• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 31, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 25
  2. Negative: 13 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Jan 25, 2013
    80
    There's considerable charm in this medical-drama concoction, which comes with the usual generous supply of spectacular brain disorders nobody you know will ever get--and in Mr. Pasquale's Dr. Cole, a confident, dedicated surgeon.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 31, 2013
    75
    Do No Harm, a modern spin on Robert Louis Stevenson's "Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde," sounds lame. Yet it is so fast-paced and slickly produced, it could just be your new guilty pleasure.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jan 31, 2013
    60
    Do No Harm is a resolutely lightweight entertainment whose silliness isn't necessarily a deal breaker--if you turn off the right parts of your brain, you might enjoy it.
  4. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jan 31, 2013
    50
    Far more sentimental than thrilling--there are no real monsters under this hospital bed--it plays more like a mash-up of "A Gifted Man" and "The B- in Apartment 23."
  5. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jan 31, 2013
    50
    Do No Harm isn't so bad. It isn't so good, either.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Landweber
    Jan 31, 2013
    50
    Cole is good and Price is evil. And neither one of them is remotely interesting.
  7. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Jan 31, 2013
    50
    Do No Harm expects us to accept the dual-personality premise without grounding it in anything believable.
  8. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 30, 2013
    50
    Created by David Schulner, the series has done itself a disservice by hewing away from the fantastic and toward the mundane.
  9. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 29, 2013
    42
    It's simply not coherent enough to sustain weekly interest.
  10. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jan 31, 2013
    40
    Show creator David Schulner has failed to craft a workable TV concept, but he does keep the hours tumbling forward effectively, bringing in a number of subplots--Jason's wounded ex-girlfriend, a hostile co-worker trying to bring him down--to distract us from the nonsense.
  11. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jan 31, 2013
    40
    Because Do No Harm wants to be more than just some shlocky Jekyll and Hyde--remake it has made Ian a very bad man, and yet he is not nearly bad enough.
  12. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jan 30, 2013
    40
    The gimmick undercuts what could have been a decent doctor show with benefits --that is, a solid romance between lead characters Dr. Jason Cole (Steven Pasquale) and Dr. Lena Solis (Alana De La Garza).
  13. 30
    Do No Harm's biggest fault, besides lackluster dialogue, is its overall air of deep insecurity, a quality that's unfortunately too common on network dramas.
  14. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 28, 2013
    30
    Do No Harm is a ridiculous show with plenty of lines of groaner dialogue.
  15. Reviewed by: Tom Long
    Feb 1, 2013
    25
    This show is so far-fetched it makes "24" look like political reporting and "Lost" seem like a nature documentary.
  16. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jan 31, 2013
    25
    The only thing hokier than the show's preposterous premise is the writing.
  17. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jan 31, 2013
    25
    If only Harm had stuck with "strange" and not barreled right on past to "stupid."
  18. Reviewed by: Mike Lechevallier
    Jan 30, 2013
    25
    Do No Harm is very busy and very dumb, lobbing ridiculous obstacles at Jason at full speed, both in the workplace (the onslaught of unidentifiable hospital jargon rivals House at its most ludicrous) and at home (Ian ostensibly shattered Jason's marriage by beating his wife).
  19. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 28, 2013
    25
    Part Dr. Jekyll, part Mr. Hyde and all dumb.
  20. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 28, 2013
    25
    The show is laughable, but I suspect the writers are dead serious.
  21. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 25, 2013
    25
    The show might work if Steven Pasquale had a script that allowed for bolder contrasts. [2 Feb 2013, p.40]
  22. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 31, 2013
    20
    A laughable medical thriller that does irreparable harm to one's belief in such storytelling staples as logic and credibility.
  23. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jan 31, 2013
    20
    Pasquale gives the Jason/Ian role his best shot, but he is dragged down by the bad writing and ridiculous transition from good guy to bad guy.
  24. Reviewed by: Andrea Reiher
    Jan 31, 2013
    20
    The Cole/Price problem just continues to come across as ridiculous, rather than serious. It doesn't keep the viewer invested in the character at all.
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 5 out of 15
  1. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    An awesome show. I watched the Pilot episode with my dad and I was hooked right away. The cast is solid, the acting is perfect and the storyAn awesome show. I watched the Pilot episode with my dad and I was hooked right away. The cast is solid, the acting is perfect and the story to me had kind of a "Dexter" feel. I highly recommend this show to anyone who is a fan of Showtime's Dexter. Full Review »
  2. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    I personally enjoyed this first episode when a friend introduced me to it this past weekend. As someone who is in the medical field, myI personally enjoyed this first episode when a friend introduced me to it this past weekend. As someone who is in the medical field, my attention was captured right off the bat with the character, and I was really digging the tension that was built right away. Looking forward to how this show plays out. Full Review »
  3. Feb 4, 2013
    7
    I don't see where all the disdain is coming from, I think Do No Harm offers something a little different from what's being offered out thereI don't see where all the disdain is coming from, I think Do No Harm offers something a little different from what's being offered out there right now. I for one, am weary of all doctor/cop/lawyer related drama shows and enjoy the freshness that Do No Harm brings to the genre. It's no Dexter I assure you, but if the story manages to develop the villain into a more sinister character, then this series can count on this viewer. Full Review »