• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: May 1, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 6 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Lechevallier
    May 1, 2013
    12
    Whatever made the original somewhat of a surprise success is clearly absent here, as Family Tools wastes its audience's time with stale, threadbare material that should've never seen the light of day.
  2. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Apr 30, 2013
    25
    [A] stinker of a family sitcom.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Apr 30, 2013
    25
    With Tools, there is no discernible style, or point of view, or voice, or humor that ever rises to the level of originality.
  4. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 30, 2013
    25
    It’s a grindingly bad half-hour with some even worse finishing touches.
  5. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Apr 29, 2013
    10
    A stinkbomb sent to critics last summer that is now getting the burnoff it deserves at season’s end.
  6. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Apr 26, 2013
    25
    A mostly appealing cast is wasted in a laugh-starved show about a relentless screw-up of a man-child who has never been able to find a career path, much less make his dad proud of him.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 1 out of 1
  1. Jul 12, 2013
    0
    I actually felt bad for Leah Remini cuz this show was awful and it wasn't a role she needed to play. I watched the first episode and knew this show had no chance and here is why: Halfway through the episode I had to look at my TV guide and check to see if this was a comedy. That is how bad this show was. It just made no sense to me. Full Review »