD.
    Why ? Chicago PD is so different than other cop shows. It really nature, people here are not super humans, they have normal problems, struggling in dirty world.. especially Hank leader of IU.

    Its way better than any law & order **** But americans are dumb........... I hope in 3rd season too
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 19, 2014
    10
    Really wonderful show! Sophia Bush is great and it's not just like every other cop show. Really great, I definitely recommend it!
    I find it's
    Really wonderful show! Sophia Bush is great and it's not just like every other cop show. Really great, I definitely recommend it!
    I find it's much better than Chicago Fire.. Less melodramatic and more of an actual plot.
    Full Review »