Dexter : Season 5

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 1, 2006
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Dexter Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 569 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Dexter tries to move on without Rita. Julia Stiles, Jonny Lee Miller, Chris Vance, and Peter Weller guest star.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    90
    Dexter will be hard-pressed to match the big twists that punctuated last season, but the latest campaign is off to an impressive--and impressively unpredictable--start.
  2. 90
    Dexter is a masterfully creepy-funny serial-killer series, and it continues to both frighten and amuse as it enters its fifth season.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    83
    Sunday's episode is a necessary decompression episode after last season's intense finale.
  4. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    80
    Dexter returns as a slightly fresher show, without doing any damage to the character fans love. I enjoyed the first three episodes back and I imagine most fans will feel the same.
  5. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 14, 2010
    75
    The acting is what keeps the show addictive--particularly good is Julia Stiles. [29 Nov 2010, p.44]
  6. The sooner our Dex puts away the Kleenex, the better the season will be. Because who wants to watch a remorseless avenger who's inert with remorse?
  7. 40
    Unfortunately, the rest of the episode follows Dexter's descent into a routine guilt spiral, blaming himself for Rita's death (he should have "been there" to "protect her"), rather than ruminating on how it feels to be on this receiving end of a serial killing. How a series this smart could overlook the far more interesting angle is as much of a wasted opportunity as it is a disappointment.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 48
  2. Negative: 4 out of 48
  1. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    Season 5 starts slow since it takes time for the main character (Dexter-Michael C.Hall) to digest the death of his wife.
    Dexter cannot take
    Season 5 starts slow since it takes time for the main character (Dexter-Michael C.Hall) to digest the death of his wife.
    Dexter cannot take revenge for his wife that's what is eating him from the inside. After the introduction of new character Played by Julie Stiles the season takes the grip. You might still feel that we don't know Dexter well enough and he's willing to bend his Rules.
    Season 5 might end as explosive as the 4th season. So Stay Tuned Every Sunday :D
    Expand
  2. Mar 19, 2014
    10
    The most underrated season. The character of Lumen is excellent, the side plots between Deb/Quinn and Angel/LaGuerda are great, and the cultThe most underrated season. The character of Lumen is excellent, the side plots between Deb/Quinn and Angel/LaGuerda are great, and the cult nature of the bad guy(s) is good. This is better written and more believable than ANY of the prior four seasons. People were so in love with the Trinity plot that they forgot to appreciate the great pacing and character development of Season 5. Expand
  3. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Season 5 has without question the slowest start of any of the seasons. It pretty much takes unti the very end of the 3rd episode before anything happens. That's when Julia Stiles character (Lumen) is introduced, and it picks up the pace fairly quickly from there. Stiles does a very good job in a role that must have been tough to play. The central story revolving around Dexter and Lumen is pretty good, but it's certainly a big step back from the Trinity Killer in Season 4. The side stories get a little more interesting than in the past seasons. The show seems to be giving more of a focus to Deb, which is nice. Even Quinn's character develops quite a bit in this season which is something I didn't expect. He had been the weakest link in the cast in my opinion, but his character is getting more interesting. At times this show does get a little to soap-operaish. Deb's relatioships are getting very old (this time she's sleeping with Quinn) and predictable. The marriage between LaGuerda and Batista is also, predictably, heading in a troubling direction. By Dexter's standards, Season 5 was a slight dissapointment. It's nowhere near as good as Seasons 1, 2, or 4 and falls more in line with Season 3. However, Dexter is still better than just about anything else on television, and I'll be very excited to finally get caught up in Season 6. Expand
  4. Oct 10, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dexter is still an awesome show but he really needs to get back to hunting down the bad guys and quit dwelling on his own mistakes so much. He used to be confident in what he did but now he questions everything he does. I don't really want to see Dexter on a "Road to Recovery" I want to see him do what drew me to the series in the first place. Dealing with his Dark Passenger in the only way he knows how to.

    Rita is gone and the kids have gone to live with the Grandparents. Fine. Now lets deal with what needs to be dealt with. Bad guys. If there is one thing about Serial Killers it's that it can't be cured so Dexter is going to be this way the rest of his life. Let's see some episodes dealing with that. I understand that it's his fault that Rita is dead for not killing trinity earlier, but that's over and done with. She was his weak link anyway. It was her whining that Dexter go to rehab and got the whole "Lila" fiasco started. So Doakes got dead from all that. I want to see how he gets out of the mess he created when they discover that he was a visitor at Trinity's house several times including Thanksgiving.

    And for goodness sakes get rid of Quinn. He is a poor replacement for Doakes as a Detective who is "Suspicious" of Dexter. At least Doakes wasn't crooked.

    Still, Dexter delivers every week and I wouldn't miss an episode for anything.
    Expand
  5. Jul 27, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This season was very interesting in the way that Dexter was able to have a true and fairly sane partner in Lumen. Dexter and Lumen's dynamic with each other works really well on screen and she is a character that you really want to root for. The main problem with this season that makes it slightly weaker in comparison to previous seasons is that the subplots of this season just aren't quite as intriguing. Expand
  6. Aug 20, 2011
    7
    The fifth season of Dexter is a mixed bag. On one hand you have plenty of very solid and outstanding performances by the regular cast as wellThe fifth season of Dexter is a mixed bag. On one hand you have plenty of very solid and outstanding performances by the regular cast as well as Julia Stiles and Peter Weller as well as a nice revenge story, and on the other you have a plot that in many ways only goes about 3/4 way to fully resolving anything. I very much enjoyed viewing it and was sucked in as much as any other season of Dexter but in hindsight there are just so many plot points that just get kind of dropped after another thing comes up. By the last episode everything ties up so nicely but in part as a result of so much stuff being purposefully unresolved a couple episodes back. Additionally Julia Stiles character reminds me too much of what was going on in season 3 for me to not comment on and the office romances are starting to remind me of a soap-opera.
    That all being said the revenge angle this season is a bit of a change of pace and the show has plenty of great memorable moments. However, overall the show is losing impact and while I enjoyed watching this season if they don't change the formula Showtime will have accomplished the uneasy task of making a boring show about serial killers.
    Expand
  7. Nov 7, 2011
    1
    This season is too predictable and it's awful. Me being an huge fan had to force feed my eyeballs on this terrible season. Save yourself theThis season is too predictable and it's awful. Me being an huge fan had to force feed my eyeballs on this terrible season. Save yourself the time and don't bother watching it! Expand

See all 48 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: Dexter Series Finale

    Episode Review: Dexter Series Finale Image
    Published: September 22, 2013
    What did critics think of the Sunday night's series-ending episode of Dexter? Find out inside.
  2. Episode Review: Dexter Season 6 Finale

    Episode Review: Dexter Season 6 Finale Image
    Published: December 19, 2011
    Did last night's finale of Dexter make up for a lackluster sixth season? Find out what the critics are saying.