• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 25, 1999
  • Season #: 1
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 62
  2. Negative: 2 out of 62

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    This is just am amazing tv show. Honestly, it is the best school-based tv show. The characters are realistic but at the same time un-boring and lovable. The show is just simply extremely funny. This show cant compare to any shows these day (for example glee). Not saying glee is bad, just that Freaks And Geeks is a lot easier to follow, a lot more comedic and is not overdone.
  2. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    Probably one of the best shows that was ever on TV. All the characters very realistic, the script was good and so were the plots. This show depicts a very real high school life
  3. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    The best school television shows ever made by the hilarious director Judd Apatow. This show shouldn't be canceled when it did. All of the characters are great.
  4. Mar 18, 2013
    9
    Freaks and Geeks is yet another series that can be added to the list of network shows that was not watched by very many people when it initially aired (in 1999) only to gain cult status after it was cancelled. A comedy drama set in the 1980s it centres on two groups of high school students and former model student Lindsay Weir, the excellent Linda Cardellini, in particular as she attempts to find a new niche among the school’s burnouts (The Freaks). Her younger brother, Sam and his friends ‘enjoy’ a completely different social status as the so called geeks of the school and much of the drama, and indeed the comedy, is derived from viewing their vastly different high school experiences. Despite running for just 18 episodes, Freaks and Geeks was almost universally praised by fans and critics for its sharp script and honest portrayal of teen life. Having finally had the chance to watch the show for myself I can safely say that the praised is fully justified and the fact that much of the cast, including the likes of James Franco and Jason Segal, have gone on to have such successful careers off the back their roles here speaks volumes for its enduring qualities. Funny in parts and capable of genuine emotion there aren’t many shows with better first seasons than Freaks and Geeks. Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    A strong contender for the best show about teenagers ever made.
  6. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    Pure magic so simple, oh the days of old i love you.
    everything in this show i did back in the day, hell i remember the day we got an Atari system in the late 70's
    and this show brought me back to that day, thank you.
  7. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    Freaks and Geeks was so great. Lovable, awkward, funny, underrated when airing; a cult hit. One of the best teenage shows because it is realistic and comical at the same time.
  8. Nov 7, 2013
    9
    It's a shame this show didn't last more than one season. You've probably never heard of it, and I hadn't either until just a month ago when I started watching it. Its got stars before they were stars (Franco, Rogen, and others), managing to accurately capture a piece of the high school experience. This show is genuine, unique, and develops its characters expertly. It would be a shame to pass on this captivating series. Expand
  9. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    This show was truly brilliant and truly realistic. It resonates with a great amount of parents and teens, with a very funny voice added in. This show started the careers of many famous faces, like Seth Rogen, James Franco, and Jason Segel. A hidden gem. On Netflix instant streaming
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Terry Kelleher
    Jun 27, 2013
    91
    The young actors are natural and convincing, and the high school characters manage to be funny without too much Dawson's Creek glibness.
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jun 13, 2013
    100
    This may be the first TV show since Pee-wee's Playhouse to treasure youth even as it embodies all of its contradictions, craziness, hopes, and fears (and I'd like to point out that Freaks is the only hour-long sitcom I've ever seen that sustains funniness for its full 60 minutes).
  3. Reviewed by: Ann Hodges
    Feb 27, 2013
    90
    Freaks and Geeks shows promise of touching the same common chord that The Wonder Years played so well for the classes of the '60s. [25 Sept 1999, p.7]