Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 143 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Season two begins in 1916, with heir Matthew Crawley fighting in the Battle of the Somme while the staff at Downton tries to keep things as they were before the war, even as the estate serves as a military rehab center.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 3, 2012
    100
    Julian Fellowes has created such a vivid group of characters and assembled such an impeccable cast--effortlessly oscillating from comedy to drama--that the hours fly by, addictively pulling viewers from one into the next.
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 6, 2012
    100
    The emotional authenticity of Downton Abbey continues to make it a classic.
  3. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jan 9, 2012
    100
    The series seamlessly moves between the horrors of war and the gentility of life in the show's titular 100-room manor.
  4. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jan 13, 2012
    83
    Despite all the repetition and longueurs, this Downton Abbey frequently works, as the first one did, as a peppery little trifle.
  5. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Jan 9, 2012
    80
    Appropriate to the pace and the space of series television, it welcomes you into its intrigues at a walking pace.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 3, 2012
    75
    Luckily the characters are so fully formed, and so fully inhabited by the cast, that the whole mess staggers up out of the trenches and keeps going. [9 Jan 2012, p.39]
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jan 6, 2012
    50
    Downton Abbey lacks surprise and is stretched precariously thin, a house full of fascinating people with not nearly enough to do, all caught in a loop of weak storylines that circle round but never fully propel.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 4 out of 21
  1. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    I've never liked a period drama before, but this got such good reviews, I thought I'd give it a try. I'm so glad I did! I watched bothI've never liked a period drama before, but this got such good reviews, I thought I'd give it a try. I'm so glad I did! I watched both seasons over the course of four days, and now I just want more. It's written incredibly well. There is SO much dialogue, but it's all worth hearing. Little quips here, wise advice there, etc. The music is also spectacular. I'm of the belief that a show without good music loses some of its emotion, but the music is present in this show, and it's beautiful. And of course, no show is any good without great characters, and I must say, every character shown on the box is fleshed out realistically, and plays a large role in the story. This show is certainly not for everyone, but it's at least worth a viewing. Expand
  2. Jan 9, 2012
    10
    Downton Abbey, is simply delicious to watch, a sweetness in this cruel world. I like everything in this series, the characters, the costumes,Downton Abbey, is simply delicious to watch, a sweetness in this cruel world. I like everything in this series, the characters, the costumes, the period, a great success as the first season. Expand
  3. Jan 11, 2012
    9
    I thought Season 1 was a 10, but, after viewing the first episode of season 2, am giving this season a 9. Season 1 went to great depths toI thought Season 1 was a 10, but, after viewing the first episode of season 2, am giving this season a 9. Season 1 went to great depths to show the different manners, customs, technology, etc that existed in the English countryside in 1914. I felt like a voyeur at times, getting a special glimpse into the lives of everyone at Downton Abbey. I was in awe after each episode.

    While I thoroughly enjoyed this episode, it did NOT transport me back to another place in time. Instead, it felt more like a family reunion where you get to catch up on what everyone's up to. Still, it was fun getting all the updates, and I will certainly tune in again next week!
    Expand
  4. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    Good acting, crisp direction and editing. It is very well done. The only fault I find with it is that it is too unfocused and resorts toGood acting, crisp direction and editing. It is very well done. The only fault I find with it is that it is too unfocused and resorts to making Mary and Matthew behave absurdly to create the main conflict. The characters then seem less real and more like instruments of contriving the plot. Expand
  5. Sep 21, 2011
    9
    Okay - perhaps it's a bit early to review this one yet, but my initial feeling after seeing the 1st episode of the 2nd season is a happy one.Okay - perhaps it's a bit early to review this one yet, but my initial feeling after seeing the 1st episode of the 2nd season is a happy one. Downton Abbey does have characters and story-lines and twists that we have all seen before many many times - in books, in films and in television period dramas, but it delivers them to us in such glorious packaging and in such beautiful surroundings that we can kid ourselves that it is all so new and original. Oh - and Maggie Smith is a delight as usual.

    The 1st episode held my interest, made me laugh, and it brought a tear to the eye. So far, so good. If it turns out bad, I'll come back and edit this - but I am fairly confident that I won't have to.
    Collapse
  6. Jun 25, 2012
    8
    i'm almost embarrassed to say i not only watch but ENJOY this show. its unmistakably british in its pomp and aristocracy reflecting what isi'm almost embarrassed to say i not only watch but ENJOY this show. its unmistakably british in its pomp and aristocracy reflecting what is now happening to the widening gap between social classes in the rest of the world. old lady grantham is epic and i sit on the edge of my seat waiting for her to mutter something socially unacceptable but brutally honest. good casting, writing, sets and wardrobe (whatever its called in the movie industry)... overall a good show you can easily get hooked on. Expand
  7. Feb 1, 2012
    1
    This really isn't a bad show! It's just really boringâ

See all 21 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2012 Emmy Nominations Announced

    2012 Emmy Nominations Announced Image
    Published: July 19, 2012
    This year's Emmy nominations are out; get a full list and analysis of the nominees(and snubs) in all of the major categories.
  2. 2011 Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    2011 Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 15, 2011
    Get a complete list of film and television nominees for the 69th Annual Golden Globe Awards.
  3. 2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11]

    2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11] Image
    Published: December 13, 2011
    Throughout the coming weeks, we
  4. 2011 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews

    2011 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews Image
    Published: September 19, 2011
    The 63rd Primetime Emmy Awards are in the books. Get a list and analysis of last night's winners, and find out how critics are reacting to the broadcast hosted by Jane Lynch.