Everwood : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jun 14, 2013
    91
    Everwood ain't brain surgery, but that's also what helps make it an easygoing charmer.
  2. Seattle Post-Intelligencer
    Reviewed by: John Levesque
    Mar 20, 2013
    90
    As pilot episodes go, this one is about as polished as they get. From the main players - Treat Williams, Gregory Smith, Vivien Cardone - to the supporting cast, Everwood crackles with humor, presence and authenticity (even if Alberta stands in for Colorado in the pilot and Utah will do the honors subsequently). [16 Sept 2002, p.E1]
  3. Deseret News
    Reviewed by: Scott D. Pierce
    Mar 19, 2013
    90
    One of the most promising new shows of the season...This is not all heavy drama, however. There's a lot of humor and a lot of great characters. Everwood is not unlike Cicely, Alaska, in "Northern Exposure" -- it's a place where the characters are, well, characters. [14 Sept 2002, p.E08]
  4. San Jose Mercury News/Contra Costa Times
    Reviewed by: Chuck Barney
    Mar 19, 2013
    83
    Fortunately, the series has enough edge and action and compelling conflict to keep it from getting mired in sap. Berlanti, in fact, has humorously referred to Everwood as "'Our Town' on crack" and he may have something there. [16 Sept 2002, p.D1]
  5. The Hollywood Reporter
    Reviewed by: Staff [Not Credited]
    Mar 19, 2013
    80
    If all of this sounds a tad far-fetched, it is. But the amazing thing is that - among the quaint setting, the particularly endearing cast and exec producer Greg Berlanti's sweet, engaging script, crammed with little surprises - this turns out to be a really pleasant ride. If there is a single new drama this season with multigenerational appeal, this is it. [16 Sept 2002]
  6. Dallas Morning News
    Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Mar 19, 2013
    75
    Set in snowy Colorado but filmed in serviceable Utah, it's a stick-to-your-ribs hour with mush and syrup served on the side. This might induce a few groans, but Everwood overall finds the fine line between effective sentiment and overdone melodrama. [16 Sept 2002, p.12C]
  7. Detroit Free Press
    Reviewed by: Mike Duffy
    Mar 19, 2013
    75
    Yeah, sounds sappy. But it's just the opposite -- a charming mix of rambunctious wit, honest emotion and interesting characters. Lots of smarts and a generous heart. A winner. [16 Sept 2002]
  8. Variety
    Reviewed by: Michael Speier
    Mar 20, 2013
    70
    A sound drama that does for father-son relationships what "Gilmore Girls" does for the women of the family. As quirky as it is comfortable. [16 Sept 2002, p.45]
  9. Newark Star-Ledger
    Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Mar 20, 2013
    70
    Hipsters will roll their eyes at the show's many cliches - decent small-town folk, cynical city slickers, the healing power of the great outdoors, etc. - but everyone else will be grateful. And fortunately, some of the performances are just odd and striking enough to reduce the sugar quotient. [16 Sept 2002, p.23]
  10. Newsday
    Reviewed by: Noel Holston
    Mar 20, 2013
    70
    Series star Treat Williams ("Hair," "Prince of the City") is such a fine actor, with so much natural gravity, that he can transcend all but the hokiest writing. And as the opener develops, the writing actually starts to meet him halfway. [16 Sept 2002, p.B18]
  11. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Mar 19, 2013
    70
    Treat Williams has rarely looked as comfortable as he does in Everwood, a promising new drama full of wry touches that has its debut tonight on WB. Now if he would just get rid of that annoying teenage son!
  12. San Diego Union-Tribune
    Reviewed by: Robert P. Laurence
    Mar 20, 2013
    63
    It could turn out to be one of the fall's most enjoyable new series, a nice mix of family drama and light comedy, if the faint air of smug self-righteousness that emanates from tonight's pilot can be extinguished. [16 Sept 2002, p.D-6]
  13. Chicago Sun-Times
    Reviewed by: Phil Rosenthal
    Mar 19, 2013
    63
    Syrupy at best, this earnest if too-often improbable drama from Northwestern grad Greg Berlanti is designed to mesh with "7th Heaven," but it isn't as family-friendly as promoted if the language and occasional plot point in the opener is any indication. [16 Sept 2002, p.39]
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Aug 22, 2017
    9
    I watched all 4 seasons this summer and will miss the series. I loved it. it is annoying at times (it can be too warm!! and the charactersI watched all 4 seasons this summer and will miss the series. I loved it. it is annoying at times (it can be too warm!! and the characters care about doing the right thing too often), BUT I was charmed. I especially loved the romance between Bright (Chris Pratt) and Hannah (Sarah Drew) - which is exceptional and you root for both of those very likeable and vulnerable kids. Great series I will miss it. Full Review »
  2. Jun 14, 2013
    8
    A few years ago, I was watching a very forgettable movie on cable, so forgettable in fact, that I can't even remember the name of it. ThisA few years ago, I was watching a very forgettable movie on cable, so forgettable in fact, that I can't even remember the name of it. This film did however have a tremendous teen actor, who I took note of, because of the charisma and intensity that he brought to his role. I thought this kid could one day be a big star and took note of his name, Gregory Smith. Since then I have become a huge Gregory Smith fan, seeing most of his films and now his TV show, Everwood. The story of Everwood begins when world famous neurosurgeon, Dr. Andrew Brown (Treat Williams), loses his wife in a car accident. Distraught, Brown decides to leave his prestigious job and move his family from New York City to the small town of Everwood, Colorado, where he opens up a free medical clinic. Brown was a brilliant surgeon, but really doesn't have a clue about how to be a father. His children, in particular his son Ephram (Gregory Smith), does not make the transition easy on him. To be honest, this isn't the kind of show that I usually go for and I was only planning on watching a couple of episodes. A couple of episodes quickly turned into much more as this infectious group of people really drew me into their lives and touched me in a way that a TV show never has. Part of me could really relate to their personal struggles and attempts at overcoming the adversity they faced, if nothing else, It was empowering and inspirational. Veteran actor, Treat Williams, leads a truly terrific cast, playing the man whose turned his life upside down in order to get closer to his children. Dr. Brown is supposed to be the one who has all the answers, at the hospital, that may be true, but at home, it's a big learning curve for him. The dynamic between this quirky celebrity doctor and his introverted, yet artistic outcast son, is really the heart of this show. Gregory Smith is off the charts good as young Ephram Brown, who possesses many of the same qualities as his father. Those qualities are usually at odds with the qualities of his mother, causing him to be a bit impulsive and quick to speak his mind. Ephram quickly falls for the most popular girl in school, Amy Abbott (Emily Van Camp), who is the daughter of Everwood's first family. Amy clearly has feeling for Ephram, but a shocking secret that keeps her from getting close to him. Van Camp, now the star of ABC's Revenge, is asked to wear many hats, sometimes she's sweet and innocent, while at other times she's immature and irritating. but no matter the mood, she's always at the top of her game, really letting you feel, what Amy is feeling. Amy's father is Dr. Harold Abbott (Tom Amandes) who was the only doctor in Everwood, until Dr. Brown showed up. Abbott is arrogant, egocentric, and absolutely hysterical. Amandes brings some much needed comic relief to the show and his interactions with the other members of the cast are priceless. If it wasn't for Everwood being a WB show, Tom Amandes would have several Emmy Awards by now, because he really is that good. Everwood is a family drama that is at times hard to watch, because you will be deeply affected by these characters and at some point will be able to personally relate to what their going through. It pulls at the heart strings, that's for sure, but seeing that adversities faced by these characters and how they were able to over come them is really an inspiration. I said earlier that this is the kind of show that I don't usually watch, but it should be for the way it made me think and the way it made me feel. Full Review »