Doctor Who Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 1 Critic Awaiting 3 more reviews What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 146 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Doctor, Amy, and Rory meet up with Daleks in the first episode of the seventh season that will have the Ponds moving on before a new companion (Jenna-Louise Coleman) is introduced.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    May 15, 2013
    91
    The British import--which wraps its third season under writer Steven Moffat (Sherlock) on May 18--remains a riot of witty weirdness.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. Jan 26, 2013
    10
    You'll probably be undecided with Season 7 until "Angels Take Manhattan", arguably the series' best episode to date. Don't fret about Jenna Louise-Coleman as the new companion, though. She's brilliant. Expand
  2. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    Finally Rory is more than just a comedic device and starts to step up and be a man (well this season and also Season 6), Amy is still great as is Matt Smith as the doctor. This is a short season but the episodes were all good with a shocking end to the short season. After what took place at the end of this season I am interested to see what Season 8 will be like. I don't want to say more to avoid any spoilers. Expand
  3. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    Absolutely brilliant! This is the reason Doctor Who is more popular now then ever before. In the tradition of such shows as The Twilight Zone and The X-Files, DW has such boundlessly imaginative stories, concepts and characters. It can go anywhere and anytime within this universe and the occasional other. Every episode is like being a kid walking into an alien toy store. Expand
  4. Mar 28, 2013
    8
    No Spoilers: Series 7 Part 1 continues the adventures of the doctor and the on off companions Amy and Rory. Each episode seems fresh and uses a different genre to make it feel like a big blockbuster. Action, comedy, thriller and western are the genres used here to good effect. The first episode "Asylum of the Daleks" has the right amount of action and character moments, by this I mean the actors have got their character worked out which started to come through in series 6. Karen Gillan and Arthur Darvill have portrayed a number of stages of their relationship on the show and Series 7 feels like a natural progression, they enter their final stages on the show as they leave in episode 5. Their performance's are heart breaking as they should be and their epic exit from the show isn't a let down in the american set "The Angles Take Manhattan". Matt Smiths performance continues to be as fun and weird as in the last series as the Doctor. The first and last episodes of the first part of the series are the best but the middle three aren't without merit. The second, a sort of comedy wasn't my taste but as a one off it was fun also Mark Williams plays Rory's dad gives a brings the story to life. "A Town Called Mercy" continues the series, filmed in Spain is a good story but can't live up to the Toby Whitehouse's last script "The Girl Who Waited". The 4th episode suffers a bad ending which leaves you confused which is a shame since the rest is one of the series' strongest to date. The special and visual effect continue to measure up to movie standards and there are enough twists, turns, brilliant acting, explosions and Daleks to keep you watching. Also look out for the new companion Clara Oswin who is brilliantly played by Jenna Louise Coleman who completely changes the show. If Part 2 keeps this up this will be the best series of NeWho to date! Collapse
  5. Oct 13, 2014
    7
    Steven Moffat had a lot to make up for after the hit and miss series 6, so did he make for it, let's find out:

    Asylum of the Daleks is an
    incomprehensible mess (3/10)
    Dinosaurs on a Spaceship is fun & exciting (9/10)
    A Town called Mercy is fun but flawed (5/10)
    The Power of Three is a nice establishing story for Amy & Rory's finale (7/10)
    The Angels take Manhattan throws away everything Power of Three established (6/10)
    The Snowmen doesn't even try to make sense (3/10)
    The Bells of Saint John is a bit redeeming for Moffat (8/10)
    The Rings of Akhaten is loads of fun story-wise (9/10)
    Cold War is very middle of the road (5/10)
    Hide can't decide what it's all about, but I still like it (7/10)
    Journey to the Centre of the TARDIS, I don't need to explain why this is bad (3/10)
    The Crimson Horror sort of divides my opinions (6/10)
    Nightmare in Silver is an odd beast with ridiculously overpowered cybermen (7/10)
    The Time of the Doctor is way too bizarre (7/10)

    So yeah another hit and miss series, the fact that I don't have a single 10/10 here suggests that this is more hit than miss, as for the specials:

    The Day of the Doctor is an awesome celebration (9/10)
    The Time of the Doctor is really what Matt Smith deserved as a finale (10/10)

    Anyway let's hope series 8 can deliver more hope to doctor who.
    Expand
  6. Mar 2, 2014
    6
    What the hell happened to my favourite series of all time? I never got bored in any episode of Doctor Who in series 1-6! I dare to say some episodes in series 7 are BORING! Dinosaurs in spaceship is a pretty good example. I would've say the same thing to Power Of Three but that was the point of the episode anyway. About Amy's departure. I was glad that she was gone because I was getting tired of seeing her in every episode. Clara is a great companion but I seriously hope that they don't overuse her like Amy. It was disappointing that I couldn't see more of her with the 11th Doctor. Oh well I still have hope for Series 8. Expand
  7. Aug 8, 2013
    2
    Season 7 this show is getting tired. The problem? The writing. Despite punchy performances from it's actors, the stories simply aren't there. New companion Clara is ably played, but has zero chemistry with Matt Smith. Dull and predictable it's time this show took another rest. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews