• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 15, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 317 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 67 out of 317

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 14, 2013
    4
    I watched the entire first season of Girls to make sure I wasn't missing anything. After the final episode concluded I was left confused why so many critics gave this show glowing reviews. It has moments that are interesting, but they are maybe 2-3 minutes per episode in length. I also was unable to connect with any of the characters since the show did its best to make them all equallyI watched the entire first season of Girls to make sure I wasn't missing anything. After the final episode concluded I was left confused why so many critics gave this show glowing reviews. It has moments that are interesting, but they are maybe 2-3 minutes per episode in length. I also was unable to connect with any of the characters since the show did its best to make them all equally unlikable. For me, Girls is one of those shows where the numerous critics glowing praise was completely off base. Expand
  2. May 9, 2012
    5
    This is a tough show to love, but not easy to hate either. Yes, the characters do come off as spoiled babies for the most part, and their problems seem pretty shallow compared to what others in this country are going through right now. At the same time, I would be lying (and I think some of you other reviewers would be, too) if I didn't admit I see at least some of my own (unfortunate,This is a tough show to love, but not easy to hate either. Yes, the characters do come off as spoiled babies for the most part, and their problems seem pretty shallow compared to what others in this country are going through right now. At the same time, I would be lying (and I think some of you other reviewers would be, too) if I didn't admit I see at least some of my own (unfortunate, but still real) everyday shallowness within these characters. In that sense, it's hard for me to be too judgemental of them, lest I be a hypocrite. However, I would like to see these characters grow and become less shallow as their lives go on. Not that the (mostly) witty dialogue or smart situations need to change in the process, but I don't want to see characters a couple of seasons from now (if by some chance this show makes it that far) that are just as narcissistic as they are now. Overall, I think "Girls" has promise but is a long way off from being something great. Expand
  3. Feb 5, 2015
    4
    My Life as a Bad Script
    (28 January 2014)
    HBO is sliding. It once had brisk, wobbly comedies punctuated with F- bombs; and slow engaging dramas with a splatter and glimpse of blood and boobs (in True Blood's case, blood on boobs). Now the reverse is true. The spice is the essence and the content is half-baked. Thus proving that quality drama and comedy are difficult to construct on a
    My Life as a Bad Script
    (28 January 2014)

    HBO is sliding. It once had brisk, wobbly comedies punctuated with F- bombs; and slow engaging dramas with a splatter and glimpse of blood and boobs (in True Blood's case, blood on boobs). Now the reverse is true. The spice is the essence and the content is half-baked. Thus proving that quality drama and comedy are difficult to construct on a regular basis. Girls is a case in point. It started out fresh and blunt, daring and original, but has evolved into an exercise of desperate story- telling. The self-evident, honest precociousness of the first season has become conspicuously pretentious with little foresight and even less insight. Sudden character traits fall from the sky (the OC disorder), the plot twists are cliché (girl friend disappears) and themes of love and friendship are often sketchy and stranded. Girls went from good bad to bad bad within three short seasons. The only reason I continue to watch Girls is because of Boy, namely, Adam Driver. He is the only authentic quirk in the ensemble of ever-so-shallow dead-beat characters. (I'd pay to see him headline a series with Greta Gerwig). Girls would be infinitely more appealing if Lena "aren't-I-adorable?" Dunham just wrote herself out of it. Better yet, if someone else wrote her out of it. Otherwise, HBO should cancel this one before it embarrasses itself any further.
    Expand
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Diane Garrett
    Jan 15, 2014
    80
    Overall, the season gets off to a very strong--and interesting--start. The writing is deepening along with the relationships depicted.
  2. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    May 29, 2013
    80
    Girls was great last year. But this season it just got a little bit better.
  3. 80
    Four episodes in, and Girls is still packing tons of jaw-dropping, head-shaking, eyebrow-raising scenes into 30 minutes each Sunday night.