• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1392 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    Game of Thrones is the best series in TV. The story is just astounding and addicting. If you see the first episode then you become a fan right away. Each and every single one of characters have a rich personality and amazing acting abilities.
  2. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    This is easily the best show on TV right now, and one of the best of all time. The acting is consistently solid, the plot so intricate that it's nearly overwhelming, and the characterization is deeper, more realistic, and richer not only than any other show besides The Wire, but deeper/more realistic/richer than half of the real people I've met. Epic in every sense of the word, and just asThis is easily the best show on TV right now, and one of the best of all time. The acting is consistently solid, the plot so intricate that it's nearly overwhelming, and the characterization is deeper, more realistic, and richer not only than any other show besides The Wire, but deeper/more realistic/richer than half of the real people I've met. Epic in every sense of the word, and just as likely to be surprisingly touching as it is to be gut-wrenchingly brutal. Expand
  3. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    The greatest show on earth returns. The only thing better than this season will be next season. This show os the reason I live. The reason I breathe. The reason I dream.

    Superb acting all around though especially from Jack Gleeson. Story moves quickly but is easy to follow. Cannot wait for next week.
  4. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    What can I say? This is the best show I have ever seen. The acting, the production value and the story is top notch. Ignore the ones that rate this under 9.0, their opinions does not matter one bit. The one year wait is over, and it is finally coming to the Television near you!
  5. Jun 20, 2012
    1
    They totally screwed up this series when compared with the book. It really is unwatchable and you do yourself a great disservice if you watch this over the book. They cut characters, changed the plot, skewed motivations and alignments. I can understanding leaving out some of the back story due to time constraints but to change the events that happened completely is not acceptable. Not toThey totally screwed up this series when compared with the book. It really is unwatchable and you do yourself a great disservice if you watch this over the book. They cut characters, changed the plot, skewed motivations and alignments. I can understanding leaving out some of the back story due to time constraints but to change the events that happened completely is not acceptable. Not to mention the terrible filming of scenes set in darkness. A total train wreck. Expand
  6. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    In season 1 the first few episodes were character development and not so entertaining. In season 2, the creators are more confident and you can see that in the flow of scenes. Season 2 will have more of everything! WATCH IT! NAO.
  7. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    The greatest show on earth returns. The only thing better than this season will be next season. This show os the reason I live. The reason I breathe. The reason I dream. Superb acting all around though especially from Jack Gleeson. Story moves quickly but is easy to follow. Cannot wait for next week.
  8. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An Amazing start to the new season that's on par with the best of last season. The episode serves as an introduction to the many new characters of Westeros, and thus the time spent with fan favourites is limited, but these new characters are so good I found I didn't even notice. The CGI is a big step up from last season, and the larger than life wolves look incredible. There are some beautiful vistas to be found and Dany's dragons are just as good as was promised in the closing minutes of the last season.

    There are some poignant scenes in this episode that highlight how the show is not just typical fantasy fare, but a powerful drama. The execution of Robert's bastards was one such scene, and the interaction between Robb and his mother was very heart-warming - the actors have great chemistry. It was also great to see so many of the cast from skins seasons 1 and 2 in the show. Both Gendry and Craster's daughter/wife Gilly were familiar and very welcome faces.

    I truly hope this season is as good for those who haven't read the books as for those who have because I want this show to continue for many years to come, enjoy.
    Expand
  9. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    Still one of my favourite shows of all time, the plot, characters, and direction of this show are all top notch.
    I have read all 5 books and love how they stay so close to the material that was written. I am very excited for what is going to be a terrific season.
  10. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    My favorite show next to The Walking Dead and Justified. Game of Thrones is just incredible. Seriously the best show on TV. Move over Mad Men and Breaking Bad, Game of Thrones is the new hit, you just wont find anything better.
  11. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    Wow. Wow, wow, wow. I could end it there and it would still be a serviceable review. I mean, God, rarely is TV this level of quality. It, in my opinion, is floating around in that area just under The Wire and Breaking Bad with shows like The Sopranos and The West Wing. It's a masterpiece. Fantasy that is actually transposable onto TV. When has this ever happened? How could dragons andWow. Wow, wow, wow. I could end it there and it would still be a serviceable review. I mean, God, rarely is TV this level of quality. It, in my opinion, is floating around in that area just under The Wire and Breaking Bad with shows like The Sopranos and The West Wing. It's a masterpiece. Fantasy that is actually transposable onto TV. When has this ever happened? How could dragons and mystical lands fit in so well on the HBO line-up. How? Because it's just the greatest **** show. Not the most intelligent, not the most well-written, although it is very high up in both of those categories. But it is just the most entertaining. It doesn't demand much of you like The Wire but it simply just gives you what you want without pandering to an audience. It's not simple but it is totally accessible. It's The Sopranos clashed with Lord Of The Rings and slowly told with such grandiosity for a TV show. Expand
  12. Apr 2, 2012
    9
    I said I wasn't coming back for the scond season and I'm glad I did. This premiere was spectacular. Mad Men, Breaking Bad, and Justifeid. I think it's time for you guys to give up the throne.
  13. jrb
    Apr 2, 2012
    10
    Have been looking forward to this for 9 months. Still amazed at the beauty of this production. Rewatched first season in preparation and enjoyed it as much the second time around and find that reading the series and watching that first season is almost essential to the understanding of the complexities of the storylines and characters and their interactions. For those of you experiencingHave been looking forward to this for 9 months. Still amazed at the beauty of this production. Rewatched first season in preparation and enjoyed it as much the second time around and find that reading the series and watching that first season is almost essential to the understanding of the complexities of the storylines and characters and their interactions. For those of you experiencing Game for the first time....have patience. It's worth it. Expand
  14. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    One of the best shows from HBO since Deadwood and The Wire. The showrunners do a good job of staying faithful to the source material. Any differences between the show and the books make sense. The set direction is amazing along with the acting.
  15. May 23, 2012
    5
    The series is great and the story is intriguing. But after thats said the second series it feals like nothing is happening. Everyone is just stand in each others camps and having a stearwar. But hopefully it will improve as the story progresses.
  16. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    In terms of location shooting, language and imagination this show has no parallel in the history of television. It's a profoundly artistic adaptation of George R R Martin's book. There are some flaws but so what? These are so easy to overlook with all that this show brings to the screen.
  17. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Such a wonderful, wonderful show based on wonderful, wonderful books. Great characters, great storyline, great sets, and Tyrion Lannister all make sure to give you the best of everything. Honestly though, I do think it could do without the sex.
  18. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    HBO has so many great shows, and the highest compliment I can pay GOT is that it ranks right up there with The Wire and Deadwood. Actually, nothing can compare to The Wire, but if that possibility existed, GOT would be right there knocking at the door.
  19. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    That was SOMETHING! Alan Tailor is gonna be famous after this! Beautiful acting, dialogs, perfect sets and certainly story.. Robb and Jaime had an awesome dialogue. Melisandre, Dawos and Stannis fitted just perfectly. And I cant say about all cast, but they ALL were brilliant. Tnx for a great show! Gonna re-watch episode later..
  20. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    The series has a propounding way of forcing you to watch its epicness,everything is sooo realistic and the story is very good, such a good cast swell, can't wait for Season 3!!
  21. Sep 10, 2012
    10
    This was one of the best seasons of a Tv series ive ever watched. It is absolutely fantastic. The acting by each and every actor/ress is superb and i really commend the younger cast (mainly Maisie Williams as Arya) and the Lannister actors. Will definitely watch season3 and all the seasons to come.
  22. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    I didn't like Rome or Spartacus much but this show gets beyond just violence in olden days and delves into an Earth like middle ages where men are men and power rules, and the women are pretty amazing too. It's dark, well scripted, characters are deep, and morality raises it's head on occasions. Almost all the actors are from the UK (save Dinklage, who is my favorite character), and that'sI didn't like Rome or Spartacus much but this show gets beyond just violence in olden days and delves into an Earth like middle ages where men are men and power rules, and the women are pretty amazing too. It's dark, well scripted, characters are deep, and morality raises it's head on occasions. Almost all the actors are from the UK (save Dinklage, who is my favorite character), and that's the way it should be. They have access to so many varied english accents. Expand
  23. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    I unfortunately had the first part of this season spoiled for me. Knowing the result of the ensuing battles is a bit of a letdown, yet somehow I had forgotten all about that during the 1 hour episode that lead off this season. It's a testament to the quality of the show, where acting, set design and writing take precedence over everything else.
  24. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    I first thought that this season would be awesome. Then I remembered the third book, and oh well, it's gonna get even better. I'm already dying to see the next episode. An incredible epic saga to be remembered.
  25. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Game of Thrones makes a triumphant return with an epic story, superb cast and some of the best writing on TV. Season 2 tells a tale of greed, loyalty, revenge and family through multiple viewpoints, giving the series an immense scope that has never been so successfully achieved on television.
  26. Apr 20, 2012
    4
    Bleh all HBO seems interested in is porn. They cut down and simplify all the conversations yet manage to cram in heaps of **** and stuff and it just makes it awkward if your watching with people who don't like that stuff and it seems a waste as they leave out a lot of the good stuff. I guess this appeals to the masses, but not really to me, if I want porn I search the web by myself.
  27. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    I heard this show was amazing. so i decided to watch season 1 in February. I was so stoked for season 2 and now its the greatest show ever. Great shows arent around now as they were around 2003-2007. Game of thrones is probably top 10 of the best shows in history
  28. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    This to me is best show around right now, and it follows the material its based off well. It keeps the viewer enthralled with the great stories, memorable characters, and it looks stunning.
  29. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. That was pretty awesome....! of the best tv show ever made just like the The songs of ice and fire book series.

    More beautiful than the most of episodes of first season. Alan Tailor did a splendid job.
    Drogod And Greywind looked total badass- great CGI work by pixomondo studio.

    Robb/jaime scene was epic. Excellent performances by new and old actors. Stannis just came out of my imagination. Robb/catelyn scene was sentimental. You can easily feel the transition between the storylines and locations-extremely smooth.Must watch-MUST WATCH
    Expand
  30. May 14, 2012
    5
    Allow me to preface this comment by saying two things: 1) I have read the books (a few times) 2) I was absolutely thrilled with the first season, and was on the edge of my seat waiting for the second season. Yet after 6 episodes of the second season, the TV series has gone astray from the books, not only in unnecessary instances, but also in critical ones. While the series may still beAllow me to preface this comment by saying two things: 1) I have read the books (a few times) 2) I was absolutely thrilled with the first season, and was on the edge of my seat waiting for the second season. Yet after 6 episodes of the second season, the TV series has gone astray from the books, not only in unnecessary instances, but also in critical ones. While the series may still be interesting to those who have not read the books, I cannot imagine that readers are pleased. George RR Martin wrote an intriguing tale with copious amounts of sex, yet someone in control seemed to think there wasn't enough for the second season on TV. Disgusting. In my opinion, there were several sub-plots in the first book that were removed from the TV series, but nothing was added. This is the key. In season two they have added plots, or have at least accelerated said plots. At the end of season two episode six, there was an event so different from anything in the books that I may have to stop watching now. Casting is still phenomenal with the introduction of new characters. Love how they've done with a TV budget versus a big screen Lord of the Rings type budget (or, dare I say, Avatar's budget). Expand
  31. Apr 10, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am a big Game of Thrones fan and have read all the books. That said, I am finding Season Two a little disappointing. This is perhaps inevitable, as the producers and writers have to follow (mostly) George R.R. Martin's increasingly meandering narrative. In the first season, there were five distinct families: The Starks, the Night's Watch, The Targaryens, the Lannisters and Baratheons. And there were five distinct locations: Winterfell, The Wall, King's Landing, The Eyrie, and the East. All the characters fit fairly well into one or more of these families and locations. As a result, each episode could spend 15 minutes or more on an individual location or family. In Season Two, we are in the first stages of the disintegration of George R.R. Martin's narrative. Book Two, Clash of Kings, is still compelling, but by Book Three, which we should reach in Season Three, the wheels will have come off for good and the producers and writers are going to have some serious decisions (and triage) to perform. In Season Two, the number of characters has already expanded radically, as have locations. We now have the Greyjoys of Pyke, the Baratheons of Dragonstone, and fairly soon we will encounter the Baratheons, Tyrells and Martells of the South, as well as the Tullys of Riverrun and will make the acquaintance of several more loathsome Freys. This is barely supportable in a book, but not in a TV miniseries. As a result, we are already losing characters and locales (anybody notice Sansa, Rickon, or the Vale of Arryn recently?) and some key characters, such as Littlefinger are temporarily revived in pointless scenes that did not occur in the book, just to remind us that they exist and will play an important part later in the story. Fifteen-minute segments are gone, and now we are down to five or ten-minute scenes. Soon, with the proliferation of characters, we won't even have that, and the story will become more and more disjointed, just like George R.R. Martin's books. As time goes on, Martin's story becomes more dreamlike, with no beginning and no end, just a frittering away of the narrative in pointless blind alleys and ever more complicated stories with more and more and still more characters and locales added to the mix, and obvious plot pathways ignored. Martin's books are a work in progress, and they will probably never be finished, as Martin has been suffering from periodic writer's block for the past several years. The obvious conclusion to the story, a few volumes after Book Five, should be the confrontation of Fire and Ice, represented by Daenerys and her dragons on one side, and the White Walkers and Wights on the other, fighting over a Westeros devastated by the increasingly chaotic and pointless struggle of pretenders to the Iron Throne. But at the end of Book Five, Winter has still not come, Daenerys has still not invaded Westeros, the White Walkers have not come south of The Wall, and the number of pretenders to the Iron Throne just grows and grows. This is a dream that has no end, and the producers of Game of Thrones are going to have some major decisions to make. I don't envy them. With regard to the current season, I would like to see a lot more of Tyrion (Peter Dinklage), who justly has top billing now, and a lot more of Daenerys (Emilia Clarke) too, who has only gotten started. Weâ Expand
  32. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    it is the best tv series ever created. After so long time a trully world that can compete against LOTR. The actors did an amazing job and every episode has an intriguing story. Its like consuming drugs, you want more and more, I cant wait for the next episode.
  33. May 16, 2012
    10
    Sets the standard for epic story telling for years to come. There has never been a world this rich and expansive on TV. I will go back and read the books now! Peter Dinklage is a genius!
  34. May 18, 2012
    10
    Best....show....EVER! I never even heard of G.R.R.M before HBO brought out the teasers. Man, am I glad I got educated last season. I absolutely love Game of Thrones. The characters, twists, turns, backstabbing, maneuvering, sex, battles, comedy, mystery, mystique, guts & glory. It's everything I ever wanted in a show, and everything I expect from HBO's QUALITY programming. These guys knowBest....show....EVER! I never even heard of G.R.R.M before HBO brought out the teasers. Man, am I glad I got educated last season. I absolutely love Game of Thrones. The characters, twists, turns, backstabbing, maneuvering, sex, battles, comedy, mystery, mystique, guts & glory. It's everything I ever wanted in a show, and everything I expect from HBO's QUALITY programming. These guys know how to pick and create winners. As much as I would like to go out and start reading George's books, there is no way in hell I'm going to ruin this ride with spoilers. Until the curtains close on this outstanding series, I'll be content in my ignorance having never read a single page. Expand
  35. May 14, 2012
    10
    Minus the forced HBO sex stuff the show gets better with each episode. I am also a big fan of less episodes when it brings higher quality but I think there is more than enough story to stretch the season a few additional episodes.
  36. May 22, 2012
    9
    This is by far my favorite TV show that I watch right now, narrowly beating out Mad Men. The story lines are fantastic and I find myself eager to read the books. However, I don't want to ruin the show for myself. It's quite the dilemma. The dialogue exchange between Arya and Tywin Lannaster is enough to make me watch this show, not including the other great characters and plotsThis is by far my favorite TV show that I watch right now, narrowly beating out Mad Men. The story lines are fantastic and I find myself eager to read the books. However, I don't want to ruin the show for myself. It's quite the dilemma. The dialogue exchange between Arya and Tywin Lannaster is enough to make me watch this show, not including the other great characters and plots unfolding. Really looking forward to Episode 9 and all the madness that is about to occur in it! Expand
  37. May 8, 2012
    7
    After a terrible start (at least terrible when compared to the first season), The show has definently picked up and it has gotten a lot better. Is it as good as the first season? Absolutely not. The first season had a far more well rounded and complete story then this season. It's still an enjoyable show though.
  38. Apr 22, 2012
    6
    I gobbled up the first season of Game of Thrones, then watched it over again with my wife, after I'd read the book. It worked when I watched it cold, and knowing what was coming didn't reduce the experience. In fact, I was impressed with how the writers managed to cram the essence of a book into 10 episodes without feeling like anything was skimped.
    I had big hopes for the second season,
    I gobbled up the first season of Game of Thrones, then watched it over again with my wife, after I'd read the book. It worked when I watched it cold, and knowing what was coming didn't reduce the experience. In fact, I was impressed with how the writers managed to cram the essence of a book into 10 episodes without feeling like anything was skimped.
    I had big hopes for the second season, but alas, it suffers the all-to-common sophomore phenomenon. The dialogue is more stilted, the characters more dispersed, the story lines more scattered. Game of Thrones has lost its mojo. I may stick it out for episode four tonight, but I have little hope of seeing anything that will make me come back again.
    Expand
  39. May 18, 2012
    10
    Wonderful. The storyline is great, of course, following George R. R. Martin's best-selling series. The acting amazes me. I thought the loss of an actor in the calibre of Sean Bean could impact my experience, but I was just wrong. It seems that the whole cast is in a different world where flaws are impossible. Peter Dinklage is one of the greatest actors I have ever had the pleasure ofWonderful. The storyline is great, of course, following George R. R. Martin's best-selling series. The acting amazes me. I thought the loss of an actor in the calibre of Sean Bean could impact my experience, but I was just wrong. It seems that the whole cast is in a different world where flaws are impossible. Peter Dinklage is one of the greatest actors I have ever had the pleasure of watching, and his acting alone is enough to keep me hooked. The other hundreds of actors wouldn't even have to try. And they don't try: they succeed. Expand
  40. Jun 19, 2012
    5
    What a disappointment! After a couple bumpy episodes, I was happily surprised by season 1. Season 2 is watchable but what a letdown. I feel like I am watching a bad horror movie where most characters make painfully idiotic decisions. The acting isn't that great either expect for Peter Dinklage. Lots of cheap one- liners like in a Chuck Norris movie. Most of the new story arcs are boring.What a disappointment! After a couple bumpy episodes, I was happily surprised by season 1. Season 2 is watchable but what a letdown. I feel like I am watching a bad horror movie where most characters make painfully idiotic decisions. The acting isn't that great either expect for Peter Dinklage. Lots of cheap one- liners like in a Chuck Norris movie. Most of the new story arcs are boring. Season 2 picks up some steam after 5-6 episodes but it's still a far-cry from the quality of the dialogues and political intrigues in season 1. Expand
  41. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    There isn't much to say about this show that hasn't already been said. The characters are dynamic and deep, the multiple plot concept keeps audience members on the edge of their seats as twists and turns of beautiful written work comes to reality.
  42. Apr 23, 2012
    9
    I was a little disappointed about how they've changed the story around, made Little Finger look like a jackass, whereas in the book he's a step ahead of everyone. Some more poor casting choices, Asha is hideous, Stannis should have been played by the guy playing the Davos the pirate, and vice-versa, Marjory isn't innocent as she is in the book, not a breathtaking beauty as in the book.I was a little disappointed about how they've changed the story around, made Little Finger look like a jackass, whereas in the book he's a step ahead of everyone. Some more poor casting choices, Asha is hideous, Stannis should have been played by the guy playing the Davos the pirate, and vice-versa, Marjory isn't innocent as she is in the book, not a breathtaking beauty as in the book. That being said, still the best show going on TV today, heads above most stuff. It's too bad this series will never finish, took the Martin 7 years to write the last book and it went absolutely no where. Expand
  43. May 21, 2012
    10
    If you took any show that has ever been on TV, combine it into one powerful show.. you still would not reach the magnitude of epicness of game of thrones.. its just beyond perfection, and i believe there will rarely be anything as great as this..
  44. Apr 21, 2012
    10
    This show takes everything that humans have learned about good storytelling and film making then adds to it. You DON"T have to be a geek to love it - the characters are real and unique. You DON"T have to be a man to love it - it is not hyper violent - there are swords and armies but most of the gore is shown briefly or skipped. Neither is there just eye candy for men(like bay watch). ThereThis show takes everything that humans have learned about good storytelling and film making then adds to it. You DON"T have to be a geek to love it - the characters are real and unique. You DON"T have to be a man to love it - it is not hyper violent - there are swords and armies but most of the gore is shown briefly or skipped. Neither is there just eye candy for men(like bay watch). There is sex and there are pretty characters, but they are realistically depicted (considering context) and aren't glossed over into teeny boy softcore (as some errant critics would lead you to believe. You DON"T have to be super-smart to love it (though it does ask more of the viewer than most shows - a good thing for 90% of us). You DO have to start at the beginning - it's a movie in the fifteenth hour. You DO have to remember what happened last episode. You DO have to be thick skinned - some terrible things are portrayed and if you take what you watch personally or are easily offended then the story is simply not for you. For most people this show will be one of the best things they'e ever seen. It is for me. Expand
  45. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    This show is fantastic. It has everything, sex, violence, interesting characters, complex politics and fantastic scenery. Season 2 has started off where season 1 left off and hasn't skipped a beat in story, quality or style. The plot is very well paced, a problem a find with many shows, helped along by an all around outstanding cast. Perhaps even better than the acting are the locations.This show is fantastic. It has everything, sex, violence, interesting characters, complex politics and fantastic scenery. Season 2 has started off where season 1 left off and hasn't skipped a beat in story, quality or style. The plot is very well paced, a problem a find with many shows, helped along by an all around outstanding cast. Perhaps even better than the acting are the locations. The settings in Game of Thrones are characters in their own right, a point driven home by the opening credits and the wonderful maps on the website, and in this facet GoT succeeds better than any show I've even seen, period. Everything from the cinematography, CGI, sound and sets make you feel incredibly connected to the locations and the world. This is the best show on TV right now and really is in my top 5 of all time. Expand
  46. Apr 14, 2012
    6
    After the best first season in television the second season not only doesn't live up but falls flat. Having read the books I worried that having so many characters and plot lines that an hour long, ten episode season wouldn't be able to keep up and unfortunately I was right. While still good stuff, you never get to stay with any one group long enough for it to get rolling, and theAfter the best first season in television the second season not only doesn't live up but falls flat. Having read the books I worried that having so many characters and plot lines that an hour long, ten episode season wouldn't be able to keep up and unfortunately I was right. While still good stuff, you never get to stay with any one group long enough for it to get rolling, and the introduction of new characters is done so fast it's hard to feel any emotion for them. While the first season had it's fair share of changes from what happened in the books, I felt most all were well done and used to make the show even better by fleshing out some elements. The second season's changes though seem to be more for the sake of having to condense and simplify, and while maybe needed for the format they are not to the benefit of the narritive.
    Having said all of that, there are still some great things left. The acting of almost all involved continues to be superb and the locations, set designs, and overall production value makes for a beautiful show. Season two is still better than most dramas on TV and for fans on the genre there's nothing out there that compares being currently offered. Perhaps the greatness of season one has lead me to treat the lesser season two more harshly than if I weren't comparing them too, but I don't see how I can review the latter without comparing to the former, so you can take it as you will.
    Expand
  47. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    This show brings so many elements and so many unique characters to our television screen that you can't help but admit that it is the best show on television at the current moment
  48. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    my best friend's mom makes $77 an hour on the computer. She has been out of job for 9 months but last month her check was $7487 just working on the computer for a few hours. Read about it here NuttyRich.cöm
  49. Apr 30, 2012
    10
    Thrones is far and away the best show currently on television ("Mad Men" is about workaholics and, uuugh, work). This show is why you love HBO, and why you (along with the rest of us) probably agree that the best, most artistic and creative work on the planet is currently done not in fiction, and certainly not in movies, but takes place in small oases of creativity just over the borderThrones is far and away the best show currently on television ("Mad Men" is about workaholics and, uuugh, work). This show is why you love HBO, and why you (along with the rest of us) probably agree that the best, most artistic and creative work on the planet is currently done not in fiction, and certainly not in movies, but takes place in small oases of creativity just over the border from network television. Thrones is the rare show that works both as compelling drama and fun entertainment. I am completely in awe of the show's achievement.

    P.S. The professional critics rate this show only one point above "Girls," while the users are far more accurate in their collective opinions. If you ever needed to know which group has a better, more discerning handle on the entertainment you will find more enjoyable/edifying, go no further than these comparisons.
    Expand
  50. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    I need another season or so to be sure, but I believe that 'Game of Thrones' is the best television show I've ever watched. It immediately goes into the pantheon of great dramas with The Wire, Breaking Bad, Mad Men, and The Sopranos. The best storytelling on television right now, with amazing acting performances, unbelievable sets and costuming. The sheer scope and magnitude of theI need another season or so to be sure, but I believe that 'Game of Thrones' is the best television show I've ever watched. It immediately goes into the pantheon of great dramas with The Wire, Breaking Bad, Mad Men, and The Sopranos. The best storytelling on television right now, with amazing acting performances, unbelievable sets and costuming. The sheer scope and magnitude of the story are breathtaking, and Game of Thrones may be the most ambitious project in television history. Watch it sooner rather than later.. Expand
  51. May 6, 2012
    10
    A series and leaves you counting the days till the next program airs. An excellent show from HBO. With the larger budget for this season we can expect to see more action and other fantastic cast, like Tyrion, simply brilliant. I LOVE the books and highly enjoy seeing them come to life on the TV Superb acting all around. Story line is always interesting full of plots wars intrigue, theA series and leaves you counting the days till the next program airs. An excellent show from HBO. With the larger budget for this season we can expect to see more action and other fantastic cast, like Tyrion, simply brilliant. I LOVE the books and highly enjoy seeing them come to life on the TV Superb acting all around. Story line is always interesting full of plots wars intrigue, the story always is moving but easy to follow. Expand
  52. May 20, 2012
    10
    When Game of Thrones is on your TV you will be immersed into the story and plot, high quality production, very well written characters and performance. casting is great and plot is thick with well placed twists. a must see.
  53. Jun 6, 2012
    2
    Can't stand this show. It don't get all the buzz from full grown adults about a fairy tale. It's a bad disney movie with violence. I keep waiting for Harry Potter to show up. I've never heard so many bad accents. Really People?? Where's your taste in good programing?
  54. Jul 19, 2012
    0
    What a great disappointment. A lot of things have been changed from the books to accommodate the sentiment of the viewers the publishers are trying to woo. 1/10 for this compromising piece of ****
  55. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    Almost as brilliant as season 1 but not quite. The show keeps giving amazing performances to awesome writing, beautiful scenery and stunning directing. Some parts were a bit drawn out though, and a little confusing for people who haven't read the books. It is still the best show on TV anywhere.
  56. Mar 13, 2013
    9
    Many fans of the books on which the series is based have been somewhat critical of the changes and edits made in this second season. Having not read the books myself I can’t comment on that but judged purely on its own merits, as really it should be, Game of Thrones continues to excel in every department.

    As with the first season there are still plenty of long scenes of dialogue
    Many fans of the books on which the series is based have been somewhat critical of the changes and edits made in this second season. Having not read the books myself I can’t comment on that but judged purely on its own merits, as really it should be, Game of Thrones continues to excel in every department.

    As with the first season there are still plenty of long scenes of dialogue required in order to explain the complex world of Westeros but thanks to some fantastic writing and brilliant performances from the entire cast these are just as interesting as the often brutal action interspersed between. Quite how the creators have managed to create such an epic series on a television budget, even one as large as HBO have provided, I will never know.
    Expand
  57. Jun 6, 2012
    4
    I've been a big fan of season 1 and even read ALL game of throne books after watching that. All books except for the first one. After that, the second season is quite disappointing. The entire book chapters have been condensed into 30 second scenes or so, and honestly, if I did not read the book, I wouldn't even know what's going on on the screen half the time or how it's connected to the story.
  58. Nov 20, 2012
    8
    Great show. Much better book. The first season of this show stayed pretty true to the book, which is something I really loved about it. The second season moves quite far away from the book = disappointing. Despite all that, this is still one of the best shows on TV, it's just hard to compare it to a series of books that I'd say are the best fantasy books ever written.
  59. May 17, 2012
    9
    Still loving this show, a bit too much on the 'porny' side. I don't like some of the changes they made to 'enhance' a certain evil king, but I still love the show.

    Twists and turns abound. :)
  60. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    I cant convey to you enough on how good this show is. Every single character is amazing and there has not been a single casting mistake. The acting on this show is amazing, and the show feels like an epic movie every episode. Im not a big TV watcher but this is one show I cant stop watching. I recommend this show to everyone!!!!
  61. Jun 18, 2012
    1
    Take this score knowing that the books have been read and as such just doesn't do it any justice. the 1st series did the book well, this one didn't and didn't by a long shot. If you took this as a separate show ignoring the book then yes it is good, a 7/10 but knowing what was in the book this could be a 10/10. HBO do make cracking shows but they have just let themselves down here. fingersTake this score knowing that the books have been read and as such just doesn't do it any justice. the 1st series did the book well, this one didn't and didn't by a long shot. If you took this as a separate show ignoring the book then yes it is good, a 7/10 but knowing what was in the book this could be a 10/10. HBO do make cracking shows but they have just let themselves down here. fingers crossed for the 3rd series. Expand
  62. Jul 27, 2012
    10
    This isn't a tv show, its a long godlike movie split into pieces. Its the best.. whatever it is.. of all time. The quantity here doesn't spoil the quality. If you are any fan of movies, you can't miss it. The second season doesn't disappoint and who cares that its not the same like the books. What that has to do with the quality of the show ?
  63. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    oh my gosh, this is a must see and a must read series.It is so amazing that this series has been kept so in line with the books. Please do not sell the rights of this to the Americans to twist and destroy
  64. Aug 12, 2012
    10
    When I watched the first series I watched them all in a row and was completely hooked. The second series, I read the second book after the first series ended has less of an impact to me because I already knew the plot. Therefore it filled me with great satisfaction that they changed somethings up to keep it interesting for everyone who read the books. I give this show a 10/10 because IWhen I watched the first series I watched them all in a row and was completely hooked. The second series, I read the second book after the first series ended has less of an impact to me because I already knew the plot. Therefore it filled me with great satisfaction that they changed somethings up to keep it interesting for everyone who read the books. I give this show a 10/10 because I love the acting and the plot, I have a little point of criticism though. The episodes directed by Alan Taylor were really slow an I found them the least interesting, luckily he is filming Thor 2 this spring so I have good hopes for season 3. Final thought: WATCH IT!!!!!! Expand
  65. Sep 10, 2012
    7
    Die Storylines sind noch ein bisschen mehr zupflückt und sonst bleibt aber alles gewohnt.
    Ein stellenweise sehr brutales aber immer spannendes Abenteuer von vielen Figuren an vielen Schauplätzen, das von mal zu mal mehr "fantasy" wird.
  66. Sep 16, 2012
    10
    Most amazing show have seen, absolutely enthralling and can't wait to see what happens next. Was sorry to see Sean Bean go out of it so quickly as loved his character but am eager to see what happens to the kids from here.
  67. Sep 23, 2012
    8
    Not as good as Season 1, but still excellent! Tyrion is still a standout but it feels like not very much happened for SOME of the characters (eg; Jon Snow) this season. Still, each episode makes you want to watch the next.
  68. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    It is known, Khaleesi. Game of Thrones 2 is epic, even better than the first season which was definitely a kick-off to what's becoming one of HBO's all time best shows.
  69. Apr 2, 2013
    9
    An absolutely great season that really keeps you guessing. So many twists and turns! It's really rare that I'm surprised, but this show just never fails at keeping me guessing. It'S really great to see how the characters have developed in Season 2. I hope like hell that Joffrey gets what he deserves! What a piece of filth. My hats off to Jack Gleeson for portraying him so well. I don'tAn absolutely great season that really keeps you guessing. So many twists and turns! It's really rare that I'm surprised, but this show just never fails at keeping me guessing. It'S really great to see how the characters have developed in Season 2. I hope like hell that Joffrey gets what he deserves! What a piece of filth. My hats off to Jack Gleeson for portraying him so well. I don't remember ever despising a character so much. Peter Dinklage just keeps impressing. I get that Tyrion Lanniste is far, far from being a saint, I do feel he is one of the few character that is totally relatable, for me at least.

    Overall:
    A fantastic season! MORE! MORE!
    Expand
  70. Mar 15, 2013
    6
    This season is a bit of a disappointment coming off of the fantastic opening season. Too much time spent with Dany pouting in the heat or Jon pouting in the cold. And FAR too much time with Robb's completely uninteresting and pathetically conventional love-interest. Aside from Cersei and Arya whose storylines are borrowed from the novels the show writers seem utterly incapable ofThis season is a bit of a disappointment coming off of the fantastic opening season. Too much time spent with Dany pouting in the heat or Jon pouting in the cold. And FAR too much time with Robb's completely uninteresting and pathetically conventional love-interest. Aside from Cersei and Arya whose storylines are borrowed from the novels the show writers seem utterly incapable of handling female characters. Even so, the King's Landing sequences are solid, with Peter Dinklage owning every scene like a king. Expand
  71. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    Season 2 of Game of Thrones seems to be all about a slow build. So many story arcs, so much mayhem. It all stirs up a thrilling, and at times chilling, adventure through a world I'm committing myself to more and more. Game of Thrones is getting better without resolving to big-budget tricks and tons of action. The character development and constant veering with the story and what youSeason 2 of Game of Thrones seems to be all about a slow build. So many story arcs, so much mayhem. It all stirs up a thrilling, and at times chilling, adventure through a world I'm committing myself to more and more. Game of Thrones is getting better without resolving to big-budget tricks and tons of action. The character development and constant veering with the story and what you think is going to happen keeps everything from being predictable. I like it. I do think this is probably the best thing on TV now. Looking forward to season 3! Expand
  72. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    I have been done with season 2 for a good week now and have tried watching breaking bad, but I just can't stop thinking about game of thrones! Probably my favorite show!
  73. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    As a reader I loved how they handled the large volume of A Clash of Kings. The first book fit very well in a 10 episode framework, and I was worried about how things would be handled as the series has a ton and a half of characters and relationships to track. Consequently, things get quite different from the book, but a slavish devotion to source material would only serve to hamper this tvAs a reader I loved how they handled the large volume of A Clash of Kings. The first book fit very well in a 10 episode framework, and I was worried about how things would be handled as the series has a ton and a half of characters and relationships to track. Consequently, things get quite different from the book, but a slavish devotion to source material would only serve to hamper this tv version, in my opinion. The acting is magnificent and the production is great. I look forward to the next season more than anything on tv! Expand
  74. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    It's amazing that after two seasons, this show is still able to deliver an amazing episode after another. The plot is so complex with so many details, yet coherent. The characters are very rich and deep, and the actors and actresses playing them are top-notch. Twists and turns, emotionally moving scenes, brutal and sometimes sadistic scenes, this show has it all. Fantastic.
  75. May 29, 2014
    9
    The second season continues to be a well-written and completely absorbing medieval/fantasy series. The majority of this season does seem to take one a somewhat slower pace, pushing off a lot of the conflicts until the later seasons, but it's still not afraid to kill off a big character when you least expect it and even features a big battle. Even the show's slower moments are stillThe second season continues to be a well-written and completely absorbing medieval/fantasy series. The majority of this season does seem to take one a somewhat slower pace, pushing off a lot of the conflicts until the later seasons, but it's still not afraid to kill off a big character when you least expect it and even features a big battle. Even the show's slower moments are still enjoyable. I found myself absorbing every line of well-written dialog the characters would say, and becoming completely invested in the world's many different story lines. While it appears that the most blood will be spilled in seasons 3 & 4, this second season still manages to keep me invested in it's every moment. My total score for this season is a 9.3/10=Amazing. Expand
  76. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    An already brilliant series experienced a massive leap in quality in it's second season. Possibly the greatest drama on television, and one of the best of all time.
  77. Jul 14, 2012
    8
    I like this show a great deal. After the first season I couldn't wait: I went right out and bought and read all the books. Now I'm a bit jaded and disappointed with Season 2. But that shouldn't matter. This show really is pretty darn good. My only ONE REAL SERIOUSLY REALLY BAD COMPLAINT: Jon Snow. This guy is just WORTHLESS. In the books he's already pretty damn stupid, but on theI like this show a great deal. After the first season I couldn't wait: I went right out and bought and read all the books. Now I'm a bit jaded and disappointed with Season 2. But that shouldn't matter. This show really is pretty darn good. My only ONE REAL SERIOUSLY REALLY BAD COMPLAINT: Jon Snow. This guy is just WORTHLESS. In the books he's already pretty damn stupid, but on the show he has just become a genital wart on an otherwise damn good show. Expand
  78. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    The best show ever! The sopranos has been demoted to second best show ever in my opinion!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! lol!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  79. Sep 7, 2012
    10
    Simply fantastic. I have read the books, and it is slightly different, but equally good. To the fans who think it's blasphemy for them to change anything from the books, remember that they're WORKING WITH MARTIN. He is helping them along the way, and just because something takes a different path to get to to same result, doesn't make it bad. I liked some scenes better in the books,Simply fantastic. I have read the books, and it is slightly different, but equally good. To the fans who think it's blasphemy for them to change anything from the books, remember that they're WORKING WITH MARTIN. He is helping them along the way, and just because something takes a different path to get to to same result, doesn't make it bad. I liked some scenes better in the books, some better in the show. It's a happy trade off, and more exciting to watch than a word for word adaption to the screen re-telling exactly what I read. Expand
  80. Jun 4, 2012
    9
    This season was even better than the last and the finale is going to make waiting for season 3 even harder to do. This show just builds and builds upon itself improving with every episode.
  81. Sep 5, 2013
    9
    Easily the best show on TV (aside from The Walking Dead but it seems the writers are jumping the shark on that one) and if you can find a better series in the history of HBO cable TV I'd love for you to show me. The only reason I can see people giving this series bad ratings is the constant threat follow through with ending major characters lives. SPOILER Martin loves to do this to hisEasily the best show on TV (aside from The Walking Dead but it seems the writers are jumping the shark on that one) and if you can find a better series in the history of HBO cable TV I'd love for you to show me. The only reason I can see people giving this series bad ratings is the constant threat follow through with ending major characters lives. SPOILER Martin loves to do this to his characters so don't get too attached. Expand
  82. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    Season 2 isn't as good as the first season, but it's still far above most TV dramas. My big problem with Season 2 is that there didn't seem to be much action, but rather a lot of talking and exposition. There was also the story of Daenerys Targaryen which wasn't really given its due until the final episode. But despite this the acting remained top notch, especially the amazing PeterSeason 2 isn't as good as the first season, but it's still far above most TV dramas. My big problem with Season 2 is that there didn't seem to be much action, but rather a lot of talking and exposition. There was also the story of Daenerys Targaryen which wasn't really given its due until the final episode. But despite this the acting remained top notch, especially the amazing Peter Dinklage who deserved his Golden Globe win for his performance as Tyrion Lannister. Then there was the entire episode of Blackwater which is one of the greatest TV episodes I have ever seen, and the great battle scene was better than many that are produced on the big screen. This is still one of the best shows on television. Expand
  83. Jun 4, 2012
    9
    Judged purely on it's merits as a TV show, the Game of Thrones series has so far been one of the most memorable shows to date. I would put it up there with such recent classics like The Sopranos. The first two seasons have shown that HBO still has the ability to put out Elite programming above the rest of the networks. The first two seasons of this epic saga really raise the bar for allJudged purely on it's merits as a TV show, the Game of Thrones series has so far been one of the most memorable shows to date. I would put it up there with such recent classics like The Sopranos. The first two seasons have shown that HBO still has the ability to put out Elite programming above the rest of the networks. The first two seasons of this epic saga really raise the bar for all sorts of production values and I'm very impressed with the quality of acting from most of the characters on the show, in particular Peter Dinklage, who will win his second Emmy for his role as Tyrion. The plot is a different story though. While it's filled with quite a bit of intrigue and treachery, there are FAR too many characters being focused on in this series. These aren't minor characters either. There are consistently 5-7 main storylines going on all at once which really bogs down the show to the point where you barely even see some of the characters in the episode each week, some even being absent entirely. If they could cut out one or two of these stories, things would be so much easier to follow and enjoy. Hell, I'd take a series that just focused on Tyrion, seeing as how he's the most interesting character amongst all of them. I have read the books though and I do know how these things work out, which REALLY makes me excited for the next season, which should be the best season so far, if these production values keep up. Next season, the plot will catch up to the epic promises this show has started to make and truly make this show one of the best ever. Now that this season has ended, people will have plenty of time catching up for next year's epic season. Expand
  84. Jun 1, 2012
    8
    Very good TV series and a wonderful book adaptation. However, sometimes it is marred by some secondary flaws, which make it sometimes a bit dull and boring. Compared to the book, it lacks the magnificence of the final battle and some deeper insights into the character's psychology (e.g. Tyrion). All in all though, even the book lovers will enjoy the show, as it enhances the originalVery good TV series and a wonderful book adaptation. However, sometimes it is marred by some secondary flaws, which make it sometimes a bit dull and boring. Compared to the book, it lacks the magnificence of the final battle and some deeper insights into the character's psychology (e.g. Tyrion). All in all though, even the book lovers will enjoy the show, as it enhances the original version with some interesting elements approved by George R.R. Martin (e.g. some scenes with Arya and Lord Tywin at Harrenhal). Expand
  85. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    Best show on TV. Got the season one box set on Blu Ray and watched 9 out of the 10 episodes in one sitting. I was hooked instantly to the politics and lore of the show. Many twists and turns keep you on your toes at all times. Season two is even better and leaves you anticipating more after each episode. Best show on TV, that's all I can say.
  86. May 28, 2012
    10
    I hate this show so much. It forces me to watch Some times there will be entire episodes where nothing happens. I JUST WANNA KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT. Its the highlight of my week to watch this on Sunday.
  87. Jun 3, 2013
    9
    Some moments of season 2 are among the best I've ever seen on TV. Manages to keep, and sometimes even improve, on the incredible quality of season 1. My personal must-buy bluerays at the moment
  88. Jun 5, 2012
    9
    Before the second season of Game of Thrones began, I decided to read the first book and this gave me an appreciation of how true to George Martin's story the writers stayed with the first season's adaptation. It also helped provide some additional background and detail to the characters in the way that only a several hundred page book can.

    Fresh from sorting out all the loose ends at the
    Before the second season of Game of Thrones began, I decided to read the first book and this gave me an appreciation of how true to George Martin's story the writers stayed with the first season's adaptation. It also helped provide some additional background and detail to the characters in the way that only a several hundred page book can.

    Fresh from sorting out all the loose ends at the end of the last season, the new season begins in earnest with Robb at war with the Lannisters, Tyrion appointed the Hand of King Joffrey, Arya on the road and Daenerys struggling to forge a way home with her infant dragons.

    The season then injects a huge influx of new characters, including Stannis and Renly Barratheon, the township of Qarth, the Tyrell siblings, the house of Greyjoy and Jaqen H'ghar. Certain characters from the first season are given much more screen time this time around, most notably Tywin Lannister, who is superbly played by Charles Dance.

    In covering all the characters, locations and story lines, the scope of the show can only be described as epic. As with all good shows of such grandeur (The Wire and Treme), the writers manage to maintain interest through rich character development and intricate story telling despite the meandering pace of the action. Given the scope of the show, the story arc for each character within each book/season is relatively shallow, for instance, Stannis takes almost all 10 episodes to mount his attack on Kings Landing, Robb sits at camp and really does nothing more than deal with his mother and his new love interest, Jon sets out north of the wall and achieves relatively little and Daenerys enters Qarth and struggles with the local politics, but through the structure of the episodes the writers manage to not make you feel short changed at all as the action progresses.

    The season really belongs to Peter Dinklage, who as Tyrion, with the confidence of his father behind him, really comes into his own as he schemes and plots with the best of them at Joffrey's court. All in all the acting and production is superb, and as a Northerner, I love to hear the broad Northern accents when the action switches to Winterfell and beyond the wall.
    Expand
  89. Jun 5, 2012
    10
    Game of Thrones is my favorite show on tv right now. I was blown away by season 2 (and season 1). Not sure I'll be able to wait almost a year for the next season to be released. I haven't met a person who didn't like the show.
  90. CDQ
    Jun 28, 2012
    10
    As a whole, Season 2 is far superior to Season 1, and that is saying something seeing as I loved Season 1. Game of Thrones is one of the best shows on TV right now. The acting is top notch, and the writing is fantastic. The show is the definition of epic. I dare anyone to watch this, and honestly say they don't like it. If you aren't watching this, you should be.
  91. Sep 10, 2012
    8
    Season 2 of Game of Thrones cannot measure up to perhaps what was my most enjoyable television watching experience in season 1 (still a 9 on my scale, but a 12 on my likable scale). Season 2 drifts away from the adaptation as the world gets bigger and the character more plentiful, it was difficult to squeeze this much content in 10 hours of television, and it showed. Some characters wereSeason 2 of Game of Thrones cannot measure up to perhaps what was my most enjoyable television watching experience in season 1 (still a 9 on my scale, but a 12 on my likable scale). Season 2 drifts away from the adaptation as the world gets bigger and the character more plentiful, it was difficult to squeeze this much content in 10 hours of television, and it showed. Some characters were betrayed a bit by the shifting gears (Tywin stands out as being far softer and less powerful that his season 1 counterpart), while others really shine as they are given most of their pieces from the book (Alfie Allen as Theon was magnificent). All that being said, this season still provided the best episode of the series ("Blackwater" an absolute masterpiece), and I looked forward to each and every episode. I have no doubt the series will continue to deliver in the 3rd season. Expand
  92. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    It is just too good for words. There is just so much awesome in this series. Epic dialogue, epic characters, epic action, epic story! The weakest link in this season would have to be Daenarys' plot, but even with that it is closer to a ten than a nine.
  93. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    It is hard for me to separate my views on this series from those of the book. They may not be fair, but if you have a piece of literature, that may be the best among any fiction ever written, you are bound to try to hold a television show to that standard. That being said this show does a tremendous job of bringing Martin's characters to life and staying true to their personalities andIt is hard for me to separate my views on this series from those of the book. They may not be fair, but if you have a piece of literature, that may be the best among any fiction ever written, you are bound to try to hold a television show to that standard. That being said this show does a tremendous job of bringing Martin's characters to life and staying true to their personalities and arcs. The things that bother me about this show are the same thing that bothered me in season 1. As if there are not enough characters in Westeros to work with, the creators have chosen to create Roslyn, who's only purpose appears to be to have lots of excuses for "sexposition". I'm not a prude, but for me this never advances the story, and I feel there are plenty of other places for people to get their porn.

    What I love about this show is the rich characters and storytelling. This is an enormous world with many plot lines and a huge number of characters. The show has done a great job of engaging us in all of this in a way that doesn't confuse the viewer and keeps us wanting more. The storytelling did stray a little more from the books than in season 1, but still brought us right back to where we need to be going into next season. I think almost everyone agrees that "Blackwater" was the best episode of the season, and one of the best episodes of TV ever. I also thought the finale was extremely well done, and while many were dissatisfied with Dany's story this year, I thought they did a decent job with the growth of her character. The house of the undying came up a bit short compared to the book, but I think they are properly showing her growth and motivation for where her character will end up.

    The most fun this year was at King's Landing where Tyrion was playing chess with his brain power vs. Cyrsei's cunning and Joffrey's brutality. Tyrion remains the best and most interesting character in this show.

    Overall this is one of the best hours on TV, and has kept me reading the books to gobble up all of Westeros that I can.
    Expand
  94. Jul 24, 2012
    10
    By far one of the best shows on TV. It's like Lord of the Rings meets the Sopranos. There's a lot going on so I find myself watching the episodes twice. It's just as good the second time though!
  95. Jun 25, 2012
    9
    As someone who has read the song of ice and fire series, I have to say at first I was a little disappointed with season 2. However, as I started to put aside my preconceived notions about how I thought the show should be adapted. I realized that this was great television at its finest. I have even grown to love some of the changes they have made with the series. All the actors are great,As someone who has read the song of ice and fire series, I have to say at first I was a little disappointed with season 2. However, as I started to put aside my preconceived notions about how I thought the show should be adapted. I realized that this was great television at its finest. I have even grown to love some of the changes they have made with the series. All the actors are great, but the child actors on this show are incredible. I really have grown to love this show and I can't wait to see what is coming in season 3. Expand
  96. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    I always prefer WATCHING over READING. I have not read the books yet but I don't think this is going to change my mind as I hear a lot of people talking that the TV series is not as amazing as books. Anyway, I love this show, one of the BEST TV series. Every character has its own story and true justice has been done to them when it comes to their inclusion in the series. The final episodesI always prefer WATCHING over READING. I have not read the books yet but I don't think this is going to change my mind as I hear a lot of people talking that the TV series is not as amazing as books. Anyway, I love this show, one of the BEST TV series. Every character has its own story and true justice has been done to them when it comes to their inclusion in the series. The final episodes of the series were just epic. I could not wait to watch them and I was biting my fingernails while watching it. Expand
  97. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Game of Thrones really improved over its last season. The quality of the show is still exceptional, but some of the cast, Emilia Clarke and Lena Heady to be specific, really churned out some amazing acting compared to the first season. Cercei really showed a vulnerability and some humanity compared to her hard, bitter facade, and Daenerys got vengefully evil. I like the sides theGame of Thrones really improved over its last season. The quality of the show is still exceptional, but some of the cast, Emilia Clarke and Lena Heady to be specific, really churned out some amazing acting compared to the first season. Cercei really showed a vulnerability and some humanity compared to her hard, bitter facade, and Daenerys got vengefully evil. I like the sides the characters are starting to show. Watch Game of Thrones, even if you don't like medieval fantasy, because the show is really a lot more than that. It's a complex, impressive drama. Expand
  98. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    Another great season of Game of Thrones. This season really managed to buff out some of the rough parts of the first season. The only major complaint is the fact that this season doesn't follow the books as well but the changes that are made to the story make for much better stories for the screen so even that really isn't a problem.
  99. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Best show on TV right now. Season 2 did not live up to season 1 IMO. There were so many characters introduced it was difficult to keep up. Tried to pile too much into 10 episodes. Still worth the watch though. Great TV
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 100
    Is Game of Thrones one of the great HBO series? It's too early to tell, though judged purely as an immense yet improbably graceful narrative machine, I'd have to say yes.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Apr 2, 2012
    67
    Game of Thrones starts less like an epic and more like a session of "Medieval Sims."
  3. Reviewed by: Daynah Burnett
    Apr 2, 2012
    70
    The new episodes present an almost a too intricate meditation on power. Game of Thrones demands that you pay attention or be left behind.