• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 9, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
Fringe Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 1 Critic Awaiting 3 more reviews What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 139 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With Peter missing after trying to save the parallel Earths, the question of how it affects Walter, Olivia and the world is explored.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Sep 19, 2011
    91
    If you think Fringe has forgotten anything in its history/mythology, you underestimate these wily master producers.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    Fringe is simply amazing and John Noble is as well. It's the best sci-fi show in T.V!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  2. Mar 18, 2011
    10
    Fringe is a must watch show. it's incredible. The acting from all cast is outstanding. It's the best sci-fi show in T.V right now. The show has such great characters Olivia (my favourite) , Walter Peter Philip Nina Astrid Charlie and that new guy Lee (Did i miss anyone?) . Watch it live!
    10 points for Fringe! Both universes can survive!
    Expand
  3. May 12, 2012
    10
    Season 3 was disappointing with a lot of rather bland filler episodes and the story arc wasn't great either. Season 4 however is back on form and is as good (and addictive), if not better than the first 2 seasons. It starts a bit slow but once it gets going (When Peter gets back) the story episodes are great and even the MOTW filler episodes have gone back to being good again, many of them having a link to the story arc woven in as well. Lincoln Lee is now a permanent member of the main team and is a good addition, and the role of Walternates universe (the weaker side of season 3) has been cut down. Fox really were very nice to give Fringe a final season even though it was burning money for them. Expand
  4. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    Fringe is a must watch show, It's the best sci-fi show in T.V. .The acting from all cast is outstanding. And is in a superior level compared to other series . Expand
  5. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    This show only continues to amaze. It started off okay and from the second half of the first season it just took off! Incredible television. Questions answered, mysteries posed. It is Grade-A stuff. Collapse
  6. May 28, 2012
    9
    Its Amazing! Fringe is human amongst the intelligent script and scientific explanations for each episode. Its humorous and sometimes emotional; creating back stories for each character (victims) of each case, including the main characters such as Olivia (especially Olivia, she is by far the most compelling characters that I have ever watched), Walter and the other crew members from both alternative universe. There is a sense of depth whenever I watch these episodes and I hope others will feel as I did when watching them. I strongly recommend this! It takes a lot of patience to understand each story but each episode keeps you thoroughly entertained, weird but unique and fascinating. J.J.Abrams has done it again...keep watching him, he falls in the same vain as Christopher Nolan. Expand
  7. Jan 16, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. SEASON 4 - It went from extremely good to extremely bad, the ratings have plummeted and with it, the show's budget and the writers' & actors' talents.
    The 1st of many mistakes it made was when when they completely re wrote the show leaving a lot of plot holes in its wake. Everything we knew about the show is instantly changed and for the worse by the looks of it - William Bell apparently was killed in a car crash, They never went to Edina, David Robert Jones is still alive (seriously they brought back past enemies!), Rachael never broke up with her husband. The plot holes that it leaves are these:
    How does Olivia get kidnapped and swapped when the reason the gang went to the other universe was to bring Peter home when Peter wasn't even there to begin with, why would they go in the first place? Another would be: How did they operate the Bridge when it requires Peter to operate it? Why would Frankie still break up with Alternate Olivia when there was no pregnancy? How did Olivia get Walter out of St Clare's when it requires a family member to get him out!
    2nd mistake - Another thing that has taken a turn for the worse are the massive coincidences it has when 2 unrelated characters meet - in this case Nina Sharp and Olivia. I find it completely ridiculous how Nina ends up adopting Olivia and Rachael when they were kids, they are completely separate characters with no history and only met for the first time in the pilot yet coincidentally they end up meeting! LIKE COME ON! REALLY!?! another is the fact that Our universe Lincoln Lee ends up running into Fringe Division... again, really?! Other far fetched coincidences include the bad guys like: Nina turns out to be evil... oh no it actually turns out to be the alternate Nina Sharp working for David Robert Jones who was never sliced in half and made it the other side... but wait! What's this? It turns out David Robert Jones is actually working for William Bell who has been alive the whole time. But wait William Bell is actually evil and wants to destroy both universes and create his own universe ERMAHGAWD the horror! see what i mean, its so stupid?
    3rd mistake: half way during the season the writers try to cover their asses by making Olivia remember Peter and the old timeline randomly. Olivia's memories start changing but she doesn't care because she's in love with Peter apparently, if my entire life was being erased with a new one i would want to keep my old life but no, Olivia wants to keep the new memories because she is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO in love with Peter... (thats bullcrap)
    4th mistake are the ridiculous far-fetched stories.
    The science behind Fringe has always been a bit far fetched but a lot of it is actually possible and the characters can intelligently explain it and a lot of it actually looks cool. Except in season 4 the writer's must have run out of ideas and have started making stuff up! Like one episode it shows an invisible person stealing people's colour.... come on really?! is that the best you can think of?!
    5th mistake: Changing the logic behind Cortexiphan See Cortexiphan is the drug that Walter and William tested the kids with in 1985. See the human brain actually has limitless power and capabilities at birth including the abilities of Telekinesis, pyrokinesis, tissue regeneration & travelling between universes but as the brain gets older it starts to go through limitation and the abilities eventually fade as the person reaches adulthood, what Cortexiphan does is stop limitation so the person can keep the abilities and use them, but Cortexiphan can't reverse limitation. But series 4 treats it as if it can strengthen the effects and the powers of the person which just completely contradicts everything said in the 1st two seasons.
    Another aspect of Fringe that has suffered is the special effects and CGI, with the slashed budget from miserable ratings the special fx has suffered, some of it does look ok but a fair bit of it looks bad and takes some of the thrill out of the show.
    Without the clever writing and snazzy effects to distract us we see the true flaws of the acting (to sum it up) Joshua Jackson can't act to save his life (sorry), Anna Torv's acting is bland, most of her dialogue is said with little emotion especially during emotional scenes, Blair Brown's acting has gone south also - like I said with Anna, bland dialogue..... The only episode I did like was the episode that was set in 2036 when we got a break from the god awful plot line.
    So basically Season 4 is a pretty rubbish season and its good to know that Season 5 has improved on it.
    Expand

See all 20 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: April 12, 2012
    With one month left before the networks announce their fall schedules, we look at which TV shows have already been renewed or canceled, and which remain on the bubble.