• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1390 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Seven Kingdoms are at war with three kings claiming the Iron Throne: Joffrey Baratheon, Renly Baratheon, and Robb Stark. Jon Snow and the Night Watch seek to discover who the mysterious people living north of The Wall are. In the East, Daenerys Targaryen plans her move to return toThe Seven Kingdoms are at war with three kings claiming the Iron Throne: Joffrey Baratheon, Renly Baratheon, and Robb Stark. Jon Snow and the Night Watch seek to discover who the mysterious people living north of The Wall are. In the East, Daenerys Targaryen plans her move to return to Westeros and claim the throne for herself. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Fantasy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Mar 29, 2012
    100
    The characters bring us into the action and, once there, we want to follow every development.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Mar 30, 2012
    100
    Once you get back in the rhythm of this enthrallingly sprawling, lusty and brutal saga, flaunting enough sex and violence to make a Hobbit faint, it's impossible not to succumb to Thrones' visceral, dark magic.
  3. 100
    Is Game of Thrones one of the great HBO series? It's too early to tell, though judged purely as an immense yet improbably graceful narrative machine, I'd have to say yes.
  4. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Mar 26, 2012
    91
    It's another level of pop culture wizardry to make such storytelling seem so vivid, so vital, and just plain fun.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Mar 27, 2012
    90
    HBO has the ingredients for a series that puts nearly every other genre offering to shame.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Mar 29, 2012
    83
    It's all a lot to swallow, let alone digest. But Game of Thrones nonetheless is an undertaking worth applauding for its audacity if not always for its overall senses of direction or cohesion.
  7. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Mar 29, 2012
    40
    The new season of this dense medieval fantasy set in a land called Westeros serves up a whole bunch of wartime posturing, a seemingly endless number of would-be rulers and the usual sex and (sometimes in the same scene) violence. But it sure doesn't give viewers much to latch onto.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 128
  1. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    Game of Thrones is the best series in TV. The story is just astounding and addicting. If you see the first episode then you become a fan rightGame of Thrones is the best series in TV. The story is just astounding and addicting. If you see the first episode then you become a fan right away. Each and every single one of characters have a rich personality and amazing acting abilities. Expand
  2. Apr 21, 2012
    10
    This show takes everything that humans have learned about good storytelling and film making then adds to it. You DON"T have to be a geek toThis show takes everything that humans have learned about good storytelling and film making then adds to it. You DON"T have to be a geek to love it - the characters are real and unique. You DON"T have to be a man to love it - it is not hyper violent - there are swords and armies but most of the gore is shown briefly or skipped. Neither is there just eye candy for men(like bay watch). There is sex and there are pretty characters, but they are realistically depicted (considering context) and aren't glossed over into teeny boy softcore (as some errant critics would lead you to believe. You DON"T have to be super-smart to love it (though it does ask more of the viewer than most shows - a good thing for 90% of us). You DO have to start at the beginning - it's a movie in the fifteenth hour. You DO have to remember what happened last episode. You DO have to be thick skinned - some terrible things are portrayed and if you take what you watch personally or are easily offended then the story is simply not for you. For most people this show will be one of the best things they'e ever seen. It is for me. Expand
  3. Jul 24, 2012
    10
    By far one of the best shows on TV. It's like Lord of the Rings meets the Sopranos. There's a lot going on so I find myself watching theBy far one of the best shows on TV. It's like Lord of the Rings meets the Sopranos. There's a lot going on so I find myself watching the episodes twice. It's just as good the second time though! Expand
  4. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    I first thought that this season would be awesome. Then I remembered the third book, and oh well, it's gonna get even better. I'm alreadyI first thought that this season would be awesome. Then I remembered the third book, and oh well, it's gonna get even better. I'm already dying to see the next episode. An incredible epic saga to be remembered. Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    I got free HBO for a month and this was so good I watched 2 seasons in 2 days. I will let it lapse but will pay for it once this series comesI got free HBO for a month and this was so good I watched 2 seasons in 2 days. I will let it lapse but will pay for it once this series comes back, much as I do with Showtime when Dexter and Homeland are airing. The first episode was confusing without having read the books but I'm glad I persevered. Great story, stellar production values, a believable and scary "universe" and not at all predictable. Almost all the characters are interesting and none of the performances suck. Even the child actors impressed me. Peter Dinklage stands out, in part because his character is fascinating and has a lot of the best lines, but also because he is so damned good. It's not hard to find good actors if you make an effort but finding a dwarf-size actor this talented was an incredible stroke of luck for the series. I will have to check out everything else he's been in. His timing is impeccable, every choice he makes as an actor is perfect and he has charisma I would have thought impossible. I guess that makes me prejudiced, but projecting sexuality is not an easy thing for a man who is less than 5 feet fall. I am SO impressed, both with the series and with Mr. Dinklage. Expand
  6. Apr 2, 2013
    9
    An absolutely great season that really keeps you guessing. So many twists and turns! It's really rare that I'm surprised, but this show justAn absolutely great season that really keeps you guessing. So many twists and turns! It's really rare that I'm surprised, but this show just never fails at keeping me guessing. It'S really great to see how the characters have developed in Season 2. I hope like hell that Joffrey gets what he deserves! What a piece of filth. My hats off to Jack Gleeson for portraying him so well. I don't remember ever despising a character so much. Peter Dinklage just keeps impressing. I get that Tyrion Lanniste is far, far from being a saint, I do feel he is one of the few character that is totally relatable, for me at least.

    Overall:
    A fantastic season! MORE! MORE!
    Expand
  7. Jul 19, 2012
    0
    What a great disappointment. A lot of things have been changed from the books to accommodate the sentiment of the viewers the publishers areWhat a great disappointment. A lot of things have been changed from the books to accommodate the sentiment of the viewers the publishers are trying to woo. 1/10 for this compromising piece of **** Expand

See all 128 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books

    Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books Image
    Published: August 13, 2014
    The trend of adapting the written word to the small screen has been accelerating in recent years, and especially this summer, when nine such shows will launch. We look back at the best and worst TV adaptations of books from the past 30 years.
  2. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  3. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  4. Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 4 Finale

    Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 4 Finale Image
    Published: June 16, 2014
    What are critics saying about last night's Game of Thrones finale? The first reviews are in.
  5. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).
  6. Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 4, 2013
    Saturday night, TV critics and journalists announced the winners of their 29th annual awards. Inside, get a complete list of the shows and performers who won.
  7. 2013 Emmy Nominations

    2013 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 18, 2013
    Get a full list of this year's Emmy nominees in every major category, with analysis, a look at this year's snubs and surprises, and more.
  8. Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners Image
    Published: July 29, 2012
    "Louie," "Game of Thrones," and "Homeland" were the big winners Saturday night when the Television Critics Association announced the recipients of the 28th Annual TCA Awards. Get the full list of winners inside.
  9. Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 2 Finale

    Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 2 Finale Image
    Published: June 4, 2012
    What are critics saying about "Valar Morghulis," last night's second-season finale for HBO's hit Game of Thrones? Find out inside, where we've collected their comments about this week's episode and the season as a whole.
  10. Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 7, 2011
    Saturday, the Television Critics Association handed out their annual awards to the best TV shows and actors of the past year, including a pair of trophies for AMC's "Mad Men." Get a complete list of winners and nominees inside.
  11. 2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2011
    It's time for our annual look at the best and worst of the past television season. Find out which first-year broadcast and cable shows impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.