• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 9, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 144 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 144

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 9, 2013
    9
    The fifth and final season. For five years of my life, I was dedicated and so hopelessly in love with Fringe. Each season I intently watched, patiently waited for the next episode and was sad during winter hiatuses. This show meant so much to me, and it still does. I'll never forget the fantastic ride we had, how we traveled through time and between universes. Season five is not as good as its predecessors but it still has some redeeming qualities to it. The final season felt a little messy, presumably because it was going to be cancelled. I think, however, the thirteen episode order worked. No filler episodes (which was a common occurrence in season four) this time. It was certainly an ambitious shot and it was a little (only a little) disappointing, but we got a little closure and at least we can say that season two and three were excellent seasons we will never forget. Expand
  2. BKM
    Jan 10, 2013
    10
    Fringe has gotten better with each passing season as the characters have become more developed and the mythology more complex. The fifth and final season is a complete reinvention of the series--switching from the more conventional X-Files like case of the week to a more Lostesque season long story arc. The cast has been superb and all signs point to an emotional powerhouse of a finale.
  3. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    This is one one of the best shows ever.Definitely recommended this to anyone.Season 5 may be a little disappointing but still good.Still the first season was the best
  4. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    A Show that has explored everything that has to be explored, Fringe continues to surprise me at the highest level continuing to be one of the best dramas on TV right now and one the sci-fi thrillers to be remembered for a long long time.
  5. Sep 30, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The premiere episode is outstanding. I was particularly blown away by the scene in which Walter finds the CD and plays "Only You" by Yaz. Such a powerful moment after he had been tortured and deprived of music for so long. Etta is a terrific addition to the series as Peter and Olivia's daughter. I can't wait to see where they take this season. Expand
  6. Sep 30, 2012
    9
    From what I can tell from the premiere, Season 5 of Fringe will be a nonstop action-packed adrenaline rush. With a shortened 13-episode order, the Fringe showrunners have promised this season will have no filler episodes, and I'm looking forward to what's to come.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Sep 28, 2012
    91
    Fringe seems to be going out as alt-world fantasy/sci-fi at its most tough-minded yet humanistic. [5 Oct 2012, p.73]
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Sep 28, 2012
    80
    On the evidence of Friday's season opener, Fringe will continue to be the best show of its kind since "The X-Files" at the grace notes, intimate or humorous instances like Olivia's Crate & Barrel moment (which won't be further spoiled here). When you get the small things right, it's less crucial that your universes and time shifts exactly line up.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 28, 2012
    90
    For Fringe's small but loyal following, resistance is truly futile. We'll stick with this remarkable series to the end.