• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 3945 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    The first 5 minutes were atmospheric, cinematic (except for fake dead girl doll), but then it went downhill. It felt like I was flipping the channel between two late night cable shows and a national geographic nightmare. People talked a lot--idle chit chat. I had no problem getting the main characters, but I found them to be pre-made stereotypes. It was like I was peeking into theThe first 5 minutes were atmospheric, cinematic (except for fake dead girl doll), but then it went downhill. It felt like I was flipping the channel between two late night cable shows and a national geographic nightmare. People talked a lot--idle chit chat. I had no problem getting the main characters, but I found them to be pre-made stereotypes. It was like I was peeking into the fantasies of a 13 year old boy. And the narrative was telling me, not showing me, a bunch of information that I didn't care about, never helping care for any of these people or whatever situation they are in. The terrible editing was the final straw for me. The transitions between scenes were very disruptive, giving me no hope for immersion into the show. At last I became fully aware I was watching a show I didn't want to watch. I realized no amount of hype could get me to forgive the problems of the show and the fact that I am not in the target audience. I simply don't care for this world or its characters. I did see the last scene, the intended "wow, shocking, now you must come back" message but since I had absolutely no time to care for anyone, it felt like a great exit cue never to return. The episode was rushed. I think if they had slowed down and given me a sense of the world and what these people did, as if they were real and not just players on a stage, I would have been pulled in. I would give this show a score of 0 which I believe in metacritic terms equals a mixed review scoring 40. Expand
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    There is something sinister going on here. HBO is using an existing story/book franchise with an established reputation as some kind of human shield. The culprit holding it at sword-point as they shuffle along for ten hours is a t*ts & as* ratings-grabber. The opening scenes appear to be written by, directed, shot and edited by a completely different crew to the one responsible for theThere is something sinister going on here. HBO is using an existing story/book franchise with an established reputation as some kind of human shield. The culprit holding it at sword-point as they shuffle along for ten hours is a t*ts & as* ratings-grabber. The opening scenes appear to be written by, directed, shot and edited by a completely different crew to the one responsible for the rest of the first episode. Which is probably why I enjoyed the opening. It contained well-executed scenes and a promise of a story with intrigue and action to come. And there ended the budget. From then on, it becomes a domestic family feud soapie with bad dialogue and a story that leaves you drifting off and patting the cat. This costume test of a show is hacked up with laughably gratuitous sex scenes, and we all know what that really means in a program this immature - naked women scenes. Usually prostitutes. HBO loooves prostitutes in their shows - no time wasted introducing superfluous female characters there for one thing - instant boobs and bum shots, and [only] occasional full frontals. Let's not cheapen it. Some of the main actresses tend to pull down the show with the weight of their carefully casted boobs, too. But not very far - it's at no great height to begin with. But at least these actresses get three lines of dialogue and storyline invested in them before it's tops off. And that's just sad. If a show reeeaally is designed to be a camp, sexy ratings vehicle, at least be equal opportunistic. Clearly this is yet another old-fashioned fuddy-duddy-made show with double standards, where only women are portrayed gratuitously and there is a glaringly obvious disorder of sexynudemanphobia. I'll give the creators a tip here - perhaps that's why the sex scenes don't work? You need both/all parties to appear remotely sexy? Let's face it, how many juvenile homophobic males who don't understand that aspects of a show might not be aimed at them can there be? Maybe one day, these shows will grow some balls [pardon the pun], or even better - grow some story and action and lose the crotch altogether. I mean, crutch. Oh I know I've rambled on mostly about the gratuitous sex [naked female] scenes. But really - what else is there to this show? Promotion from an existing book? It's like a bad ad - if the audience can see they're being manipulated, it just doesn't sell. Expand
  3. May 1, 2011
    10
    Having read the entire book series, multiple times, I had some concerns coming into the televised series. Thankfully they have been proven unfounded. The acting, writing, and set design are all excellent!
  4. Aug 16, 2011
    8
    I would say that the episodes gained speed towards the end of its first season. Since its HBO, there is enough brutality, blood and boobs for 'mature' audiences. But as a few say, the plot line is a bit tacky (although imaginative) and the characters can be a bit repetitive. The whole 'Fantasy' genre is maybe pushing this on a bit too much - seems more like your average middle-agedI would say that the episodes gained speed towards the end of its first season. Since its HBO, there is enough brutality, blood and boobs for 'mature' audiences. But as a few say, the plot line is a bit tacky (although imaginative) and the characters can be a bit repetitive. The whole 'Fantasy' genre is maybe pushing this on a bit too much - seems more like your average middle-aged people and freaks than a 'fantasy' cast as such. BUT, this is coming from only a TV viewer as I have not read any of the Series. I would imagine the books are much better than the TV as TV/Movies has a hard time breaking the believable Fantasy barrier except for maybe L.O.T.R. Everything else seems like a cheap knock-off sometimes. Ironic how this genre of books and TV has exploded since The Trilogy (not to say they weren't great before ... but it LOTR definitely helped get viewers). In general, good stuff and good entertainment. Expand
  5. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    Best Show Ever! Such deep, round characters...each one with different allegiances and motivations, some caught in their circumstances, others rebellious of theirs. I often say about shows with kids in them, it can only be as good as the kids are(great ones modern family, married with children, etc). Game of Thrones has awesome kids, Anya and Sansa are brilliant. I dont wanna get intoBest Show Ever! Such deep, round characters...each one with different allegiances and motivations, some caught in their circumstances, others rebellious of theirs. I often say about shows with kids in them, it can only be as good as the kids are(great ones modern family, married with children, etc). Game of Thrones has awesome kids, Anya and Sansa are brilliant. I dont wanna get into too many spoilers, so I will say this, watch and pay attention(so you can follow all the relationships) and you will be rewarded by a deep, intelligent, suspenseful show. I want to single out some acting but it is literally all magnificent, beautifully shot too. i am going to rewatch again... Expand
  6. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    I am not a big fantasy nor historical watcher, but Game of Thrones "got" me from the first show. I got the book after the season finale and liked it very much (boy, are these books long!). I have already read the second book and looking forward to book 3.
  7. Jan 22, 2012
    10
    This is second best TV show (Breaking Bad is first). The acting in this show is wonderful and so if the story. The episode, Baelor, almost gave me a heart attack! Call me weird, but I gave a standing ovation in my living room at the end of the last episode. Best new show of 2011!
  8. Feb 12, 2012
    8
    Just watched the pilot. It's nasty, brutish and relatively short... and certainly strong enough to make me want to find more. There is a lot of violence and a lot of skankiness (don't watch this with your wife/girlfriend... if your unnerdy enough to have one). The opening ten minutes were very compelling stuff and it dropped off somewhat after that but there was still enough going on toJust watched the pilot. It's nasty, brutish and relatively short... and certainly strong enough to make me want to find more. There is a lot of violence and a lot of skankiness (don't watch this with your wife/girlfriend... if your unnerdy enough to have one). The opening ten minutes were very compelling stuff and it dropped off somewhat after that but there was still enough going on to make me want more. I loved the sets, the originality and (as uncomfortable as it made me) the unflinching brutality and portrayal of a misogynistic, misanthropic time and place. Sean Bean turns out to be a very fitting centrepiece to this and Emilia Clarke is, gosh, stunning. Expand
  9. May 8, 2012
    10
    For me this is one of the best movie ever!! There You can find everything : fight, intrigue, amazing story, sex and mooore. I having not read this fantastic (guess) saga but I will do this in a week!!
  10. Jul 20, 2012
    10
    Thrones is the fantasy epic to end all fantasy epics in my opinion. The world they'e created is so believable, as are the characters and their political wranglings that you'll be sucked into this universe for the duration of each episode. It's gritty, dark, brutally violent and very reminiscent of our own dark ages. That's why Thrones appeals to such a large target audience. Alhough it ISThrones is the fantasy epic to end all fantasy epics in my opinion. The world they'e created is so believable, as are the characters and their political wranglings that you'll be sucked into this universe for the duration of each episode. It's gritty, dark, brutally violent and very reminiscent of our own dark ages. That's why Thrones appeals to such a large target audience. Alhough it IS fantasy, dragons warlocks, zombies, etc, it doesn't bludgeon you with the nerdiness. My friend hates fantasy, Lord of The Rings drove him nuts, but he loves this as he says it's very realistic in terms of the ways things were. The action is awesome, the acting is perfect, the dialouge is spot on - just all-round brilliance really. If every TV series were like this we'd be laughing. Expand
  11. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    This show is nothing less than a masterpiece. It follows the books quite well, deviating a little here and there for artistic sake, but nothing major I've noticed (though I bet some of you ASoIaF lovers will probably pick up some I missed). The acting on all fronts is superb, though I was most impressed by Peter Dinklage and the child actor playing Arya Stark, both of whom deserve someThis show is nothing less than a masterpiece. It follows the books quite well, deviating a little here and there for artistic sake, but nothing major I've noticed (though I bet some of you ASoIaF lovers will probably pick up some I missed). The acting on all fronts is superb, though I was most impressed by Peter Dinklage and the child actor playing Arya Stark, both of whom deserve some sort of award if they haven;t got one already.

    This show is an alternate universe medieval type action/drama. It's set in a place called Westeros and revolves around the different leaders of the respective areas and outlying areas, and their religious beliefs and throne-hunger driving them to war. The show features supernatural elements as well, including magic and mythical creatures. It's very much everything you'd expect from an adult medieval drama, and a lot of things you wouldn't. It surprises, and astounds around every corner. The visuals and sets are beautiful, and the story is one you must experience to truly enjoy.
    Expand
  12. Jun 3, 2013
    7
    Both sex and violence in this show feel forced and over the top with clear intention to attract weirdos and horny teenagers which somehow (together with slow pacing and tone of fillers-probably the trouble with source material) decrease the overall artistic value of this otherwise ambitious and interesting series.
  13. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    Magnificent. I never read the books, so the story was quite amazing to me, and the twists and turns caught me completely off guard. What is very great about the story is how fully realized the complex world is, and how the different plot lines intertwine together into one massive saga that surely still has much to offer in the coming seasons. I read that there are 7 novels in total. WillMagnificent. I never read the books, so the story was quite amazing to me, and the twists and turns caught me completely off guard. What is very great about the story is how fully realized the complex world is, and how the different plot lines intertwine together into one massive saga that surely still has much to offer in the coming seasons. I read that there are 7 novels in total. Will be exciting to see how they are played out. Another great thing about the story, is how it relates to many historical elements in medieval Europe. Yet the story feels original. Overall, it is a beautifully crafted TV show that is definitely worth checking out. Expand
  14. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    The most entertaining, big budget, awesome book based fantasy you could wish for. As a person that read all aSoIaF books, this show does them justice.
  15. Mar 20, 2014
    10
    I don't give this a 10 lightly: this is bar-none the best TV series I have ever seen in my life. So much so that I actually buy multiple DVDs to gift to family members just to support it. The atmosphere, the complex character relationships, and the sheer magnitude of the story just make this something to sink into. I haven't been able to "feel like I'm part of the universe" when watchingI don't give this a 10 lightly: this is bar-none the best TV series I have ever seen in my life. So much so that I actually buy multiple DVDs to gift to family members just to support it. The atmosphere, the complex character relationships, and the sheer magnitude of the story just make this something to sink into. I haven't been able to "feel like I'm part of the universe" when watching media since I was a teenager. This is one show that lets me do that. I turn off all external sensory items and just get absorbed into the piece, enjoying every minute. There's only two flaws so far: they couldn't dye the eyebrows blonde (you get used to it), and the first few episodes are very heavy for people who cannot handle far-arching stories and characters. This is the only show where when someone is in danger (and sometimes not even in danger) I feel the threat and cannot just assume everything will work out alright (looking at you serial shows where the main characters survive everything several seasons in). I sure hope media in general learns from GoT and this is not the only piece of such great caliber in my lifetime. Expand
  16. Apr 17, 2014
    10
    This is the best thing on TV at the moment. It's not flawless, but I gave it a 10 because it is an absolute masterpiece. The cast is consistently excellent, working in harmony with the sharp writing. The action is definitely movie-level, but not too frequent to become boring. Everything aspect of this show is at the top of its game, and more. Game of Thrones is not just TV, it is anThis is the best thing on TV at the moment. It's not flawless, but I gave it a 10 because it is an absolute masterpiece. The cast is consistently excellent, working in harmony with the sharp writing. The action is definitely movie-level, but not too frequent to become boring. Everything aspect of this show is at the top of its game, and more. Game of Thrones is not just TV, it is an experience, and one work experiencing. I would recommend this to lovers of fantasy or just those who want a good tale. Expand
  17. Jul 1, 2014
    10
    Pure perfection, best TV show ever. Highlights from the show:

    Dothraki wedding
    Khal Drogo kills Mago
    Daenerys' dragons as she comes out of the funeral pyre
    Tyrion's trial by combat
  18. Oct 14, 2014
    9
    With too many stories going around you do sometimes forgot who was who, specially their name, but every character is so witty and cunning becoming more interesting as the show proceeds. This is one show which I never want to see ending.
  19. Oct 23, 2014
    9
    One of the best shows on TV, watch noe. Keep in mind this show is very mature in it's content and is not for everyone but is well worth watching. Geat show, watch now.
    9/10
  20. Dec 16, 2014
    9
    In my country there is the story that has identical story pattern. It called as "Cerita Pewayangan". When I watched this movie it's little bit makes me remember to that story -Cerita Pewayangan-. it has complex story which is the stories so impossible if they have been made by one person. So was game of throne, either. The storyline, character, acting style, the causality, and the takeIn my country there is the story that has identical story pattern. It called as "Cerita Pewayangan". When I watched this movie it's little bit makes me remember to that story -Cerita Pewayangan-. it has complex story which is the stories so impossible if they have been made by one person. So was game of throne, either. The storyline, character, acting style, the causality, and the take camera angle all it's great and perfect. There was no defected at all. Expand
  21. Sep 2, 2015
    8
    Quand j'ai commencé la série, je n'ai pas vraiment accrochée, la saison 1 est la moins réussite, et il ne se passe pas grand chose. J'ai repris la série il y a peu, et au fur et à mesure que la série avance, cela devient de plus en plus passionnant, au point que j'ai regardé mes trois saisons de retard en 1 semaine. Je recommande vivement.
  22. Jan 21, 2016
    10
    Temporada espetacular. Concisa, envolvente, e épica. Traduz brilhantemente o livro homônimo. Com um plot twist inesquecível, a temporada consegue ser complexa e ao mesmo tempo tragável.
  23. Feb 6, 2016
    9
    Nadchodzi zima…

    Na wstępie powiem, że najpierw przeczytałem książki. Dlatego też miałem ogromne wymagania co do całego serialu. I muszę przyznać, że nie mogę się doczekać, tego jak w kolejnych sezonach potoczy się akcja. Pierwszy sezon jest przykładem na to jak robi się filmy w klimatach średniowiecza. Kostiumy i prawdziwa scenografia ponad efekty specjalne sprawiają, że czuć
    Nadchodzi zima…

    Na wstępie powiem, że najpierw przeczytałem książki. Dlatego też miałem ogromne wymagania co do całego serialu. I muszę przyznać, że nie mogę się doczekać, tego jak w kolejnych sezonach potoczy się akcja.
    Pierwszy sezon jest przykładem na to jak robi się filmy w klimatach średniowiecza. Kostiumy i prawdziwa scenografia ponad efekty specjalne sprawiają, że czuć autentyczność miejsc oraz bohaterów. Do tego na prawdę świetna gra aktorów czyni ten sezon prawie idealnym. To co mi przeszkadzało to sceny sexu co dosłownie 10 minut. W książce ich tylu nie było, więc i w serialu wydają się być nie na miejscu w takich ilościach. Ale jak tu nie oglądać kobiecych piersi kiedy HBO jest producentem… ;)
    Polecam każdemu.
    Expand
  24. May 10, 2016
    10
    Simply amazing ! A clever tv show ! Actors/tress, characters, music, storyline : everything works perfectly ! The third season begins "slowly" (for this show) but I feel confident that I will not be disappointed.
  25. Jun 11, 2016
    10
    Game of Thrones is amazing. I never had too much interest in the fantasy genre before this show, but honestly after watching the first five seasons, I can't wait until the sixth season comes out on Itunes or something. Game of Thrones is my dad's new favorite show, and I never recalled him being a fan of fantasy before. This show is a must watch for fantasy buffs, as well as more casualGame of Thrones is amazing. I never had too much interest in the fantasy genre before this show, but honestly after watching the first five seasons, I can't wait until the sixth season comes out on Itunes or something. Game of Thrones is my dad's new favorite show, and I never recalled him being a fan of fantasy before. This show is a must watch for fantasy buffs, as well as more casual viewers, as the story pulls you in and never lets go and the characters change and sometimes die. This show is a 10/10! Expand
  26. Jun 28, 2016
    10
    BRILLIANT. A expertly adapted fantasy from an overcomplicated book. This is the one to beat and I doubt if any other fantasy TV series will ever come close. The books are superbly crafted by a genius author and the TV show has now taken a life of its own with well formulated plots condensing intricate book storylines.
  27. Jul 13, 2016
    8
    Shot with attention to detail, HBO’s first season of Game of Thrones is a resounding success with its impeccable casting, inticrate plotting, well-rounded characters and exotic locations.
  28. Jul 19, 2016
    10
    Game of thrones really is a tv show like no other, its violence doesn't overshadow the main story and the story doesn't overshadow the violence so with a great and dedicated cast Game of thrones in my opinion is the best tv show at the moment
  29. Jul 29, 2016
    9
    A great show, with a great and interesting cast of characters and landscapes, that come together to make a brilliant story that keeps you on the edge of your seat. All this together make this a show that everyone should watch.
  30. Jul 30, 2016
    10
    "Winter is coming." So says Eddard Stark, nobleman and ruler, father and husband, warrior and hand to the king. He says it with a sense of the inevitable, with grief and a heavy heart. And he says it with conviction, something that permeates every aspect of Game of Thrones.
  31. Aug 3, 2016
    10
    I always heard a lot of people talk about this HBO special. I never cared for it, but then I was bored and watched the first episode. The first episode wasn't too exciting, but I weighed it for what is was, the first episode, the pilot, and continued watching on. I thought Ned Stark was noble, and the more I watched the series the more I was hooked on Ned Stark's nobility, but when theI always heard a lot of people talk about this HBO special. I never cared for it, but then I was bored and watched the first episode. The first episode wasn't too exciting, but I weighed it for what is was, the first episode, the pilot, and continued watching on. I thought Ned Stark was noble, and the more I watched the series the more I was hooked on Ned Stark's nobility, but when the series took a dark turn, I kept watching because I wanted to see the death Of Cersei and her cruel son. Then I quickly came to like Jon Snow and Tyrel Lannister, and so on. Now, season 1 and 6 has ended, I disappointed I don't have a conclusion yet. Expand
  32. Aug 8, 2016
    10
    My favourite TV show ever. The show seems to start off slow, but there is actually so much going on which is relevant...I've heard people liken it to a soap opera. The difference is with a soap opera nothing has to be interconnected, this is a tale so interwoven with each other...Truly remarkable. George RR Martin has just made Tolkein´s work look like a Peter and Jane book.
  33. Sep 19, 2016
    10
    This is the best show on TV I've seen. The character development is so professional, that you will scream your head off when the show surprises you over and over again with unpredictable twists and deaths. It is phenomenal!
  34. Oct 30, 2016
    10
    As a fan of the book series, I was a huge fan of the first season of Game of Thrones as it closely followed the first book in the "Song of Ice and Fire" series by George R.R. Martin. The show is somewhat violent and contains material not suitable for young viewers, but is very exciting and engaging while exploring various paths individuals in the fictional land of Westeros use to persueAs a fan of the book series, I was a huge fan of the first season of Game of Thrones as it closely followed the first book in the "Song of Ice and Fire" series by George R.R. Martin. The show is somewhat violent and contains material not suitable for young viewers, but is very exciting and engaging while exploring various paths individuals in the fictional land of Westeros use to persue the throne, or become king.

    The series is interesting because it feels like a historical documentary in that many of the actions, speech, dress, etc. remind users of Europe in the age of kings and queens. This helps engage users from the beginning as many viewers are already interested in either this historical time period or the fantasy realm of kings and queens. The series further explores possible actions and opinions of those in these time periods as well as consequences of actions, fantasy topics (magic, knights, kings and queens, dragons, etc.), and engages viewers in family history. I highly recommend the series, particularly the first season, to all viewers.
    Expand
  35. Nov 30, 2016
    9
    Its funny how season 1 is one of the worst seasons and it still manages to be some of the best T.V you could possibly watch. Game of Thrones might be a little difficult to get into as it starts off slow but once it picks up you realise the slow episodes are necessary and all of it (if you listened) was important. So please if you find yourself starting Game of Thrones and you find it slow,Its funny how season 1 is one of the worst seasons and it still manages to be some of the best T.V you could possibly watch. Game of Thrones might be a little difficult to get into as it starts off slow but once it picks up you realise the slow episodes are necessary and all of it (if you listened) was important. So please if you find yourself starting Game of Thrones and you find it slow, just give it a chance and if you did what I did the first time and already gave up on it, give it another chance because your really missing out on something. Expand
  36. Feb 22, 2017
    10
    This is the best show on tv. If you never watched, you should start. It's pretty much faithful to the books, very addicting, original, you will never watch anything even close to Game of Thrones on tv right now. The characters are all so well worked, they all have a story, a background, they were created with care, and it doesn't matter if it isn't a major character, they are all importantThis is the best show on tv. If you never watched, you should start. It's pretty much faithful to the books, very addicting, original, you will never watch anything even close to Game of Thrones on tv right now. The characters are all so well worked, they all have a story, a background, they were created with care, and it doesn't matter if it isn't a major character, they are all important somehow. They aren't just a name and a personality, they have a story that sometimes goes generations behind and that's something that I love. And let me tell you, there are a LOT of characters...
    The scenario, visual effects and the clothes they use wear are all highly rated, in my opinion, great work from the team behind the cameras, they deserve a lot of credits too. The actors are GREAT, what you have the best on television right now. The writer George R.R. Martin is a genius, can't even explain, you just have to watch and understand how this man could have created this masterpiece and have such creativity. The producers are awesome for putting this all together. I can say each episode is like a Hollywood movie in quality. I'm obsessed and everyone should give it a try. This show is something and deserves all the awards it has received.
    Expand
  37. Apr 23, 2017
    10
    The best writing for a television program ever. Excellent performances plus a fantasy world of maximum immersion make "Game of Thrones" possibly the best drama series of all time.
  38. Apr 23, 2017
    10
    Amazing TV serie in all of series !!! Awesome story , Awesome Actores , Awesome visual effects, Awesome Music , Awesome Directory , .....................
  39. May 22, 2017
    10
    The best televistion series that you can watch on TV nowadays. Brilliant casting supported by the best screenplay based on the fantasy novels from G. R. R. Marin just can't let you sleep. Great job!
  40. Mar 1, 2018
    10
    Game of Thrones is a great TV series written by George RR martin. The series is set in medieval times with the themes of darkness, magic, mythical creatures, and potions. One of the main characters Jon snow who it the bastard son of Eddard stark who is Lord of Winterfell and Warden of the North, He becomes in a bit of trouble and then becomes a man of the nights watch Who guard the wallGame of Thrones is a great TV series written by George RR martin. The series is set in medieval times with the themes of darkness, magic, mythical creatures, and potions. One of the main characters Jon snow who it the bastard son of Eddard stark who is Lord of Winterfell and Warden of the North, He becomes in a bit of trouble and then becomes a man of the nights watch Who guard the wall that splits the true north with the north because of the white walkers who are deadly creatures with blue eyes, they are dead people that are brought back to life by the Night King (The leader of the white walkers). Winterfell is a place where the stark family live in the north but when Ned Stark (Eddard Stark) was beheaded in king’s landing for dis obeying the former king of the Seven Kingdoms of Westeros (Robert Baratheon) Son (Joffrey Baratheon) by trying to take the throne for himself, But Joffrey said he would show mercy to him but instead cut his head off in front of Ned’s daughter Sansa Stark who was Jeffrey’s queen to be, until Margaery Tyrell came around because her family is helping the Lannister out with the war that they were having with Stannis Baratheon who lost the fight. The TV series is a great one to watch, it has 7 seasons to watch that are enjoyable. Expand
  41. May 26, 2011
    10
    Absolutely great. A breath of fresh air in the worn-out Disney-fied Fantasy-Genre. This is Fantasy for Grown-Ups! Understandaby a bit slow in the first few Episodes, after all, everything needs to be explained, and there's a lot to explain. But it starts picking up pace from Episode 5.
  42. May 28, 2011
    10
    I am a fan of the genre, but I started watching as a skeptic. I was not at all convinced that HBO could create a compelling fantasy property. Boy was I wrong. This series is absolutely blowing me away. The acting is brilliant, the story lines are engaging and sophisticated, and HBO has clearly given everyone involved the creative license to challenge us, appall us, and delight us. If youI am a fan of the genre, but I started watching as a skeptic. I was not at all convinced that HBO could create a compelling fantasy property. Boy was I wrong. This series is absolutely blowing me away. The acting is brilliant, the story lines are engaging and sophisticated, and HBO has clearly given everyone involved the creative license to challenge us, appall us, and delight us. If you are not watching Game of Thrones you are missing the best show on TV bar none. Expand
  43. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    such a great show! the first couple of episodes are a little slow but it soon picks up.
    epic characters, great casting, amazing set design and the plot is to die for even though it can be a little confusing at times.
    watch watch watch.
  44. Aug 19, 2011
    9
    Honestly; I watched the first episode and had to pause every 2 minutes to search who was connected to who and then I said: I`ll read the book first. And this show justifies that book entirely, it has all the drama, comical notes, political games, backstabbing, jousting that George R.R. Martin so perfectly describes.
    The actors do an amazing job of developing their own characters and help
    Honestly; I watched the first episode and had to pause every 2 minutes to search who was connected to who and then I said: I`ll read the book first. And this show justifies that book entirely, it has all the drama, comical notes, political games, backstabbing, jousting that George R.R. Martin so perfectly describes.
    The actors do an amazing job of developing their own characters and help evolve this magical world to something realistic on screen.

    The only negative aspect I would name is that due to budget restraints they were unable to show the magnificent battles and only talked about them. This is however a minor point that shouldn`t stop you from watching this brilliant show.
    Expand
  45. Aug 28, 2011
    8
    Well, its certainly not the most original story in terms of plot, thematics, or mythology, which will make people judge it far more harshly than it deserves. It has wonderful costumes, effects, and music. The "Wall" is my favorite visual spectacle in the whole show. Its fairly lusty, with frequent sex and nudity, though if anything it cuts out sex scenes from the books. The actors areWell, its certainly not the most original story in terms of plot, thematics, or mythology, which will make people judge it far more harshly than it deserves. It has wonderful costumes, effects, and music. The "Wall" is my favorite visual spectacle in the whole show. Its fairly lusty, with frequent sex and nudity, though if anything it cuts out sex scenes from the books. The actors are strong, and you may recognize them from other series. So if you're looking for something groundbreakingly new and different, you're not gonna find it, its a pretty standardly written fantasy novel. However, think about the 90% of fantasy novels and television shows that are unwatchable drivel. I assure you, this show is very watchable. Expand
  46. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    This show is awesome. I am a big fan of the books and the adaptation is really perfect, actually better than i thought it could be. The cast is just perfect, The young actors are really good (Maisie Williams!), Peter Dinklage is perfect for his character, so are Emilia Clarke, Lena Headey... well the entire cast is. I have watched each episode twice and several friends of mine are now hugeThis show is awesome. I am a big fan of the books and the adaptation is really perfect, actually better than i thought it could be. The cast is just perfect, The young actors are really good (Maisie Williams!), Peter Dinklage is perfect for his character, so are Emilia Clarke, Lena Headey... well the entire cast is. I have watched each episode twice and several friends of mine are now huge fans of the show too. Expand
  47. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    This is probably the greatest fantasy epic made for tv ever,and would probably rival many movies of this genre too,and the acting and scope of the world is just mind blowing.
  48. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    When I picked up this series I was not a fan of Martin's works, as I had never read any of the books in the series. In my view, the story is difficult to pick up with a wide array of characters introduced in a short amount of time. Yet if one sticks by the series, eventually character connections are easy to distinguish. The cast is perfect, an impeccable array of child actors for a tvWhen I picked up this series I was not a fan of Martin's works, as I had never read any of the books in the series. In my view, the story is difficult to pick up with a wide array of characters introduced in a short amount of time. Yet if one sticks by the series, eventually character connections are easy to distinguish. The cast is perfect, an impeccable array of child actors for a tv series. The opening sequence of the show is memorable at first, yet it loses its luster after the fourth or so episode. Nearing the conclusion of season one, the episode finales do leave you wanting more. The story is engrossing and is definitely worth giving a chance.

    However, I did find downsides, such as what I believe are over the top sex scenes in parts. There are also a few fantasy genre stereotypes, yet it must be considered that meager these complaints do not stack up well against the positives.
    Expand
  49. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    One of the best series ive ever watched! Highly recommend it! cant wait for season 2! it will be much better than the first. very intriguing story. If you liked LOTR, you will love this!
  50. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    Great TV show, one of the best I've seen. A little sad that there is only 10 episodes but they are a little longer than other shows (~1 hour). Characters are very nice and without having read books, they must be great.
  51. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    I have read the book and I can tell that, despite many things are not told as it should, we're in front of one of the best TV Shows ever produced or directed.
  52. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    I've read the books. I've read them so many times that I've lost the count. A Song of Ice and Fire is by far the best fantasy series that I've ever read and I'm so amazed that HBO has been able to put the series on screen in such a great way. The cast is great, the music is perfect and, even though I've read the books so many times, I feel like I never know what will happen in the nextI've read the books. I've read them so many times that I've lost the count. A Song of Ice and Fire is by far the best fantasy series that I've ever read and I'm so amazed that HBO has been able to put the series on screen in such a great way. The cast is great, the music is perfect and, even though I've read the books so many times, I feel like I never know what will happen in the next scene.

    Great job HBO! I hope that the next season will be just as great!
    Expand
  53. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    Game of Thrones is arguably one of the best TV shows to land in 2011; the intriguing story lines, the twisted plots, the camera work, the production, the stellar acting, and the set of the show create this wonderful masterpiece that it is impossible not to fall in love with the show- even if you are not into Fantasies. It is important to note the strength of the child actors- the actorsGame of Thrones is arguably one of the best TV shows to land in 2011; the intriguing story lines, the twisted plots, the camera work, the production, the stellar acting, and the set of the show create this wonderful masterpiece that it is impossible not to fall in love with the show- even if you are not into Fantasies. It is important to note the strength of the child actors- the actors who play the unruly Joffrey Baratheon, Bran Stark, Arya, and Sansa do an excellent job at reflecting the character depicted in the novels. What many folks leave out is the landscape of the work; the landscapes chosen matches those that are portrayed in George R.R. Martin's novels- well done. Seriously, people need to watch the show and abandon any prejudices they might have against the show for whatever purposes- A Great Show. Expand
  54. Dec 28, 2011
    9
    overall its pretty spectacular and everybody looks AND plays the part beautifully. the best character easily Peter Dinklage as the short yet powerful Tyrion Lannister. Though a bit inappropriate for anyone younger than 16 it shines as one of the best new shows of the year.
  55. Jan 7, 2012
    9
    Peter Dinklage (Tyrion Lannister character) definitely deserves a Globe for his witty performance. The show overall is eccentric in telling the story as well as a lot of ego and pride for power to rule. Plenty of power play!
  56. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    Its simple as this: I have known many shows, and some of them were good... but if i could pay 10 bucks to rate Game of Thrones an 11/10 .. i would pay 50 to rate it a 15/10 ... everyone who reads this, and HAS NOT seen it.. i urge you.. you can not, under any circumstances miss this.. but do not be fooled, this is far from fairy-tale story.. its an adult medieval epic, for adult viewers..Its simple as this: I have known many shows, and some of them were good... but if i could pay 10 bucks to rate Game of Thrones an 11/10 .. i would pay 50 to rate it a 15/10 ... everyone who reads this, and HAS NOT seen it.. i urge you.. you can not, under any circumstances miss this.. but do not be fooled, this is far from fairy-tale story.. its an adult medieval epic, for adult viewers.. if you have not seen it, you must not miss it! 15/10 Expand
  57. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    What a great show. I couldn't stop watching it. I started watching it yesterday and i finished the whole first season in one day. I love the characters and the whole story. I also have played the board game and let me tell you its just like the show if you love this show like I do then you should get some friends and play this board game.
  58. Jan 30, 2012
    9
    Very good adaptation, faithful to the tone and pace of the original novels. Actors and sets are amazing, it was a long wait but it is really worth it. The art direction and the production of the show is great. Sean Bean as Eddard Stark is amazing and the dwarf ara the best actor!!!
  59. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    This are one of the shows that is just unique. There were no dull moments at all. And it made me read the books which is surprising even for me.This are one of the shows that is just unique. There were no dull moments at all. And it made me read the books which is surprising even for me. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Expand
  60. Feb 14, 2012
    9
    So far, one of the best show in adventure fantasy genre. Good acting, great storyline, beautiful cinematography and effects...Waiting for the second season.
  61. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    This is an exceptional series that puts its sizeable budget to good use by convincingly creating a unique fantasy world. The story, the writing, the acting; they are all consistently excellent. The ensemble cast give great performances which is essential in any show that features a fantasy world. We need to be sold on it by the genuine nature of its inhabitants. The story feels epic inThis is an exceptional series that puts its sizeable budget to good use by convincingly creating a unique fantasy world. The story, the writing, the acting; they are all consistently excellent. The ensemble cast give great performances which is essential in any show that features a fantasy world. We need to be sold on it by the genuine nature of its inhabitants. The story feels epic in scope by focusing on different characters and areas. The show always has new tricks up its sleeve to keep viewers hooked and I can't wait for the new season. Expand
  62. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    I'll go over some positive and negative comments about the show to be as fair as possible. PROS: Game of Thrones is the first large-scale fantasy TV show. To all the fantasy lovers who devoured the Tolkien books and movies, George R R Martin's GoT will already be on your watch list. I implore non-fantasy readers to give it a try, though. It's definitely different from your average americanI'll go over some positive and negative comments about the show to be as fair as possible. PROS: Game of Thrones is the first large-scale fantasy TV show. To all the fantasy lovers who devoured the Tolkien books and movies, George R R Martin's GoT will already be on your watch list. I implore non-fantasy readers to give it a try, though. It's definitely different from your average american TV series, and has a huge list of characters and a slow beginning due to character development, but I guarantee you the series will only get better as the first half of the season comes around and into the second season (I know because I've read the books which HBO is staying true to). There is enough magic, lore, mythical creatures and weapons to add that fantasy element in the show, yet not enough to detract from a "realistic" experience. The story in GoT is the key element of its success, it's really exceptional for a TV series and honestly can't fully be judged by the first season alone because it's really built upon in books 2 and 3 (which will translate to season 2 and onwards on the TV series. Which includes EPIC BATTLES that will definitely make it onto the show). And as a last positive, anyone can die (this is a positive to me in a realistic sense), so make sure you are prepared for anything to happen (in a realistic way of course)!

    CONS: Game of Thrones is not a show suitable for everyone. I love the books and the show as well, but it's not deserving of a 10 like most of the reviewers give it (I'm assuming they want to boost the ratings as high as possible). The translation from book to screen has been fairly good, but some of the changes are questionable. There is a lot of character exposition using erotic scenes which honestly shouldn't have been in the show, I'm all for erotic scenes but please you can do better than that GoT directors. Secondly, a lot of the really good dialogue from the book is gone and replaced with less entertaining dialogue. Thirdly, some of the acting seems really wooden (possibly because of the medival fantasy setting). The characters are not black and white, but they do portray stereotypes and that can be annoying to some viewers (again, come to your own conclusions). And lastly, there are not enough shots of the villages and landscape in the show, a big part of large fantasy worlds is being able to picture the worlds and this is crucial to the success of a show (think of LOTR). And yes, I know it costs money for these kind of shots but they can still definitely do a better job on that. The first season does not have much warfare because of the costs involved, but if you stick with the show until the second season you will be sure to see more!
    Expand
  63. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    The negative reviews for this series astound me. Having read through book 2 when the show began and book 4 now, I cannot imagine this show being done in a better way. Season 1 very closely follows the events of book 1, which is no small feat, as the story is deep, complex, and gritty. Since this show is on HBO, none of the plot elements are compromised. Each episode is masterfully done,The negative reviews for this series astound me. Having read through book 2 when the show began and book 4 now, I cannot imagine this show being done in a better way. Season 1 very closely follows the events of book 1, which is no small feat, as the story is deep, complex, and gritty. Since this show is on HBO, none of the plot elements are compromised. Each episode is masterfully done, with high production values evident in every shot. The characters are portrayed expertly by the cast, and by the end of episode 10, you will be out of breath. This series is a labor of love, and it is obvious at all times. You can tell that this was created by people who cared about the story, and wanted to present it to a larger audience in a medium that we all can easily understand. Again, this is no small feat. Expect the coming seasons to be even better as the story picks up. Winter is coming! Expand
  64. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    I love it. TV was dead to me (killed by the internet) until this brought me back. I had not read the book, but had read one and a half prequels to it. It wasn't terribly hard to follow, especially on Amazon where rewinding is possible. The style of directing is reminiscent of Battlestar Galactica. There is a lot of cutting between parallel threads, and leisurely dialog scenes whichI love it. TV was dead to me (killed by the internet) until this brought me back. I had not read the book, but had read one and a half prequels to it. It wasn't terribly hard to follow, especially on Amazon where rewinding is possible. The style of directing is reminiscent of Battlestar Galactica. There is a lot of cutting between parallel threads, and leisurely dialog scenes which do not overstay their welcome. The pacing is good and the characters are believable, except for a few scenes of the Targaryens which seemed over the top and gratuitous. The nudity (which 100% of the negative reviews complained about) though far more abundant than most other TV shows, is a tiny fraction of the show and does not detract from it. It rather makes it feel more authentic through being unencumbered by censors. It is, IMO, the best show since DS9 ended. The Walking Dead, for instance, has utter **** for acting and writing compared to this. Expand
  65. Mar 16, 2012
    9
    There's a reason fans of the books sometimes enjoy this show more than people who haven't read them- the story just gets better and better. I hadn't read the books or even heard of them before watching the show, but after watching the show and reading the books, I can safely say that the story builds up slow, but builds up big. You could be yawning at the first episode, but by the time youThere's a reason fans of the books sometimes enjoy this show more than people who haven't read them- the story just gets better and better. I hadn't read the books or even heard of them before watching the show, but after watching the show and reading the books, I can safely say that the story builds up slow, but builds up big. You could be yawning at the first episode, but by the time you reach the end you are sobbing in empathy. The show trades some of the novel's subtlety for a more TV-friendly heavy handedness, but in a really great, emotional way. Watch it, stick with it, it's awesome! Expand
  66. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    Having not read the books this series has so many unexpected twists. This show demands your love or hate for the characters and it is accomplished without question. Beautiful scenes only add to the mayhem, A must watch!
  67. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I have not read the books, but have been told not to because this adaptation is so faithful (in essence). Great acting, action, and overall plot narrative. Never a dull moment!
  68. Dec 9, 2012
    9
    Bloody, violent and engaging just the way I like it.
  69. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    Game of Thrones is not for everybody. It a fantasy series that reads like a drama, and if you have not read the books, you may have a hard time remembering all of the characters. Yes, it definitely challenges viewers in that regard. In the end, however, the show comes together masterfully--the performances are sweeping, the costumes are gorgeous, the sets are seamlessly immersing. MindGame of Thrones is not for everybody. It a fantasy series that reads like a drama, and if you have not read the books, you may have a hard time remembering all of the characters. Yes, it definitely challenges viewers in that regard. In the end, however, the show comes together masterfully--the performances are sweeping, the costumes are gorgeous, the sets are seamlessly immersing. Mind you, you do not go into this series expecting fairy-tale heroism and epic monster battles. While there are healthy doses of mysticism, they are subtle and build gradually. In the end, Game of Thrones is about kingdoms, its people, and the vicious intrigues that occur throughout. The characters you meet along the way are not complex so much as they are REAL. They might seem predictable, but that is because they are relatable. No one is evil, no one is good, and no one is safe. They are people who hurt and bleed and die. A few of them are clever, but most of them are limited, even tormented by their own personal codes, so much so that they are driven to their doom. The idea here is not to focus on just one character. The character you end up rooting for might end up disappointing you. They might end up dying. Meanwhile, a character you once thought to be a callous villain turns out to be damaged in some way, not unlike ourselves. Ultimately, Game of Thrones is elegant, treacherous, violent, and gritty. As a viewer, you will SEE imminent betrayal around every corner; it -is- predictable. When it arrives, however, it is keenly felt. You might even be moved. Granted, you WILL have to invest more than five seconds acquainting yourself with the characters and the world they fill. If you can do that, it is actually a very easy drama to follow, not mention a true work of art. Expand
  70. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    I can hardly imagine, how anyone could have made a better adaptation of this magnificent book for the screen. It's extremely true to the book's spirit, not afraid to change minor things or adapt to the totally different medium, while still telling the story as close to GRRM's original vision as possible.
    The cast is simply fantastic, the characters incredibly well done and the production
    I can hardly imagine, how anyone could have made a better adaptation of this magnificent book for the screen. It's extremely true to the book's spirit, not afraid to change minor things or adapt to the totally different medium, while still telling the story as close to GRRM's original vision as possible.
    The cast is simply fantastic, the characters incredibly well done and the production looks amazing. The only thing you notice here and there, sadly, are the budget restrictions that come with a TV show.
    Ironically, getting away from those when writing for TV (which he did for years before) was the reason for GRRM to start writing the A Song of Ice and Fire epic in the first place... :-)
    Expand
  71. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Globaly faithful to the tone of the books, but Dothrakis are a bit strange to me. Peter Dinklage as Tyrion is realy fantastic. Its a pity that it's too violent to be seen with kids.
  72. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    To all you nay sayers out there who denounce this TV series as being predictable and "boring" you have not read the books. You even say that you have not read the books yet then go on to point out how deficient the story is. I hope more people watch this series and your efforts to stop this are in vein. If you had read the books you would realise how important they are to the fantasyTo all you nay sayers out there who denounce this TV series as being predictable and "boring" you have not read the books. You even say that you have not read the books yet then go on to point out how deficient the story is. I hope more people watch this series and your efforts to stop this are in vein. If you had read the books you would realise how important they are to the fantasy genre. They make fantasy feel real. As if you could mistake the history of Westeros with our own. You would realise that season 1 is the opening novel and sets the 'stage' for the rest of the series to unfold. Season 2 will be remarkable. Why? Because the book 2 is remarkable. Book 3 is even better and Book 5 is a masterpiece. I love HBO for making this series. When I first started to read the books, some 10 years ago, I always thought this would make a cool movie or TV series and when I heard that HBO was making a series out of the books I almost jumped out of my chair. This is a truly awesome series and once they are all made they will go down as being as good as the books. I suppose there are people who find Sopranos, Rome and TheWire 'boring.' I take solace in the fact that not all have the sense to know what's good for them. Expand
  73. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    This epic show is just brilliant, comfortably the best show on the outstandingly good Sky Atlantic channel. All the cast are excellent in it, the backdrops, visual effects and makeup are of cinema quality rather than what we usually get in a TV drama, the script is excellent, basically, I can't stress enough just how good this show is, if I could give more than 10 I comfortably would.This epic show is just brilliant, comfortably the best show on the outstandingly good Sky Atlantic channel. All the cast are excellent in it, the backdrops, visual effects and makeup are of cinema quality rather than what we usually get in a TV drama, the script is excellent, basically, I can't stress enough just how good this show is, if I could give more than 10 I comfortably would. Just excellent! Bring on Season 2! Expand
  74. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    An entertaining, if trifling experience, GAME OF THRONES has the slightly annoying habit of presenting characters who are completely unambiguous in every way. Each character is sign-posted as good or evil from episode one through ten, so very little of what they do at an point is surprising. That written, I enjoyed watching the first season, though it doesn't compare to superior genreAn entertaining, if trifling experience, GAME OF THRONES has the slightly annoying habit of presenting characters who are completely unambiguous in every way. Each character is sign-posted as good or evil from episode one through ten, so very little of what they do at an point is surprising. That written, I enjoyed watching the first season, though it doesn't compare to superior genre television like DEADWOOD, BATTLESTAR GALACTICA, and JUSTIFIED. Expand
  75. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    I haven't read the books, but I must say that I definitely plan to after watching this amazing show. Where do I begin? The characters are all interesting, the production value is so good that I often forget that I'm watching a TV show, and it surprises me at every turn. I don't care for predictability and this show rarely drags on as the dialogue is just as thrilling as the fight scenes.I haven't read the books, but I must say that I definitely plan to after watching this amazing show. Where do I begin? The characters are all interesting, the production value is so good that I often forget that I'm watching a TV show, and it surprises me at every turn. I don't care for predictability and this show rarely drags on as the dialogue is just as thrilling as the fight scenes. It's a bit difficult to follow at first because there are several important characters and the story is so intricate, but you'll catch on eventually. I can't recommend this show enough. Bravo HBO! Expand
  76. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    HBO does it again by delivering another must see series. Game Of Thrones is THE show to watch and anyone who hasnt watched it is truely missing out. I love it.
  77. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    The show in a whole is very well put together. The various points of view are deftly mixed together without being overly confusing. The wit and range of emotions provides a lot of character to the show. And the TV show appears to be offering a more streamlined but accurate adaptation of the books that hopefully can manage the extremely large setting that they are in.
  78. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    A simply perfect season. Amazing characters, an interesting plot, twists and turns, a fantastic world created by George R.R Martin, great sets and, of course, really really really good actors, who bring the characters of the book to life. Bravo HBO, Bravo Producers, and the entire team!
  79. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    After watching the first season I am going to be forced to buy the next book. This story is building in epic fashion and the character development is brilliant. So many crazy things happen that you just can't feel that anyone is safe and that the next big plot point can come from nothing. To anyone who is reading the few poor reviews DO NOT believe them. Only a professional dork wouldAfter watching the first season I am going to be forced to buy the next book. This story is building in epic fashion and the character development is brilliant. So many crazy things happen that you just can't feel that anyone is safe and that the next big plot point can come from nothing. To anyone who is reading the few poor reviews DO NOT believe them. Only a professional dork would criticize a show like this for not being a good enough "fantasy." For the average person it is a captivating show and I for one hope it continues through the existing and future series. Expand
  80. Apr 17, 2012
    9
    Fantastic show. For quite awhile I've wanted an 'original feeling' medieval show to watch, and good god does it deliver. The production value is high, the scenes are well shot and it is absolutely worth watching on bluray (which I recently did).

    Characters feel very real, you even start to love some of the 'bad' guys. The only thing that keeps me from recommending this to my own family
    Fantastic show. For quite awhile I've wanted an 'original feeling' medieval show to watch, and good god does it deliver. The production value is high, the scenes are well shot and it is absolutely worth watching on bluray (which I recently did).

    Characters feel very real, you even start to love some of the 'bad' guys.

    The only thing that keeps me from recommending this to my own family is the nudity, sometimes a bit too much. Other times though some purely stunning scenes of artistic nudity are acceptable, but the straight up porny elements make viewing sometimes a bit awkward. Still, it does not really detract from such a fantastic show and I hope they don't change the formula, its great.
    Expand
  81. Apr 19, 2012
    9
    I love history, but most history book are boring to read. But this, this is what history should be, granted its a fantasy novel turned into a HBO show but wow, i wish all History Channels shows were like this. Awesome storyline, wonderful acting and just an overall nice looking piece of art! Go check it out if you haven't already and prepare to be hooked!!
  82. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    My husband and I really loved season 1- and could not wait to see the next season--however we are soooo very disappointed in season 2....the violence and extreme obscenity is not necessary for the enjoyment of this series...we are as liberal as most but we really are not enjoying this season and will probably not bother to waste our time viewing the rest of the season.......We don't reallyMy husband and I really loved season 1- and could not wait to see the next season--however we are soooo very disappointed in season 2....the violence and extreme obscenity is not necessary for the enjoyment of this series...we are as liberal as most but we really are not enjoying this season and will probably not bother to waste our time viewing the rest of the season.......We don't really see any entertainment value in the series any longer. ---It is actually rather sickening to watch. Expand
  83. Apr 29, 2012
    10
    Please don't die George R.R. Martin!! You don't look like you're in the best of health. The TV show is an amazing adaptation of the books. This show is full of deep characters, dynamic plotlines, and great writing. Keep it up HBO. Two more books to go GRRM!
  84. May 15, 2012
    9
    I was close to finishing book 1 when a friend lent me this and I caved in, watching the first 4 episodes back-to-back. It is very good and they so far they have managed to capture the book down to fine details with a cast that is almost universally perfect. So if you are a fan of the books I'd say so far, so good. If you've not read the books I recommend you do so first then come back andI was close to finishing book 1 when a friend lent me this and I caved in, watching the first 4 episodes back-to-back. It is very good and they so far they have managed to capture the book down to fine details with a cast that is almost universally perfect. So if you are a fan of the books I'd say so far, so good. If you've not read the books I recommend you do so first then come back and see HBO bring them to life Expand
  85. May 16, 2012
    7
    I love game of thrones.I really do but there is one thing that is bothering me.WHY DOES SEASON ONE AND TWO FEEL LIKE TRAILERS FOR THE NEXT SEASON.I love the lies and the sinister plots they have but it feels like its building up towards something that's not going to happen.Like the white walkers ..... Where the f@#$ are they now?And I wanna see more dragons.Didn't think I would afterI love game of thrones.I really do but there is one thing that is bothering me.WHY DOES SEASON ONE AND TWO FEEL LIKE TRAILERS FOR THE NEXT SEASON.I love the lies and the sinister plots they have but it feels like its building up towards something that's not going to happen.Like the white walkers ..... Where the f@#$ are they now?And I wanna see more dragons.Didn't think I would after skyrim but I miss the scaly bastards. Expand
  86. May 17, 2012
    9
    Game of Thrones succeeds both as an adaptation and as a great TV drama in its first season. The writing is great (the source material gives it no excuse to be otherwise), and there are some truly mesmerizing performances by the actors. Mark Addy as Robert Baratheon, Charles Dance as Tywin Lannister, Peter Dinklage as Tyrion Lannister, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau as Jaime Lannister, andGame of Thrones succeeds both as an adaptation and as a great TV drama in its first season. The writing is great (the source material gives it no excuse to be otherwise), and there are some truly mesmerizing performances by the actors. Mark Addy as Robert Baratheon, Charles Dance as Tywin Lannister, Peter Dinklage as Tyrion Lannister, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau as Jaime Lannister, and Coneleth Hill as Varys were the four that stood out for me. It takes some time to get into the world of A Song of Ice and Fire (I was unimpressed by the pilot, but after the second episode was hooked). Beyond all of this, it is a show that requires, no demand, repeated viewings as there is so much detail to the world and the characters. If there is a criticism to be had, it is that the budget is limiting for battle sequences and to capture the scope of the book series, but that is to be expected. For fantasy lovers, and lovers of quality television (so long as they can get past their biases against the fantasy genre) this is required viewing. Very impressive first season. Expand
  87. May 22, 2012
    10
    I had never read the books, but had heard people talking of this show. Once I started watching, I could not stop. Practically every character in this show is engaging and interesting, even if you don't like them (Cercei, Joffrey, etc.). Tyrion is a fascinating character as well as Arya. I found following each individual storyline quite easy, even when there is so many of them. The scriptI had never read the books, but had heard people talking of this show. Once I started watching, I could not stop. Practically every character in this show is engaging and interesting, even if you don't like them (Cercei, Joffrey, etc.). Tyrion is a fascinating character as well as Arya. I found following each individual storyline quite easy, even when there is so many of them. The script and acting appeal to me and I truly don't see any flaws in this show as of yet. Expand
  88. May 28, 2012
    9
    As a fan of the books, I can honestly say this is a great transition from book to screen. The acting is very, very good. The show might be a little slow at some points, but if you stick around, the show gets very exciting. The only complaint I have is that It doesnt seem as epic and grand of scale as it could, and the action seems very unnatural and coordinated.
  89. May 30, 2012
    10
    It is not easy trying to bring life in to all of the complex characters of G.RR Martins amazing books, but this show certainly has succeeded! You never know what is about to happen, who will die next and where the story ends up. It is simply brilliant!
  90. Jun 16, 2012
    10
    One of the best adaptations I've ever seen made​​. This first season was able to excite me like never before. Can follow the spirit of the book and fabulous actors equal in all respects to the characters of the book. This is a masterpiece!
  91. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    Very very good tv show, a bit too brutal for my taste, but it adds to the realism of it which makes it very high quality! Love the character portrayals by everyone, all very good actors and actresses! Just, wow, Can't wait for Season 3.
  92. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    this show is simply amazing, i got hooked after season 1 and ended up buying all the books too. can't wait for season 3. i would advise any one who hasn't read the books yet but want to, i believe it's more fun to watch the season first then go back and read the book just because the series is so suspenseful.
  93. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Yes, Game of Thrones is graphic. And it's obscene. And I love it. The acting, the writing, everything about this show proves Game of Thrones is really a winner. The production quality of this show is also really commendable. I recommend this to anyone, even people who aren't really into fantasy. Also, as an adaptation, this show is really excellent.
  94. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best TV shows of all times. For those who love epic stories it is a gift, and for those who don't, too. The acting is exquisite, the detailed scenarios are completely convincing and the intensity of each episode leaves the spectator more than satisfied. Very well done. Congratulations.
  95. Aug 15, 2012
    8
    Brilliantly transferred from book to screen. It's a real pity that the second season deviates so much from the book, very disappointed with second season. I'm not sure they can pull themselves out of the fire with the massive changes that have been made in season two, compared to the book.

    Read the books people, the complexity of the second, third, fourth and fifth books just can't be
    Brilliantly transferred from book to screen. It's a real pity that the second season deviates so much from the book, very disappointed with second season. I'm not sure they can pull themselves out of the fire with the massive changes that have been made in season two, compared to the book.

    Read the books people, the complexity of the second, third, fourth and fifth books just can't be transferred to screen, a real shame.
    Expand
  96. Sep 10, 2012
    8
    Die Serie ist gewgt brutal (aber dadurch scheinbar realistich)
    Leider gibt es meiner Meinung nach zu viele Schauplätze und man erfährt stets nur wenig über die einzelnen Charaktere. Außerdem finde ich, dass Sex (und stellenweise auch Gewalt) nur zur Zuschauerbefriedigung dienen. Denn im Grunde genügt die derbe Sprache größtenteils um die fiktive
    Die Serie ist gewgt brutal (aber dadurch scheinbar realistich)
    Leider gibt es meiner Meinung nach zu viele Schauplätze und man erfährt stets nur wenig über die einzelnen Charaktere. Außerdem finde ich, dass Sex (und stellenweise auch Gewalt) nur zur Zuschauerbefriedigung dienen. Denn im Grunde genügt die derbe Sprache größtenteils um die fiktive Gesellschaft zu spiegeln.

    Fazit:
    Game of Thrones ist spannend aber zu weitläufig auch wenn dadurch jede Seite die Chance erhält ein wenig beleuchtet zu werden.
    Expand
  97. Sep 23, 2012
    9
    Everything good about this show has already been said. It's very enjoyable, though confronting at times, and not as predictable as one might think. Just watch it. I bought the books (all of them) halfway through the season.
  98. Oct 2, 2012
    8
    The TV show's first few episodes start off a little slow. However, it is necessary to build the fantasy world upon which all the betrayal and intrigue will take place. Anybody who has not read the novels will have a hard time following all of the plot elements going on because many of them are explained only briefly if at all. It's a show for the fan's of the novels (which there are a lot)The TV show's first few episodes start off a little slow. However, it is necessary to build the fantasy world upon which all the betrayal and intrigue will take place. Anybody who has not read the novels will have a hard time following all of the plot elements going on because many of them are explained only briefly if at all. It's a show for the fan's of the novels (which there are a lot) or anybody who doesn't mind reading a little between episodes to figure out what exactly is going on. There is some great dry wit and humor in the show but I doubt it is enough to keep the uninitiated captivated. I imagine when the third or fourth season drops and the action in the storyline picks up, then the series will be more enjoyable for those who have not read the books. Expand
  99. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    Game of Thrones is one of the few times where a visual adaptation surpasses its source material - the A Song of Ice and Fire series. That's not to say the books are bad, on the contrary, up until A Feast For Crows they're extremely entertaining when the author isn't giving you a long-winded explanation on what someone had for breakfast! The show essentially takes the plots from the book,Game of Thrones is one of the few times where a visual adaptation surpasses its source material - the A Song of Ice and Fire series. That's not to say the books are bad, on the contrary, up until A Feast For Crows they're extremely entertaining when the author isn't giving you a long-winded explanation on what someone had for breakfast! The show essentially takes the plots from the book, and delivers something with more adrenaline and more action, with the opportunity to expand on characters beyond the POV's from the books. Never before have I seen a show with such good acting, so many likeable characters - even female characters, and so many unforeseen plot twists. Usually you'd expect a fantasy based drama to suffer from the usual hammy acting and the like, but this is nothing of the sort. You'll care about characters, you'll be intrigued by the story, and you'll love the soundtrack. Its only real downfall is the unnecessary sex scenes in almost every single episode - even more so than the books. Expand
  100. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    Love this show, once you start watching you truly can't stop. I loved the story of the Starks, and you will really start to care for the characters. Everything is so well done.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Hal Boedeker
    Apr 25, 2011
    40
    The epic fantasy series is lavish, violent and often quite nasty. Most crucially, this adaptation of George R.R. Martin's "Song of Ice and Fire" book series is unnecessarily difficult to follow.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Apr 18, 2011
    90
    The gloriously bloody and depraved spirit of the novels is intact and even enhanced.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 18, 2011
    80
    A grand soap opera of epic proportions, Game of Thrones can be a bit talky in some episodes, but the series draws a viewer in with well-defined characters and a multitude of simultaneous stories whose plot turns are generally unpredictable.