• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 13, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Dallas (2012) Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Mitch Pileggi, Jordana Brewster, Brenda Strong
  • Summary: Based on the Emmy-winning CBS series of the same name, the TNT series follows the lives of J.R. and Sue Ellen's son John Ross and Bobby and Pam's adopted son Christopher, who differ on whether to drill for oil or look for alternative energy sources.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Soap
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 7, 2012
    88
    It's both old and new, a comfy piece of nostalgia that doubles as a fresh guilty pleasure. [18 Jun 2012, p.39]
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 12, 2012
    83
    TNT's brighter, shinier Dallas makes an impressively staged re-entrance Wednesday night.
  3. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Jun 7, 2012
    80
    As the premiere episode nears its end, the plot begins thickening agreeably with so many secrets, dark revelations, shocks and betrayals it all begins to seem familiarly and comfortably absorbing.
  4. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jun 7, 2012
    70
    Henderson gives a lunky, forgettable performance, coming nowhere near anyone's idea of a stronger, meaner version of J.R. Thanks to the rest of its ensemble, however, the new Dallas gains some traction and kicks up a little dust.
  5. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jun 13, 2012
    63
    Dallas is full of implausibilities. So are a lot of soaps. But this one offers something the others don't: a nostalgic romp in a dysfunctional ranch that was a Friday night fixture on many a TV set.
  6. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jun 12, 2012
    58
    Hagman--and to a lesser extent fellow returning stars Patrick Duffy and Linda Gray--are so much more fun to watch than their four new, young co-stars that the new Dallas plays less like a passing of the torch than a suggestion that torches were better back in the '80s.
  7. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jun 12, 2012
    10
    Dallas is terrible....The writing is brutal and obvious, the acting is comical, and none of it is bettered by the directing.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 5 out of 25
  1. Apr 19, 2014
    10
    I still don't get it why the new Dallas gets so many negative reviews and why some say that it's not plausible. Lemme clarify this for you:I still don't get it why the new Dallas gets so many negative reviews and why some say that it's not plausible. Lemme clarify this for you: it's a tv show (soap), you phuckwits. Expand
  2. Oct 31, 2014
    10
    one of the best shows on tv its rather sad though that tnt cancelled the show because they want to do more reality shows. i hope anotherone of the best shows on tv its rather sad though that tnt cancelled the show because they want to do more reality shows. i hope another network picks it up Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    The second season of Dallas is really rocking. It is a breath of fresh air. dallas1954. Truly glad to see it and hope that it will be aroundThe second season of Dallas is really rocking. It is a breath of fresh air. dallas1954. Truly glad to see it and hope that it will be around for a while. Great revival of the who shot J.R. from a few years ago. I will miss Larry Hagman, but I see that the show will and can go on without him. Expand
  4. Jun 22, 2012
    9
    In a world where so many shows are just another cop or doctor show, this one glistens with life. Finally a show about oil, energy, businessIn a world where so many shows are just another cop or doctor show, this one glistens with life. Finally a show about oil, energy, business and family that is constantly exciting and relevant. And yes JR rocks. :) Expand
  5. Jun 15, 2012
    9
    Just watched the two first episodes and so far so good!! It is very well acted, the plot is great too. I am hooked for now. Will see what theJust watched the two first episodes and so far so good!! It is very well acted, the plot is great too. I am hooked for now. Will see what the next episodes reserve us. Expand
  6. Aug 9, 2012
    7
    Nine episodes in and I have to admit that I've become a Dallas fan once again. The new series starts a bit slow. Give it a chance. By episodeNine episodes in and I have to admit that I've become a Dallas fan once again. The new series starts a bit slow. Give it a chance. By episode 4 you will be hooked. It's not as instantly addictive as the fabulous and uber original Revenge, but Dallas 2012 has managed to re-invent itself for today's viewers. It mainly focuses on the younger generation of Ewings but every time Larry Hagman and Linda Gray are gracing our screens you really know it's Dallas. Welcome back. Expand
  7. Jun 23, 2012
    0
    It is good to have JR back; the character we love to hate. I have been keeping up with the episodes of the 1st season, and they are quiteIt is good to have JR back; the character we love to hate. I have been keeping up with the episodes of the 1st season, and they are quite good. I grew up watching the old Dallas; always loved the show, the characters are all great! Collapse

See all 25 User Reviews