Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jun 21, 2011
    50
    As if afraid they will be accused of not taking things seriously enough, the creators walk through much of the pilot as if through a minefield, which is to say ver-ry slowly and ver-ry carefully. Not the best pacing considering the subject matter.
  2. Reviewed by: Darren Franich
    Jun 20, 2011
    50
    Like fellow Canadian import Rookie Blue, Combat Hospital seems almost purposefully forgettable. Watch a China Beach rerun instead.
  3. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jun 21, 2011
    40
    Combat Hospital is as bland and generic as its title.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 21, 2011
    40
    Still, for a show chronicling this modern conflict, Combat Hospital seems painfully old-fashioned, as the script by Petrie, who shares story credit with creators Jinder Oujla-Chalmers and Douglas Steinberg, recycles any number of hospital-show cliches in the pilot alone.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 20, 2011
    40
    Imagine any "M• A• S• H"-style cliche and odds are good it will turn up in Combat Hospital whose predictability makes it a dull summer entry that may encourage viewers of this week's premiere to become deserters before next week's episode.
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Jul 7, 2011
    4
    Having spent 4 years in a Military Academy and 4 years as a US Marine, I tend to loose interest in shows of a military nature when you can'tHaving spent 4 years in a Military Academy and 4 years as a US Marine, I tend to loose interest in shows of a military nature when you can't even get the actors to salute in a military manner. Please try to find someone that will teach your actors to handle a weapon better and to at least salute to make it more believable. I know it is just TV but when you put this kind of money out there I would think you would want it to be as real as possible. Full Review »
  2. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    I really liked it. It was smart without being preachy. To all our fine Canadian and allied Military in Afghanistan, please come home safeI really liked it. It was smart without being preachy. To all our fine Canadian and allied Military in Afghanistan, please come home safe and thank you. Full Review »
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    It is a very good drama that needs time to develop. Networks want things to be hits from episode one. If they would have done that with MASHIt is a very good drama that needs time to develop. Networks want things to be hits from episode one. If they would have done that with MASH it probably wouldn't have gone 11 seasons. Give this some time and it has great potential. Good characterization and story lines throughout the first season is a great start but they need time to develop. This is like Firefly another series that never got the chance. Let's hope if CBS drops the ball somebody picks it up. Combat Hospital is a great show that is different than anything else on TV. Just because it isn't a CSI or NCIS or LA Law clone don't kill it. We need different not reality! Full Review »