• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 25, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Dracula Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 174 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This 10-episode take on Bram Stoker's classic novel is set in Victorian-era London, where Dracula (Jonathan Rhys Meyers) forms an unlikely alliance with Van Helsing (Thomas Kretschmann) to take down a shady criminal organization called the Order of the Dragon.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy, Horror
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 33
  2. Negative: 7 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Oct 18, 2013
    83
    The gorgeous art direction make this great fun, and Rhys Meyers plays his part with such blood-slurping, mouth-wiping gusto that even a dentist could love him. [25 Oct/1 Nov 2013, p.94]
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Rorke
    Oct 24, 2013
    75
    Rhys Meyers already has his fans, but he’s likely to win over skeptics as this new Dracula makes a seduction out of death.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 25, 2013
    70
    Nothing in Dracula is as unique or as wonderfully weird as "Twin Peaks," and Dracula plows through plot more quickly, introducing and then writing off several intriguing plots and characters within its first three episodes. It's too soon to say whether that will turn out to be wise or foolhardy, but Dracula at least gets off to a mildly promising start.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 24, 2013
    58
    This supernatural thriller is much more attuned to the times than PBS’ costume period piece “Downton Abbey,” which filters such hot topics as women’s rights and homosexuality through a modern lens.... Mina’s aspirations to become a surgeon are publicly disparaged by the person closest to her next week in a moment that hits harder than the onscreen horror. Dracula’s visit to an under­ground gay club next week is well, bizarre, but it captures how homosexuals dwelled in the shadows, terrified of exposure. Those moments are far more biting than any of the so-called scares.
  5. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 24, 2013
    50
    There’s nothing overtly bad about the first two episodes of Dracula but neither was there anything compelling.
  6. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Oct 25, 2013
    40
    NBC sent critics five episodes of the 10-episode season. Bored, I bowed out after three [episodes].
  7. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 25, 2013
    20
    Dracula lacks wit, style, surprise--and, most important, bite.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 55
  2. Negative: 7 out of 55
  1. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    Love this show. I look forward to this every Friday. Love the whole cast but Dracula & Renfield are my favorites. Hope it stays on air for more than 1 season. Expand
  2. Jan 21, 2014
    10
    This is a very interesting take on Dracula - one I must say I am addicted to! The plot gets better with each episode, and the relationships between the characters are very interesting to watch unfold. Definitely recommend this series. Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    It has Jonathan Rhys Meyers. Need I say more? Well okay since I need 150 characters for this review to go through... This series follows Bram's Stokers version but with a modern adjustment. Dracula appears to be an antihero in this adaption making friends with someone I didn't expect... must watch to find out! Love the costumes, the Victoria setting, and all the many talented actors such as Ben Miles from Lark Rise to Candleford, Nonso Anozie from Game of Thrones, Anthony Howell from Wives and Daughters, Katie McGrath from Merlin, and many more. Now that Dexter and Breaking Bad are over and Homeland has sucked majorly this season... I will make this my must watch series. :D Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2014
    9
    This show is a must watch, the only disappointing thing is that it only aired 10 episodes. Jonathan Rhys Meyers does an excellent job playing Dracula. Draculas' side-kick/confidante Nonso Anozie AKA Mr.Renfield does an excellent job as well. Can't wait to see season two and soon! Hope there will be a few more episodes added then season one. Expand
  5. Jan 10, 2014
    8
    "Dracula" is getting better with each week. It seems like the creators/producers had this vision (obviously) of how they wanted this "Dracula" to be and couldn't fully articulate it initially. It has taken time for the story and the characters to fill the space. Jonathan Rhys Meyers is doing an amazing job in creating this particular re-imagining of Dracula. His relationship with Renfield is fascinating. The production values are excellent. I look forward to new episodes all week. I give it an 8 because I want to see what else they do with the story. Expand
  6. Jan 29, 2014
    8
    Dracula may be a bit different from the famous Bram Stoker novel, but it is an intense, beautiful, classy and an utterly fantastic television series. The series did start out a little weak, with odd pacing and silly moments and what not, but as the show progressed, it became an intense and highly-addictive ride. Basically everything about the show is beautiful; the setting design, the cinematography, the costumes and sometimes the musical score, but unfortunately, the musical score is dated and electronic, therefore not fitting with the baroque look for the series. Dracula is one of those rare free-to-air network TV shows, like Hannibal, that isn't afraid to get gory and bloody - which I like. The acting is quite good, Jonathan Rhys Meyers may be a little mopey at times and his American accent may be hokey, but he is certainly quite menacing and cool when he is in his I-will-tear-you-appart mode. Dracula season one, though flawed, was great, but it is a very underrated show and is sadly on the risk of cancellation, which is a huge shame because season one ended on a cliff-hanger is leading up to something awesome in season two - well, if it gets cancelled we won't see a season two. Expand
  7. Nov 15, 2013
    0
    Talk about not knowing your audience!

    Who on earth wants to see boring, nonsensical, political intrigues about green energies in a show
    called "Dracula"? Seriously. Expand

See all 55 User Reviews