Deception : Season 1

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 7, 2013
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    May 29, 2013
    80
    On first blush, Deception is smart, stylish and involving. In time, it could drift. But, for now, enjoy the kind of storytelling that gives its core cast something interesting--and watchable--to do.
  2. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Feb 1, 2013
    70
    Deception borrows a lot from that show and others, ending up more fun than challenging.
  3. Reviewed by: Liz Medendorp
    Jan 7, 2013
    70
    For now, the Bowers and Joanna provide enough mystery to maintain our interest, but we're left wondering whether the show's compelling start is actually taking us somewhere, or if instead this, too, is only a deception.
  4. 63
    Deception isn't like super-soapy "Scandal" or over-the-top "Revenge" (which has gone seriously downhill this season) in that both the story telling and the acting seem more realistic.
  5. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jan 7, 2013
    70
    If you are looking for some upscale junk-food--beautifully packaged, nicely performed, delectably plotted, but shot through with hot air and likely to make you queasy by the time you reach the end of the bag--look no further than NBC's soap-mystery Deception, which starts tonight, and is, at least for now, scrumptious.
  6. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 4, 2013
    67
    Been here/seen this--a lot--but familiarity could work in favor of Deception.
  7. Reviewed by: Sohrab Ahmari
    Jan 4, 2013
    70
    Deception scores a point or two higher than the estimable "Revenge" in some regards. The atmosphere is darker, the story less outlandish, if only slightly, and Ms. Good's heroine boasts an attractively firm moral center.
  8. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 3, 2013
    63
    It's a promising setup, but Deception doesn't allow us the dirty pleasure of enjoying the awful Bowers. [14 Jan 2013, p.56]
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    I can't believe they canceled this show. This was the best show on NBC and they got rid of it and kept all of the other crap. So what if theI can't believe they canceled this show. This was the best show on NBC and they got rid of it and kept all of the other crap. So what if the show is similar to ABC's Revenge? It does not make it a bad show! Those who say the show is bad are nuts. Full Review »
  2. Apr 15, 2013
    10
    The show is great. Its interesting, suspenseful and entertaining without being over-the-top. It's realistic and I hope it comes back for aThe show is great. Its interesting, suspenseful and entertaining without being over-the-top. It's realistic and I hope it comes back for a second season. I love this show. Full Review »
  3. Jan 31, 2013
    2
    I don't think this show has anywhere to go after they solve the mystery of who killed Vivian. What are they gonna talk about? I don't thinkI don't think this show has anywhere to go after they solve the mystery of who killed Vivian. What are they gonna talk about? I don't think this show is like Revenge, but I don't like it much either. Full Review »