• Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 19, 2013
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 38
  2. Negative: 10 out of 38

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jul 3, 2017
    8
    In the age of streaming, DVRs, and On Demand, networks still aren't getting it! Even the best and most innovative TV show to come along in years isn't going to survive, if you debut it with minimal advertising in the middle of the summer! This is the reason why Cult didn't last and why it isn't currently the top rated show on the CW network.

    The wildly creative idea was the brainchild
    In the age of streaming, DVRs, and On Demand, networks still aren't getting it! Even the best and most innovative TV show to come along in years isn't going to survive, if you debut it with minimal advertising in the middle of the summer! This is the reason why Cult didn't last and why it isn't currently the top rated show on the CW network.

    The wildly creative idea was the brainchild of Farscape's Rockne S. O'Bannon and took nearly a decade to come to television. Cult is a TV show within a TV show, that features a cult, within a cult, I will attempt to explain. The show Cult is centered around a fictitious show called Cult. That fictitious show is centered around an FBI agent (Alona Tal) who lived her whole life in a cult, only to escape and join the FBI, with the hopes of locking up her old family for the abuses she endured. In retaliation, the cult has abducted her sister, brother-in-law, and nephew, who she is attempted to rescue. Back to the "real" Cult, the fans of this fictitious show, claim to see hidden messages in the show, that lead them to commit crimes on behalf of the shows mysterious creator, a man no one has ever met. One such crime is to kidnap Nate Sefton (James Pizzinato), the younger brother of a reporter, Jeff (Matthew Davis). Jeff makes it his mission to investigate these followers of cult, to find his brother, and to figure out what their up to, but he needs help. Jeff recruits Skye Yarrow (Jessica Lucas), a researcher on the show, whose father, was also a reporter, who disappeared fifteen years ago, while attempting to investigate the same man who created this TV show. Every episode is a wild ride into an underworld that has existed for decades, that no one knew anything about, and as always is the case with shows like this, each episode is better than the one before it, as it builds up to an epic conclusion.

    This is the kind of show that had so many original ideas and so much material it could have gone on for years. Cult would have appealed to main stream audiences across every demographic and (pun intended) would have garnered a huge cult following, if it wasn't for the CW. I remember when this show premiered, the CW literally started to advertise for it a week before it aired, and then rarely after that. Cult was on Tuesday nights in the middle of the summer, when lets face it, most people are out enjoying the nice weather. Since the show had no previous exposure, there was no reason for anyone to watch on demand or even DVR it, so it was cancelled. It just doesn't make sense to me, why even spend the money and make the show if you're not going to give it a real chance? If this show debuted on the fall line-up after Supernatural, the ratings would have been enormous, the show would still be on!

    You have a terrific young cast playing duel roles, an experienced creator, with a team that's already had success with Seaquest, Farscape, and Alien Nation, there was no reason to bury this show, but a las, Cult met it's fate after just thirteen episodes, which are currently streaming on Netflix. For all my followers who claim they have nothing to watch, here is 13 hours of some of the most imaginative and creative writing you will ever see on TV, add Cult to your queue and start watching tonight!!!
    Expand
  2. Dec 28, 2013
    1
    Despite all the promises their marketing campaign made about Cult being a revolutionary T.V. show, what it is really a terrible show that would disappoint even without the hype. With idiotic and repetitive plot lines and acting that barely registers emotionally at all (excluding the main actor, who actually is really good considering the trash he has to make due with), manages to be theDespite all the promises their marketing campaign made about Cult being a revolutionary T.V. show, what it is really a terrible show that would disappoint even without the hype. With idiotic and repetitive plot lines and acting that barely registers emotionally at all (excluding the main actor, who actually is really good considering the trash he has to make due with), manages to be the worst television of the year. To top it off, the show does not even try to be genuinely exciting, and has possibly the worst catchphrase ever. All this is after seeming to have a revolutionary premise and massive potential for greatness. Expand
  3. Dec 7, 2013
    7
    Quite original and unpredictable. However, it lacks the suspense, is constantly evolving and with some twists. is a mysterious TV series. I was quite happy but I do not think there will be a second season.
  4. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    This show is amazing. It is one that you really have to pay attention to and analyze what is going on a bit to get the full experience. After the first two episodes the show really takes off, there is a bit of world building that has to be done in order for a viewer to understand what type of danger the characters could possibly be in. The main problem is that unwillingness of otherThis show is amazing. It is one that you really have to pay attention to and analyze what is going on a bit to get the full experience. After the first two episodes the show really takes off, there is a bit of world building that has to be done in order for a viewer to understand what type of danger the characters could possibly be in. The main problem is that unwillingness of other viewers to sit down and watch something that they will have to think through. If you are willing and able to sit down for an hour and use your brain you should enjoy this amazing show. Collapse
  5. Mar 19, 2013
    6
    In my opinion the idea behind the show is very original and creative however the way they written it makes it hard too understand what is going on. Heres what it is. A show named "Cult" (This is what we watch), has a show named "Cult" (Inside the show that seems to be exactly the same as what we see just different actors and scenes [Same Name, Same Channel, Same Story, Same Direction]),In my opinion the idea behind the show is very original and creative however the way they written it makes it hard too understand what is going on. Heres what it is. A show named "Cult" (This is what we watch), has a show named "Cult" (Inside the show that seems to be exactly the same as what we see just different actors and scenes [Same Name, Same Channel, Same Story, Same Direction]), has got attention from fans who are in a Cult (The ones who reenact scenes from the show and put online), then a deeper group of fans who also go by Cult (The True Believers who think the show wants them to kill for them). Sounds original, but switching from cult-to-cult-to-cult-to-cult is getting to diffiCULT. Personally I dont see the show lasting more then one season, if it does then season two will be the last. But I can definintly say whenever I have time I will watch it. So my advice is watch the first 5 episodes. Then decide on taking the chance and seeing what happens from then on. Expand
  6. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    One of the best tv shows I have seen in a while. Definitely gets better as the season progresses. The acting is great. The show within a show idea is intriguing, but the acting in the fake show is a little campy, but that's to be expected. All I can say is I'm hooked
  7. Mar 1, 2013
    2
    While the description of the show sounded intriguing and perhaps refreshing the actual creative direction and execution is absolutely horrendous. Within the first 15 minutes of the pilot the audience is left (or at least I was) scratching their heads at the bizarre concept. Upon hesitation I continued to watch the pilot, but it only got worse from there ranging from the character'sWhile the description of the show sounded intriguing and perhaps refreshing the actual creative direction and execution is absolutely horrendous. Within the first 15 minutes of the pilot the audience is left (or at least I was) scratching their heads at the bizarre concept. Upon hesitation I continued to watch the pilot, but it only got worse from there ranging from the character's interactions with each other to the ridiculous idea that people are killing themselves over a TV show. Overall, the pilot doesn't even leave any suspense instead it was baffling. Finally, on top of all of this absolutely dreadful plot the acting doesn't get much better either, but what else do you expect from the CW nowadays? Expand
  8. Feb 26, 2013
    0
    There is nothing about this show that is likeable. When the CW first dropped it, it should've stayed that way. The writing, acting and direction are atrocious. Whatever the CW was thinking in reviving it was a bad idea. I don't see this show lasting the season to be honest.
  9. Feb 21, 2013
    5
    Alright. Is this a joke? The pilot wasn't impressive at all. There were dull performances, lame screenplay and senseless direction. The only thing good that comes out of this show is Matt Davis, whose character still isn't impressive. The premise isn't that strong so it requires a great deal of writing, acting and direction. The beginning of the episode seemed like a joke, to me, becauseAlright. Is this a joke? The pilot wasn't impressive at all. There were dull performances, lame screenplay and senseless direction. The only thing good that comes out of this show is Matt Davis, whose character still isn't impressive. The premise isn't that strong so it requires a great deal of writing, acting and direction. The beginning of the episode seemed like a joke, to me, because of the way Robert Knepper was acting. I don't know how the CW manages to run okay (exaggeration) shows and doesn't do anything about it. This review is only based on what I watched in pilot and I'm rating it in accordance with that. Let's see what would become of it in future episodes. Not expecting anything at all. Expand
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 20
  2. Negative: 6 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Feb 20, 2013
    20
    It's definitely too laughably convoluted to go into.
  2. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Feb 19, 2013
    25
    An ill-conceived, poorly scripted, woodenly acted mess, Cult is watchably crazy, but that's the highest praise I can give it.
  3. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Feb 19, 2013
    40
    Cult is too messy and unnecessarily complex to be the show it could and should be.