Game of Thrones : Season 2

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Game of Thrones Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 2035 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The Seven Kingdoms are at war with three kings claiming the Iron Throne: Joffrey Baratheon, Renly Baratheon, and Robb Stark. Jon Snow and the Night Watch seek to discover who the mysterious people living north of The Wall are. In the East, Daenerys Targaryen plans her move to return toThe Seven Kingdoms are at war with three kings claiming the Iron Throne: Joffrey Baratheon, Renly Baratheon, and Robb Stark. Jon Snow and the Night Watch seek to discover who the mysterious people living north of The Wall are. In the East, Daenerys Targaryen plans her move to return to Westeros and claim the throne for herself. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Fantasy

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Mar 29, 2012
    100
    The characters bring us into the action and, once there, we want to follow every development.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Mar 30, 2012
    100
    Once you get back in the rhythm of this enthrallingly sprawling, lusty and brutal saga, flaunting enough sex and violence to make a Hobbit faint, it's impossible not to succumb to Thrones' visceral, dark magic.
  3. 100
    Is Game of Thrones one of the great HBO series? It's too early to tell, though judged purely as an immense yet improbably graceful narrative machine, I'd have to say yes.
  4. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Mar 26, 2012
    91
    It's another level of pop culture wizardry to make such storytelling seem so vivid, so vital, and just plain fun.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Mar 27, 2012
    90
    HBO has the ingredients for a series that puts nearly every other genre offering to shame.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Mar 29, 2012
    83
    It's all a lot to swallow, let alone digest. But Game of Thrones nonetheless is an undertaking worth applauding for its audacity if not always for its overall senses of direction or cohesion.
  7. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Mar 29, 2012
    40
    The new season of this dense medieval fantasy set in a land called Westeros serves up a whole bunch of wartime posturing, a seemingly endless number of would-be rulers and the usual sex and (sometimes in the same scene) violence. But it sure doesn't give viewers much to latch onto.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 149
  1. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    Game of Thrones is the best series in TV. The story is just astounding and addicting. If you see the first episode then you become a fan rightGame of Thrones is the best series in TV. The story is just astounding and addicting. If you see the first episode then you become a fan right away. Each and every single one of characters have a rich personality and amazing acting abilities. Expand
  2. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    There isn't much to say about this show that hasn't already been said. The characters are dynamic and deep, the multiple plot concept keepsThere isn't much to say about this show that hasn't already been said. The characters are dynamic and deep, the multiple plot concept keeps audience members on the edge of their seats as twists and turns of beautiful written work comes to reality. Expand
  3. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    I have been done with season 2 for a good week now and have tried watching breaking bad, but I just can't stop thinking about game of thrones!I have been done with season 2 for a good week now and have tried watching breaking bad, but I just can't stop thinking about game of thrones! Probably my favorite show! Expand
  4. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    I unfortunately had the first part of this season spoiled for me. Knowing the result of the ensuing battles is a bit of a letdown, yet somehowI unfortunately had the first part of this season spoiled for me. Knowing the result of the ensuing battles is a bit of a letdown, yet somehow I had forgotten all about that during the 1 hour episode that lead off this season. It's a testament to the quality of the show, where acting, set design and writing take precedence over everything else. Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    I got free HBO for a month and this was so good I watched 2 seasons in 2 days. I will let it lapse but will pay for it once this series comesI got free HBO for a month and this was so good I watched 2 seasons in 2 days. I will let it lapse but will pay for it once this series comes back, much as I do with Showtime when Dexter and Homeland are airing. The first episode was confusing without having read the books but I'm glad I persevered. Great story, stellar production values, a believable and scary "universe" and not at all predictable. Almost all the characters are interesting and none of the performances suck. Even the child actors impressed me. Peter Dinklage stands out, in part because his character is fascinating and has a lot of the best lines, but also because he is so damned good. It's not hard to find good actors if you make an effort but finding a dwarf-size actor this talented was an incredible stroke of luck for the series. I will have to check out everything else he's been in. His timing is impeccable, every choice he makes as an actor is perfect and he has charisma I would have thought impossible. I guess that makes me prejudiced, but projecting sexuality is not an easy thing for a man who is less than 5 feet fall. I am SO impressed, both with the series and with Mr. Dinklage. Expand
  6. Nov 24, 2015
    9
    The show takes off where season 1 ended, naturally evolving the storyline and the characters while maintaining the intense and extreme qualityThe show takes off where season 1 ended, naturally evolving the storyline and the characters while maintaining the intense and extreme quality of the production values. On top of this, a bunch of new, interesting, well-acted characters are introduced to the storyline, alongside new plots. The writing is fantastic and while some slow parts in the season existed, it was very, very good. Expand
  7. Jul 19, 2012
    0
    What a great disappointment. A lot of things have been changed from the books to accommodate the sentiment of the viewers the publishers areWhat a great disappointment. A lot of things have been changed from the books to accommodate the sentiment of the viewers the publishers are trying to woo. 1/10 for this compromising piece of **** Expand

See all 149 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2016

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2016 Image
    Published: January 5, 2017
    The results of our 7th annual user poll are in! Find out which albums, movies, TV shows, and games were the favorites of the Metacritic community in 2016.
  2. 2016 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews

    2016 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews Image
    Published: September 18, 2016
    Find reviews of the Jimmy Kimmel-hosted telecast, a list of this year's Emmy winners, and a check of the accuracy of expert and user predictions.
  3. 2016 Emmy Nominations

    2016 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 14, 2016
    Get a full list of nominees for the 68th Primetime Emmy Awards in every major category.
  4. Spring TV Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Shows

    Spring TV Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Shows Image
    Published: March 2, 2016
    Preview 30 intriguing shows scheduled to debut between now and early May, including the returns of Game of Thrones and The Americans and the season's most promising newcomers.
  5. 2015 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews

    2015 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews Image
    Published: September 20, 2015
    View a complete list of this year's Emmy winners, get reviews of the broadcast from TV critics, and find out how accurate expert and user predictions turned out to be.
  6. Best TV Shows of the 2014-15 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2014-15 Season Image
    Published: August 12, 2015
    We reveal the top TV programs of the 2014-15 season, including the shows receiving the most award nominations as well as the highest grades from critics.
  7. 2015 Emmy Nominations

    2015 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 16, 2015
    Find a complete guide to the just-announced nominations for the 67th Primetime Emmy Awards.
  8. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2014

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2014 Image
    Published: January 7, 2015
    The results are in! Find out which video games, movies, TV shows, albums, and songs were the favorites among Metacritic users in 2014.
  9. Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 9, 2014
    What were critics' favorite television shows of 2014? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as the overall standings ... and check back here for daily updates throughout the month.
  10. Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books

    Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books Image
    Published: August 13, 2014
    The trend of adapting the written word to the small screen has been accelerating in recent years, and especially this summer, when nine such shows will launch. We look back at the best and worst TV adaptations of books from the past 30 years.
  11. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  12. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  13. Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 4 Finale

    Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 4 Finale Image
    Published: June 16, 2014
    What are critics saying about last night's Game of Thrones finale? The first reviews are in.
  14. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).
  15. Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 4, 2013
    Saturday night, TV critics and journalists announced the winners of their 29th annual awards. Inside, get a complete list of the shows and performers who won.
  16. 2013 Emmy Nominations

    2013 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 18, 2013
    Get a full list of this year's Emmy nominees in every major category, with analysis, a look at this year's snubs and surprises, and more.
  17. Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners Image
    Published: July 29, 2012
    "Louie," "Game of Thrones," and "Homeland" were the big winners Saturday night when the Television Critics Association announced the recipients of the 28th Annual TCA Awards. Get the full list of winners inside.
  18. Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 2 Finale

    Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 2 Finale Image
    Published: June 4, 2012
    What are critics saying about "Valar Morghulis," last night's second-season finale for HBO's hit Game of Thrones? Find out inside, where we've collected their comments about this week's episode and the season as a whole.
  19. Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 7, 2011
    Saturday, the Television Critics Association handed out their annual awards to the best TV shows and actors of the past year, including a pair of trophies for AMC's "Mad Men." Get a complete list of winners and nominees inside.
  20. 2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2011
    It's time for our annual look at the best and worst of the past television season. Find out which first-year broadcast and cable shows impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.