• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 21, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
Duck Dynasty Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A&E's latest reality show takes a look at the Robertson family, who run Duck Commander, a Louisiana duck call company.
  • Genre(s): Reality
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Mar 20, 2012
    80
    Because everyone in the Duck dynasty has a well-defined role and sticks to it, the bit works. So does the show.
  2. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Mar 20, 2012
    75
    Which isn't to say Duck Dynasty isn't entertaining. It's just more of the same.
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Mar 20, 2012
    50
    Oddly enough, the business of making duck calls becomes more interesting than you might think.
  4. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Mar 21, 2012
    42
    Viewers in a sense are going to another carnival freak show.
  5. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Mar 20, 2012
    40
    Duck Dynasty still turns out to be a formulaic show, with a lot of low-level verbal crossfire among family members who at the end of the day assure us they all love each other.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Mar 23, 2012
    40
    Mostly the show, as these reality series are wont to do, follows the dysfunction within the family.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 4 out of 14
  1. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    This show brings to the table God,lacking of profanity,truthfulness,self reliance,morality,family love,work ethics,respect for nature and their fellow man.These elements are all against the policies of the current U.S. government administration. Oh, I guess I forgot they also practice the Constitution and The Bill of Rights. The entire Robertson family is welcome in my house anytime.I can't say that about the U.S. Government!!!!! Hawksandhotrods Collapse
  2. May 9, 2013
    10
    Another reality show... puh..leez, or so I said to myself. That is until, while skipping over channels I caught one episode. I was instantly hooked. Whether staged or edited to perfection, I was instantly converted into a fan.

    After watching every episode I could manage to squeeze onto my DVR, I tried to explain to myself why I enjoy this show. It finally occurred to me, that I, like millions of others understand what this show is about. It's really about us. They talk like most of us, they deal with things like most of us, and even the Patriarch Phil, behaves like many of our fathers. I don't know the people in this show, but I know their personalities. They are my aunt, mom, brothers, dad, and the wastrel friends which whom I have attached myself to or visa versa throughout my life. They are America, using their minds to achieve vast wealth, rustic, charming, resourceful, to be loved and feared. I think in the coming years, this won't be thought of as a show, but more as a sermon of not how life is, but how it should be in these states united.

    ...and this coming from a yankee.
    Expand
  3. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    This is a "feel good" show. It reminds all of us that there is good, clean fun with just normal stuff like hunting and fishing. There is no cursing, and even though this show is scripted, who cares. It's a fun 22 minute ride each week with the Robersons. Expand
  4. May 5, 2012
    9
    Fun, light & downright hectic, I love this family! Not the perfect clan but they are full of wisdom and values, more-so than most people I know. Sure some of it is contrived but it is entertainment at the end of the day. I'd love o spend a year with these folks! Jase is hilarious, and OMG the beards, great! The interactions with the grand kids are superb, new meets the old, literally and practically, those kids have a lot to learn, and do in a fun way. Mountain Man is one of my favorites also, genuine. Two Big Thumbs Up! I truly look forward to seeing more episodes. Expand
  5. Jul 4, 2013
    7
    Duck Dynasty is a good show. I'd recommend watching a few episodes at a time. If you watch it too much it gets irritating. You know it's fake. It says non scripted but they're just being funny. It's the same thing in each episode. It doesn't mean they're bad people. They are good. What's good about the family they stick with their beliefs. They are a good family and I'd recommend watching it. I like it but it just gets annoying sometimes. Expand
  6. Mar 6, 2013
    7
    Heard about this show from people I don't respect on facebook. However, one late night when I couldn't sleep I watched an episode online. After watching one, I watched another. I was shocked by the witty comments. This is not just a regular reality show, this is more like a sitcom. I would recommend someone to watch this show for entertainment! Expand
  7. May 9, 2012
    0
    Being from Louisiana all i see from this show is a bunch of people who think its funny to show people how we don't live. The show is extremely repetitive and the episodes that I have seen are not even about making duck calls. Even people who sell the spices say "I really don't like the show. All they do is bicker between each other and are a disgrace to Cajuns. " Expand

See all 14 User Reviews