• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: May 19, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
Glee Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Three graduates of McKinley High settle in New York City as the fourth season of the show brings new hopefuls for New Directions, including an half-brother Puck never knew about.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama, Arts, Music
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 12, 2012
    100
    One episode in, "Glee 2.0"--otherwise known as the fourth season--looks to be a winner.
  2. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Sep 17, 2012
    75
    The decision to have some students graduate was a smart one, and splitting the action between New York (where Lea Michele's Rachel Berry is attending NYADA, the New York Academy of Dramatic Arts) and Ohio (where the remaining members of New Directions are regrouping) turns out to have been even smarter.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 25, 2012
    75
    The high school stories are tighter-focused, and the Manhattan ones breathe with Broadway romanticism. [5 Nov 2012, p.42]
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 13, 2012
    70
    Glee is off to a good start. Please let it last.
  5. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 13, 2012
    60
    Individually, they [characters] remain fun, even in a preachy scene where Glee members forget the Golden Rule. But all the vignettes and moments need a show around which to revolve. Glee needs the New Rachel.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 13, 2012
    58
    [The] premiere serves as a rocky reboot to the once robust hit.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 5 out of 15
  1. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    From the second season till the third the Glee series was generally okay to me, there were some really great episodes, but now with Season 4's beginning the series is off to their rotes, They do bring a more mature sense to it, and I did love the Britney 2.0 episode and their interpretation of the songs. Collapse
  2. Jan 8, 2013
    10
    4 years after and Glee is as powerful and as mature as one would hope for! The addition of a diversity of new characters, voices and the successful merging of school & university students has a magical effect! a straight 10 from me! Expand
  3. Apr 12, 2013
    10
    this show is amazing i love this show shows everyone to be thereself and i love all the characters in season 4 and i love the songs to this is the best show i've ever watched Expand
  4. Dec 31, 2012
    7
    Ok. I love season 1, I hate season 2, I started to see a new horizont in season 3 and now this. Glee season 4 is may be the most uniteresting season of glee. ND won nationals, Rachel went to NYC, so, what's coming?. The idea of new version of ND is horrible, because there isn't new characters, they are copies of the old characters. I think it would be better a whole season in NYC with Rachel, Kurt, Santana, Blaine. The people who love this show, love the old characters. Expand
  5. Aug 5, 2013
    7
    The fourth season it's more interesting than the third season and it has new characters which is a good thing. it is entertaining and the songs are better but i am not really sure what will happen in the next seasons. I think in a little bit of time this series will be ending in a bitter way to the fans. And I like this show though it has some negative points Expand
  6. Apr 16, 2013
    4
    I found myself able to sit through the first three shows of season 4, I originally thought the show had regained what it lost. However, it's dead weight now, and the recent school shooting episode was a tasteless attempt to keep this dying show on people's MSN home pages. I think it's time we let this show die already. Expand
  7. Sep 14, 2012
    0
    Can't do it, nope, can't sit through one episode. ------------------------------------------------------------------- Expand

See all 15 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Television Critics Announce 2010 Awards

    Television Critics Announce 2010 Awards Image
    Published: August 1, 2010
    The Television Critics Association announced its 2010 award winners on Saturday night. We have the full list of winners, which includes multiple awards for the new series "Glee."
  2. 2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2010
    "Modern Family" is among the 2009-10 season's best new TV shows. Find out which other shows made the cut, and which ones were the biggest failures.
  3. Golden Globes Recap: Winners and Losers

    Golden Globes Recap: Winners and Losers Image
    Published: January 18, 2010
    We recap the evening's winners, reveal what the critics are saying about the broadcast, and examine what the Globes tell us about the upcoming Academy Awards.
  4. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.
  5. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.
  6. Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    The HFPA revealed its Golden Globe nominations on Tuesday morning, and "Up in the Air" topped all films with six nominations, while Fox's "Glee" was the big winner in television with four.