• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 1690 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 15, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I just finished the third Season and am not happy. As always, I love how deep and strong every character feels. The visuals are awesome as always, the actors brilliant!
    But, I hate you George R. R. Martin, you fat **** What the flying **** What is wrong with you. My brain wants to explode, my mouth and soul wants to scream, that your ears are going to fall off. Why is so much **** happening to the Starks, but in return, nothing happens to their enemies?
    I love that the "Evil" is having the upper hand for once in a movie or a show. But seriously. Why is this happening to Robb, to his wife, to Catelyn and all other Starks? This is just...I cant even describe my sadness, anger and my disbelief in the plot and things that happened! I freaking love plot-twists but I just hope, that some real **** is going to happen to the Lannister's and Frey's!
    Iam still enjoying the show, every season a bit more and Iam very excited of what is going to happen next!
    Expand
  2. May 27, 2015
    9
    In this season we follow some of the most interesting story lines yet, and season 3 can also proudly boast one of the greatest climaxes in tv history. What makes this show so special is its depth of characters. It can kill off one of the key characters to the whole show, and yet still come back stronger than ever time and time again.
  3. May 22, 2015
    9
    This is an amazing show with lots of character development, story development, action, drama, suspense, drama, romance and fantasy. There are a colorful cast of characters in this series. Meshes well between medieval type of setting with some modern style themes (such as language). There is some nudity and sexual scenes but not that much. Can be gruesome in terms of its content but its aThis is an amazing show with lots of character development, story development, action, drama, suspense, drama, romance and fantasy. There are a colorful cast of characters in this series. Meshes well between medieval type of setting with some modern style themes (such as language). There is some nudity and sexual scenes but not that much. Can be gruesome in terms of its content but its a premium show so it is no surprise. Highly recommended for those who love action, drama, suspense and fantasy settings. Expand
  4. Apr 27, 2015
    9
    Season 3 is better than its two first seasons because the show was turned more addictive than ever. Stark's storyline and later death, Daenerys' moments with the dragons, and Brienne and Jaime's storyline makes this season unforgettable. I have to praise the acting, especially the performances by Michelle Fairley, Gwendoline Christie, Lena Headey, Maisie Williams, Iain Glen and Jack Gleeson.
  5. Mar 30, 2015
    10
    Season three is an exceptional installment in the Game of Thrones series. It holds the viewers steady and calm, then rips open any notion of predictability and turns it to ashes in their mouths. And they'll know the debt is paid. In a good way, that is.
  6. Feb 3, 2015
    9
    This season i think gets shadowed by episode 9's climax. There are other good scenes in it but it is just over powered by that climax. Still a great season though. This season was so distressing for me. Like beware, you are going to be so torn.
  7. Dec 16, 2014
    8
    Another marathon of death, despair and entertainment, courtesy of Game of Thrones. Each episode has enough to leave you feeling deeply satisfied. Thrones again uses it's increasingly interesting characters to weave a season that is an admirable achievement. Season 3 is perhaps the most progressive story wise yet. It again enables emotional feelings to surface and is thoroughly fulfillingAnother marathon of death, despair and entertainment, courtesy of Game of Thrones. Each episode has enough to leave you feeling deeply satisfied. Thrones again uses it's increasingly interesting characters to weave a season that is an admirable achievement. Season 3 is perhaps the most progressive story wise yet. It again enables emotional feelings to surface and is thoroughly fulfilling in that respect. The show is really onto a winner now. It is complex without being complicated, it can stall without being a bore and it can entertain as if for sport. It seems Game of Thrones just keeps rising and rising towards the highest pedigree. Expand
  8. Dec 13, 2014
    10
    A **** incredible series.. every episode is flawless. not as good as season 2 episode 9.. I'm still waiting for an episode to beat that one. but near enough every episode is close to being just as good as it, I loved he red wedding, unexpected and incredibly sad. I'm really happy with how the series is going and season 3 is definitely the best season yet. 10/10 boys!!
  9. Sep 23, 2014
    9
    NEEDLESS injection of PORN

    15% of series 3 must be fast forward to avoid scandalizing with filth.

    The rich characters are expanded and forward leaning to cliff hanger expansion of subtext.
  10. Aug 19, 2014
    10
    Season three is an exceptional installment in the Game of Thrones series. It holds the viewers steady and calm, then rips open any notion of predictability and turns it to ashes in their mouths. And they'll know the debt is paid. In a good way, that is.
  11. Jul 28, 2014
    7
    "Game of Thrones" is undeniably a diamond of our times. Its makers are right to boast about is quality and spectacle, although the show has not actually developed from Season 1. There are remarkable moments in Season 3, such as Daenerys' freeing of the Unsullied in Episode 4 and the Red Wedding in Episode 9, with notable performances from Emilia Clarke and Michelle Fairley respectively and"Game of Thrones" is undeniably a diamond of our times. Its makers are right to boast about is quality and spectacle, although the show has not actually developed from Season 1. There are remarkable moments in Season 3, such as Daenerys' freeing of the Unsullied in Episode 4 and the Red Wedding in Episode 9, with notable performances from Emilia Clarke and Michelle Fairley respectively and great direction, but the plot evolves too-slow and without emphasizing quality character development, as it is universally supported. As beautiful as it may be to look at, the story and the characters seem puppets of violence, gore, explicit scenes and excessive plot turns. Expand
  12. Jul 10, 2014
    8
    Sin duda la temporada mas floja de momento. El capítulo de la boda tuvo un final impactante, si, pero el resto de episodios no estuvieron a la altura. Creo que fue la mas lenta e incorporaron ciertos personajes que no me resultan muy interesantes... Pese todo, la serie mantiene la calidad.
  13. Jul 1, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This show is perfect, not much else to say. Highlights from the season

    Varys talking to Shae about class differences
    Jamie and Breinne
    DRACARYS!!!!!
    Expand
  14. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    The bloodiest and most tense season yet. The series is taken to some of the darkest and most shocking places it has been so far, and it is always ready to surprise you. While conflicts from the previous seasons rage on or even end, new ones constantly pop-up. With changes and surprises around every corner it's hard to not be kept on the edge of your seat. The high quality continues on, andThe bloodiest and most tense season yet. The series is taken to some of the darkest and most shocking places it has been so far, and it is always ready to surprise you. While conflicts from the previous seasons rage on or even end, new ones constantly pop-up. With changes and surprises around every corner it's hard to not be kept on the edge of your seat. The high quality continues on, and I can't wait for season 4. Expand
  15. May 31, 2014
    10
    The writing is amazing, it is acted so well and the story follows so many different characters with their own stories and Game of Thrones does a lot other Dramas are to afraid to do.

    My favorite TV series ever, 10/10
  16. May 11, 2014
    9
    A great story that mixes medieval political strategy with fantasy, with brilliant performances by the entire cast. Season 3 was just as good as the others, as the show surprises you over and over again.
  17. May 6, 2014
    10
    This comment might be influenced by the fact that I live 3 brothers. This is a great show, and one of my favorites...However, I hate the Hungarian Queen as a character. I find her and her story, boring and unrealistic.

    I say that my views maybe influence by the fact that I have three brothers. I do not know what it feels like to be rape, or be a women and be raped, and imagine it is far
    This comment might be influenced by the fact that I live 3 brothers. This is a great show, and one of my favorites...However, I hate the Hungarian Queen as a character. I find her and her story, boring and unrealistic.

    I say that my views maybe influence by the fact that I have three brothers. I do not know what it feels like to be rape, or be a women and be raped, and imagine it is far from pleasant. The queen brother was a stupid human being, I understand that also. However, I stop rooting for her when she let her brother be killed, and killed in the manner that he was. This was back in season one btw. Furthermore, the man the killed her brother is the man that her brother assigned to rape her, thus, he decommitted herself from her evil brother, and committed herself to the rapist and his people. The writers did their best the paint her brother as a evil man and paint her as the poor sister that we should root for (I also have two sisters). I understand the story. However, even if one of my brothers tried to kill me, and something of the such has happen (ask anybody with sibling you know), I still couldn't let someone hurt them in that way. Of course, these are my subjective, personal feelings toward the situation. Now, I will try to be objective and explain why her story, especially after season one is boring, and unrealistic.

    My main point will be that she is too powerful, and she became too powerful to quickly. No prior leadership or military skills, at the end of season three she is leading the most dangerous army with no conceivable opponents--this makes her boring. Nobody in G.O.T. has this much power; so much so that they lack fear or are untouchable. If you haven't finish season 3 stop reading if you are. Think of all the people that have died in this series, and the dangers that all the characters partake in every episode, be it military or political dangers. All of the Queen adventures are pointless because they are all the same. She goes around liberating people with her powerful army, and all of her opponents are completely stupid or weak. Even if you root for her, it is hard cannot remember that last time she was in real dangers. If she was, her sexiness, her dragons, or her army will save her.

    Her philosophy also makes no sense. If she would just right out and say "I'm a cold blooded military mastermind" I will be happy, but she has to stop all this "mother" and "righteous" shyte. All she is doing is going around invading people's home. Those soldiers behind her are as much slaves to her as they were to their masters in whatever city they came from. Just because you do not have a chain around your neck does not mean you are not a slave. Those soldiers are skilled enough to raid country sides and live any type of life they want. Even create their own army one day. Why would you just up and follow this women into war---you don't know the enemy, and you don't know her. Maybe I'm think too deep into it lol. At one point she ordered the murdered of all the "masters" but commanded them not to kill the children. Of course because he is "The mother." However, it is likely that she has murdered the mother and fathers of many of the children, burned their homes, and left them in the desert (only the army followed her that this point). This one fall on the writers. Why don't paint her as another powerful player in a war, why all this righteous mother crap.

    Lastly, the actress is not very good.

    Again, this may just be the fact that I do not like her. I love many characters in the show. This is not a sexist thing, for I know she has been framed as the "hero of FEMINISM." My favorite TV character is Carrie from homeland. My favorite GOT character is Ned Stark's youngest daughter, name escapes me (she is going to be a cold-blooded killer one day). She's been through more shyt than the Queen. In any case, This is a great show, but The Queen seems boring to me.
    Expand
  18. Apr 11, 2014
    10
    Season 3 is Game of Throne's best season yet. An outstanding, emotionally scarring (You know what I'm talking about, Episode 9) and exciting season in a quality-growing series. From the first scene to the last, the production values of the series are put to test, with incredible fighting sequences and special effects James Cameron would be jealous about. The characters also get lots ofSeason 3 is Game of Throne's best season yet. An outstanding, emotionally scarring (You know what I'm talking about, Episode 9) and exciting season in a quality-growing series. From the first scene to the last, the production values of the series are put to test, with incredible fighting sequences and special effects James Cameron would be jealous about. The characters also get lots of bonding time with the audience (Oh, by the way, **** you episode 9), and especially talking about Tyrion Lannister, who finds a way into my heart to be my favourite Lannister, and even find forgiveness to some despicable characters (Not Joffrey, of course, he is a dick). The acting is top-notch by this season, there is lots of blood and nudity as always, but some of the most shocking moments television has ever shown (I am talking to you, Episode 9) are truly the standouts of this season (Episode 9, did I mentioned it enough?).
    Season 3 is the reason to watch Game of Thrones, and the perfect appetizer for hopefully even better seasons.
    Expand
  19. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Esta temporada fue mejor que sus antecesoras, el pobre Tyrion debe lidiar con su familia en Desembarco del Rey pues su padre es ahora la nueva mano del rey, el castigo por la traicion de Theon hacia los Stark, Arya enredada con la hermandad sin estandares, Jon Nieve uniendose al ejercito de Mance Rayder, las desventuras de Jamie Lannister, el ejercito de los inmaculados comprados porEsta temporada fue mejor que sus antecesoras, el pobre Tyrion debe lidiar con su familia en Desembarco del Rey pues su padre es ahora la nueva mano del rey, el castigo por la traicion de Theon hacia los Stark, Arya enredada con la hermandad sin estandares, Jon Nieve uniendose al ejercito de Mance Rayder, las desventuras de Jamie Lannister, el ejercito de los inmaculados comprados por Daenerys Targaryen, y como no olvidar el espectacular y a la vez crudo episodio 9. Expand
  20. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    An intriguing story that just doesn't stop and is unpredictable. Definately deserves a 10 in my book. I'm not sure why so many people consider this porn. The nudity is very little and the sex scenes aren't even on par with softcore showtime porn. At most you'll see some boobs and maybe an ass? I guess other people may not have discovered the internet yet.
  21. Mar 7, 2014
    3
    What a snorefest! Apparently the books are the same, but come on! Season 3 was like a soap opera, lucky to move across a room in five episodes. I loved the red wedding because something had finally happened!
  22. Feb 26, 2014
    8
    The third season of Game of Thrones mostly felt like filler to me till the end. With its vast and complex storyline, that always seems to add new "main" characters every season, its easy to get bogged down in some of the more trivial things that pop up from time to time. Also the fact that people may be more emotionally invested in certain stories than others, like I was with the Night'sThe third season of Game of Thrones mostly felt like filler to me till the end. With its vast and complex storyline, that always seems to add new "main" characters every season, its easy to get bogged down in some of the more trivial things that pop up from time to time. Also the fact that people may be more emotionally invested in certain stories than others, like I was with the Night's Watch storyline. This season didn't get good till the end and the story kept adding people to it like trying to stuff a rivers worth of water into a small glass. Fortuantely, with no spoilers, they cut one part of the story, which was the biggest surprise of the season. Anyone who has even heard of the big reveal this season should know what I'm talking about as Game of Thrones is always good for at least one big reveal a season. This season was probably the worst in my book but it was still grand. I love this show quite a bit and I'm very interested in seeing where it goes from here on out, especially with a few of the characters. Special mention goes out to the DvD/Blu-ray release of this season. The in episode guides that came along with the hours of commentary and extras that were added onto it really was something special. I would highly recommend it to anyone who needs a refresher with the series cause, like I said earlier, you can easily succumb to the weight of the story if you don't know all the history. But it was definitely the worst season, as a whole, for the series so far and I have to penalize it for that. That definitely doesn't mean it's a bad show though. If you're into medieval inspired fantasy settings then this should be your first place you look. Wonderful show. Expand
  23. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    Gah. **** I just can't describe this series with words. And by that I don't mean I'm ignorant of the vast amount of words that can be used to describe something that was enjoyable to watch. I mean a show like Game of Thrones is so immensely intricate, so beautifully crafted, so profoundly built... it's too much. It's just too much to try and express in just a few words on a pretty littleGah. **** I just can't describe this series with words. And by that I don't mean I'm ignorant of the vast amount of words that can be used to describe something that was enjoyable to watch. I mean a show like Game of Thrones is so immensely intricate, so beautifully crafted, so profoundly built... it's too much. It's just too much to try and express in just a few words on a pretty little piece of paper. I will say this.
    Game of Thrones is a real, REAL piece of fantasy. One of the best ever written. And this season was amazing in all it's gore, fine details and ending. Please, just watch it. George R.R. Martin is a genius, a cruel and very realistic one, but a magnificent genius nonetheless.
    Expand
  24. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    The third season steps up the game. There is more suffering for the characters, some of whom become sympathetic. More deaths, conflict, conniving, backstabbings. The most interesting story lines were about Jon Snow and Daenerys, who were overshadowed by Arya and Tyrion in the previous season. Some of the bits were changed from the books and I'm curious how the plot will turn out later. TheThe third season steps up the game. There is more suffering for the characters, some of whom become sympathetic. More deaths, conflict, conniving, backstabbings. The most interesting story lines were about Jon Snow and Daenerys, who were overshadowed by Arya and Tyrion in the previous season. Some of the bits were changed from the books and I'm curious how the plot will turn out later. The dragons were more useful. We get to see the people and creatures from beyond the wall.

    The element of uncertainty, with which I fell in love back in the first season, comes back in all its glory and gory details. The show, like the books, continues to assert that there are no completely good guys and bad guys. And there are no heroes or central characters who are completely safe; except of course for a few like Daenerys Targaryen, Arya Stark, Jon Snow, Tyrion Lannister and perhaps Sansa Stark and Bran Stark. Without them the story would fall apart, and it's never wise to kill off your most intriguing characters. Everyone else is fair game.

    This show has reached a point where one shall have to watch the entire series back to back, as it unfolds like a great novel and at no point does it drag down and show us which is strictly episodic. The plot continues to unravel and advance. This is probably the reason I could not enjoy the season the first time I watched it week after week. But upon my second viewing, I was engrossed for sure and enjoyed literally everything. The creators have kept on doing justice to the source material, and changed bits of the story that have no great bearing on the story.

    I felt un-satiated and was hungry for more at the end. The last scene of the finale literally brought tears to my eyes, a feat even the deaths of some of the characters failed to do.
    Expand
  25. Jan 31, 2014
    10
    It keeps a well pace and spectacular acting by the entire cast, though I always love it when Peter Dinklage is on. Enough gritty action and dramatic tension without any clichés to make Game of Thrones one of the greatest TV series there has been in years.
  26. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    Game of Thrones was something I frowned upon at first, friends told me what it was and I kind of shrugged it off. Biggest mistake ever.

    This show is absolutely everything I wanted in a TV series for such a very long time. Absolutely amazing photography & cinematography, brilliant music & audio plus the amazing actors and crew which build one hell of a story to tell. The 3 seasons of
    Game of Thrones was something I frowned upon at first, friends told me what it was and I kind of shrugged it off. Biggest mistake ever.

    This show is absolutely everything I wanted in a TV series for such a very long time. Absolutely amazing photography & cinematography, brilliant music & audio plus the amazing actors and crew which build one hell of a story to tell. The 3 seasons of this so far have kept me gripped and interested the entire journey, and the fourth season is only just around the corner now!

    I highly recommend this!
    Expand
  27. Jan 14, 2014
    9
    I was a big fan of the books, and a bit disappointed with the first season. However, the actors have really grown on me, and the writers have stepped up their game. They do a great job sticking to the script, while still feeling free to explore their own ideas. The Red Wedding was brilliantly done. All of the Lannisters - Tyrion, Cersei, Jaime, and Tywin - are played brilliantly. AndI was a big fan of the books, and a bit disappointed with the first season. However, the actors have really grown on me, and the writers have stepped up their game. They do a great job sticking to the script, while still feeling free to explore their own ideas. The Red Wedding was brilliantly done. All of the Lannisters - Tyrion, Cersei, Jaime, and Tywin - are played brilliantly. And Littlefinger's 'Chaos is a ladder' speech was one of my favourite TV moments. Expand
  28. Jan 3, 2014
    8
    While season 3 of GOT still contains the top-notch acting and impressive action/picture sequences; this season attempts to adapt only the first half of "A Storm of Swords" (Martin's third novel); with the upcoming season attempting to finish the adaption of the rest of the novel. This unfortunately results in pacing issues and what feels like the writers trying to stretch each episode toWhile season 3 of GOT still contains the top-notch acting and impressive action/picture sequences; this season attempts to adapt only the first half of "A Storm of Swords" (Martin's third novel); with the upcoming season attempting to finish the adaption of the rest of the novel. This unfortunately results in pacing issues and what feels like the writers trying to stretch each episode to full capacity. Events feel like they are transpiring in glacier pace in the first half of the season however, things begin too pick up in the latter half including one of the most shocking episodes of the entire series. In the end, season 3 despite the pacing struggles, is still better than most television shows on air...... Expand
  29. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Season 3 of A Game of Thrones has to be the best yet. The complexity of George R.R. Martin's world has been captured spectacularly well by HBO, and the acting talent on display is brilliant. Peter Dinklage, Richard Madden, Kit Harington and Nikolaj Coster-Waldau are just a few of the brilliant cast members in this series, and it will be very sad to see Richard Madden go. Season 3 covers A Storm of Swords Part 1, and it does so excellently, even with the additions of later events such as the siege of Yunkai and the Red Wedding. The show also adds many scenes unseen in the books, such as the infamous "Chaos is a Ladder" speech, which is brilliantly written and carried out. It is slightly disappointing to see characters such as Jeyne Westerling be renamed to Talisa, I have no idea where that came from, and the decision to replace Edric Storm with Gendry is rather confusing, but somehow HBO have managed to pull it off expertly. The camera-work and special effects are done brilliantly, as demonstrated by Daenarys' dragons. The character development is also excellent, and is on a par with the book's excellent character development of Jaime Lannister. The music is absolutely fantastic as you would expect, with the songs "Rains of Castamere" and "The Bear and the Maiden Far" making anticipated appearances. The last two episodes especially wet our appetites for Season 4, as they include the infamous Red Wedding, which is perhaps one of the most excellent pieces of TV I have ever seen, as it far exceeds the atmosphere created by Breaking Bad. The acting by Michelle Fairley (Catelyn Stark) and Richard Madden (Robb Stark) is flawless. Most Thrones fans will agree with me in saying Season 3 is excellent, the only thing preventing me from giving this a 10 is the unfortunate and odd decisions to leave out certain characters and/or change them. Bring on Season 4! Expand
  30. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    Despite the fact that its a HBO series Game of Thrones is maybe the best fantasy series at the moment.
    Strong characters, impressing pictures, all in all the perfect series for fans.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    May 30, 2013
    80
    While Season 3, like the novel on which it is based, takes a little while to get going, when it does pick up speed, it soars--particularly in the sensational third and fourth installments.
  2. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Apr 1, 2013
    75
    If Game of Thrones still feels like it's just a bit weighed down by the sheer heft of its narrative strands, to say nothing of the seemingly endless backstories and mythologies, the series at least now feels like it has some firm footing and a newfound sense of certain direction that was lacking intermittently in the second season.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Mar 29, 2013
    83
    Game of Thrones plays by its own rules--and remains irresistible.