• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1555 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Seven Kingdoms are at war with three kings claiming the Iron Throne: Joffrey Baratheon, Renly Baratheon, and Robb Stark. Jon Snow and the Night Watch seek to discover who the mysterious people living north of The Wall are. In the East, Daenerys Targaryen plans her move to return toThe Seven Kingdoms are at war with three kings claiming the Iron Throne: Joffrey Baratheon, Renly Baratheon, and Robb Stark. Jon Snow and the Night Watch seek to discover who the mysterious people living north of The Wall are. In the East, Daenerys Targaryen plans her move to return to Westeros and claim the throne for herself. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Fantasy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Mar 29, 2012
    100
    The characters bring us into the action and, once there, we want to follow every development.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Mar 30, 2012
    100
    Once you get back in the rhythm of this enthrallingly sprawling, lusty and brutal saga, flaunting enough sex and violence to make a Hobbit faint, it's impossible not to succumb to Thrones' visceral, dark magic.
  3. 100
    Is Game of Thrones one of the great HBO series? It's too early to tell, though judged purely as an immense yet improbably graceful narrative machine, I'd have to say yes.
  4. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Mar 26, 2012
    91
    It's another level of pop culture wizardry to make such storytelling seem so vivid, so vital, and just plain fun.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Mar 27, 2012
    90
    HBO has the ingredients for a series that puts nearly every other genre offering to shame.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Mar 29, 2012
    83
    It's all a lot to swallow, let alone digest. But Game of Thrones nonetheless is an undertaking worth applauding for its audacity if not always for its overall senses of direction or cohesion.
  7. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Mar 29, 2012
    40
    The new season of this dense medieval fantasy set in a land called Westeros serves up a whole bunch of wartime posturing, a seemingly endless number of would-be rulers and the usual sex and (sometimes in the same scene) violence. But it sure doesn't give viewers much to latch onto.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 132
  1. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    Game of Thrones is the best series in TV. The story is just astounding and addicting. If you see the first episode then you become a fan rightGame of Thrones is the best series in TV. The story is just astounding and addicting. If you see the first episode then you become a fan right away. Each and every single one of characters have a rich personality and amazing acting abilities. Expand
  2. Apr 21, 2012
    10
    This show takes everything that humans have learned about good storytelling and film making then adds to it. You DON"T have to be a geek toThis show takes everything that humans have learned about good storytelling and film making then adds to it. You DON"T have to be a geek to love it - the characters are real and unique. You DON"T have to be a man to love it - it is not hyper violent - there are swords and armies but most of the gore is shown briefly or skipped. Neither is there just eye candy for men(like bay watch). There is sex and there are pretty characters, but they are realistically depicted (considering context) and aren't glossed over into teeny boy softcore (as some errant critics would lead you to believe. You DON"T have to be super-smart to love it (though it does ask more of the viewer than most shows - a good thing for 90% of us). You DO have to start at the beginning - it's a movie in the fifteenth hour. You DO have to remember what happened last episode. You DO have to be thick skinned - some terrible things are portrayed and if you take what you watch personally or are easily offended then the story is simply not for you. For most people this show will be one of the best things they'e ever seen. It is for me. Expand
  3. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    I have been done with season 2 for a good week now and have tried watching breaking bad, but I just can't stop thinking about game of thrones!I have been done with season 2 for a good week now and have tried watching breaking bad, but I just can't stop thinking about game of thrones! Probably my favorite show! Expand
  4. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    I didn't like Rome or Spartacus much but this show gets beyond just violence in olden days and delves into an Earth like middle ages where menI didn't like Rome or Spartacus much but this show gets beyond just violence in olden days and delves into an Earth like middle ages where men are men and power rules, and the women are pretty amazing too. It's dark, well scripted, characters are deep, and morality raises it's head on occasions. Almost all the actors are from the UK (save Dinklage, who is my favorite character), and that's the way it should be. They have access to so many varied english accents. Expand
  5. Jun 25, 2012
    9
    As someone who has read the song of ice and fire series, I have to say at first I was a little disappointed with season 2. However, as IAs someone who has read the song of ice and fire series, I have to say at first I was a little disappointed with season 2. However, as I started to put aside my preconceived notions about how I thought the show should be adapted. I realized that this was great television at its finest. I have even grown to love some of the changes they have made with the series. All the actors are great, but the child actors on this show are incredible. I really have grown to love this show and I can't wait to see what is coming in season 3. Expand
  6. May 17, 2012
    9
    Still loving this show, a bit too much on the 'porny' side. I don't like some of the changes they made to 'enhance' a certain evil king, but IStill loving this show, a bit too much on the 'porny' side. I don't like some of the changes they made to 'enhance' a certain evil king, but I still love the show.

    Twists and turns abound. :)
    Expand
  7. Jul 19, 2012
    0
    What a great disappointment. A lot of things have been changed from the books to accommodate the sentiment of the viewers the publishers areWhat a great disappointment. A lot of things have been changed from the books to accommodate the sentiment of the viewers the publishers are trying to woo. 1/10 for this compromising piece of **** Expand

See all 132 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2014

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2014 Image
    Published: January 7, 2015
    The results are in! Find out which video games, movies, TV shows, albums, and songs were the favorites among Metacritic users in 2014.
  2. Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 9, 2014
    What were critics' favorite television shows of 2014? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as the overall standings ... and check back here for daily updates throughout the month.
  3. Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books

    Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books Image
    Published: August 13, 2014
    The trend of adapting the written word to the small screen has been accelerating in recent years, and especially this summer, when nine such shows will launch. We look back at the best and worst TV adaptations of books from the past 30 years.
  4. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  5. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  6. Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 4 Finale

    Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 4 Finale Image
    Published: June 16, 2014
    What are critics saying about last night's Game of Thrones finale? The first reviews are in.
  7. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).
  8. Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 4, 2013
    Saturday night, TV critics and journalists announced the winners of their 29th annual awards. Inside, get a complete list of the shows and performers who won.
  9. 2013 Emmy Nominations

    2013 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 18, 2013
    Get a full list of this year's Emmy nominees in every major category, with analysis, a look at this year's snubs and surprises, and more.
  10. Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners Image
    Published: July 29, 2012
    "Louie," "Game of Thrones," and "Homeland" were the big winners Saturday night when the Television Critics Association announced the recipients of the 28th Annual TCA Awards. Get the full list of winners inside.
  11. Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 2 Finale

    Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 2 Finale Image
    Published: June 4, 2012
    What are critics saying about "Valar Morghulis," last night's second-season finale for HBO's hit Game of Thrones? Find out inside, where we've collected their comments about this week's episode and the season as a whole.
  12. Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 7, 2011
    Saturday, the Television Critics Association handed out their annual awards to the best TV shows and actors of the past year, including a pair of trophies for AMC's "Mad Men." Get a complete list of winners and nominees inside.
  13. 2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2011
    It's time for our annual look at the best and worst of the past television season. Find out which first-year broadcast and cable shows impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.