• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 15, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 135 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 135
  2. Negative: 34 out of 135

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 19, 2013
    0
    This show is terrible. It just follows a bunch of hipsters around New York doing typical stuff that's been done a million times before in other TV shows.
  2. Jan 14, 2013
    4
    Dear Lena Dunham, your show is dull and your characters have no redeeming qualities. Aside from a chuckle here and there season 2 of the spectacularly undeservedly praised show, begins with a whimper. The pilot is a rehash of everything that was terrible in the first season. The characters are cardboard stereotype cutouts and their dilemas are the same drama that is featured on shows like the hills and gossip girl. Yes the dialogue is realistic, but that doesn't make it compelling, Dunham's dialogue is dull and lifeless and the stories are pointless loops of one another. Also if you're gonna have a token black guy on your show, at least give him some cool lines or god forbide characterization beyond simply being "her new black love interest". That's not a personality, pandering. Expand
  3. Jan 24, 2013
    7
    from the first 2 episodes, it doesn't look to be as good as season 1. it's a little less funny, and right now nothing seems to be happening in the form of plot development, but the characters are as strong as ever, and just as flippantly spontaneous with their social life altering decisions. i may update this later
  4. Jan 14, 2013
    10
    There's lots of hate towards Girls and I can clearly understand why since they're all about "relativity" issues. Much like season 1, season 2 is fun, clever and entertaining in it's own way. It's creative and original. This show is not for everyone, but if you're into it you'll love it.
  5. Jan 17, 2013
    1
    HBO's worst show since Arliss. A ponderously unwatchable mess. That Girls gets so much respect from critics is one of television's greatest mysteries.
  6. Jan 21, 2013
    10
    Girls is a uniquely realistic portrayal of life for young people in today's America of permanent recession and constant electronic communication. The characters all engage in self-destructive behavior, just like young people do in reality, but the writing is humorous enough to make it entertaining.
  7. Feb 16, 2013
    8
    Girls is simply hard to love, but easy to laugh with. Lena Dunham does an amazing job with this show, which shows us the lives of twentysomethings in NYC through a shockingly truthful lens. Ignore the critics of Girls (of which I used to be one) and watch a few episodes. It's worth it.
  8. Jan 15, 2013
    7
    What I love about Girls is its creativity and freshness and how it is so different from other comedy shows on television these days. You may not laugh out loud at every scene but the writing and wonderful performances by the entire cast have the ability to move you, the ability to make you smile eventually. People complain that it is overrated, my only response to them is it doesn't get cheesy or stupid to get ratings or whatever, whereas it stays on its own level, its own ingenuity and style. Season 2 is just like the first season and maybe it will get even better in coming episodes. Lena Dunham won 2 Golden Globes for this show, come on, show some respect! Expand
  9. Mar 24, 2013
    3
    A show that is called "GIRLS" but still it's all bout Men, Marriage, and "felling protected". Not so foward-thinking right. Hanna freaking out as a 6 year old on last episodes was some of the most pathetic drama i've seen season two went downhill fast.
  10. Feb 17, 2013
    9
    While the characters sometimes seem to drown in their own self-indulgence, the superb writing along with the stellar setting and cinematography greatly overshadow the show's flaws.
  11. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    Season 2 of Girls is incredible. More poignant than the first season, but not without losing its humor and wit. It is truly a shame that the episodes are not a full hour; there is so much more I wish were explored. 9.7/10
  12. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    People will complain the characters have no redeeming qualities, or Lena Dunham being nude is totally gross or what have you, but here's a newsflash: That's the point. Lena Dunham isn't gross, but she's not your hot brunette bombshell either, she's fine the way she is, and that's that. Season 1 was the start of a journey. It was very modern, and cool, very good debut season for a show that was bound to be controversial, even if it is on HBO. Season 2 made me feel like I was in one big short film. And I attribute that to two things: Bigger episode budgets, and even better writing. We can sit here and praise the actors and actresses all day, but lets be honest, we all KNOW they do more than an amazing job at what Lena Dunham writes. The real beauty, in my opinion, about Season 2, was the progression in the story. The story had so much passion to come along with it. Season 3 will, without a doubt, be even more beautiful. Season 3 is scheduled for 12 episodes, instead of 10 for Season 2. Big improvements coming from HBO's side to allow Lena Dunham and crew really nail Season 3 and make it one of the greatest pieces of art to ever enter our TV screens. The best part about this show? This is actually the struggle of Girls around the world. Lena Dunham is clearly the voice of this new generation. Her message gets across and is very well responded. Those who give it negative reviews, and/or bash it consistently don't get it. And obviously never will, unless they get a girlfriend who likes this show. (If that's possible). Expand
  13. Mar 16, 2013
    6
    Hmm... it's entertaining for the most part, but some of the cliche' NYC "we so like cool and like smart and like artsy and like..." attitudes and excessive nudity from the main character (DO NOT EAT ANYTHING WHILE WATCHING THIS SHOW!) are a bit OTT for my tastes. Yeah, we get it, you're human and shouldn't be ashamed of your body, but come on... Anyway, it does have it moments though and is worth watching when nothing else is on. Expand
  14. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    Dear Lena Dunham: I loved your show from the word go. When I realized that Hannah was shown naked more than her more attractive friends, I said, aha, this is so very refreshing, the product of an astute and confident creator. The setting and banter may be contemporary, but the situations are timeless. Or timeless back to the late '60s. I was living that life back then, right out of college and before I grew up. When I watch "Girls", I get to sort of relive that heady, dramatic, stupid, **** up time of my life. This is the best show on tv. Expand
  15. Feb 4, 2013
    2
    Lena, You are indeed witty and charismatic, and the first season started off with a flurry of twist and turns exploring the beautiful and the grotesque aspects of young life here in New York. Unfortunately, I must say that this 2nd season has really made me cringe and is honestly so far from believable. Shock value no longer sells (at least as well as it used to). High on coke shirt off at Greenhouse with a bunch of glow stick kids isn't hip, fun, or even slightly cool. How did you even get past to door guy looking like a sweaty turd? Maybe you could have expanded upon that experience as there is nothing more real about New York than being denied club access because you look like crap. That would have been worth writing about... I understand this is a scathing review and I honestly hope it serves you well because bad reviews tend to full the fire. Good luck, I hope this show gets better for all of us... Expand
  16. Feb 14, 2013
    5
    Lena Dunham has more talent in her baby toenail clipping than I'll ever have in my entire being. OK, having said that, I think this show has really fallen off from season 1 to now. I think Dunham has 7 funny things to say, and they've all been said, so now she'll have to resort to regurgitating things. A lot of shows are guilty of this syndrome. Brian Williams and David Mamet's daughters are GORGEOUS. Lena Dunham's bloated naked body and bizarre clothes and cake eating binges have become tiresome. Great slacker/hipster music. This show just got zapped from my TIVO recording queue. Expand
  17. Feb 21, 2013
    2
    Boring and not entertaining chicks drama. Comparing to other HBO shows this one is one of the worse ones.
    Who paid critics to give this high score to this
  18. Feb 23, 2013
    5
    Well, Girls probably has a realistic way of dealing with the lives of a bunch of not very common people. Though one could see it has a point and all the crude fat nudity adds to it, it is in no way original (as it's been said) or clever at al. I think HBO has fallen for the obscure charms of Lena Dunham and allowed her to create a show where she can tell the world all her own personal problems, about which I doubt someone is interested all that much. Characters' dialogue is also quite stereotypical and annoying, but I guess that falls under the category of the "making it realistic". Expand
  19. Mar 1, 2013
    2
    Lena Dunham is quite talented and presented a fresh energy in her first season of Girls. However, season 2 is a total disappointment. From improbable sexual rendezvous that make no plot advancement (e.g., One Man's Trash), to innumerable, useless nude imageries, to obligatory racial diversity insertions, to Kardashian-esque, docu-soap, tween dramas, the season stalls in terms of originality and cleverness. As Dunham’s character struggles from a difficult breakup and youthful uncertainty, she burrows into a sexual oblivion that, in my opinion, is played out. This narrative is neither clever, original, nor amusing. Rather, the character behavior and plot summaries are reminiscent of an eastside Melrose Place. I find the season a discredit to Dunham’s artistic sparkle evident in the first season. Expand
  20. Mar 10, 2013
    4
    I don't get it. And actually I really don't WANT to get it. Thought It was going to be hysterical, think I smiled twice.. lame. Maybe I'm not the "target audience" I'm 36 and married and live in the suburbs but if this is what it is to be 21 now, I'm glad I was a teenager in the 90s.
  21. Mar 15, 2013
    3
    I will begin this review by saying that season 1 of Girls was epic. It was funny, charming and original. The characters were amazing and uncomfortable and beautiful in their own skin.

    Fast forward to season 2. WTF has happened? There is no visible plotline. It is like watching a 30 minute indie flick once a week that doesn't coherently tie together in any realistic fashion. Lena
    Dunham (whom I still love) gets her tiny out every change she gets. We get it. You are comfortable with your body, but please move on. As for the secondary characters, Marnie continues to annoy, Shosh continues to be odd, Jessa continues to be messed up... Sigh. There is nothing happening here. Cringe worthy at best. I don't even know why I continue to watch. I think I'll cancel my HBO because this was the only thing making me hold on and it isn't worth it anymore. Expand
  22. Mar 19, 2013
    0
    I think lena is a great writer and everything, but she needs to stop being so naked all the time. i mean come on girl, what are you doing? she should not be getting naked all the time because I personally find it horrifying and it does not add to the series whatsoever. PUT ON CLOTHES LENA!
  23. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    The season 2 of Girls isn't obvious. If you have been following the episodes as they aired it's time to re-watch it and consider the total of 10 installments. Otherwise, the timelines get messed up. I loved the downfall of Lena Dunham's character, I loved how complicated Adam is. All these experiences are a part of growing up and actually it's amazing that the show talks about twentysomethings but so many thirtysomethings experience similar levels of absurd and messiness in their everyday lives. Quite hard to be a grown-up these days... Collapse
  24. Apr 2, 2013
    5
    I truly loved season one of Girls, but season two is a complete misfire. It's the Hannah show. The friendships have become strained and almost non existant. It became completely about relationships, none of which are very believable. Dunham talked about how she wanted to avoid the "season two syndrome", but she failed completely, sorry to say. I hope it gets back on track with the third season.
  25. Aug 15, 2013
    6
    While it's still occasionally hilarious, Girls seems to have lost its sense of realism in season two, which was one of the strongest factors it had going for it in the first season.
    The first season acted like an extremely grounded, realistic, yet satiric portrayal of young girls in their early twenties (hence the show's title) finding themselves through relationships, careers, and
    sexuality as they share their experiences, clashes, and heart breaks. It's not as generic as it sounds. Girls is very well written, and hardly ever sappy. But it seems to have lost that realistic edge recently, veering closer to one of those preposterously un-relatable sexually driven dramas you might find on ABC Family, just with better writing.
    While it's not all bad, season two is just frustrating to watch, especially when compared to its first season. It seems to have lost its voice, getting wrapped up in its own self important, trivial issues, which was a mild problem in the first season, though it's slightly more present now.
    Expand
  26. Jan 11, 2014
    6
    Not as good as the original season, a shame as the first season was rather good. The odd moments occur far too frequently now and there are too many impulse moments where the story and plot end up going to Hell. It's not bad, despite these issues, it's just far too over the top and boring in many instances to be at all important. Lena Dunham's "Hannah" has become easily one of the most hated characters on television due to this. Hopefully the third season will fix all of the problems the second has had. Expand
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    May 30, 2013
    80
    The hotly anticipated second season of Girls, which returns to HBO on Sunday, builds on the strengths of its stellar first season and captures the quicksilver magic of Dunham at her best, with the first four episodes supplying a mighty kick to the heart.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Long
    Feb 1, 2013
    91
    Girls continues to delight and provoke in a way too few shows can.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 14, 2013
    75
    Girls can still be Girls. [21 Jan 2013]