Crisis : Season 1

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 16, 2014
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Mar 13, 2014
    91
    Crisis ultimately gets its priorities straight by giving viewers a reason to care--about the characters, outcome and mystery.
  2. Reviewed by: Vicki Hyman
    Mar 17, 2014
    83
    The pilot offers a number of interesting swerves, and Anderson and Mulroney are always watchable, but Crisis shares sustainability issues with CBS' "Hostages."
  3. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Mar 17, 2014
    80
    Exciting and twisty, Crisis is the show that CBS thought it had at the start of the season with Hostages.
  4. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Mar 14, 2014
    80
    The pilot is terrific, and it was directed by Phillip Noyce, whose credits include the Harrison Ford movie “Clear and Present Danger” and the pilot of ABC’s “Revenge.”
  5. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Mar 14, 2014
    80
    Crisis takes kids in jeopardy, class conflict and adolescent (and national) insecurity and stirs them into a surprisingly effective thriller.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Mar 13, 2014
    80
    The story itself relies on a series of coincidences that may be improbable, but the character responses feel authentic.
  7. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Mar 14, 2014
    75
    With its frantic pacing, ­vicious masterminds and ­valiant law enforcement agents, Crisis might remind you of Fox’s “24.” Not the best seasons of “24,” but still. There’s a lot to be said for a show that works up a sweat trying to surprise you.
  8. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Mar 13, 2014
    75
    Crisis may not be great, but it works. [24 Mar 2014, p.35]
  9. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Mar 13, 2014
    75
    The main characters are well-drawn and well-played, particularly by Mulroney, Taylor, Gross and (as you'd expect) Anderson, and the structure already seems reliably sturdy.
  10. Based on Sunday's pilot episode, Crisis has the potential to be one of the spring season's most addictive network offerings. It's intense and suspenseful.
  11. Reviewed by: Kristi Turnquist
    Jun 24, 2014
    70
    Based on the first two episodes available for screening, Crisis is more promising than other recent network attempts to create a series that tells an ongoing story.
  12. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Mar 17, 2014
    70
    Taylor and Gross balance just the right amount of competence and bewilderment, while Mulroney emotes the pain of a rejected father. The pilot is all but stolen by Joshua Erenberg, who plays the kid Finley rescues.
  13. Reviewed by: Mark Dawidziak
    Mar 14, 2014
    70
    It's moving so fast that the missteps never turn into a full-fledged fall. More than compensating, Anderson and Mulroney deliver big time, while Gross and Erenberg make a surprisingly winning odd-couple team. If there is a weak link in this cast, it's probably Taylor, who has yet to convince us she's a savvy and experienced FBI agent.
  14. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Mar 13, 2014
    70
    For now, it’s an intriguing enough premise to warrant continued attention.
  15. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Mar 13, 2014
    67
    The mood music in Crisis can be over-wrought at times--and downright over-bearing when a male vocalist breaks into “Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child.” But the first two hours are nicely paced and eventful, with the ad hoc partnership between Marcus and an initially resistant Susie gaining traction as the stakes increase.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. Mar 21, 2014
    8
    The pilot for Crisis was great. Reminded me of 2012's "Missing" with Ashley Judd.
    Intense, action packed, suspenseful, almost like the movie
    The pilot for Crisis was great. Reminded me of 2012's "Missing" with Ashley Judd.
    Intense, action packed, suspenseful, almost like the movie "White House Down" with Jaime Foxx and Channing Tatum. Characters were likable, bad guys were intelligent, it was fast paced, intense, almost like an episode of 24. Great start to a potentially great show. Lets see where it goes!
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 17, 2014
    5
    I really don't see how the show 'Crisis' is going to translate into a multi season vehicle for NBC. The premise has already failed multipleI really don't see how the show 'Crisis' is going to translate into a multi season vehicle for NBC. The premise has already failed multiple times in past years. The only thing that makes this different -- this time the hostages are kids. Think 80's, think 'Toy Soldiers' and you got it. Kids trapped in a building and someone is trying to get them out. Wow, wonder how this will end? Umm they get saved? The pilot ended with me having no hint of a connection to the characters. I don't even feel the kids are in any real danger. There were attempts to have contrived "moments" that would make me care, didn't work, I don't. The dialogue seems better fitted for a student film or B movie. One line zingers, minus the zing and the typical CSI styled fill in the blank commentary that accompanies most action/dramas that are on air today. Lance Gross tried his best to channel his inner John Mcclane but I'd rather just watch Die Hard on blue ray. As hard as it is to get a break in the industry today, this project made it to my screen? Just wow! Either NBC is saying they just don't care, or some of the higher ups in those nice comfy offices need to play musical chairs...because this show really sucks. Don't get too excited about the initial ratings, they will drop off significantly if what you aired tonight is all you have in store. 'Crisis' gets two thumbs down and a series cancel on my DVR. Full Review »
  3. Jun 22, 2014
    10
    I have to say the 2 hour ending was amazing!! It made me want to see so much more. Especially with sending that last text. I wanna know whatI have to say the 2 hour ending was amazing!! It made me want to see so much more. Especially with sending that last text. I wanna know what it is!! and What it leads too. C'mon Season 2!! PLEASE! Full Review »