• Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 1, 2006
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1510 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 29, 2012
    2
    Season1 was excellent ... but the writers of S7 are amateurs .. they have completely squandered the opportunity to create some very interesting reflections on humanity. What they give is is formulaic melodramatic crap
  2. JamesC
    Oct 11, 2006
    3
    You know, in a show with such a good actor as the central character, it's tough to find any humanity in him. He does carry the entire, though, since the entire supporting cast is a wide array of boring cliches (the superfluous spanglish is a bit too much, I live in miami, no one talks that way). And you know what? That wouldn't bother me much if the show focused a little more on You know, in a show with such a good actor as the central character, it's tough to find any humanity in him. He does carry the entire, though, since the entire supporting cast is a wide array of boring cliches (the superfluous spanglish is a bit too much, I live in miami, no one talks that way). And you know what? That wouldn't bother me much if the show focused a little more on being edgy rather than trying to be "American Psycho". Or subtle. I find that in so many of Hall's inner monologues he needlessly confirm ideas that have already been implied clearly enough. I saw a potentially good show in Dexter, but it's just not showing it. I feel that at moments where the show should be employing suggestions through imagery, or through a look, it instead hits the audience with a sledgehammer. And when you treat the audience like an idiot, they change the channel and watch something else. Collapse
  3. BrentS
    Nov 22, 2006
    3
    This show had potential, and Michael C. Hall is great as usual, but the show's politics are severely flawed (treating Dexter's "condition" as some Highlanderish calling as opposed to a complex psychological choice) and its take on the machinations of a police squad (especially in this post-"The Wire" TV environment) are laughable.
  4. Jun 17, 2013
    1
    Watched the pilot, wasn't convinced, it's introduction lacked a lot of stuff that would motivate me to watch the second episode. I heard it had so many bad seasons but so many acclaimed ones. And we all know this series is going to end.
  5. VT.
    Sep 14, 2007
    1
    Stupid-in a very trashy way.
  6. BlancaW.
    Sep 23, 2009
    3
    He did so well on Six feet Under I thought I'd give the show a chance but it was disturbing and boring as well. they should of never ended six feet under,what a big mistake!!!
  7. ArmchairS.
    Feb 18, 2008
    0
    Are you crazy putting that on the air? What are you THINKING? Very bad TV, No redeeming qualities.
  8. JuneD.
    Feb 18, 2008
    0
    Terrible show - not strung together - will not watch it again - plain gore - plain stupid.
  9. NickieL
    Dec 14, 2009
    0
    Hated it. I would have given it a 10 before the last 5 minutes, but that ruined the episode, the season and probably next season too. I'm one of the people who found it refreshing to see something *other* than just another far-gone psycho killer. Discovering he had feelings and could be close to people was a fascinating journey. Why would they pull the plug on that and keep him Hated it. I would have given it a 10 before the last 5 minutes, but that ruined the episode, the season and probably next season too. I'm one of the people who found it refreshing to see something *other* than just another far-gone psycho killer. Discovering he had feelings and could be close to people was a fascinating journey. Why would they pull the plug on that and keep him alone? I know a lot of people wanted Rita out, but that's also because the same writers who killed her made her annoying. The duplicity of a loving husband and father being a serial killer was so original. A lonely and utterly screwed up single dad? Maybe better than a guy completely on his own, but a far cry from what Dexter has been before this bleak end. I used to actually laugh at Dex. Can't imagine laughing at "jokes" about the wife he got brutally killed and the son that's left motherless. :( Expand
  10. JohnB.
    Sep 25, 2007
    0
    The most disturbing show on tv.If you get aroused by sexual dysfunction and dismemberment you are in serious need of a straight jacket.
  11. RobF.
    Dec 25, 2009
    3
    I don't mind the blood and violence yada yada. I just think this show is horrible. There's nothing entertaining about it, and much of it is unrealistic. The characters are shallow, awkward, and unappealing. This should have been a half hour episode USA show that got canceled after the second season. The writers make pathetic use of the Showtime freedoms... like having an amputee I don't mind the blood and violence yada yada. I just think this show is horrible. There's nothing entertaining about it, and much of it is unrealistic. The characters are shallow, awkward, and unappealing. This should have been a half hour episode USA show that got canceled after the second season. The writers make pathetic use of the Showtime freedoms... like having an amputee have sex with a prostitute... Unnecessary and a pathetically blatant attempt of sexual appeal. I envy those of you who say the show is funny. Your senses of humor must be easy to please. The comedy in this show is dry and forced. Expand
  12. PrestonV
    Oct 7, 2006
    0
    Dexter's mind is the fancy of the modern world and the writers morbid sense is displayed as a virtuoso.Murder and enjoyment of such things as entertainment is the highest example of America in decline. To enjoy perversity is to lose all human inhibitions. Watch Dexter and you will.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    80
    The morals of this provocative show are as intriguing as its cases.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Endelman
    75
    Though his cliche hard-boiled voice-over doesn't work, much of this series... does. [29 Sep 2006, p.73]
  3. Reviewed by: Adam Sternbergh
    70
    Dexter treats extreme violence much in the same way that GoodFellas did: as something horrifying, intoxicating, seductive and thrilling, all at the same time.