• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 25, 2013
Season #: 1, 2
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Nov 22, 2013
    90
    There is some pathos in Getting On with regard to the elderly patients, but that's seamlessly interwoven in the darkly funny personal stories of the hospital staff.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Nov 21, 2013
    100
    Its tender moments register without feeling forced while the comedy comes in the form of a constant IV drip.
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Nov 22, 2013
    100
    There is a brilliant mix of poignancy and hilarity in Getting On, which is why it all works so well.
  4. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Nov 25, 2013
    90
    It's a dark and astonishing gem of a show, with a bravely skillful cast juggling the petty obsessions of the workplace with Much Bigger Issues.
  5. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Nov 20, 2013
    83
    Getting On is much funnier than its premise suggests. [22 Nov 2013, p.62]
  6. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Nov 22, 2013
    83
    Getting On captures the drudgery of work and life in this ward, but it also catches glimpses of the beauty, and it’s in those moments that it feels like a series that deserves better than it’s going to get.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Nov 26, 2013
    8
    I've only seen one episode, but it's the first time in awhile, that I was rolling around laughing at a half hour comedy. The absurd sillinessI've only seen one episode, but it's the first time in awhile, that I was rolling around laughing at a half hour comedy. The absurd silliness doesn't let up. It oddly manages to be touching at the same time. Full Review »
  2. Dec 1, 2013
    8
    I am a physician and I rotated in these facilities as a medical student and resident. The scene is intensely familiar and accuratelyI am a physician and I rotated in these facilities as a medical student and resident. The scene is intensely familiar and accurately portrayed. I found the humor more dark than humorous (although the argument over turds was precious.) Some scenes were profound and moving and yet nothing seemed at all forced sentimental. It was marvelously done and with perfect pitch. I am going to watch the rest of this.. no doubt. Full Review »
  3. Nov 29, 2013
    6
    Pretty mixed emotions about this new HBO series. I have seen only the pilot and I can certainly conclude from that episode that "Getting On"Pretty mixed emotions about this new HBO series. I have seen only the pilot and I can certainly conclude from that episode that "Getting On" is very well written and generally excellently acted. The initial episode was biting in its portrayal of bureaucracy rampant. I will be following the development of this show with interest.

    Now for the mixed emotions. I am about four months from turning 80 and I do have to admit that the background of the show a near terminal ward in a major hospital strikes me just a little too close to home. I find that I can view the twilight of life with humor, keeping in perspective, so I'm just going to have to swallow these aspects of "Getting On" to be able to enjoy the overall intent of the show.
    Full Review »