• Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 21, 2011
  • Season #: 1
Combat Hospital Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This new medical drama is about a military hospital in Afghanistan and the doctors who work there.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 21, 2011
    83
    A smart, sedate Canadian production imported by ABC for a summertime run.
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jun 20, 2011
    75
    It's unlikely that any TV drama filmed in Toronto could ever come close to the bloody reality of war, but ABC's new series, Combat Hospital, makes a pretty compelling attempt at doing so.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 20, 2011
    67
    Placid and often incomprehensibly bland, Combat Hospital still has flashes of intelligence. Definitely worth a second look.
  4. Reviewed by: Darren Franich
    Jun 20, 2011
    50
    Like fellow Canadian import Rookie Blue, Combat Hospital seems almost purposefully forgettable. Watch a China Beach rerun instead.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 21, 2011
    40
    Still, for a show chronicling this modern conflict, Combat Hospital seems painfully old-fashioned, as the script by Petrie, who shares story credit with creators Jinder Oujla-Chalmers and Douglas Steinberg, recycles any number of hospital-show cliches in the pilot alone.
  6. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jun 21, 2011
    40
    Combat Hospital is as bland and generic as its title.
  7. Reviewed by: Renee Scolaro Mora
    Jun 22, 2011
    30
    The "medical drama" is far too paltry to sustain the series without ramping up the relevance of the war context.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    I accidentally stumbled across this series on HULU the other night. I couldn't find anything that looked better so i watched it and was 'blown away." As a big fan of MASH, I didn't think that there could ever be a military hospital based drama or comedy that would come close...but this one does. I watched two episodes in a row and will go back tonight and watch the third. Particularly like Elias Koteras and the character he plays but some of the younger actors appear capable and promising also. They deal with difficult issues - like the "friendly fire" sub-plot in one episode - with thought and insight. I highly recommend this for anyone who is a MASH fan or just likes a good, thought provoking drama. Expand
  2. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    Great show great acting very beautiful women on the show I hope the show comes back I like show about the military. The show has good action and has a great cast Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    It is a very good drama that needs time to develop. Networks want things to be hits from episode one. If they would have done that with MASH it probably wouldn't have gone 11 seasons. Give this some time and it has great potential. Good characterization and story lines throughout the first season is a great start but they need time to develop. This is like Firefly another series that never got the chance. Let's hope if CBS drops the ball somebody picks it up. Combat Hospital is a great show that is different than anything else on TV. Just because it isn't a CSI or NCIS or LA Law clone don't kill it. We need different not reality! Expand
  4. Jul 9, 2011
    9
    An engaging ensemble cast who carry off a nice blend of drama and humour. I liked that the drama was not over the top. Don't expect to see every military detail/convention accurately portrayed, but Combat Hospital has lots of potential and I have a feeling that this show will only get better. Expand
  5. Aug 24, 2011
    8
    From Canada, eh? I guess that explains the good parts. It's getting better but I could do with a little less moralizing. The head doc is really solid and character driven, the psychiatrist is splendid, the hot shot brain surgeon is really a hot shot but the bland, bland, bland 'pretty' female lead, Michele something is just so much window dressing. Plus she's a bore. Expand
  6. Jun 25, 2011
    7
    I enjoyed the pilot more than I expected. I realize that character development and plot cannot be see in their fullest but must be allowed to mature over time. We haven't been able to see into a combat hospital in sense since M*A*S*H and I look forward to seeing how this show will progress. I do not expect it to follow the format of the M*A*S*H series and hope it will develop it's own persona. Only time will tell. It does help me to keep in mind that real people are over there right now. Keeping the sacrifice they make each and every day in the forefront is not a bad thing! Expand
  7. Jul 12, 2011
    0
    Im a USN corpsman and I was really interested in the show. However the first five minutes that i started watching it I was furious and annoyed. 98% of this show is completely fake. I cant even stand to watch it because of how upset I get. Very disappointing especially to someone who works daily in the medical field. If this show continues I hope that they can do better research and get all of the details correct from how uniforms and hair are worn, color of the camel spiders, all the way down to the equipment they use in their "one operating room". I just feel like it's a slap in the face to people who are in the military to not get details correct. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews