• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1497 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 27, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Season 2 is a bit better than the original season, improving its script quality, storylines and acting. Sean Bean's absence after Eddard's death is not noticed because of acting talent, highlighting Lena Headey, Michelle Fairley, Maisie Williams and Charles Dance. Expand
  2. Mar 30, 2015
    10
    A complex, multi-layered follow-up that doesn't disappoint. The entire cast - not just a select few - lead the story and the audience through the battles, the heartache, the romance. Season two delivers.
  3. Mar 3, 2015
    8
    I think my overall problem with season 2 of Game Of Thrones was the characters. After the death of King Ned (my favorite character) i feel as if we were left with characters that i personally didn't like, or found to **** also i wish there was more Jon Snow. But hey, the faults are overplayed by the positives. Brilliant acting, brilliant cinematography, griping action, gripping conflictI think my overall problem with season 2 of Game Of Thrones was the characters. After the death of King Ned (my favorite character) i feel as if we were left with characters that i personally didn't like, or found to **** also i wish there was more Jon Snow. But hey, the faults are overplayed by the positives. Brilliant acting, brilliant cinematography, griping action, gripping conflict and overall enjoyable story telling. Expand
  4. Feb 3, 2015
    9
    This season is still consistently good all the way through, but i feel it lacks in memorable scenes. That doesn't mean this season is bad, it's still a great watch! Also comes with one of the most beautiful tv and film has seen to date! Still enough twists from the book to keep interesting for readers of the book also!
  5. Dec 16, 2014
    8
    Game of Thrones still captures the imagination in thrilling ways. Game of Thrones remains one of the most fascinating and addictive TV shows available. In season 2 the conspiracy and quest for power continue in great form. We learn more about the troubled, ruthless characters within a drama worthy of critical acclaim. The story expands positively and it feels far from rushed. Game ofGame of Thrones still captures the imagination in thrilling ways. Game of Thrones remains one of the most fascinating and addictive TV shows available. In season 2 the conspiracy and quest for power continue in great form. We learn more about the troubled, ruthless characters within a drama worthy of critical acclaim. The story expands positively and it feels far from rushed. Game of Thrones again delivers consistently, which is the true reason why it creates an addictive nature within the people who watch it. Expand
  6. Dec 7, 2014
    9
    a definite improvement of the previous season, each character has an outstanding personality, all actors are capable and all are seen to be in their rightful places.. beside jon snow.. I don't know if it's just me, but he has absolutely no character traits at the moment, beside, moody and aggressive, I don't really know if that's what theyre going for, but he has hardly any dialogue and ita definite improvement of the previous season, each character has an outstanding personality, all actors are capable and all are seen to be in their rightful places.. beside jon snow.. I don't know if it's just me, but he has absolutely no character traits at the moment, beside, moody and aggressive, I don't really know if that's what theyre going for, but he has hardly any dialogue and it makes me feel as if anyone could portray his character... this is an outstanding season, I loved it from beginning to end and I felt as if Game of Thrones has never been better once it got to episode 9, the 2 final episodes are definitely the highlights of this season. Expand
  7. Oct 2, 2014
    9
    Так он сказал, так он сказал, из Кастамере лорд. С тех пор лишь дождь в пустынный зал по лорду слезы льет.
  8. Sep 23, 2014
    9
    NEEDLESS injection of PORN

    10% of series 2 must be fast forward to avoid scandalizing with filth.

    The rich characters are expanded and forward leaning to cliff hanger expansion of subtext.
  9. Aug 19, 2014
    10
    A complex, multi-layered follow-up that doesn't disappoint. The entire cast - not just a select few - lead the story and the audience through the battles, the heartache, the romance. Season two delivers.
  10. Jul 28, 2014
    7
    During its second season, "Game of Thrones" shows how many details of a story can be cut out in a film. The show exploits its ten 1-hour episodes to balance between action and character development. There are good performances, stunning visuals and the whole production is really exceptional, but it sometimes feels too slow-paced. There is as much violence as porn, that contributes (perhapsDuring its second season, "Game of Thrones" shows how many details of a story can be cut out in a film. The show exploits its ten 1-hour episodes to balance between action and character development. There are good performances, stunning visuals and the whole production is really exceptional, but it sometimes feels too slow-paced. There is as much violence as porn, that contributes (perhaps excessively) to the show's realistic look. The plot is still too generic, the twists seem to be an end in itself and many comments on political and social issues are overwhelmed by the writer's passion for plot surprises that are actually worthless.

    P.S.: Episode 9 seems so good as if it had been extracted from an Lord-of-the-Rings-style multi-million. blockbuster.
    Expand
  11. Jul 10, 2014
    10
    Sin duda, la mejor temporada hasta ahora. Superó a la primera pero para mi aun no ha sido superada ni por la tercera (que fue mas lenta) ni por la cuarta. Aquí comenzaron los malos rollos, las batallas importantes y las relaciones amor/odio. El capítulo de la Batalla del Aguasnegras es uno de los mejores de toda la serie.
  12. Jul 1, 2014
    10
    The best TV show of all time. Highlights from the season:

    Daenerys in Qarth, Pyat Pree, Xaro, The House of The Undying
    Joffery being an abusively $*(%&(#
    Blackwater Bay!
  13. Jun 27, 2014
    8
    Season 2 takes a slower pace, yet continuous to remain one of the best show on t.v. Season 2 is definitely more about character and set building alone with drama however, we are still provided with awesome combat scenes. This big budget series has one of the best actress and scripts I have seen to data, which can rival block buster movies. I'm hocked.
  14. May 29, 2014
    9
    The second season continues to be a well-written and completely absorbing medieval/fantasy series. The majority of this season does seem to take one a somewhat slower pace, pushing off a lot of the conflicts until the later seasons, but it's still not afraid to kill off a big character when you least expect it and even features a big battle. Even the show's slower moments are stillThe second season continues to be a well-written and completely absorbing medieval/fantasy series. The majority of this season does seem to take one a somewhat slower pace, pushing off a lot of the conflicts until the later seasons, but it's still not afraid to kill off a big character when you least expect it and even features a big battle. Even the show's slower moments are still enjoyable. I found myself absorbing every line of well-written dialog the characters would say, and becoming completely invested in the world's many different story lines. While it appears that the most blood will be spilled in seasons 3 & 4, this second season still manages to keep me invested in it's every moment. My total score for this season is a 9.3/10=Amazing. Expand
  15. May 28, 2014
    10
    For me this is the season where GoT picks up the pace. I didn't like season 1 as much as other people but this season of Game of Thrones was spectacular and made me realize that Game of thrones is the best tv show ever made. This is spectacular at every detail.........every nook and corner.....A spectacle of perfection.The Best episode was Black water and it is one of the best episodesFor me this is the season where GoT picks up the pace. I didn't like season 1 as much as other people but this season of Game of Thrones was spectacular and made me realize that Game of thrones is the best tv show ever made. This is spectacular at every detail.........every nook and corner.....A spectacle of perfection.The Best episode was Black water and it is one of the best episodes I've ever seen. HBO is the best and Game of Thrones proves that. Expand
  16. Apr 11, 2014
    7
    Season 2 of Game of Thrones is a middle chapter in the series. New characters are introduced, and there are moments of awe here and there, but from the three seasons so far, it is definitely the weakest. The only things that make it non-skipable are the Baratheon brothers' rivalry plot, the Theon Greyjoy family reunion and backstab to the Starks plot, and of course, the outrageous andSeason 2 of Game of Thrones is a middle chapter in the series. New characters are introduced, and there are moments of awe here and there, but from the three seasons so far, it is definitely the weakest. The only things that make it non-skipable are the Baratheon brothers' rivalry plot, the Theon Greyjoy family reunion and backstab to the Starks plot, and of course, the outrageous and weirdly satisfying sex and violence. It is also the season where Danaerys Targaryen (Emilia Clarke) turns into the real star of the show, with a mind-blowing performance and a character that keeps dragging me into her. Watch it for the characters, stay for the blood and the boobs (Hope that didn't sound disgusting but come on, the show's boobs are top notch). Expand
  17. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    Esta segunda temporada es tan brillante como la primera, se preparan los reinos de los Stark, Lannister, Baratheon, las dos primeras por la venganza de la muerte del señor de invernalia por parte de los lannister, segundo el conflicto civil entre los Baratheon por el control del trono de hierro, no hay que olvidar las aventuras y desventuras que rodena a otros personaje de la serie y porEsta segunda temporada es tan brillante como la primera, se preparan los reinos de los Stark, Lannister, Baratheon, las dos primeras por la venganza de la muerte del señor de invernalia por parte de los lannister, segundo el conflicto civil entre los Baratheon por el control del trono de hierro, no hay que olvidar las aventuras y desventuras que rodena a otros personaje de la serie y por supuesto ese increible episodio 9. Expand
  18. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    When people start writing the characters before anything else, and drive the story from there; only then will we get writing as captivating as the books from A Song of Ice and Fire. Writers have a lot to learn, from the series and from the books. Watch it for pleasure, and if you can, take in how well everything was built.
  19. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    Game of Thrones was something I frowned upon at first, friends told me what it was and I kind of shrugged it off. Biggest mistake ever.

    This show is absolutely everything I wanted in a TV series for such a very long time. Absolutely amazing photography & cinematography, brilliant music & audio plus the amazing actors and crew which build one hell of a story to tell. The 3 seasons of
    Game of Thrones was something I frowned upon at first, friends told me what it was and I kind of shrugged it off. Biggest mistake ever.

    This show is absolutely everything I wanted in a TV series for such a very long time. Absolutely amazing photography & cinematography, brilliant music & audio plus the amazing actors and crew which build one hell of a story to tell. The 3 seasons of this so far have kept me gripped and interested the entire journey, and the fourth season is only just around the corner now!

    I highly recommend this!
    Expand
  20. Jan 26, 2014
    10
    A tremendous follow up to the first season, and more of Peter Dinklage is like a cherry on top, except for those who don't like cherries, but you'll still love him anyway. The whole cast in enticing, the writing probably the best I've seen in a fantasy, and the effects are astounding. It's a show that'll never tire.
  21. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    Season 2 of GOT adds a lot more characters, action, sadism, and mystery compared to its predecessor; this results in what I feel is thus far the best season of the series (Including season 3 as well). Many have complained that season 2 does not follow the source material as closely, I can't judge too much because I have not finished reading book two however, I'm sure my feelings of thisSeason 2 of GOT adds a lot more characters, action, sadism, and mystery compared to its predecessor; this results in what I feel is thus far the best season of the series (Including season 3 as well). Many have complained that season 2 does not follow the source material as closely, I can't judge too much because I have not finished reading book two however, I'm sure my feelings of this season will be unhinged even after completing the novel. Expand
  22. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    Everybody already stated why this show is amazing, but what i love about it is how many times i can rewatch the episodes and still feel the same was as the first time i watch it.. episode "blackwater" is my favorite tv episode of all time.. and i watched it over 20 times lol
  23. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    the second game of thrones season continued with the pace that the first season ended, yet it had one of the best final season of all time,unless there is less deaths then the first season.
  24. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    It's amazing that after two seasons, this show is still able to deliver an amazing episode after another. The plot is so complex with so many details, yet coherent. The characters are very rich and deep, and the actors and actresses playing them are top-notch. Twists and turns, emotionally moving scenes, brutal and sometimes sadistic scenes, this show has it all. Fantastic.
  25. Sep 29, 2013
    8
    I don't think this season was as great as season one. "Blackwater" might be the best episode of the entire series, but I don't think the rest was quite up to the standard seen in season 1 and later season 3. And the book changes that bothered me most were in this season. I understand the need for some changes, but this season took it too far. Still, the acting, writing, and sceneryI don't think this season was as great as season one. "Blackwater" might be the best episode of the entire series, but I don't think the rest was quite up to the standard seen in season 1 and later season 3. And the book changes that bothered me most were in this season. I understand the need for some changes, but this season took it too far. Still, the acting, writing, and scenery were incredible as always. The complaints I have are ultimately minor and don't take too much away from my enjoyment. Definitely better than the vast majority of tv shows. Expand
  26. Sep 25, 2013
    8
    Having just watched ep 9, I truly feel this series gets it just right. Acting, production values, plot, intrigue are all in line with the feel and tone of the book, but a little low than season 1
  27. Sep 16, 2013
    9
    Cómo la web me pide un mínimo de 150 caracteres, y necesito hacer el review para poder tenerla archivada en mi perfil, pues suelto este rollitito y mi votación es de 9. Un saludo.
  28. Sep 5, 2013
    9
    Easily the best show on TV (aside from The Walking Dead but it seems the writers are jumping the shark on that one) and if you can find a better series in the history of HBO cable TV I'd love for you to show me. The only reason I can see people giving this series bad ratings is the constant threat follow through with ending major characters lives. SPOILER Martin loves to do this to hisEasily the best show on TV (aside from The Walking Dead but it seems the writers are jumping the shark on that one) and if you can find a better series in the history of HBO cable TV I'd love for you to show me. The only reason I can see people giving this series bad ratings is the constant threat follow through with ending major characters lives. SPOILER Martin loves to do this to his characters so don't get too attached. Expand
  29. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    Constant build up is what we get. Constant build up leaving us in a perpetual state of fascination and dread as the secrets of Westeros keep piling up and the character roster keeps building. There's plenty of suspense, intertwining complex stories, emotional payoff, beautiful imagery, excellent performances, expert writing, uncovering mysteries, and the story whose route is constantlyConstant build up is what we get. Constant build up leaving us in a perpetual state of fascination and dread as the secrets of Westeros keep piling up and the character roster keeps building. There's plenty of suspense, intertwining complex stories, emotional payoff, beautiful imagery, excellent performances, expert writing, uncovering mysteries, and the story whose route is constantly taking dramatic shifts, though it's getting to the point where we all know it will eventually end up, though nobody wants to admit what we know will eventually be the inevitable outcome. Expand
  30. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    Another great season of Game of Thrones. This season really managed to buff out some of the rough parts of the first season. The only major complaint is the fact that this season doesn't follow the books as well but the changes that are made to the story make for much better stories for the screen so even that really isn't a problem.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 100
    Is Game of Thrones one of the great HBO series? It's too early to tell, though judged purely as an immense yet improbably graceful narrative machine, I'd have to say yes.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Apr 2, 2012
    67
    Game of Thrones starts less like an epic and more like a session of "Medieval Sims."
  3. Reviewed by: Daynah Burnett
    Apr 2, 2012
    70
    The new episodes present an almost a too intricate meditation on power. Game of Thrones demands that you pay attention or be left behind.