• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 23, 2011
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 23, 2011
    60
    Once the race starts, the drill is familiar. Sand dunes, snowy peaks, raging rapids, weekly eliminations. It doesn't diminish the achievements of the contestants that we sometimes feel like we've been there and seen that.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 23, 2011
    70
    Expedition Impossible, executive-produced by Mark Burnett ("Survivor"), is [not] the worst reality show ever (not by a long shot), but it reveals how challenging it must be for producers to introduce a whole mess of teams in a season premiere.
  3. Reviewed by: Chris Conaton
    Jun 23, 2011
    60
    Burnett's veteran producers and editors know their way around casting and cutting this type of show, and they've hit upon a good formula here.
  4. Reviewed by: Jon Caramanica
    Jun 22, 2011
    30
    This "Amazing Race" doppelganger, produced by Mark Burnett, is culturally tone-deaf, stunningly dull and lazy, with only minor innovations to the format.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 23, 2011
    60
    Creatively speaking, though, Expedition travels such a familiar course it's merely proof that when it comes to unscripted competitions, even top producers like Burnett continue to be extremely eco-friendly--starting with their conceptual commitment to recycling.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    This series has just arrived in Australia and I have found it both exciting and interesting. The level of team work and dedication to the Expedition were both amazing and inspirational. I really can't understand some of the other reviews left about this great new show. I really look forward to the next season!!!! I hope you can manage to make 2 seasons per year. Full Review »
  2. Jul 11, 2011
    4
    The boringness level is beyond belief... and they have somehow not really even introduced us to the teams. It just kind of follows them along in a boring way doing boring things (how many times can your ride a dang camel?). Thoroughly unimpressed. Full Review »